Response to Amendment
The amendment filed by the Applicant on 2/17/26 is acknowledged, however they are moot in light of new grounds of rejection for the amended claims.
Claim Objection
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 8, the limitation of “an included angle between the first inclined surface and the body surface is greater than zero degrees” is unclear language. As the entire surface of the body is considered as the body surface. It is not clear what is the body surface and where it is located.
Further, in claim 8, the limitation of body surface is not recited in the claim that claim 8 depends on (that is, claim 1). Appropriate correction is needed. For purposes of examination, it is considered as “light guide body surface”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Polak (US 20200029002 A1, cited previously)
Regarding claim 1, Polak teaches an electronic device ([0003]), comprising: a housing (10 in Fig.1), comprising a light-emitting port (output surface of 26 facing the light guide member 18a); a light source 20, providing a light beam; and a soft light-guide member 18a ([0081]-[0082]), disposed in the housing, wherein the soft light guide member comprises a light-entering portion (lower surface of 18a) and a light-emitting portion (upper surface of 18a), the light-entering portion corresponds to the light source 20, the light-emitting portion corresponds to the light-emitting port, the light beam enters the soft light-guide member via the light-entering portion, and leaves the soft light-guide member via the light-emitting portion;
wherein the housing comprises a compartment (24 and 18b), and the soft light-guide member is inserted into the compartment, wherein the soft light-guide member comprises a light-guide body 18a, wherein the light-guide body further comprises a first inclined surface (top curved inclined surface) and a second inclined surface 24a (on left side) , the first inclined surface is connected to the second inclined surface, the light- emitting portion is located on the first inclined surface, the first inclined surface faces the light- emitting port, and the second inclined surface abuts the compartment.
Further regarding the limitations of “microstructures formed on the light emitting surface”, Polak teaches light-exiting surface with diffusing properties ([0026] and in claim 10 Polak teaches: wherein the light-transparent portion has a light-entering surface with diffusing properties, a light-exiting surface with diffusing properties).
Further, Polak teaches:
[0027] According to another aspect, the light-transparent portion comprises microlenses and/or a structure is formed on the surface of the light-transparent portion. Examples of a structure on the surface of the light-transparent portion can be refractive microlenses, beam homogenizers, and collimators. Such a structure can be placed on the surface that faces towards the light source and/or the surface that faces the field of view. The structure can also be placed inside the body of the light-transparent portion.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use microstructures on the light emitting surface, in order to homogenize the output light.
Regarding claim 2, Polak teaches an electronic device, wherein the soft light-guide member comprises transparent silicone rubber ([0023]).
Regarding claim 4, Polak teaches an electronic device, further comprising a circuit board (PCB 22), wherein the light source is disposed on the circuit board, the soft light-guide member abuts the circuit board, and at least a portion of the soft light-guide member protrudes from the compartment (18b and 24).
Regarding claim 5, Polak teaches an electronic device, wherein the soft light-guide member further comprises an annular rib (side ribs on top and on two sides of 18a), the annular rib surrounds an outer surface of the light-guide body; the compartment (18b and 24) comprises a compartment inner wall, and the annular rib abuts the compartment inner wall.
Regarding claim 6, Polak teaches an electronic device, wherein the light-guide body comprises a body surface, a recess (opening formed to accommodate the light source 20) is formed on the body surface, the light-entering portion is located in the recess, and the light source faces the recess.
Regarding claim 8, Polak teaches an electronic device, wherein an included angle between the first inclined surface and the body surface is greater than zero degrees.
See angle below in Polak:
Claims 14 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Polak (US 20200029002 A1, cited previously) in view of Erich (EP 3717826 B1)
Regarding claim 14, Polak teaches a soft light-guide member (at least Fig.1), adapted to guide a light beam provided by a light source 20, comprising: a light-entering portion (lower surface of 18a) and a light-emitting portion, the light-entering portion corresponds to the light source, the light beam enters the soft light-guide member via the light-entering portion, and leaves the soft light-guide member via the light-emitting portion (upper surface of 18), wherein the soft light-guide member comprises transparent silicone rubber ([0023], also see rejection in claim 1 above).
Polak teaches light-exiting surface with diffusing properties ([0026] and in claim 10 of Polak: wherein the light-transparent portion has a light-entering surface with diffusing properties, a light-exiting surface with diffusing properties);
and
wherein the light-guide body further comprises a first inclined surface (top curved inclined surface) and a second inclined surface 24a, the first inclined surface is connected to the second inclined surface, and the light-emitting portion is located on the first inclined surface.
Regarding the limitations of “microstructures formed on the light emitting surface”, Polak teaches light-exiting surface with diffusing properties ([0026] and in claim 10 Polak teaches: wherein the light-transparent portion has a light-entering surface with diffusing properties, a light-exiting surface with diffusing properties).
Further, Polak teaches:
[0027] According to another aspect, the light-transparent portion comprises microlenses and/or a structure is formed on the surface of the light-transparent portion. Examples of a structure on the surface of the light-transparent portion can be refractive microlenses, beam homogenizers, and collimators. Such a structure can be placed on the surface that faces towards the light source and/or the surface that faces the field of view. The structure can also be placed inside the body of the light-transparent portion.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use microstructures on the light emitting surface, in order to homogenize the output light.
Polak does not teach a light-guide body and an annular rib, and the annular rib surrounds an outer surface of the light-guide body.
However, it is well known in the art to use annular protrusions formed on outer surface of bodies that are attached to another element within light emitting devices, as a locking mechanism. Erich teaches a seal (44) on an inner jacket in the lower region has an annular rib (39) which engages in a groove of the carrier body (53), Erich teaches another annular rib 38 in the top region (Fig.5) and it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use annular ribs on the outer surface of the light guide bodies , in order to tightly engage it to a housing.
Regarding claim 18, Polak in view of Erich teaches the soft light-guide member, further comprising a cylindrical portion and an annular rib (from the teachings of Erich), the cylindrical portion (substantial cylindrical bodies 18 in Polak, also see other embodiments of Polak with modified shapes of the light guide members as in Fig.6) is formed on the light-guide body, the light-emitting portion is located on one end of the cylindrical portion, and the annular rib surrounds an outer surface of the cylindrical portion.
Claim 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Polak in view Erich and further in view of Zhang (CN 214041790 U, cited previously)
Regarding claim 17, Polak teaches the invention set forth in claim 14 above, but is silent regarding the soft light-guide member comprises a light-guide body and a plurality of stands, the stands are disposed on a body surface of the light-guide body, the light-entering portion is located on the body surface.
Zhang teaches a light guide body (Fig.1) with a plurality of stands 500 disposed on a body surface of the light-guide body, and it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the stands as disclosed in Zhang, such that the light-entering portion is located on the body surface, in the device of Polak in view of Erich in order to provide accuracy of location of the light guide body (see in Zhang: In the technical solution of the embodiment, through the locating column 500 can conveniently locate the light guide structure, ensuring the accuracy of the location).
Claims 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Polak in view of Zhang (CN 214041790 U, cited previously)
Regarding claim 9, Polak teaches the invention set forth in claim 4 above, but is silent regarding the soft light-guide member comprises a light-guide body and a plurality of stands, the stands are disposed on a body surface of the light-guide body, the light-entering portion is located on the body surface, the stands abut the circuit board, and a first gap is formed between the body surface and the circuit board.
Zhang teaches a light guide body (Fig.1) with a plurality of stands 500 disposed on a body surface of the light-guide body, and it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the stands as disclosed in Zhang, such that the light-entering portion is located on the body surface, the stands abut the circuit board, and a first gap is formed between the body surface and the circuit board, in the device of Polak in order to provide accuracy of location of the light guide body (see in Zhang: In the technical solution of the embodiment, through the locating column 500 can conveniently locate the light guide structure, ensuring the accuracy of the location).
Regarding claim 10, Polak in view of Zhang teaches a first gap between the stands and the circuit board , whereas Polak in view of Zhang also teach a second gap is formed between the housing and the circuit board in other embodiments (see other embodiments in Polak such as 36 and circuit board 22 in Fig.3,4A, 5A, 6A of Polak) , therefore from the combined teachings of Polak in view of Zhang, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to form the first gap (formed in Polak in view of Zhang, from the teachings of stands in Zhang) communicated with the second gap in order to easily assemble/disassemble the circuit board.
Regarding claim 11, Polak in view of Zhang teaches an electronic device, wherein the light- guide body further comprises a third inclined surface (24a on right side), and the third inclined surface abuts the compartment.
Regarding claim 12, Polak in view of Zhang teaches the display device, wherein the soft light-guiding member comprises a cylindrical portion, the cylindrical portion is connected to the light-guide body (see objection to Drawings), and the light-emitting portion is located on one end of the cylindrical portion (from central portion of 18 in Polak which is substantially cylindrical, also see shape in Fig.6 of Polak wherein the central portion is completely cylindrical).
Regarding claim 13, Polak in view of Zhang teaches an electronic device, wherein the soft light-guide member comprises a light-guide body (center portion) and an annular rib (side ribs), the annular rib surrounds an outer surface of the light-guide body.
Response to Arguments
The arguments filed by the Applicant on 2/17/26 is acknowledged, however they are moot in light of new grounds of rejection for the amended claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Other art
Claim 7: CN 110598657 A/CN 206594329 U
Contact Information
/Fatima N Farokhrooz/
Examiner, Art Unit 2875