DETAILED ACTION1
ELECTION/RESTRICTION
Claims 18, 30, & 31 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to nonelected groups and species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Applicant's election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-3, 5, 9-11, 14-15, 32-33, 35-36, & 39-44 in the reply filed on September 2, 2026 is acknowledged. Examiner also thanks applicant for clarifying the record regarding the pending claims.2
INTERPRETATION UNDER 35 USC 112f
The claim set contains a number of features that potentially can be interpreted under 35 USC 112f as means-plus-function limitations. The MPEP lays out a three-part test for determining if 112(f) should be invoked. See MPEP 2181. (A) the claim limitation uses the term “means” or “step” or a term used as a substitute for “means” that is a generic placeholder (also called a nonce term or a non-structural term having no specific structural meaning) for performing the claimed function; (B) the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is modified by functional language, typically, but not always linked by the transition word “for” (e.g., “means for”) or another linking word or phrase, such as “configured to” or “so that”; and (C) the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. While the absence of the word “means” (or “step”) in a claim creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is not to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is not interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites function without reciting sufficient structure, material or acts to entirely perform the recited function.
The following terms were analyzed under this rubric. First, the bond head assembly in claim 1. The term assembly can be both structural or a nonce term. The assembly is defined by an intended use of carrying a tool. But in independent claim 32 the same bond head assembly is presented sans any intended uses. As such, it must be treated as a structure in claim 32 and therefore has likewise been treated as one in claim 1.
Second, the wire bonding tool replacement system. The term system can also be a nonce term. The system is defined by its intended use of replacing the wire bonding tool. This term has been interpreted as a means-plus-function limitation. It has no structures, merely intended uses. Also, the dependent claims then explicitly recite the structures, showing they do exist.
Claim 2 recites that this system has a clamping mechanism for clamping the wire bonding tool to remove the…tool. The phrase clamping mechanism again falls in the grey area of being a structure verses a means-plus-function limitation. It is defined by intended uses and the term mechanism can be a nonce term. Examiner again considers this another means-plus-function limitation. Claim 3, however, finally recites the structures of both the mechanism and its parent system. Claim 3 recites a threading portion and a tool clamping portion. The figures of the instant specification show that these portions are physical segments of the larger clamp mechanism. As such, claim 3 is deemed to define the structures of the means limitations of both claims 1 and 2.
REJECTIONS UNDER 35 USC 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 9-11, 32-33, 35-36, & 39-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KR 10-2020-0126447 to Leadtec.
Claim 1 recites a wire bonding system. Leadtec relates to such a system. See Leadtec pg. 2.3 Leadtex teaches the system has a bond head assembly (1) configured to carry a wire bonding tool (2). See Leadtec pg. 4 and Figs. 1-2. Claim 1 also recites a wire bonding tool replacement system for replacement of the wire bonding tool with another wire bonding tool. This feature is interpreted under 35 USC 112f as a mean-plus-function limitation because it is a system only defined by an intended use. Claims 2-3 define the structures, specifically a clamping mechanism having a threading portion for threading wire and a tool clamping portion for clamping the wire bonding tool. Leadtec teaches both of these structures. The clamping mechanism (25) has both a tool clamping portion (254) shown ion figure 14 as well as a threading portion (253) that can grip the wire (3) and allow the wire to be pulled up or down for a threading operation, as shown in figure 13. Thus, Leadtec anticipates claims 1-3.
Regarding claim 5, Leadtec teaches the clamping mechanism is configured for retrieving the another wire bonding tool from a wire bonding tool source (50). See Leadtec pgs.3 or 6-7. Regarding claim 9, Leadtec teaches the jig unit (20) with the clamp (25) is carried by a moveable arm assembly (221). See Leadtec pg. 4 and Fig. 3. Claim 10 recites that the moveable arm assembly is further configured for removing a wire from the wire bonding tool, and for replacing the wire in connection with replacement of the wire bonding tool. The arm in Leadtec is connected to the threading portion that allowing removing a wire or replacing a wire. As such, the arm is capable of the intended uses. Regarding claim 11, the entire wire bonding tool replacement system is shown in figure 3 as being removably bolted to the frame (21). As such, it is configured to be removed from the wire bonding system.
Claims 32-33, 35, and 39-40 recite features present in claims 1-3, 5, & 9-10 respectively and are rejected for the same reasons. Claim 36 (addressed out of order) recites that the wire bonding tool source is configured to provide a plurality of wire bonding tools. Claim 36 does not recite the tool is configured to provide a plurality of tool simultaneously. The tool of Leadtec can sequentially provide a plurality of tools and therefore anticipates this feature. Claim 41 recites the replacement system is configured for installation in connection with another wire bonding system. As noted in the rejection of claim 11 the system is removable bolted and therefore is capable without further modification of being moved and then installed with another wire bonding system having a similar frame.
REJECTIONS UNDER 35 USC 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 10-2020-0126447 to Leadtec in view of U.S. 4,903,883 to Thurlemann.
Claim 4 recites that the clamping mechanism includes a spring for providing a clamping force in connection with a clamping operation. Leadtec does not teach the clamp system uses a spring. But it would have been obvious to modify it to have one in view of Thurlemann. Thurlemann relates to a clamp (35) attached to an ultrasonic wire bonding system (150). See Thurlemann cols. 3-5. As such, it is analogous art. Thurlemann teaches the clamp (35) has a leaf spring (39). See Thurlemann col. 5, ll. 1-24. Thurlemann further teaches this spring tensioned system provides superior control of grip strength. See Thurlemann col. 6, ll. 32-36. It is obvious to apply a known technique to a known product or method, ready for improvement, to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143(D). In this case, the clamp system of Leadtec could have been modified to use a spring to obtain superior grip control as well.
Claims 14, 15, & 44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 10-2020-0126447 to Leadtec in view of KR 2008-0050978 to Yamaha.
Claim 14 recites the clamping mechanism includes an image registration feature, the image registration feature providing a reference for determining a position of the clamping mechanism. Leadtec does not explicitly teach such a feature. But it would have been obvious to modify Leadtec to include such a feature in view of Yamaha. Yamaha relates to a wire bonding device and tool and is therefore analogous art. See Yamaha pg. 2. Yamaha teaches using a camera system (24) to track the position of the movable bonding head (19). See Yamaha pg. 3-4. Yamaha teaches this camera system provides superior feedback and allows better confidence and control of position. It is obvious to apply a known technique to a known product or method, ready for improvement, to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143(D). In this case, it would have been obvious to add a camera tracking system to confirm and guide the clamping mechanism of Leadtec to improve positioning confidence. Examiner takes Official Notice that it is know to place an easily viewable target symbol on such tracked targets to facilitate the camera accuracy. As such, it would have been obvious to add an image registration feature as well. Regarding claim 15, the camera system teaches the vision system. Claim 44 recites the same features as claim 14 and is rejected for the same reasons.
CONCLUSION
Any inquiry concerning this communication should be directed to Moshe Wilensky whose telephone number is 571-270-3257. Mr. Wilensky’s supervisor, Sunil Singh can be reached at 571-272-3460. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Examiner interviews are available via telephone or video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. Applicant may also use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/MOSHE WILENSKY/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3726
1 The following conventions are used in this office action. All direct claim quotations are presented in italics. All non-italic reference numerals presented with italicized claim language are from the cited prior art reference. All citations to “specification” are to the applicant’s published specification unless otherwise indicated. The use of the phrase “et al.” following a reference is used solely to refer to subsequent modifying references, and not to other listed inventors of the cited reference.
2 Examiner also reminds applicant that the text of canceled claims should not be submitted in amended claim sets.
3 All citations are to the google translation provided in applicant’s November 13, 2025 IDS. This translation does not provide either paragraph or line numbers. As such, citations are limited to page numbers.
4 Hereafter all uses of the word “obvious” should be construed to mean “obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed.”