DETAIL ACTION
Notice to Applicant(s)
This application has been examined. Claims 1-20 are pending.
The prior art submitted on November 14, 2024 has been considered.
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. § 119, which have been placed of record in the file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sinharoy et al. (2024/0085511).
As per claim 1, Sinharoy et al. disclose a robot capable of obtaining map information by using ultra-wide band (UWB) communication which includes an UWB transceiver; a plurality of UWB receivers (see at least figure 5, items 340 – the UWB tags can be the transceivers which can transmits and receive signal); it is inherently that there are a memory; and a main processor, wherein the main processor is configured to control the UWB transceiver to transmit a UWB signal (see at least figure 18, steps 1803); control each of the plurality of UWB receivers to generate a plurality of channel impulse responses (CIRs), based on the UWB signal (see at least figures 8B, 18; paragraphs 0054, 0069, 0094); and obtain map information of surroundings of the robot, based on respective characteristics of the plurality of channel impulse responses (see at least figure 18, steps 1809; paragraphs 0057, 0070).
As per claim 2, Sinharoy et al. disclose the limitations of this claim in at least 2, 5, 15 and 18).
As per claim 3, Sinharoy et al. disclose that the respective characteristics of the plurality of channel impulse responses include surrounding environment information derived from a line of sight (LoS) and a non-line of sight (NLoS) (see at least paragraphs 0058-0061).
As per claim 4, Sinharoy et al. disclose that the UWB transceiver is configured to periodically transmit a blink signal to transmit the UWB signal (see at least figures 4A-4C, the LED).
As per claim 5, Sinharoy et al. disclose that the main processor is further configured to determine that a wall exists in a first direction when a signal intensity and a signal period of a reflected wave of a first channel impulse response generated by a first UWB receiver directed in the first direction among the plurality of UWB receivers remain constant (see at least paragraph 0058).
As per claim 6, Sinharoy et al. disclose that the main processor is further configured determine that an obstacle exists in a second direction when at least one of a signal intensity or a signal period of a reflected wave of a second channel impulse response generated by a second UWB receiver directed in the second direction among the plurality of UWB receivers varies (see at least paragraphs 0093-0097).
As per claims 7-10, Sinharoy et al. disclose the limitations of these claims in at least figures 11-13D, 14B, 18, paragraphs 0057-0061, 0093-0097, 0103-0117.
With respect to claims 11-20, the limitations of these claims have been noted in the rejections above. They are therefore considered rejected as set forth above.
Conclusion
All claims are rejected.
The following references are cited as being of general interest: Balistis et al. (2016/0165795), Kwak et al. (2021/0397201), Ryu et al. (2022/0291374), Zhang (2023/0194663) and Tertinek et al. (2023/0254007).
February 9, 2026
/TAN Q NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3661