DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the applicant’s communication filed on 11/14/2024
Claims 1-20 are pending
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: The participle “determining” is not grammatically parallel with the preceding recitations “determine” and “determine whether”. A possible correction is to replace “determining” with “determine.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitations "the current value" in line 7, “the second threshold” in line 8, “the voltage value” in line 9, and “the third threshold” in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim 5 also recites “determine, by the first processor, the second sampling signal”. It is unclear whether the first processor determines the existence, type, value, strength, or another property of the second sampling signal. The ensuing alternatives distinguish a current value from a voltage value, but that later language does not resolve what the preceding “determine” operation requires.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the power supply system" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 10-11, 13, 15, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Winkler et al. USPGPUB 2022/0200461 A1 (hereinafter Winkler) in view of Jin et al. CN 103904622 A (hereinafter Jin).
Regarding claim 1, Winkler teaches an overcurrent protection circuit (Par. [0037], “Comparator 238 senses a value of an electrical characteristic of shunt flyback 240 (e.g., a voltage or a current) and compares the sensed value to a predetermined threshold (e.g., a peak current threshold). In response to determining that the sensed value of the electrical characteristic of shunt flyback 240 exceeds the predetermined threshold, PWM generation circuitry 228 disables output of the PWM drive signal, thereby disabling primary-side flyback drive circuitry 106 for the duration of the clock cycle” – comparator 238, shunt flyback 240, and PWM generation circuitry 228 collectively correspond to the overcurrent protection circuit because they sense the primary-side current, determine whether the current exceeds the peak-current threshold, and disable the power-converter drive signal in response.), comprising:
a transformer, wherein an input terminal of the transformer is connected to an input terminal of a power supply system through a first power circuit, and an output terminal of the transformer is connected to an output terminal of the power supply system through a second power circuit (Fig. 2; Par. [0023], “First winding 120A of transformer 120 is connected to primary-side output 108 of primary-side circuit 102 of controller 101”; Par. [0023], “Second winding 120B of transformer 120 is connected to secondary-side output 158 and secondary-side load 160”- Figure 2 shows the node labeled “Supply (primary)” as the input terminal of the power-supply system and the connected terminal of first winding 120A as the input terminal of transformer 120. The primary-side power path shown between the primary supply and transformer 120 corresponds to the first power circuit. Figure 2 further shows an output terminal of second winding 120B connected through the secondary-side rectifying path to secondary-side output 158. The terminal of second winding 120B corresponds to the output terminal of transformer 120, secondary-side output 158 corresponds to the output terminal of the power-supply system, and the rectifying path corresponds to the second power circuit.);
a first sampling circuit, configured to: collect a current signal at the input terminal of the transformer and output a first sampling signal (Fig. 2, Par. [0064], “ISHUNT 606 depicts a current through shunt 240.”; Par. [0041], “Comparators 238 compare a voltage across flyback shunts 240” - Figure 2 shows shunt 240 and its sensing connections to comparator 238 in the series primary-side current path of first winding 120A. The shunt 240 and its sensing connections correspond to the first sampling circuit, the current through shunt 240 corresponds to the current signal collected at the input terminal of transformer 120, and the voltage across shunt 240 provided to comparator 238 corresponds to the first sampling signal output by the first sampling circuit.);
an overcurrent protection hardware circuit, configured to: determine strength of the first sampling signal, and when the strength of the first sampling signal is greater than a first threshold, output an overcurrent protection signal (Fig. 2; Par. [0041], “Comparators 238 compare a voltage across flyback shunts 240”; Par. [0037], “Comparator 238 senses a value of an electrical characteristic of shunt flyback 240 (e.g., a voltage or a current) and compares the sensed value to a predetermined threshold (e.g., a peak current threshold). In response to determining that the sensed value of the electrical characteristic of shunt flyback 240 exceeds the predetermined threshold, PWM generation circuitry 228 disables output of the PWM drive signal” – The voltage across shunt 240 corresponds to the first sampling signal, and the sensed value of that voltage corresponds to the strength of the first sampling signal. Comparator 238 determines strength by comparing the sensed value with the predetermined peak-current threshold. The threshold-comparison output provided by comparator 238 to PWM generation circuitry 228 corresponds to the overcurrent protection signal.);
a first processor, configured to: trigger, based on the overcurrent protection signal, the power supply system to stop sending a PWM driver gating signal (Par. [0106], “various aspects of the described techniques may be implemented within one or more processors”; Par. [0037], “For example, during a clock cycle of primary-side controller 104, driver handling circuit 216 enables PWM generation circuitry 228 of primary-side flyback drive circuitry 106 so as to store electrical power within first winding 120A of flyback power converter system 100.”; Par. [0037], “In response to determining that the sensed value of the electrical characteristic of shunt flyback 240 exceeds the predetermined threshold, PWM generation circuitry 228 disables output of the PWM drive signal, thereby disabling primary-side flyback drive circuitry 106 for the duration of the clock cycle to transfer the electrical power stored at primary-side output 108 to secondary-side output 158 of flyback power converter system 100” - the processor implementing primary-side controller 104 corresponds to the first processor. During the primary-side controller’s clock cycle, comparator 238 provides the threshold-comparison output corresponding to the overcurrent protection signal, and PWM generation circuitry 228 stops outputting the PWM drive signal in response.); and
a second sampling circuit, configured to: collect an electrical signal at an output terminal of the second power circuit and output a second sampling signal (Par. [0024], “Secondary-side controller 154 senses, via secondary-side flyback detection circuitry 156, an electrical characteristic of secondary-side output 158”; Par. [0032], “In some examples, the electrical characteristic of secondary-side output 158 is a voltage or a current” - secondary-side flyback detection circuitry 156 corresponds to the second sampling circuit because it senses the voltage or current at secondary-side output 158 and provides the sensed electrical characteristic to secondary-side controller 154. The sensed voltage or current corresponds to the second sampling signal.); and
a second processor (Par. [0024], “Secondary-side circuit 152 of controller 101 comprises secondary-side controller 154 and secondary-side flyback detection circuitry 156”; Par. [0106], “various aspects of the described techniques may be implemented within one or more processors” – the processor implementing secondary-side controller 154 corresponds to the claimed second processor.), configured to:
output a first signal, wherein the first signal comprises the second sampling signal (Par. [0076], “In other types of flyback power converters, the secondary-side controller may transmit, over a communication channel, data indicating detected values of an electrical characteristic of a secondary-side output of the flyback power converter to the primary-side controller” - the transmitted data correspond to the first signal, and the detected value of the sampled secondary-output electrical characteristic carried in the transmitted data corresponds to the second sampling signal.); or
determine strength of the second sampling signal (Par. [0062], “The electrical characteristic of secondary-side output 158 may be, e.g., a voltage or a current of secondary-side output 158. Secondary-side controller 154 compares a value of the sensed electrical characteristic of secondary-side output 158 to a first predetermined threshold and a second predetermined threshold” – secondary-side controller 154 determines the strength of the sensed voltage or current by comparing its value with the predetermined thresholds.) and output a first signal (Par. [0034], “CT data transmitter 208 transmits, via communication channel 150, control message 150 to CT data receiver 214 of primary-side circuit 102” – control message 150 corresponds to the first signal.), wherein the first signal comprises first information and the second sampling signal (Par. [0031], “Secondary-side controller 154 sends, over communication channel 150, feedback information based on the sensed electrical characteristic of secondary-side output 158 in the form of control message 150 specifying a power mode according to which primary-side controller 104 is to control primary-side flyback drive circuitry 106.”; Par. [0034], “diagnosis feedback circuit 204 combines the request for a change to the selected power mode with other diagnostic and/or feedback information from secondary-side circuit 152, such as desaturation information, overcurrent protection (OCP) data, secondary-side output 158 monitoring (‘outmon’), undervoltage indicators, overvoltage indicators, etc. Coreless Transmitter (CT) data transmitter 208 formulates the request for a change to the selected power mode and diagnostic information into control message 150 comprising a header frame, the selected power mode, diagnostic information, and a checksum.”; Par. [0076], “the secondary-side controller may transmit, over a communication channel, data indicating detected values of an electrical characteristic of a secondary-side output of the flyback power converter to the primary-side controller.” - Winkler teaches transmitting secondary-output feedback information, including detected secondary-output values, and teaches a control message containing the selected power mode together with secondary-output monitoring and diagnostic information.), and the first information indicates whether an output overcurrent occurs at the output terminal of the power supply system (Par. [0071], “Flyback control message field 706 specifies a power mode selected by secondary-side controller 154.”; Par. [0074], “secondary-side controller 154 selects the non-maskable skip power mode in response to detecting an overvoltage or overcurrent warning on secondary-side output 158. Secondary-side controller 154 selects the cycle skip power mode in response to determining that an electrical characteristic of secondary-side output 158 is greater than a target threshold. Secondary-side controller 154 selects the low power mode in response to determining that the electrical characteristic of secondary-side output 158 is less than or equal to a target threshold and greater than a first low-target threshold.” - the selected power mode identifies the condition detected at secondary-side output 158, including a non-maskable skip power mode selected in response to an overcurrent warning.); and
after the power supply system stops sending a PWM driver gating signal, the first processor is further configured to (Par. [0037], “In response to determining that the sensed value of the electrical characteristic of shunt flyback 240 exceeds the predetermined threshold, PWM generation circuitry 228 disables output of the PWM drive signal”):
receive the first signal (for the first alternative, Par. [0076], “In other types of flyback power converters, the secondary-side controller may transmit, over a communication channel, data indicating detected values of an electrical characteristic of a secondary-side output of the flyback power converter to the primary-side controller.”; Par. [0034], “CT data transmitter 208 transmits, via communication channel 150, control message 150 to CT data receiver 214 of primary-side circuit 102.”; Par. [0035], “CT data receiver 214 provides control message 150, including the specified power mode, to primary-side controller 104.” - in the first alternative, primary-side controller 104 receives the transmitted detected-value data, and, in the second alternative, primary-side controller 104 receives control message 150 containing the selected power mode and secondary-output information.).
Winkler does not explicitly teach when the received first signal is within a first time threshold, determine, based on the first signal, whether to perform overcurrent protection on the output terminal of the power supply system.
However, the combination of Winkler and Jin teaches when the received first signal is within a first time threshold (Jin, Par. [0018], “if the over-current signal is generated in the 1.311ms once again”; Par. [0036], “If in turn generates an over-current signal in the this period of time, … the DSP will not generate a reset signal” – Jin teaches using whether another overcurrent indication occurs within the defined 1.311-ms interval as a timing condition for maintaining overcurrent protection.), determine, based on the first signal, whether to perform overcurrent protection on the output terminal of the power supply system (Winkler, Par. [0074], “secondary-side controller 154 selects the non-maskable skip power mode in response to detecting an overvoltage or overcurrent warning on secondary-side output 158”; Par. [0083], “CT data receiver 214 provides control message 150, including the specified power mode, to primary-side controller 104”; Par. [0084], “Primary-side controller 104 controls primary-side flyback drive circuitry 106 according to the selected power mode … Where the specified power mode is the cycle skip power mode, driver handling circuit 216 and pulse generator control circuitry 224 control PWM pulse generation circuitry 228 to skip output of the drive signal” - the processor implementing primary-side controller 104 determines, based on the received signal identifying the output-overcurrent-responsive mode, whether to suppress the drive signal and thereby perform overcurrent protection on secondary-side output 158).
Winkler and Jin are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain functional similarities. They both relate to overcurrent protection in switched power-conversion systems and control semiconductor drive signals in response to sensed overcurrent information.
Therefore, at the time of the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above flyback power-converter system, as taught by Winkler, so that primary-side controller 104 applies a defined time threshold to the receipt of the first signal and determines whether to perform output overcurrent protection based on whether the signal is received within the defined time threshold, as taught by Jin.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve the ability to distinguish a continuing overcurrent condition from a transient or interfering current condition, as suggested by Jin (Par. [0009]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Winkler and Jin teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Winkler further teaches wherein the second processor is further configured to:
when the second sampling signal is a current value (Par. [0062], “The electrical characteristic of secondary-side output 158 may be, e.g., a voltage or a current of secondary-side output 158.” - the sensed current of secondary-side output 158 corresponds to the current value of the second sampling signal), and the current value is greater than or equal to a second threshold (Par. [0063], “In response to determining that the value of the sensed electrical characteristic is greater than the second predetermined threshold (e.g., the sensed electrical characteristic of secondary-side output 158 is greater than a maximum target value), secondary-side controller 154 selects skip power mode 506 to reduce the sensed electrical characteristic to the maximum target value.” - when the sensed electrical characteristic is current, the current at secondary-side output 158 corresponds to the second sampling signal. A current greater than the second predetermined threshold necessarily is greater than or equal to the second threshold.), generate the first information (Par. [0063], “In response to determining that the value of the sensed electrical characteristic is greater than the second predetermined threshold (e.g., the sensed electrical characteristic of secondary-side output 158 is greater than a maximum target value), secondary-side controller 154 selects skip power mode 506.”; Par. [0082], “CT data transmitter 208 formulates the request for a change to the selected power mode and diagnostic information into control message 150 comprising a header frame, the selected power mode, diagnostic information, and a checksum”– secondary-side controller 154 selects skip power mode 506 in response to the threshold determination, and CT data transmitter 208 formulates the selected power-mode information into control message 150. The selected power-mode information corresponds to the generated first information.), wherein the first information indicates that the output overcurrent occurs at the output terminal of the power supply system (Par. [0023], “Second winding 120B of transformer 120 is connected to secondary-side output 158 and secondary-side load 160.”; Par. [0063], “In response to determining that the value of the sensed electrical characteristic is greater than the second predetermined threshold (e.g., the sensed electrical characteristic of secondary-side output 158 is greater than a maximum target value), secondary-side controller 154 selects skip power mode 506 to reduce the sensed electrical characteristic to the maximum target value.”; Par. [0071], “Flyback control message field 706 specifies a power mode selected by secondary-side controller 154.” - secondary-side output 158 corresponds to the output terminal of the power supply system. When the electrical characteristic sensed at secondary-side output 158 is current, the skip-power-mode value specified in field 706 indicates that the current has reached or exceeded the second threshold and therefore indicates that output overcurrent occurs at the output terminal of the power supply system.).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Winkler and Jin teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Winkler further teaches wherein the first processor is further configured to:
determine, based on the first signal, whether to perform overcurrent protection on the output terminal of the power supply system (Par. [0076], “In other types of flyback power converters, the secondary-side controller may transmit, over a communication channel, data indicating detected values of an electrical characteristic of a secondary-side output of the flyback power converter to the primary-side controller. The primary-side controller uses such data as a feedback loop to control the primary-side drive circuitry to drive the primary-side output, thereby controlling the secondary-side output.”; Par. [0031], “Secondary-side controller 154 sends, over communication channel 150, feedback information based on the sensed electrical characteristic of secondary-side output 158 in the form of control message 150 specifying a power mode according to which primary-side controller 104 is to control primary-side flyback drive circuitry 106.”; Par. [0031], “Primary-side controller 104 controls, according to the power mode specified by control message 150, primary-side flyback drive circuitry 106 to drive primary-side output 108, which in turn drives a value of the electrical characteristic of secondary-side output 158 to achieve a target value of the electrical characteristic of secondary-side output 158.” - for the first alternative, primary-side controller 104 determines the drive control based on the detected secondary-output value carried in the first signal. For the second alternative, primary-side controller 104 determines the drive control based on the power mode carried in the first signal. In either case, the determination controls secondary-side output 158, which corresponds to the output terminal of the power supply system.); and either:
determine, based on the first information carried in the first signal, whether to perform overcurrent protection on the output terminal of the power supply system (Par. [0071], “Flyback control message field 706 specifies a power mode selected by secondary-side controller 154. Secondary-side controller 154 may use flyback control message field 706 of control message 170 to specify the power mode according to which primary-side controller 104 controls primary-side drive circuitry 106”; Par. [0083], “CT data receiver 214 provides control message 150, including the specified power mode, to primary-side controller 104”; Par. [0084], “driver handling circuit 216 of primary-side controller 104 identifies the power mode specified by control message 150. Where the specified power mode is the low power mode or the high power mode, driver handling circuit 216 and pulse generator control circuitry 224 drive PWM pulse generation circuitry 228 to output a drive signal to drive gate driver flyback 234 according to the specified power mode. Where the specified power mode is the cycle skip power mode, driver handling circuit 216 and pulse generator control circuitry 224 control PWM pulse generation circuitry 228 to skip output of the drive signal” – flyback control message field 706 corresponds to the first information carried in the first signal. Primary-side controller 104 receives the selected power mode and controls the drive circuitry according to that mode, including skipping the drive signal when the cycle skip power mode is specified. Thus, the controller determines whether to perform overcurrent protection based on the first information.); or
determine, based on the signal strength of the second sampling signal carried in the first signal, whether to perform overcurrent protection on the output terminal of the power supply system (Par. [0062], “The electrical characteristic of secondary-side output 158 may be, e.g., a voltage or a current of secondary-side output 158.”; Par. [0076], “In other types of flyback power converters, the secondary-side controller may transmit, over a communication channel, data indicating detected values of an electrical characteristic of a secondary-side output of the flyback power converter to the primary-side controller. The primary-side controller uses such data as a feedback loop to control the primary-side drive circuitry to drive the primary-side output, thereby controlling the secondary-side output.”; Par. [0063], “In response to determining that the value of the sensed electrical characteristic is greater than the second predetermined threshold (e.g., the sensed electrical characteristic of secondary-side output 158 is greater than a maximum target value), secondary-side controller 154 selects skip power mode 506 to reduce the sensed electrical characteristic to the maximum target value.” - when the sensed electrical characteristic is current, the detected current value corresponds to the signal strength of the second sampling signal. The detected value is transmitted to the primary-side controller, and a value above the threshold results in selection of the protective skip power mode.).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Winkler and Jin teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Winkler further teaches wherein the first processor is further configured to:
determine, based on the first signal (Par. [0035], “Primary-side controller 104 receives, over communication channel 150, control message 150 from secondary-side controller 154 and controls, according to the power mode specified by control message 150, primary-side flyback drive circuitry 106 to drive primary-side output 108”; Par. [0076], “In other types of flyback power converters, the secondary-side controller may transmit, over a communication channel, data indicating detected values of an electrical characteristic of a secondary-side output of the flyback power converter to the primary-side controller. The primary-side controller uses such data as a feedback loop to control the primary-side drive circuitry to drive the primary-side output, thereby controlling the secondary-side output.” – control message 150 or the transmitted detected-value data corresponds to the first signal, and primary-side controller 104 uses the received signal to determine the control of primary-side flyback drive circuitry 106.), whether to perform overcurrent protection on the output terminal of the power supply system (Par. [0052], “Primary-side controller 104 controls primary-side flyback drive circuitry 106 according to the cycle skip power mode while an electrical characteristic of secondary-side output 158 is greater than a target threshold (e.g., a maximum value of the electrical characteristic of secondary-side output 158). Primary-side controller 104 controls primary-side flyback drive circuitry 106 according to the low power mode while the electrical characteristic of secondary-side output 158 is less than or equal to a target threshold and greater than or equal to a low-target threshold (e.g., a minimum value of the electrical characteristic of secondary-side output 158).”; Par. [0055], “To control primary-side flyback drive circuitry 106 according to the cycle skip power mode, primary-side controller 104 skips output of clock pulses 410 to primary-side flyback drive circuitry 106 for at least one clock cycle 412. This effectively causes PWM pulse generation circuitry 228 to skip output of a duty signal to gate driver 234, thereby skipping transfer of energy to secondary-side output 158 for the at least one clock cycle 412.” – primary-side controller 104 determines, based on the received signal, whether to use the protective cycle skip power mode or a non-skip power mode.);
determine whether the first signal comprises the first information (Par. [0068], “header frame field 170 is a 3 bit field that specifies a type of data carried by control message 170. As depicted in FIG. 7, for example, header frame field 170 indicates that control message 170 specifies a power mode of flyback power converter system 100.”; Par. [0084], “driver handling circuit 216 of primary-side controller 104 identifies the power mode specified by control message 150.” - the selected power-mode information corresponds to the first information. Header frame field 170 identifies the type of data carried by the control message, including whether the control message specifies power-mode information, and primary-side controller 104 identifies the power mode specified by the received message.); and
on a basis that the first signal does not comprise the first information (Par. [0068], “header frame field 170 is a 3 bit field that specifies a type of data carried by control message 170”; Par. [0076], “In other types of flyback power converters, the secondary-side controller may transmit, over a communication channel, data indicating detected values of an electrical characteristic of a secondary-side output of the flyback power converter to the primary-side controller.” - Winkler teaches identifying the type of data carried by a control message and separately teaches transmitting detected secondary-output values to the primary-side controller. In the modified system, the detected-value signal is used when the first signal does not comprise the selected power-mode information corresponding to the first information.), determining, by the first processor based on the signal strength of the second sampling signal carried in the first signal (Par. [0076], “the secondary-side controller may transmit, over a communication channel, data indicating detected values of an electrical characteristic of a secondary-side output of the flyback power converter to the primary-side controller. The primary-side controller uses such data as a feedback loop to control the primary-side drive circuitry to drive the primary-side output, thereby controlling the secondary-side output.” – the detected value carried in the transmitted data corresponds to the signal strength of the second sampling signal, and primary-side controller 104 corresponds to the first processor that evaluates the detected value.), whether to perform overcurrent protection on the output terminal of the power supply system (Par. [0052], “Primary-side controller 104 controls primary-side flyback drive circuitry 106 according to the cycle skip power mode while an electrical characteristic of secondary-side output 158 is greater than a target threshold”; Par. [0055], “primary-side controller 104 skips output of clock pulses 410 to primary-side flyback drive circuitry 106 for at least one clock cycle 412. This effectively causes PWM pulse generation circuitry 228 to skip output of a duty signal to gate driver 234, thereby skipping transfer of energy to secondary-side output 158 for the at least one clock cycle 412.” - primary-side controller 104 uses the detected secondary-output value to determine whether to select the protective cycle skip operation.).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Winkler and Jin teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Winkler further teaches wherein the transformer is an isolation transformer (Par. [0022], “Flyback power converter system 100 is a buck-boost converter with 2 coupled inductances (e.g., a transformer) which transfer energy from first winding 120A to second winding 120B. Flyback power converter system 100 further provides the additional advantage of isolation between components connected to first winding 120A (referred to herein as the ‘primary side’) and components connected to second winding 120B (referred to herein as the ‘secondary side’).” – transformer 120 transfers energy between its primary and secondary windings while electrically isolating the components connected to the respective windings and therefore corresponds to the claimed isolation transformer.).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Winkler and Jin teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Winkler further teaches wherein the first processor is further configured to:
determine, based on the first signal, whether to perform overcurrent protection on the output terminal of the power supply system (Par. [0076], “In other types of flyback power converters, the secondary-side controller may transmit, over a communication channel, data indicating detected values of an electrical characteristic of a secondary-side output of the flyback power converter to the primary-side controller. The primary-side controller uses such data as a feedback loop to control the primary-side drive circuitry to drive the primary-side output, thereby controlling the secondary-side output.”; Par. [0031], “Secondary-side controller 154 sends, over communication channel 150, feedback information based on the sensed electrical characteristic of secondary-side output 158 in the form of control message 150 specifying a power mode according to which primary-side controller 104 is to control primary-side flyback drive circuitry 106.”; Par. [0031], “Primary-side controller 104 controls, according to the power mode specified by control message 150, primary-side flyback drive circuitry 106 to drive primary-side output 108, which in turn drives a value of the electrical characteristic of secondary-side output 158 to achieve a target value of the electrical characteristic of secondary-side output 158.” - for the first alternative, primary-side controller 104 determines the drive control based on the detected secondary-output value carried in the first signal. For the second alternative, primary-side controller 104 determines the drive control based on the power mode carried in the first signal. In either case, the determination controls secondary-side output 158, which corresponds to the output terminal of the power supply system.);
determine, based on the first information carried in the first signal, whether to perform overcurrent protection on the output terminal of the power supply system (Par. [0071], “Flyback control message field 706 specifies a power mode selected by secondary-side controller 154. Secondary-side controller 154 may use flyback control message field 706 of control message 170 to specify the power mode according to which primary-side controller 104 controls primary-side drive circuitry 106”; Par. [0083], “CT data receiver 214 provides control message 150, including the specified power mode, to primary-side controller 104”; Par. [0084], “driver handling circuit 216 of primary-side controller 104 identifies the power mode specified by control message 150. Where the specified power mode is the low power mode or the high power mode, driver handling circuit 216 and pulse generator control circuitry 224 drive PWM pulse generation circuitry 228 to output a drive signal to drive gate driver flyback 234 according to the specified power mode. Where the specified power mode is the cycle skip power mode, driver handling circuit 216 and pulse generator control circuitry 224 control PWM pulse generation circuitry 228 to skip output of the drive signal” – flyback control message field 706 corresponds to the first information carried in the first signal. Primary-side controller 104 receives the selected power mode and controls the drive circuitry according to that mode, including skipping the drive signal when the cycle skip power mode is specified. Thus, the controller determines whether to perform overcurrent protection based on the first information.); or
determine, based on the signal strength of the second sampling signal carried in the first signal, whether to perform overcurrent protection on the output terminal of the power supply system (Par. [0062], “The electrical characteristic of secondary-side output 158 may be, e.g., a voltage or a current of secondary-side output 158.”; Par. [0076], “In other types of flyback power converters, the secondary-side controller may transmit, over a communication channel, data indicating detected values of an electrical characteristic of a secondary-side output of the flyback power converter to the primary-side controller. The primary-side controller uses such data as a feedback loop to control the primary-side drive circuitry to drive the primary-side output, thereby controlling the secondary-side output.”; Par. [0063], “In response to determining that the value of the sensed electrical characteristic is greater than the second predetermined threshold (e.g., the sensed electrical characteristic of secondary-side output 158 is greater than a maximum target value), secondary-side controller 154 selects skip power mode 506 to reduce the sensed electrical characteristic to the maximum target value.” - when the sensed electrical characteristic is current, the detected current value corresponds to the signal strength of the second sampling signal. The detected value is transmitted to the primary-side controller, and a value above the threshold results in selection of the protective skip power mode.).
Regarding claim 13, Winkler teaches a power conversion apparatus (Par. [0022], “Flyback power converter system 100 is a buck-boost converter with 2 coupled inductances (e.g., a transformer) which transfer energy from first winding 120A to second winding 120B.” – flyback power converter system 100 corresponds to the power conversion apparatus.), wherein the power conversion apparatus comprises a power supply configured to supply power to an overcurrent protection circuit comprising (Fig. 2; Par. [0023], “Flyback power converter system 100 includes controller 101, transformer 120, and secondary-side load 160.” – Figure 2 shows the “Supply (primary)” connected to first winding 120A through the primary-side power path containing MOSFET 109 and shunt flyback 240. The supply provides input power to flyback power converter system 100, which includes comparator 238, PWM generation circuitry 228, transformer 120, and the remaining overcurrent-protection components and therefore corresponds to the power supply configured to supply power to the overcurrent protection circuit.):
a transformer, wherein an input terminal of the transformer is connected to an input terminal of the power supply system through a first power circuit, and an output terminal of the transformer is connected to an output terminal of the power supply system through a second power circuit (Fig. 2; Par. [0023], “First winding 120A of transformer 120 is connected to primary-side output 108 of primary-side circuit 102 of controller 101”; Par. [0023], “Second winding 120B of transformer 120 is connected to secondary-side output 158 and secondary-side load 160”- Figure 2 shows the node labeled “Supply (primary)” as the input terminal of the power-supply system and the connected terminal of first winding 120A as the input terminal of transformer 120. The primary-side power path shown between the primary supply and transformer 120 corresponds to the first power circuit. Figure 2 further shows an output terminal of second winding 120B connected through the secondary-side rectifying path to secondary-side output 158. The terminal of second winding 120B corresponds to the output terminal of transformer 120, secondary-side output 158 corresponds to the output terminal of the power-supply system, and the rectifying path corresponds to the second power circuit.);
a first sampling circuit, configured to: collect a current signal at the input terminal of the transformer and output a first sampling signal (Fig. 2, Par. [0064], “ISHUNT 606 depicts a current through shunt 240.”; Par. [0041], “Comparators 238 compare a voltage across flyback shunts 240” - Figure 2 shows shunt 240 and its sensing connections to comparator 238 in the series primary-side current path of first winding 120A. The shunt 240 and its sensing connections correspond to the first sampling circuit, the current through shunt 240 corresponds to the current signal collected at the input terminal of transformer 120, and the voltage across shunt 240 provided to comparator 238 corresponds to the first sampling signal output by the first sampling circuit.);
an overcurrent protection hardware circuit, configured to: determine strength of the first sampling signal, and when the strength of the first sampling signal is greater than a first threshold, output an overcurrent protection signal (Fig. 2; Par. [0041], “Comparators 238 compare a voltage across flyback shunts 240”; Par. [0037], “Comparator 238 senses a value of an electrical characteristic of shunt flyback 240 (e.g., a voltage or a current) and compares the sensed value to a predetermined threshold (e.g., a peak current threshold). In response to determining that the sensed value of the electrical characteristic of shunt flyback 240 exceeds the predetermined threshold, PWM generation circuitry 228 disables output of the PWM drive signal” – The voltage across shunt 240 corresponds to the first sampling signal, and the sensed value of that voltage corresponds to the strength of the first sampling signal. Comparator 238 determines strength by comparing the sensed value with the predetermined peak-current threshold. The threshold-comparison output provided by comparator 238 to PWM generation circuitry 228 corresponds to the overcurrent protection signal.);
a first processor, configured to: trigger, based on the overcurrent protection signal, the power supply system to stop sending a PWM driver gating signal (Par. [0106], “various aspects of the described techniques may be implemented within one or more processors”; Par. [0037], “For example, during a clock cycle of primary-side controller 104, driver handling circuit 216 enables PWM generation circuitry 228 of primary-side flyback drive circuitry 106 so as to store electrical power within first winding 120A of flyback power converter system 100.”; Par. [0037], “In response to determining that the sensed value of the electrical characteristic of shunt flyback 240 exceeds the predetermined threshold, PWM generation circuitry 228 disables output of the PWM drive signal, thereby disabling primary-side flyback drive circuitry 106 for the duration of the clock cycle to transfer the electrical power stored at primary-side output 108 to secondary-side output 158 of flyback power converter system 100” - the processor implementing primary-side controller 104 corresponds to the first processor. During the primary-side controller’s clock cycle, comparator 238 provides the threshold-comparison output corresponding to the overcurrent protection signal, and PWM generation circuitry 228 stops outputting the PWM drive signal in response.); and
a second sampling circuit, configured to: collect an electrical signal at an output terminal of the second power circuit and output a second sampling signal (Par. [0024], “Secondary-side controller 154 senses, via secondary-side flyback detection circuitry 156, an electrical characteristic of secondary-side output 158”; Par. [0032], “In some examples, the electrical characteristic of secondary-side output 158 is a voltage or a current” - secondary-side flyback detection circuitry 156 corresponds to the second sampling circuit because it senses the voltage or current at secondary-side output 158 and provides the sensed electrical characteristic to secondary-side controller 154. The sensed voltage or current corresponds to the second sampling signal.); and
a second processor (Par. [0024], “Secondary-side circuit 152 of controller 101 comprises secondary-side controller 154 and secondary-side flyback detection circuitry 156”; Par. [0106], “various aspects of the described techniques may be implemented within one or more processors” – the processor implementing secondary-side controller 154 corresponds to the claimed second processor.), configured to:
output a first signal, wherein the first signal comprises the second sampling signal (Par. [0076], “In other types of flyback power converters, the secondary-side controller may transmit, over a communication channel, data indicating detected values of an electrical characteristic of a secondary-side output of the flyback power converter to the primary-side controller” - the transmitted data correspond to the first signal, and the detected value of the sampled secondary-output electrical characteristic carried in the transmitted data corresponds to the second sampling signal.); or
determine strength of the second sampling signal (Par. [0062], “The electrical characteristic of secondary-side output 158 may be, e.g., a voltage or a current of secondary-side output 158. Secondary-side controller 154 compares a value of the sensed electrical characteristic of secondary-side output 158 to a first predetermined threshold and a second predetermined threshold” – secondary-side controller 154 determines the strength of the sensed voltage or current by comparing its value with the predetermined thresholds.) and output a first signal (Par. [0034], “CT data transmitter 208 transmits, via communication channel 150, control message 150 to CT data receiver 214 of primary-side circuit 102” – control message 150 corresponds to the first signal.), wherein the first signal comprises first information and the second sampling signal (Par. [0031], “Secondary-side controller 154 sends, over communication channel 150, feedback information based on the sensed electrical characteristic of secondary-side output 158 in the form of control message 150 specifying a power mode according to which primary-side controller 104 is to control primary-side flyback drive circuitry 106.”; Par. [0034], “diagnosis feedback circuit 204 combines the request for a change to the selected power mode with other diagnostic and/or feedback information from secondary-side circuit 152, such as desaturation information, overcurrent protection (OCP) data, secondary-side output 158 monitoring (‘outmon’), undervoltage indicators, overvoltage indicators, etc. Coreless Transmitter (CT) data transmitter 208 formulates the request for a change to the selected power mode and diagnostic information into control message 150 comprising a header frame, the selected power mode, diagnostic information, and a checksum.”; Par. [0076], “the secondary-side controller may transmit, over a communication channel, data indicating detected values of an electrical characteristic of a secondary-side output of the flyback power converter to the primary-side controller.” - Winkler teaches transmitting secondary-output feedback information, including detected secondary-output values, and teaches a control message containing the selected power mode together with secondary-output monitoring and diagnostic information.), and the first information indicates whether an output overcurrent occurs at the output terminal of the power supply system (Par. [0023], “Second winding 120B of transformer 120 is connected to secondary-side output 158 and secondary-side load 160”; Par. [0063], “In response to determining that the value of the sensed electrical characteristic is greater than the second predetermined threshold (e.g., the sensed electrical characteristic of secondary-side output 158 is greater than a maximum target value), secondary-side controller 154 selects skip power mode 506 to reduce the sensed electrical characteristic to the maximum target value”; Par. [0063], “In response to determining that the value of the sensed electrical characteristic is transitioning from greater than the second predetermined threshold to less than or equal to the second predetermined threshold (e.g., the sensed electrical characteristic of secondary-side output 158 exceeded the maximum target value and has fallen to below the maximum target value), secondary-side controller 154 selects low power mode 504”; Par. [0071], “Flyback control message field 706 specifies a power mode selected by secondary-side controller 154” - secondary-side output 158 corresponds to the output terminal of the power supply system. When the electrical characteristic sensed at secondary-side output 158 is current, skip power mode 506 indicates that the current is greater than the second predetermined threshold, whereas low power mode 504 indicates that the current has fallen to less than or equal to the second predetermined threshold. The selected power mode therefore indicates whether output overcurrent occurs at the output terminal.); and
after the power supply system stops sending a PWM driver gating signal, the first processor is further configured to (Par. [0037], “In response to determining that the sensed value of the electrical characteristic of shunt flyback 240 exceeds the predetermined threshold, PWM generation circuitry 228 disables output of the PWM drive signal”):
receive the first signal (for the first alternative, Par. [0076], “In other types of flyback power converters, the secondary-side controller may transmit, over a communication channel, data indicating detected values of an electrical characteristic of a secondary-side output of the flyback power converter to the primary-side controller.”; Par. [0034], “CT data transmitter 208 transmits, via communication channel 150, control message 150 to CT data receiver 214 of primary-side circuit 102.”; Par. [0035], “CT data receiver 214 provides control message 150, including the specified power mode, to primary-side controller 104.” - in the first alternative, primary-side controller 104 receives the transmitted detected-value data, and, in the second alternative, primary-side controller 104 receives control message 150 containing the selected power mode and secondary-output information.).
Winkler does not explicitly teach when the received first signal is within a first time threshold, determine, based on the first signal, whether to perform overcurrent protection on the output terminal of the power supply system.
However, the combination of Winkler and Jin teaches when the received first signal is within a first time threshold (Jin, Par. [0018], “if the over-current signal is generated in the 1.311ms once again”; Par. [0036], “If in turn generates an over-current signal in the this period of time, … the DSP will not generate a reset signal” - Jin determines whether another overcurrent indication occurs within the defined 1.311-ms interval and maintains the blocked condition when the indication occurs within that interval.), determine, based on the first signal, whether to perform overcurrent protection on the output terminal of the power supply system (Winkler, Par. [0074], “secondary-side controller 154 selects the non-maskable skip power mode in response to detecting an overvoltage or overcurrent warning on secondary-side output 158”; Par. [0083], “CT data receiver 214 provides control message 150, including the specified power mode, to primary-side controller 104”; Par. [0084], “Primary-side controller 104 controls primary-side flyback drive circuitry 106 according to the selected power mode … Where the specified power mode is the cycle skip power mode, driver handling circuit 216 and pulse generator control circuitry 224 control PWM pulse generation circuitry 228 to skip output of the drive signal” - the processor implementing primary-side controller 104 determines, based on the received signal identifying the output-overcurrent-responsive mode, whether to suppress the drive signal and thereby perform overcurrent protection on secondary-side output 158).
Winkler and Jin are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain functional similarities. They both relate to overcurrent protection in switched power-conversion systems and control semiconductor drive signals in response to sensed overcurrent information.
Therefore, at the time of the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above flyback power-converter system, as taught by Winkler, so that primary-side controller 104 applies a defined time threshold to the receipt of the first signal and determines whether to perform output overcurrent protection based on whether the signal is received within the defined time threshold, as taught by Jin.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve the ability to distinguish a continuing overcurrent condition from a transient or interfering current condition, as suggested by Jin (Par. [0009]).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Winkler and Jin teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Winkler further teaches wherein the second processor is further configured to:
when the second sampling signal is a current value (Par. [0062], “The electrical characteristic of secondary-side output 158 may be, e.g., a voltage or a current of secondary-side output 158.” - when secondary-side controller 154 senses current at secondary-side output 158, the sensed current corresponds to the current value of the second sampling signal.), and the current value is less than a second threshold (Par. [0063], “In response to determining that the value of the sensed electrical characteristic is transitioning from greater than the second predetermined threshold to less than or equal to the second predetermined threshold (e.g., the sensed electrical characteristic of secondary-side output 158 exceeded the maximum target value and has fallen to below the maximum target value), secondary-side controller 154 selects low power mode 504.” - when the sensed electrical characteristic is current, the second predetermined threshold corresponds to the second threshold, and the current falling below the maximum target value corresponds to the current value being less than the second threshold.), generate the first information (Par. [0071], “Flyback control message field 706 specifies a power mode selected by secondary-side controller 154.”; Par. [0082], “CT data transmitter 208 formulates the request for a change to the selected power mode and diagnostic information into control message 150 comprising a header frame, the selected power mode, diagnostic information, and a checksum” – the selected power-mode information corresponds to the first information, and CT data transmitter 208 formulates the selected power-mode information into control message 150.), wherein the first information indicates that the output overcurrent does not occur at the output terminal of the power supply system (Par. [0063], “In response to determining that the value of the sensed electrical characteristic is transitioning from greater than the second predetermined threshold to less than or equal to the second predetermined threshold ... secondary-side controller 154 selects low power mode 504”; Par. [0071], “Flyback control message field 706 specifies a power mode selected by secondary-side controller 154.” - when the electrical characteristic is current, the low-power-mode information indicates that the current has fallen below the second predetermined threshold, in contrast to the skip-power-mode information selected when the current exceeds the second predetermined threshold, and therefore indicates that the output overcurrent condition associated with the above-threshold current does not occur.).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Winkler and Jin teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Winkler further teaches wherein the first processor is further configured to:
determine, based on the first signal, whether to perform overcurrent protection on the output terminal of the power supply system (Par. [0083], “Primary-side controller 104 receives, over communication channel 150, control message 170 from secondary-side controller 154”; Par. [0084], “Primary-side controller 104 controls primary-side flyback drive circuitry 106 to drive primary-side output 108 of flyback power converter system 100 according to the selected power mode to control a value of the electrical characteristic of secondary-side output 158 of flyback power converter system 100” – control message 170 corresponds to the first signal, and primary-side controller 104 determines how to control the drive circuitry based on the selected power mode carried in the received signal.);
determine whether the first signal comprises the first information (Par. [0068], “header frame field 170 is a 3 bit field that specifies a type of data carried by control message 170. As depicted in FIG. 7, for example, header frame field 170 indicates that control message 170 specifies a power mode of flyback power converter system 100.”; Par. [0084], “driver handling circuit 216 of primary-side controller 104 identifies the power mode specified by control message 150.” - the selected power-mode information corresponds to the first information. Header frame field 170 identifies the type of data carried by the control message, including whether the control message specifies power-mode information, and primary-side controller 104 identifies the power mode specified by the received message.); and
on a basis that the first signal comprises the first information (Par. [0071], “Flyback control message field 706 specifies a power mode selected by secondary-side controller 154.”; Par. [0083], “CT data receiver 214 provides control message 150, including the specified power mode, to primary-side controller 104.” – the selected power-mode information corresponds to the first information and is carried in the first signal received by primary-side controller 104.), and the first information indicates that the output overcurrent occurs at the output terminal of the power supply system (Par. [0063], “In response to determining that the value of the sensed electrical characteristic is greater than the second predetermined threshold (e.g., the sensed electrical characteristic of secondary-side output 158 is greater than a maximum target value), secondary-side controller 154 selects skip power mode 506 to reduce the sensed electrical characteristic to the maximum target value”; Par. [0071], “Flyback control message field 706 specifies a power mode selected by secondary-side controller 154.” - when the sensed electrical characteristic is current, the selected skip power mode indicates that the output current exceeds the second threshold.), perform, by the first processor, overcurrent protection on the output terminal of the power supply system (Par. [0083], “CT data receiver 214 provides control message 150, including the specified power mode, to primary-side controller 104”; Par. [0084], “Primary-side controller 104 controls primary-side flyback drive circuitry 106 to drive primary-side output 108 of flyback power converter system 100 according to the selected power mode”; Par. [0084], “Where the specified power mode is the cycle skip power mode, driver handling circuit 216 and pulse generator control circuitry 224 control PWM pulse generation circuitry 228 to skip output of the drive signal until exiting the cycle skip power mode” - primary-side controller 104 receives the power mode selected in response to the output overcurrent condition and performs protection by causing the PWM drive signal to be skipped.).
Claim(s) 4, 12, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Winkler et al. USPGPUB 2022/0200461 A1 (hereinafter Winkler) in view of Jin et al. CN 103904622 A (hereinafter Jin), and further in view of Fischer et al. USPGPUB 2009/0231769 A1 (hereinafter Fischer).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Winkler and Jin teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Winkler further teaches wherein the first processor is further configured to:
determine, based on the first information carried in the first signal, whether to perform overcurrent protection on the output terminal of the power supply system (Par. [0071], “Flyback control message field 706 specifies a power mode selected by secondary-side controller 154. Secondary-side controller 154 may use flyback control message field 706 of control message 170 to specify the power mode according to which primary-side controller 104 controls primary-side drive circuitry 106”; Par. [0083], “CT data receiver 214 provides control message 150, including the specified power mode, to primary-side controller 104”; Par. [0084], “driver handling circuit 216 of primary-side controller 104 identifies the power mode specified by control message 150. Where the specified power mode is the low power mode or the high power mode, driver handling circuit 216 and pulse generator control circuitry 224 drive PWM pulse generation circuitry 228 to output a drive signal to drive gate driver flyback 234 according to the specified power mode. Where the specified power mode is the cycle skip power mode, driver handling circuit 216 and pulse generator control circuitry 224 control PWM pulse generation circuitry 228 to skip output of the drive signal” – flyback control message field 706 corresponds to the first information carried in the first signal. Primary-side controller 104 receives the selected power mode and controls the drive circuitry according to that mode, including skipping the drive signal when the cycle skip power mode is specified. Thus, the controller determines whether to perform overcurrent protection based on the first information.);
when the first information carried in the first signal indicates that the output overcurrent occurs at the output terminal of the power supply system, perform, by the first processor, overcurrent protection on the output terminal of the power supply system (Par. [0062], “The electrical characteristic of secondary-side output 158 may be, e.g., a voltage or a current of secondary-side output 158. Secondary-side controller 154 compares a value of the sensed electrical characteristic of secondary-side output 158 to a first predetermined threshold and a second predetermined threshold”; Par. [0063], “In response to determining that the value of the sensed electrical characteristic is greater than the second predetermined threshold (e.g., the sensed electrical characteristic of secondary-side output 158 is greater than a maximum target value), secondary-side controller 154 selects skip power mode 506 to reduce the sensed electrical characteristic to the maximum target value”; Par. [0071], “Flyback control message field 706 specifies a power mode selected by secondary-side controller 154”; Par. [0040], “As another example, to control primary-side flyback drive circuitry 106 according to the cycle skip power mode, driver handling circuit 216 skips output of the one or more clock pulses for one or more clock cycles, which cause pulse generator control circuitry 224 to skip output of a drive signal, which in turn causes PWM generation circuitry 228 to skip output of a PWM drive signal to gate driver flyback 234. This in turn causes gate driver flyback 234 to not charge energy for the duration of the time primary-side flyback drive circuitry 106 operates according to the cycle skip power mode” - when the electrical characteristic sensed at secondary-side output 158 is current, the skip power mode specified in field 706 indicates that the current is greater than the second predetermined threshold. Primary-side controller 104 responds to the skip power mode by stopping the PWM drive signal and the charging of energy, thereby performing overcurrent protection on secondary-side output 158.); or
when the first information carried in the first signal indicates that the output overcurrent does not occur at the output terminal of the power supply system (Par. [0062], “The electrical characteristic of secondary-side output 158 may be, e.g., a voltage or a current of secondary-side output 158”; Par. [0063], “In response to determining that the value of the sensed electrical characteristic is transitioning from greater than the second predetermined threshold to less than or equal to the second predetermined threshold (e.g., the sensed electrical characteristic of secondary-side output 158 exceeded the maximum target value and has fallen to below the maximum target value), secondary-side controller 154 selects low power mode 504”; Par. [0071], “Flyback control message field 706 specifies a power mode selected by secondary-side controller 154” – when the electrical characteristic sensed at secondary-side output 158 is current, the low power mode specified in field 706 indicates that the current is less than or equal to the second predetermined threshold and therefore indicates that output overcurrent does not occur at the output terminal of the power supply system.).
Winkler and Jin do not explicitly teach determine, by the first processor, that a fault has occurred in the power supply system, trigger the power supply system to be shut down, and report the fault.
However, Fischer teaches determine, by the first processor, that a fault has occurred in the power supply system (Par. [0010], “Embodiments may include various steps, which may be embodied in machine-executable instructions to be executed by a general-purpose or special-purpose computer (or other electronic device)”; Par. [0023], “One example of an internal fault is a fault occurring in transformer 130, such as a transformer 130 turn-to-turn fault … Therefore, by differentiating between the negative-sequence current into and out from the protected region 162, the negative sequence differential element described herein may quickly detect internal faults, such as a turn-to-turn fault in transformer 130”; Par. [0062], “Differential element 440 may use the measurements to detect a power system fault, such as an internal fault (e.g., a fault between the first power system segment (not shown) and a second power system segment (not shown)), such as, for example, a turn-to-turn fault in a transformer (not shown) disposed therebetween” – Fischer teaches determining that an internal transformer or power-system fault has occurred based on current conditions on opposite sides of the transformer), trigger the power supply system to be shut down (Par. [0025], “upon detecting an internal fault, such as a turn-to-turn transformer 130 fault, IED 160 may isolate power system segment 162 and, in particular, transformer 130, from the rest of the power system 100” – isolating the transformer and affected power-system segment corresponds to triggering the power supply system to be shut down.), and report the fault (Par. [0054], “The detection of step 280 may comprise setting one or more alarms for transmission to and/or display on a human machine interface communicatively coupled to an IED”; Par. [0064], “As such, differential element 440 may alert PMCU 460 of a fault detected in the power system (not shown)” – transmitting an alarm and alerting the control unit of the detected fault correspond to reporting the fault.).
Winkler, Jin, and Fischer are analogous art because they contain functional similarities. They all relate to detecting abnormal electrical conditions and performing protective control in response to the detected conditions.
Therefore, at the time of the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above overcurrent-protection circuit, as taught by Winkler and Jin, so that primary-side controller 104, when a primary-side overcurrent condition has been detected and the selected power mode indicates that output overcurrent does not occur, determines an internal transformer fault and triggers system shutdown and fault reporting, as taught by Fischer.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve the detection of internal transformer faults and reduce damage to the transformer and power system, as suggested by Fischer (Par. [0025]).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Winkler and Jin teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Winkler further teaches determine, based on the first signal (Par. [0035], “Primary-side controller 104 receives, over communication channel 150, control message 150 from secondary-side controller 154 and controls, according to the power mode specified by control message 150, primary-side flyback drive circuitry 106 to drive primary-side output 108”; Par. [0076], “In other types of flyback power converters, the secondary-side controller may transmit, over a communication channel, data indicating detected values of an electrical characteristic of a secondary-side output of the flyback power converter to the primary-side controller. The primary-side controller uses such data as a feedback loop to control the primary-side drive circuitry to drive the primary-side output, thereby controlling the secondary-side output.” – control message 150 or the transmitted detected-value data corresponds to the first signal, and primary-side controller 104 uses the received signal to determine the control of primary-side flyback drive circuitry 106.), whether to perform overcurrent protection on the output terminal of the power supply system (Par. [0052], “Primary-side controller 104 controls primary-side flyback drive circuitry 106 according to the cycle skip power mode while an electrical characteristic of secondary-side output 158 is greater than a target threshold (e.g., a maximum value of the electrical characteristic of secondary-side output 158). Primary-side controller 104 controls primary-side flyback drive circuitry 106 according to the low power mode while the electrical characteristic of secondary-side output 158 is less than or equal to a target threshold and greater than or equal to a low-target threshold (e.g., a minimum value of the electrical characteristic of secondary-side output 158).”; Par. [0055], “To control primary-side flyback drive circuitry 106 according to the cycle skip power mode, primary-side controller 104 skips output of clock pulses 410 to primary-side flyback drive circuitry 106 for at least one clock cycle 412. This effectively causes PWM pulse generation circuitry 228 to skip output of a duty signal to gate driver 234, thereby skipping transfer of energy to secondary-side output 158 for the at least one clock cycle 412.” – primary-side controller 104 determines, based on the received signal, whether to use the protective cycle skip power mode or a non-skip power mode.);
determine whether the first signal comprises the first information (Par. [0068], “header frame field 170 is a 3 bit field that specifies a type of data carried by control message 170. As depicted in FIG. 7, for example, header frame field 170 indicates that control message 170 specifies a power mode of flyback power converter system 100.”; Par. [0084], “driver handling circuit 216 of primary-side controller 104 identifies the power mode specified by control message 150.” - the selected power-mode information corresponds to the first information. Header frame field 170 identifies the type of data carried by the control message, including whether the control message specifies power-mode information, and primary-side controller 104 identifies the power mode specified by the received message.); and
on a basis that the first signal does not comprise the first information (Par. [0068], “header frame field 170 is a 3 bit field that specifies a type of data carried by control message 170”; Par. [0076], “In other types of flyback power converters, the secondary-side controller may transmit, over a communication channel, data indicating detected values of an electrical characteristic of a secondary-side output of the flyback power converter to the primary-side controller.” - Winkler teaches identifying the type of data carried by a control message and separately teaches transmitting detected secondary-output values to the primary-side controller. In the modified system, the detected-value signal is used when the first signal does not comprise the selected power-mode information corresponding to the first information.), determining, by the first processor based on the signal strength of the second sampling signal carried in the first signal (Par. [0076], “the secondary-side controller may transmit, over a communication channel, data indicating detected values of an electrical characteristic of a secondary-side output of the flyback power converter to the primary-side controller. The primary-side controller uses such data as a feedback loop to control the primary-side drive circuitry to drive the primary-side output, thereby controlling the secondary-side output.” - the detected value carried in the transmitted data corresponds to the signal strength of the second sampling signal, and primary-side controller 104 corresponds to the first processor that evaluates the detected value.), whether to perform overcurrent protection on the output terminal of the power supply system (Par. [0052], “Primary-side controller 104 controls primary-side flyback drive circuitry 106 according to the cycle skip power mode while an electrical characteristic of secondary-side output 158 is greater than a target threshold”; Par. [0055], “primary-side controller 104 skips output of clock pulses 410 to primary-side flyback drive circuitry 106 for at least one clock cycle 412. This effectively causes PWM pulse generation circuitry 228 to skip output of a duty signal to gate driver 234, thereby skipping transfer of energy to secondary-side output 158 for the at least one clock cycle 412.” - primary-side controller 104 uses the detected secondary-output value to determine whether to select the protective cycle skip operation.); or
on a basis that the first signal comprises the first information, and the first information indicates that the output overcurrent occurs at the output terminal of the power supply system, perform, by the first processor, overcurrent protection on the output terminal of the power supply system (Par. [0063], “In response to determining that the value of the sensed electrical characteristic is greater than the second predetermined threshold (e.g., the sensed electrical characteristic of secondary-side output 158 is greater than a maximum target value), secondary-side controller 154 selects skip power mode 506 to reduce the sensed electrical characteristic to the maximum target value”; Par. [0071], “Flyback control message field 706 specifies a power mode selected by secondary-side controller 154”; Par. [0040], “to control primary-side flyback drive circuitry 106 according to the cycle skip power mode, driver handling circuit 216 skips output of the one or more clock pulses for one or more clock cycles, which cause pulse generator control circuitry 224 to skip output of a drive signal, which in turn causes PWM generation circuitry 228 to skip output of a PWM drive signal to gate driver flyback 234.” – when the sampled secondary-output electrical characteristic is current, skip power mode 506 indicates that the output current exceeds the second predetermined threshold. Primary-side controller 104 responds to that information by suppressing the PWM drive signal and thereby performing output overcurrent protection.); or
on a basis that the first signal comprises the first information, and the first information indicates that the output overcurrent does not occur at the output terminal of the power supply system (Par. [0063], “In response to determining that the value of the sensed electrical characteristic is transitioning from greater than the second predetermined threshold to less than or equal to the second predetermined threshold (e.g., the sensed electrical characteristic of secondary-side output 158 exceeded the maximum target value and has fallen to below the maximum target value), secondary-side controller 154 selects low power mode 504”; Par. [0071], “Flyback control message field 706 specifies a power mode selected by secondary-side controller 154.” – when the sampled electrical characteristic is current, the low-power-mode information indicates that the current has fallen below the second predetermined threshold, in contrast to the skip-power-mode information selected when the current exceeds the second predetermined threshold, and therefore indicates that the output overcurrent condition associated with the above-threshold current does not occur.).
Winkler and Jin do not explicitly teach determine, by the first processor, that a fault has occurred in the power supply system, trigger the power supply system to be shut down, and report the fault.
However, Fischer teaches determine, by the first processor, that a fault has occurred in the power supply system (Par. [0010], “Embodiments may include various steps, which may be embodied in machine-executable instructions to be executed by a general-purpose or special-purpose computer (or other electronic device)”; Par. [0023], “One example of an internal fault is a fault occurring in transformer 130, such as a transformer 130 turn-to-turn fault … Therefore, by differentiating between the negative-sequence current into and out from the protected region 162, the negative sequence differential element described herein may quickly detect internal faults, such as a turn-to-turn fault in transformer 130”; Par. [0062], “Differential element 440 may use the measurements to detect a power system fault, such as an internal fault (e.g., a fault between the first power system segment (not shown) and a second power system segment (not shown)), such as, for example, a turn-to-turn fault in a transformer (not shown) disposed therebetween” – Fischer teaches determining that an internal transformer or power-system fault has occurred based on current conditions on opposite sides of the transformer.), trigger the power supply system to be shut down (Par. [0025], “upon detecting an internal fault, such as a turn-to-turn transformer 130 fault, IED 160 may isolate power system segment 162 and, in particular, transformer 130, from the rest of the power system 100” – isolating the transformer and affected power-system segment corresponds to triggering the power supply system to be shut down.), and report the fault (Par. [0054], “The detection of step 280 may comprise setting one or more alarms for transmission to and/or display on a human machine interface communicatively coupled to an IED”; Par. [0064], “As such, differential element 440 may alert PMCU 460 of a fault detected in the power system (not shown)” – transmitting an alarm and alerting the control unit of the detected fault correspond to reporting the fault.).
Winkler, Jin, and Fischer are analogous art because they contain functional similarities. They all relate to detecting abnormal electrical conditions and performing protective control in response to the detected conditions.
Therefore, at the time of the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above overcurrent-protection circuit, as taught by Winkler and Jin, so that, when the received first signal includes information indicating that output overcurrent does not occur despite a detected primary-side abnormal-current condition, primary-side controller 104 determines that an internal transformer fault has occurred, triggers shutdown of the power supply system, and reports the fault, as taught by Fischer.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve the detection of internal transformer faults that may produce only a small corresponding current change at the transformer terminals and thereby reduce damage to the transformer and power system, as suggested by Fischer (Par. [0023] - [0025]).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Winkler and Jin teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Winkler further teaches wherein the first processor is further configured to:
determine, based on the first signal (Par. [0035], “Primary-side controller 104 receives, over communication channel 150, control message 150 from secondary-side controller 154 and controls, according to the power mode specified by control message 150, primary-side flyback drive circuitry 106 to drive primary-side output 108”; Par. [0076], “In other types of flyback power converters, the secondary-side controller may transmit, over a communication channel, data indicating detected values of an electrical characteristic of a secondary-side output of the flyback power converter to the primary-side controller. The primary-side controller uses such data as a feedback loop to control the primary-side drive circuitry to drive the primary-side output, thereby controlling the secondary-side output.” – control message 150 or the transmitted detected-value data corresponds to the first signal, and primary-side controller 104 uses the received signal to determine the control of primary-side flyback drive circuitry 106.), whether to perform overcurrent protection on the output terminal of the power supply system (Par. [0052], “Primary-side controller 104 controls primary-side flyback drive circuitry 106 according to the cycle skip power mode while an electrical characteristic of secondary-side output 158 is greater than a target threshold (e.g., a maximum value of the electrical characteristic of secondary-side output 158). Primary-side controller 104 controls primary-side flyback drive circuitry 106 according to the low power mode while the electrical characteristic of secondary-side output 158 is less than or equal to a target threshold and greater than or equal to a low-target threshold (e.g., a minimum value of the electrical characteristic of secondary-side output 158).”; Par. [0055], “To control primary-side flyback drive circuitry 106 according to the cycle skip power mode, primary-side controller 104 skips output of clock pulses 410 to primary-side flyback drive circuitry 106 for at least one clock cycle 412. This effectively causes PWM pulse generation circuitry 228 to skip output of a duty signal to gate driver 234, thereby skipping transfer of energy to secondary-side output 158 for the at least one clock cycle 412.” – primary-side controller 104 determines, based on the received signal, whether to use the protective cycle skip power mode or a non-skip power mode.);
determine whether the first signal comprises the first information (Par. [0068], “header frame field 170 is a 3 bit field that specifies a type of data carried by control message 170. As depicted in FIG. 7, for example, header frame field 170 indicates that control message 170 specifies a power mode of flyback power converter system 100.”; Par. [0084], “driver handling circuit 216 of primary-side controller 104 identifies the power mode specified by control message 150.” - the selected power-mode information corresponds to the first information. Header frame field 170 identifies the type of data carried by the control message, including whether the control message specifies power-mode information, and primary-side controller 104 identifies the power mode specified by the received message.); and
on a basis that the first signal comprises the first information and the first information indicates that the output overcurrent does not occur at the output terminal of the power supply system (Par. [0063], “In response to determining that the value of the sensed electrical characteristic is transitioning from greater than the second predetermined threshold to less than or equal to the second predetermined threshold (e.g., the sensed electrical characteristic of secondary-side output 158 exceeded the maximum target value and has fallen to below the maximum target value), secondary-side controller 154 selects low power mode 504”; Par. [0071], “Flyback control message field 706 specifies a power mode selected by secondary-side controller 154.” – when the sampled electrical characteristic is current, the low-power-mode information indicates that the current has fallen below the second predetermined threshold, in contrast to the skip-power-mode information selected when the current exceeds the second predetermined threshold, and therefore indicates that the output overcurrent condition associated with the above-threshold current does not occur.).
Winkler and Jin do not explicitly teach Determine, by the first processor, that a fault has occurred in the power supply system,
Trigger the power supply system to be shut down, and
Report the fault.
However, Fischer teaches determine, by the first processor, that a fault has occurred in the power supply system (Par. [0010], “Embodiments may include various steps, which may be embodied in machine-executable instructions to be executed by a general-purpose or special-purpose computer (or other electronic device)”; Par. [0023], “One example of an internal fault is a fault occurring in transformer 130, such as a transformer 130 turn-to-turn fault … Therefore, by differentiating between the negative-sequence current into and out from the protected region 162, the negative sequence differential element described herein may quickly detect internal faults, such as a turn-to-turn fault in transformer 130”; Par. [0062], “Differential element 440 may use the measurements to detect a power system fault, such as an internal fault (e.g., a fault between the first power system segment (not shown) and a second power system segment (not shown)), such as, for example, a turn-to-turn fault in a transformer (not shown) disposed therebetween” – Fischer teaches determining that an internal transformer or power-system fault has occurred based on current conditions on opposite sides of the transformer.),
trigger the power supply system to be shut down (Par. [0025], “upon detecting an internal fault, such as a turn-to-turn transformer 130 fault, IED 160 may isolate power system segment 162 and, in particular, transformer 130, from the rest of the power system 100” – isolating the transformer and affected power-system segment corresponds to triggering the power supply system to be shut down.), and
report the fault (Par. [0054], “The detection of step 280 may comprise setting one or more alarms for transmission to and/or display on a human machine interface communicatively coupled to an IED”; Par. [0064], “As such, differential element 440 may alert PMCU 460 of a fault detected in the power system (not shown)” – transmitting an alarm and alerting the control unit of the detected fault correspond to reporting the fault.).
Winkler, Jin, and Fischer are analogous art because they contain functional similarities. They all relate to detecting abnormal electrical conditions and performing protective control in response to the detected conditions.
Therefore, at the time of the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above overcurrent-protection circuit, as taught by Winkler and Jin, so that, when the received first signal includes information indicating that output overcurrent does not occur despite a detected primary-side abnormal-current condition, primary-side controller 104 determines that an internal transformer fault has occurred, triggers shutdown of the power supply system, and reports the fault, as taught by Fischer.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve the detection of internal transformer faults that may produce only a small corresponding current change at the transformer terminals and thereby reduce damage to the transformer and power system, as suggested by Fischer (Par. [0023] - [0025]).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Winkler et al. USPGPUB 2022/0200461 A1 (hereinafter Winkler) in view of Jin et al. CN 103904622 A (hereinafter Jin) and Kuranobu JP 2017224924 A (hereinafter Kuranobu), and further in view of Fischer et al. USPGPUB 2009/0231769 A1 (hereinafter Fischer).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Winkler and Jin teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Winkler further teaches wherein the first processor is further configured to:
determine, based on the signal strength of the second sampling signal carried in the first signal (Par. [0076], “In other types of flyback power converters, the secondary-side controller may transmit, over a communication channel, data indicating detected values of an electrical characteristic of a secondary-side output of the flyback power converter to the primary-side controller. The primary-side controller uses such data as a feedback loop to control the primary-side drive circuitry to drive the primary-side output, thereby controlling the secondary-side output.” – the transmitted detected-value data correspond to the first signal, the detected value corresponds to the signal strength of the second sampling signal, and primary-side controller 104 uses the detected value to determine the drive control.), whether to perform overcurrent protection on the output terminal of the power supply system (Par. [0052], “Primary-side controller 104 controls primary-side flyback drive circuitry 106 according to the cycle skip power mode while an electrical characteristic of secondary-side output 158 is greater than a target threshold (e.g., a maximum value of the electrical characteristic of secondary-side output 158). Primary-side controller 104 controls primary-side flyback drive circuitry 106 according to the low power mode while the electrical characteristic of secondary-side output 158 is less than or equal to a target threshold and greater than or equal to a low-target threshold (e.g., a minimum value of the electrical characteristic of secondary-side output 158).” - primary-side controller 104 determines whether to use the protective cycle skip power mode or a non-skip power mode based on the detected secondary-output value.);
determine, by the first processor, the second sampling signal (Par. [0076], “the secondary-side controller may transmit, over a communication channel, data indicating detected values of an electrical characteristic of a secondary-side output of the flyback power converter to the primary-side controller. The primary-side controller uses such data as a feedback loop to control the primary-side drive circuitry to drive the primary-side output, thereby controlling the secondary-side output.”; Par. [0052], “Primary-side controller 104 controls primary-side flyback drive circuitry 106 according to the cycle skip power mode while an electrical characteristic of secondary-side output 158 is greater than a target threshold”; Par. [0052], “Primary-side controller 104 controls primary-side flyback drive circuitry 106 according to the low power mode while the electrical characteristic of secondary-side output 158 is less than or equal to a target threshold and greater than or equal to a low-target threshold” – primary-side controller 104 receives the detected secondary-output value and determines its threshold condition to select the corresponding power mode.), and when the second sampling signal is the current value (Par. [0062], “The electrical characteristic of secondary-side output 158 may be, e.g., a voltage or a current of secondary-side output 158.” – when the electrical characteristic sensed at secondary-side output 158 is current, the detected value corresponds to the current value.), and when the current value is greater than or equal to the second threshold (Par. [0057], “secondary-side controller 154 causes primary-side controller 104 to transition from controlling primary-side flyback drive circuitry 106 according to high-power mode 502 to controlling primary-side flyback drive circuitry 106 according to skip power mode 506 in response to secondary-side controller 154 determining that a sensed electrical characteristic of secondary-side output 158 has reached a maximum target value (516)”; Par. [0063], “In response to determining that the value of the sensed electrical characteristic is greater than the second predetermined threshold (e.g., the sensed electrical characteristic of secondary-side output 158 is greater than a maximum target value), secondary-side controller 154 selects skip power mode 506 to reduce the sensed electrical characteristic to the maximum target value.” – when the sensed electrical characteristic is current, skip power mode 506 is selected when the current has reached or exceeded the second threshold.), perform, by the first processor, overcurrent protection on the output terminal of the power supply system (Par. [0055], “To control primary-side flyback drive circuitry 106 according to the cycle skip power mode, primary-side controller 104 skips output of clock pulses 410 to primary-side flyback drive circuitry 106 for at least one clock cycle 412. This effectively causes PWM pulse generation circuitry 228 to skip output of a duty signal to gate driver 234, thereby skipping transfer of energy to secondary-side output 158 for the at least one clock cycle 412.” - primary-side controller 104 performs overcurrent protection by skipping the transfer of energy to secondary-side output 158.); or
when the second sampling signal is the current value (Par. [0062], “The electrical characteristic of secondary-side output 158 may be, e.g., a voltage or a current of secondary-side output 158.” – when the electrical characteristic sensed at secondary-side output 158 is current, the detected value corresponds to the current value.), and the current value is less than the second threshold (Par. [0052], “Primary-side controller 104 controls primary-side flyback drive circuitry 106 according to the low power mode while the electrical characteristic of secondary-side output 158 is less than or equal to a target threshold and greater than or equal to a low-target threshold (e.g., a minimum value of the electrical characteristic of secondary-side output 158). Further, primary-side controller 104 controls primary-side flyback drive circuitry 106 according to the high power mode while the electrical characteristic of secondary-side output 158 is less than the low-target threshold.” – when the sensed electrical characteristic is current, the low-power and high-power operating ranges collectively teach a current value below the second threshold.).
Winkler and Jin do not explicitly teach when the second sampling signal is the voltage value, and the voltage value is less than or equal to the third threshold, perform, by the first processor, overcurrent protection on the output terminal of the power supply system; and
when the current value is less than the second threshold, determine that a fault has occurred in the power supply system, trigger the power supply system to be shut down, and report the fault
However, Kuranobu teaches when the second sampling signal is the voltage value (Par. [0055], “When a ground fault occurs where the output terminal To short-circuits with the ground potential, the flowchart shown in Figure 6 begins. At this time, as shown in Figure 5, the output voltage Vout drops to almost 0V.” – output voltage Vout at output terminal To corresponds to the voltage value of the second sampling signal.), and the voltage value is less than or equal to the third threshold (Par. [0055], “When the output voltage Vout falls below the predetermined short-circuit protection voltage threshold due to a decrease in output voltage Vout (timing t11 in Figure 5, step S1 Y in Figure 6), the return voltage Vfb falls below the reference voltage Vref2, causing the output of comparator 101 to rise to the High level.” – the predetermined short-circuit-protection voltage threshold corresponds to the third threshold.), perform, by the first processor, overcurrent protection on the output terminal of the power supply system (Par. [0056], “At this time, due to the ground fault state, an overcurrent occurs in the coil current IL, but since the voltage Vth at the current limiting section 8 is lower than the voltage Vocp (in Figure 3, Vocp and Vth have an inverse relationship), the upper switching element 2 is turned off when the voltage Vslp reaches the Vocp voltage, and the coil current IL is limited by the overcurrent protection level (OCP level) Thocp1 (Figure 5).”; Par. [0057], “In response, the drive control unit 4 stops switching both the upper and lower switching elements 3 and maintains the off. This transitions to HICCUP mode, where the output is shut down (Step S2 in Figure 6).” – Kuranobu performs voltage-based overcurrent protection by limiting the overcurrent, stopping switching, and shutting down the output. In the modified system, primary-side controller 104 performs Kuranobu’s voltage-based protection operation.).
Winkler, Jin, and Kuranobu are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain functional similarities. They all relate to detecting abnormal electrical conditions in power supply systems and controlling switching circuitry in response to the detected conditions.
Therefore, at the time of the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above overcurrent-protection circuit, as taught by Winkler and Jin, so that primary-side controller 104 determines whether the sampled output voltage is less than or equal to a short-circuit-protection threshold and, when the voltage satisfies the threshold, performs overcurrent protection by limiting the current and shutting down the output, as taught by Kuranobu.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve the detection and protection of output short-circuit conditions, as suggested by Kuranobu (Pars. [0055] - [0057]).
Winkler, Jin, and Kuranobu do not explicitly teach when the current value is less than the second threshold, determine that a fault has occurred in the power supply system, trigger the power supply system to be shut down, and report the fault.
However, Fischer teaches determine that a fault has occurred in the power supply system (Par. [0023], “One example of an internal fault is a fault occurring in transformer 130, such as a transformer 130 turn-to-turn fault. This type of fault may create a heavy fault current in the short-circuited transformer turns, but small corresponding current change at the transformer terminals. This may prevent traditional fault detection systems from detecting the fault before it develops into a more serious fault (such as a ground fault) that may damage the transformer 130.”; Par. [0023], “the negative sequence differential element described herein may quickly detect internal faults, such as a turn-to-turn fault in transformer 130” - Fischer expressly detects an internal transformer fault that may produce only a small corresponding current change at the transformer terminals.), trigger the power supply system to be shut down (Par. [0025], “For example, upon detecting an internal fault, such as a turn-to-turn transformer 130 fault, IED 160 may isolate power system segment 162 and, in particular, transformer 130, from the rest of the power system 100” - isolating the transformer and the affected power-system segment corresponds to triggering the power supply system to be shut down.), and report the fault (Par. [0054], “The detection of step 280 may comprise setting one or more alarms for transmission to and/or display on a human machine interface communicatively coupled to an IED” - transmitting or displaying an alarm for the detected fault corresponds to reporting the fault.).
Winkler, Jin, Kuranobu, and Fischer are analogous art because they contain functional similarities. They all relate to detecting abnormal electrical conditions and performing protective control in response to the detected conditions.
Therefore, at the time of the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to further modify the above overcurrent-protection circuit, as taught by Winkler, Jin, and Kuranobu, so that when the current value is less than the second threshold, primary-side controller 104 determines that an internal transformer fault has occurred, triggers the power supply system to be shut down, and reports the fault, as taught by Fischer.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve the detection of internal transformer faults and reduce damage to the transformer and power system, as suggested by Fischer (Par. [0025]).
Claim(s) 7-9, 14, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Winkler et al. USPGPUB 2022/0200461 A1 (hereinafter Winkler) in view of Jin et al. CN 103904622 A (hereinafter Jin), and further in view of Kuranobu JP 2017224924 A (hereinafter Kuranobu).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Winkler and Jin teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Winkler further teaches wherein the first processor is further configured to:
determine whether the first signal is received within a second time threshold (Par. [0043], “In some examples, life sign handling 220 of primary-side controller 104 receives a periodic life sign control message from secondary-side controller 154. In the event that life sign handling 220 fails to receive a scheduled life sign control message from secondary-side controller 154, life sign handling 220 determines that a fault in communication channel 150 or secondary-side circuit 152 has occurred.” – the periodic life-sign control message corresponds to the first signal, primary-side controller 104 corresponds to the first processor, and the scheduled interval for receiving the periodic message corresponds to the second time threshold.); and
on a basis that the first processor does not receive the first signal within the second time threshold (Par. [0043], “In the event that life sign handling 220 fails to receive a scheduled life sign control message from secondary-side controller 154” – failure to receive the scheduled periodic control message corresponds to the first processor not receiving the first signal within the second time threshold.), determine, by the first processor, that a communication fault occurs in the power supply system (Par. [0043], “life sign handling 220 determines that a fault in communication channel 150 or secondary-side circuit 152 has occurred.” – life sign handling 220 is part of primary-side controller 104 and determines that a communication fault has occurred when the scheduled control message is not received.).
Winkler and Jin do not explicitly teach trigger the power supply system to be shut down, and
report the communication fault.
However, Kuranobu teaches trigger the power supply system to be shut down (Par. [0057], “In response, the drive control unit 4 stops switching both the upper and lower switching elements 3 and maintains the off. This transitions to HICCUP mode, where the output is shut down (Step S2 in Figure 6).” – stopping the switching elements and maintaining them off shuts down the power supply system.); and
Report the communication fault (Par. [0064], “when the detection signal DET1 reaches a high level, the error signal Se is likewise output externally at a high level. This allows external notifications of abnormal conditions where the short circuit state continues” - Kuranobu teaches reporting a detected abnormal condition by externally outputting an error signal.).
Winkler, Jin, and Kuranobu are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain functional similarities. They all relate to detecting abnormal conditions in switching power-supply systems and controlling switching circuitry in response to the detected conditions.
Therefore, at the time of the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to further modify the above overcurrent-protection circuit, as taught by Winkler and Jin, so that, when primary-side controller 104 determines that a communication fault has occurred because a scheduled control message was not received, primary-side controller 104 stops switching to shut down the power supply system and reports the fault, as taught by Kuranobu.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to protect the power supply system from continued operation after detection of a fault, as suggested by Kuranobu (Par. [0057]).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Winkler and Jin teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Winkler and Jin do not explicitly teach a third sampling circuit, and
when the second sampling circuit is a current sampling circuit, the third sampling circuit is a voltage sampling circuit; and
the third sampling circuit is configured to:
collect a voltage at the output terminal of the second power circuit, and
output a third sampling signal.
However, Kuranobu teaches a third sampling circuit (Par. [0026], “Resistor R1 and resistor R2 are connected in series between the output terminal To and the applied terminal of the ground potential.” – resistors R1 and R2 form the voltage-sampling circuit.), and
when the second sampling circuit is a current sampling circuit, the third sampling circuit is a voltage sampling circuit (Par. [0026], “At the external terminal T3, a return voltage Vfb is generated by dividing the output voltage Vout by resistors R1 and R2.” – in the combined system, Winkler’s secondary-side current-sampling circuitry remains the second sampling circuit, while Kuranobu’s resistors R1 and R2 provide the separate third, voltage-sampling circuit.); and
the third sampling circuit is configured to (Par. [0026], “Resistor R1 and resistor R2 are connected in series between the output terminal To and the applied terminal of the ground potential.” – resistors R1 and R2 form the voltage-sampling circuit):
collect a voltage at the output terminal of the second power circuit, and output a third sampling signal (Pars. [0025]-[0026], “The connection point between coil L1 and output capacitor C1 is connected to the output terminal To, and the output voltage Vout is generated at the output terminal To. Resistor R1 and resistor R2 are connected in series between the output terminal To and the applied terminal of the ground potential. . . . At the external terminal T3, a return voltage Vfb is generated by dividing the output voltage Vout by resistors R1 and R2.” – resistors R1 and R2 collect output voltage Vout at output terminal To and output the divided return voltage Vfb, which corresponds to the third sampling signal.).
Winkler, Jin, and Kuranobu are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain functional similarities. They all relate to monitoring electrical characteristics in switching power-supply systems and controlling switching circuitry in response to the monitored characteristics.
Therefore, at the time of the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above overcurrent-protection circuit, as taught by Winkler and Jin, and incorporate in addition to the current-sampling circuit, a separate voltage-sampling circuit comprising resistors R1 and R2 connected to the secondary-side output terminal and configured to generate divided voltage Vfb, as taught by Kuranobu.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to monitor the output voltage independently of the output current to improve detection of an output short-circuit condition, as suggested by Kuranobu (Par. [0038]).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Winkler, Jin, and Kuranobu teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
The combination of Winkler and Kuranobu further teaches output the first signal based on the second sampling signal and the third sampling signal, wherein the first signal comprises the second sampling signal and the third sampling signal; or (Claim 9 recites two alternative configurations for outputting the first signal. Because the configurations are joined by “or,” the combination is relied upon as teaching the second alternative.)
determine the signal strength of the second sampling signal (Winkler, Par. [0062], “The electrical characteristic of secondary-side output 158 may be, e.g., a voltage or a current of secondary-side output 158. Secondary-side controller 154 compares a value of the sensed electrical characteristic of secondary-side output 158 to a first predetermined threshold and a second predetermined threshold.” – when the second sampling signal is the sampled output current, secondary-side controller 154 determines its signal strength by comparing its value with the predetermined thresholds.) and signal strength of the third sampling signal (Kuranobu, Par. [0055], “When the output voltage Vout falls below the predetermined short-circuit protection voltage threshold due to a decrease in output voltage Vout ... the return voltage Vfb falls below the reference voltage Vref2, causing the output of comparator 101 to rise to the High level.” - return voltage Vfb corresponds to the third sampling signal as mapped in claim 8, and comparator 101 determines its signal strength relative to reference voltage Vref2.), and output the first signal, wherein the first signal comprises the first information, the second sampling signal, and the third sampling signal, and the first information indicates whether the output overcurrent occurs at the output terminal of the power supply system (Winkler, Par. [0034], “diagnosis feedback circuit 204 combines the request for a change to the selected power mode with other diagnostic and/or feedback information from secondary-side circuit 152, such as desaturation information, overcurrent protection (OCP) data, secondary-side output 158 monitoring (‘outmon’), undervoltage indicators, overvoltage indicators, etc. Coreless Transmitter (CT) data transmitter 208 formulates the request for a change to the selected power mode and diagnostic information into control message 150 comprising a header frame, the selected power mode, diagnostic information, and a checksum.”; Par. [0062], “The electrical characteristic of secondary-side output 158 may be, e.g., a voltage or a current of secondary-side output 158.”; Par. [0076], “the secondary-side controller may transmit, over a communication channel, data indicating detected values of an electrical characteristic of a secondary-side output of the flyback power converter to the primary-side controller.” - Winkler teaches that secondary-side information, including a selected power mode and secondary-side feedback/diagnostic information, is combined into control message 150, and further teaches transmitting detected secondary-output values, which may be current values. In the combined system, Kuranobu's return voltage Vfb, corresponding to the third sampling signal as mapped above, is additionally included as secondary-side feedback information in control message 150 together with the detected output-current value and the selected power-mode information.); and
when a current value collected by the second sampling circuit is greater than or equal to a second threshold (Winkler, Par. [0057], “secondary-side controller 154 causes primary-side controller 104 to transition ... to controlling primary-side flyback drive circuitry 106 according to skip power mode 506 in response to secondary-side controller 154 determining that a sensed electrical characteristic of secondary-side output 158 has reached a maximum target value”; Par. [0063], “In response to determining that the value of the sensed electrical characteristic is greater than the second predetermined threshold ... secondary-side controller 154 selects skip power mode 506” - when the sensed electrical characteristic is current, Winkler teaches the sampled output current reaching or exceeding the threshold.), and a voltage value collected by the third sampling circuit is less than or equal to a third threshold (Kuranobu, Par. [0055], “When the output voltage Vout falls below the predetermined short-circuit protection voltage threshold ... the return voltage Vfb falls below the reference voltage Vref2”; Par. [0056], “At this time, due to the ground fault state, an overcurrent occurs in the coil current IL.” – the output-voltage sample mapped to the third sampling signal falls below the short-circuit-protection threshold.), generate the first information (Winkler, Par. [0071], “Flyback control message field 706 specifies a power mode selected by secondary-side controller 154.”; Par. [0082], “CT data transmitter 208 formulates the request for a change to the selected power mode and diagnostic information into control message 150 comprising a header frame, the selected power mode, diagnostic information, and a checksum” – the selected power-mode information corresponds to the first information, and CT data transmitter 208 formulates the selected power-mode information into control message 150.), wherein the first information indicates that the output overcurrent occurs at the output terminal of the power supply system (Winkler, Par. [0074], “secondary-side controller 154 selects the non-maskable skip power mode in response to detecting an overvoltage or overcurrent warning on secondary-side output 158.” – when the detected abnormal condition is the output overcurrent condition, the selected non-maskable skip power mode indicates that output overcurrent occurs at secondary-side output 158.).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Winkler and Jin teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Winkler and Jin do not explicitly teach when the second sampling signal is a voltage value, and the voltage value is less than or equal to a third threshold, generate the first information, wherein the first information indicates that the output overcurrent occurs at the output terminal of the power supply system.
However, the combination of Winkler and Kuranobu teaches when the second sampling signal is a voltage value (Kuranobu, Par. [0026], “At the external terminal T3, a return voltage Vfb is generated by dividing the output voltage Vout by resistors R1 and R2.” – output voltage Vout and the corresponding return voltage Vfb constitute the voltage value of the second sampling signal.), and the voltage value is less than or equal to a third threshold (Kuranobu, Par. [0055], “When the output voltage Vout falls below the predetermined short-circuit protection voltage threshold due to a decrease in output voltage Vout … the return voltage Vfb falls below the reference voltage Vref2, causing the output of comparator 101 to rise to the High level.” - the predetermined short-circuit-protection voltage threshold corresponds to the third threshold, and a voltage below that threshold satisfies the recited less than or equal to condition.), generate the first information (Winkler, Par. [0071], “Flyback control message field 706 specifies a power mode selected by secondary-side controller 154.”; Par. [0082], “CT data transmitter 208 formulates the request for a change to the selected power mode and diagnostic information into control message 150 comprising a header frame, the selected power mode, diagnostic information, and a checksum” – the selected power-mode information corresponds to the first information, and CT data transmitter 208 formulates the selected power-mode information into control message 150.), wherein the first information indicates that the output overcurrent occurs at the output terminal of the power supply system (Winkler, Par. [0074], “secondary-side controller 154 selects the non-maskable skip power mode in response to detecting an overvoltage or overcurrent warning on secondary-side output 158.” – when the detected abnormal condition is the output overcurrent condition, the selected non-maskable skip power mode indicates that output overcurrent occurs at secondary-side output 158).
Winkler, Jin, and Kuranobu are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain functional similarities. They all relate to detecting abnormal electrical conditions in switching power-supply systems and controlling switching circuitry in response to the detected conditions.
Therefore, at the time of the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above overcurrent-protection circuit, as taught by Winkler and Jin, so that secondary-side controller 154 generates the overcurrent-indicating first information when the sampled output-voltage value is less than or equal to a short-circuit-protection voltage threshold, as taught by Kuranobu.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve detection of an output-terminal short circuit and the associated overcurrent condition by using the corresponding decrease in output voltage, as suggested by Kuranobu (Par. [0055] - [0056]).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Winkler, Jin, and Kuranobu teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
The combination of Winkler and Kuranobu further teaches wherein the second processor is further configured to:
output the first signal based on the second sampling signal and the third sampling signal, wherein the first signal comprises the second sampling signal and the third sampling signal (Claim 19 recites two alternative configurations for outputting the first signal. Because the configurations are joined by “or,” the combination is relied upon as teaching the second alternative.); or
determine the signal strength of the second sampling signal (Winkler, Par. [0062], “The electrical characteristic of secondary-side output 158 may be, e.g., a voltage or a current of secondary-side output 158. Secondary-side controller 154 compares a value of the sensed electrical characteristic of secondary-side output 158 to a first predetermined threshold and a second predetermined threshold.” – when the second sampling signal is the sampled output current, secondary-side controller 154 determines its signal strength by comparing its value with the predetermined thresholds.) and signal strength of the third sampling signal (Kuranobu, Par. [0055], “When the output voltage Vout falls below the predetermined short-circuit protection voltage threshold due to a decrease in output voltage Vout ... the return voltage Vfb falls below the reference voltage Vref2, causing the output of comparator 101 to rise to the High level.” - return voltage Vfb corresponds to the third sampling signal as mapped in claim 8, and comparator 101 determines its signal strength relative to reference voltage Vref2.), and
output the first signal, wherein the first signal comprises the first information, the second sampling signal, and the third sampling signal, and the first information indicates whether the output overcurrent occurs at the output terminal of the power supply system (Winkler, Par. [0034], “diagnosis feedback circuit 204 combines the request for a change to the selected power mode with other diagnostic and/or feedback information from secondary-side circuit 152, such as desaturation information, overcurrent protection (OCP) data, secondary-side output 158 monitoring (‘outmon’), undervoltage indicators, overvoltage indicators, etc. Coreless Transmitter (CT) data transmitter 208 formulates the request for a change to the selected power mode and diagnostic information into control message 150 comprising a header frame, the selected power mode, diagnostic information, and a checksum.”; Par. [0062], “The electrical characteristic of secondary-side output 158 may be, e.g., a voltage or a current of secondary-side output 158.”; Par. [0076], “the secondary-side controller may transmit, over a communication channel, data indicating detected values of an electrical characteristic of a secondary-side output of the flyback power converter to the primary-side controller.” - Winkler teaches that secondary-side information, including a selected power mode and secondary-side feedback/diagnostic information, is combined into control message 150, and further teaches transmitting detected secondary-output values, which may be current values. In the combined system, Kuranobu's return voltage Vfb, corresponding to the third sampling signal as mapped above, is additionally included as secondary-side feedback information in control message 150 together with the detected output-current value and the selected power-mode information.); and
when a current value collected by the second sampling circuit is less than a second threshold (Winkler, Par. [0063], “In response to determining that the value of the sensed electrical characteristic is transitioning from greater than the second predetermined threshold to less than or equal to the second predetermined threshold (e.g., the sensed electrical characteristic of secondary-side output 158 exceeded the maximum target value and has fallen to below the maximum target value), secondary-side controller 154 selects low power mode 504.” - when the sensed electrical characteristic is current, the second predetermined threshold corresponds to the second threshold, and the current falling below the maximum target value corresponds to the current value being less than the second threshold.), generate the first information (Winkler, Par. [0071], “Flyback control message field 706 specifies a power mode selected by secondary-side controller 154.”; Par. [0082], “CT data transmitter 208 formulates the request for a change to the selected power mode and diagnostic information into control message 150 comprising a header frame, the selected power mode, diagnostic information, and a checksum” – the selected power-mode information corresponds to the first information, and CT data transmitter 208 formulates the selected power-mode information into control message 150.), wherein the first information indicates that the output overcurrent does not occur at the output terminal of the power supply system (Winkler, Par. [0063], “In response to determining that the value of the sensed electrical characteristic is transitioning from greater than the second predetermined threshold to less than or equal to the second predetermined threshold (e.g., the sensed electrical characteristic of secondary-side output 158 exceeded the maximum target value and has fallen to below the maximum target value), secondary-side controller 154 selects low power mode 504”; Par. [0071], “Flyback control message field 706 specifies a power mode selected by secondary-side controller 154.” – when the sampled electrical characteristic is current, the low-power-mode information indicates that the current has fallen below the second predetermined threshold, in contrast to the skip-power-mode information selected when the current exceeds the second predetermined threshold, and therefore indicates that the output overcurrent condition associated with the above-threshold current does not occur.).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Winkler et al. USPGPUB 2022/0200461 A1 (hereinafter Winkler) in view of Jin et al. CN 103904622 A (hereinafter Jin), and further in view of Lee et al. USPGPUB 2021/0021121 A1 (hereinafter Lee).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Winkler and Jin teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Winkler and Jin do not explicitly teach when the second sampling signal is a voltage value, and the voltage value is greater than a third threshold, generate the first information, wherein the first information indicates that the output overcurrent does not occur at the output terminal of the power supply system.
However, the combination of Winkler and Lee teaches when the second sampling signal is a voltage value (Lee, Par. [0073], “The output voltage Vout sensing circuit 41 is coupled to the Vout node and includes a voltage divider made up of two resistors R1 and R2 (i.e., two resistive segments are formed) in order to read out a voltage Vout1 representative of the output voltage Vout.” – voltage Vout1 is a sampled voltage value representative of output voltage Vout.), and the voltage value is greater than a third threshold (Lee, Par. [0078], “Comparator 43, used for monitoring a short circuit event at the high-side transistor switch 12, receives output voltage Vout1 at its negative input terminal. Comparator 43 also receives reference voltage Vref1 at its positive input terminal. As a result, the output of comparator 43 is 0 (i.e., logic low) when Vout1 is greater than Vref1 which indicates a normal operation.” – Vout1 corresponds to the voltage value, and Vref1 corresponds to the third threshold.), generate the first information (Winkler, Par. [0071], “Flyback control message field 706 specifies a power mode selected by secondary-side controller 154.”; Par. [0082], “CT data transmitter 208 formulates the request for a change to the selected power mode and diagnostic information into control message 150 comprising a header frame, the selected power mode, diagnostic information, and a checksum” – the selected power-mode information corresponds to the first information, and CT data transmitter 208 formulates the selected power-mode information into control message 150.), wherein the first information indicates that the output overcurrent does not occur at the output terminal of the power supply system (Winkler, Par. [0063], “In response to determining that the value of the sensed electrical characteristic is transitioning from greater than the second predetermined threshold to less than or equal to the second predetermined threshold ... secondary-side controller 154 selects low power mode 504”; Par. [0071], “Flyback control message field 706 specifies a power mode selected by secondary-side controller 154.” – when the electrical characteristic is current, the low-power-mode information indicates that the current has fallen below the second predetermined threshold, in contrast to the skip-power-mode information selected when the current exceeds the second predetermined threshold, and therefore indicates that the output overcurrent condition associated with the above-threshold current does not occur.).
Winkler, Jin, and Lee are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain functional similarities. They all relate to protecting switched power circuitry by monitoring electrical conditions and generating information indicating whether an abnormal electrical condition is present.
Therefore, at the time of the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above overcurrent-protection circuit, as taught by Winkler and Jin, so that secondary-side controller 154 generates the first information indicating that output overcurrent does not occur when the sampled output-voltage value is greater than the voltage threshold and indicates normal operation, as taught by Lee.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to distinguish normal operation from a short-circuit fault using the sampled output voltage, as suggested by Lee (Pars. [0078] - [0080]).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Winkler et al. USPGPUB 2022/0200461 A1 (hereinafter Winkler) in view of Jin et al. CN 103904622 A (hereinafter Jin) and Kuranobu JP 2017224924 A (hereinafter Kuranobu), and further in view of Lee et al. USPGPUB 2021/0021121 A1 (hereinafter Lee).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Winkler, Jin, and Kuranobu teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
The combination of Winkler and Kuranobu further teaches output the first signal based on the second sampling signal and the third sampling signal, wherein the first signal comprises the second sampling signal and the third sampling signal; or (Claim 20 recites two alternative configurations for outputting the first signal. Because the configurations are joined by “or,” the combination is relied upon as teaching the second alternative.)
determine the signal strength of the second sampling signal (Winkler, Par. [0062], “The electrical characteristic of secondary-side output 158 may be, e.g., a voltage or a current of secondary-side output 158. Secondary-side controller 154 compares a value of the sensed electrical characteristic of secondary-side output 158 to a first predetermined threshold and a second predetermined threshold.” – when the second sampling signal is the sampled output current, secondary-side controller 154 determines its signal strength by comparing its value with the predetermined thresholds) and signal strength of the third sampling signal (Kuranobu, Par. [0055], “When the output voltage Vout falls below the predetermined short-circuit protection voltage threshold due to a decrease in output voltage Vout ... the return voltage Vfb falls below the reference voltage Vref2, causing the output of comparator 101 to rise to the High level.” - return voltage Vfb corresponds to the third sampling signal as mapped in claim 8, and comparator 101 determines its signal strength relative to reference voltage Vref2.), and output the first signal, wherein the first signal comprises the first information, the second sampling signal, and the third sampling signal, and the first information indicates whether the output overcurrent occurs at the output terminal of the power supply system (Winkler, Par. [0034], “diagnosis feedback circuit 204 combines the request for a change to the selected power mode with other diagnostic and/or feedback information from secondary-side circuit 152, such as desaturation information, overcurrent protection (OCP) data, secondary-side output 158 monitoring (‘outmon’), undervoltage indicators, overvoltage indicators, etc. Coreless Transmitter (CT) data transmitter 208 formulates the request for a change to the selected power mode and diagnostic information into control message 150 comprising a header frame, the selected power mode, diagnostic information, and a checksum.”; Par. [0062], “The electrical characteristic of secondary-side output 158 may be, e.g., a voltage or a current of secondary-side output 158.”; Par. [0076], “the secondary-side controller may transmit, over a communication channel, data indicating detected values of an electrical characteristic of a secondary-side output of the flyback power converter to the primary-side controller.” - Winkler teaches that secondary-side information, including a selected power mode and secondary-side feedback/diagnostic information, is combined into control message 150, and further teaches transmitting detected secondary-output values, which may be current values. In the combined system, Kuranobu's return voltage Vfb, corresponding to the third sampling signal as mapped above, is additionally included as secondary-side feedback information in control message 150 together with the detected output-current value and the selected power-mode information.).
Winkler, Jin, and Kuranobu do not explicitly teach when a voltage value collected by the third sampling circuit is greater than a third threshold, generate the first information, wherein the first information indicates that the output overcurrent does not occur at the output terminal of the power supply system.
However, the combination of Winkler and Lee teaches when a voltage value collected by the third sampling circuit is greater than a third threshold (Lee, Par. [0073], “The output voltage Vout sensing circuit 41 is coupled to the Vout node and includes a voltage divider made up of two resistors R1 and R2 (i.e., two resistive segments are formed) in order to read out a voltage Vout1 representative of the output voltage Vout”; Par. [0078], “Comparator 43, used for monitoring a short circuit event at the high-side transistor switch 12, receives output voltage Vout1 at its negative input terminal. Comparator 43 also receives reference voltage Vref1 at its positive input terminal. As a result, the output of comparator 43 is 0 (i.e., logic low) when Vout1 is greater than Vref1 which indicates a normal operation.” – output voltage sensing circuit 41 collects voltage Vout1, and comparator 43 determines when Vout1 is greater than reference voltage Vref1.), generate the first information (Winkler, Par. [0071], “Flyback control message field 706 specifies a power mode selected by secondary-side controller 154.”; Par. [0082], “CT data transmitter 208 formulates the request for a change to the selected power mode and diagnostic information into control message 150 comprising a header frame, the selected power mode, diagnostic information, and a checksum” – the selected power-mode information corresponds to the first information, and CT data transmitter 208 formulates the selected power-mode information into control message 150.), wherein the first information indicates that the output overcurrent does not occur at the output terminal of the power supply system (Winkler, Par. [0063], “In response to determining that the value of the sensed electrical characteristic is transitioning from greater than the second predetermined threshold to less than or equal to the second predetermined threshold ... secondary-side controller 154 selects low power mode 504”; Par. [0071], “Flyback control message field 706 specifies a power mode selected by secondary-side controller 154.” - when the electrical characteristic is current, the low-power-mode information indicates that the current has fallen below the second predetermined threshold, in contrast to the skip-power-mode information selected when the current exceeds the second predetermined threshold, and therefore indicates that the output overcurrent condition associated with the above-threshold current does not occur.).
Winkler, Jin, Kuranobu, and Lee are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain functional similarities. They all relate to monitoring electrical conditions in switched power systems and performing fault detection or protection based on sampled electrical values.
Therefore, at the time of the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to further modify the above overcurrent-protection circuit, as taught by Winkler, Jin, and Kuranobu, so that secondary-side controller 154 generates the first information indicating that output overcurrent does not occur when the sampled output-voltage value is greater than the voltage threshold and indicates normal operation, as taught by Lee.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to distinguish normal operation from a short-circuit fault using the sampled output voltage, as suggested by Lee (Par. [0078] - [0080]).
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Matthews et al. [USPGPUB 2016/0013723 A1] teaches an isolated flyback converter having primary and secondary controllers, secondary-side sensing of an output quantity, secondary-to-primary request signaling, primary-side switching control, and timing associated with transmission of signals from the secondary controller.
Baurle et al. [USPGPUB 2015/0326008 A1] teaches an isolated switched-mode power converter having output-current sensing, threshold-based fault detection, generation of a fault signal, and disabling of power-converter switching in response to detection of a fault.
Conclusion
/PETER XU/ Examiner, Art Unit 2119
/MOHAMMAD ALI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2119