2. This is the initial office action based on the application filed on November 14th, 2024, which claims 1-14 are presented for examination.
Status of Claims
3. Claims 1-14 are pending, of which claims, of which claim 1, 7, 13 and 14 are in independent form.
Priority
4. The instant application has a foreign priority EP 23306979.8 11/15/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
5. Information disclosure statement filed on 11/14/2024, has been reviewed and considered by Examiner.
The Office's Note:
6. The Office has cited particular paragraphs / columns and line numbers in the reference(s) applied to the claims above for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim(s), other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the Applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the cited passages as taught by the prior art or relied upon by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
7. Claims 1-6 and 12-14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim 1, claim 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim 1, claim 13 and claim 14 recites “converting a master data set into a formatted data set according to a set of conversion rules; transcribing, according to a set of transcription rules, the formatted data set into the source code that is read by the master data management application” as drafted, are functions that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, recite the abstract idea of a mental process. The limitations encompass a human mind carrying out the function through observation, evaluation judgment and /or opinion, or even with the aid of pen and paper. Thus, this limitation recites and falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas under Prong 1.
Under Prong 2, this judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The additional elements ““memory”, and “processor” are recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer, and/or mere computer components, and “ transcribing, according to a set of transcription rules, the formatted data set into the source code that is read by the master data management application.” do nothing more than add insignificant extra solution activity to the judicial exception of merely gathering, displaying, updating, transmitting and storing data/information. Accordingly, the additional elements do not integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application and the claim is therefore directed to the judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.05(g).
Under Step 2B, the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of ““memory,” and “processor” are recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer, and/or mere computer components, and “ transcribing, according to a set of transcription rules, the formatted data set into the source code that is read by the master data management application.”, the courts have identified merely gathering, displaying, updating, transmitting and storing data/information on a display is well-understood, routine and conventional activity. See MPEP 2106.05(d). The recitation of generic computer instruction and computer components to apply the judicial exception, and merely displaying data do not amount to significantly more, thus, cannot provide an inventive concept. Accordingly, the claims are not patent eligible under 35 USC 101.
8. Claim 7-11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim 7 recites “transcribing, according to a set of back-transcription rules, the source code into a formatted data set; converting the formatted data set into the master data set according to a set of back-conversion rules.” as drafted, are functions that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, recite the abstract idea of a mental process. The limitations encompass a human mind carrying out the function through observation, evaluation judgment and /or opinion, or even with the aid of pen and paper. Thus, this limitation recites and falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas under Prong 1.
Under Prong 2, this judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The additional elements ““memory”, and “processor” are recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer, and/or mere computer components, and “transcribing, according to a set of back-transcription rules, the source code into a formatted data set.” do nothing more than add insignificant extra solution activity to the judicial exception of merely gathering, displaying, updating, transmitting and storing data/information. Accordingly, the additional elements do not integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application and the claim is therefore directed to the judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.05(g).
Under Step 2B, the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of ““memory,” and “processor” are recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer, and/or mere computer components, and “ transcribing, according to a set of back-transcription rules, the source code into a formatted data set.”, the courts have identified merely gathering, displaying, updating, transmitting and storing data/information on a display is well-understood, routine and conventional activity. See MPEP 2106.05(d). The recitation of generic computer instruction and computer components to apply the judicial exception, and merely displaying data do not amount to significantly more, thus, cannot provide an inventive concept. Accordingly, the claims are not patent eligible under 35 USC 101.
In conclusion, claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stachura (US 20180157467– hereinafter Stachura) and further in view of Kim (US 20030120671 – hereinafter Kim).
Claim 1 rejected, Stachura teaches a method, implemented by a computer, of generating a source code that is read by a master data management application, the method comprising (Stachura, US 20180157467, abstract and summary):
converting a master data set into a formatted data set according to a set of conversion rules(Stachura, US 20180157467, fig. 2 and para [0209-0211], Once the spreadsheet is defined, the webifier may generate the destination system pages based on the spreadsheet definitions, according to an illustrative embodiment. In the example where the spreadsheet definition is persistently stored on the destination system, the process begins with extracting and making available the definition of the cells that fall within the applicable source ranges (step 207, FIG. 2). If the spreadsheet definition is starting out in xlsx file format, the file may be unzipped to obtain the inner content which is in XML format. A variety of XML parsing options, from rudimentary string parsing to sophisticated parsing typically done by calling functions in an XML parsing library, are used to provide convenient access to iterate through all of the individual data items, including cells, and their attributes as well as to load them into an alternate or intermediary format such as to in-memory object-oriented classes and instances. Alternatively, a commercially available spreadsheet file format parser that is compatible with xlsx, MS-XLSB, SpreadsheetML, ODS formats, and similar schemas may be used to expose the data of the spreadsheet in object-oriented classes conveniently specialized to the attributes and format typically found in spreadsheet data. Para [0072-0073], In step 205 the webifier software may analyze the spreadsheet to identify one or more user interface templates. A user interface template may include a data format for one or more data sources, e.g., a font, size, color, style, etc., and/or may include a selection or identification of one or more data sources, each of which may include one or more data records. A user interface template may also include the data sources and records themselves.);
transcribing, according to a set of transcription rules, the formatted data set into the source code that is read by the master data management application(Stachura, fig. 2, para [0211-0212], During steps 207 and/or 209 (FIG. 2), the data may be converted to an intermediary format, which may make relevant data attributes more conveniently accessible in classes that more closely resemble CSS or HTML classes rather than spreadsheet classes, according to an illustrative embodiment. For example, the property names on the classes may match the property names of CSS, or there may be methods on the class such as “ObtainCSSDefinition()”. The convenience of an intermediary format is not required however, as alternatively the webifier may store data according to the destination page's output format of CSS and HTML, or may store data in the original spreadsheet format and later stream straight to the output form with no intermediary storage. For example, to process the width of a column, one could read the value of the “width” attribute of the XML snippet “<col min=“1”max=“2”width=“11.8”>”, convert to units supported by CSS, and store the result in a column class's “csswidth” property or stream it out as “width: 100 px;” as part of a CSS output streaming function. Para [0074-0075], In step 209 the webifier may generate one or more web pages as part of a dynamic interactive web application. Each web page may be based on one or more user interface templates identified in step 205. Each user interface template may define and/or identify a data format and/or one or more data sources for inclusion on a web page. Each web page, upon rendering or generation for transmission to an end-user browser, may be populated with data from the web data store meeting the criteria set forth in the user interface template. Where the user interface template comprises the data sources and records themselves, the resultant web page may appear as a simple web table based on the data in the spreadsheet.).
The Office would like to use prior art Kim to back up Stachura to further teach limitation
transcribing, according to a set of transcription rules, the formatted data set into the source code that is read by the master data management application(Kim, US 20030120671, para [0019], The present invention pertains to the use of meta-tag and/or associated meta-tag information to design extensible stylesheets (XSL) for transferring a source XML file into a target file. According to one aspect of the present invention, to generate a proper stylesheet (e.g., an XSL or XSLT file) from a source file (e.g., an XML file), all meta-tag and/or associated meta-tag Information are differentiated by attaching respectively unique identifiers to those that are otherwise identical. To facilitate user required operations on certain data in the source file, a document source path for the data is identified and inserted with one or more operators thus to form document source path information. The differentiated meta-tag and/or associated meta-tag Information and source path information are relied upon to generate one or more stylesheets. Para [0062-0063], An XML file can be transferred into various presentations using extensible stylesheets (XSL). An example of an XSL file which converts the XML file 206 into an HTML file is given in FIG. 3A. In particular, block 302 shows that the top level <html> tag is created when the XSL file matches the tag "document" and block 304 shows how to assign the value from the source XML file to the target HTML file. A corresponding screenshot of the resulted HTML from a browser application (e.g. Microsoft Internet Explorer) is given in FIG. 3B. Para [0064-0065].)
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of cited references. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate Kim into Stachura to design extensible stylesheets using meta-tag information for various presentations and information exchange in document processing and electronic publishing system as suggested by Kim (See abstract and conclusion).
Claim 2 is rejected for the reasons set forth hereinabove for claim 1, Stachura and Kim teach the method according to claim 1, further comprising transmitting the source code to the master data management application (Stachura, fig. 2 and para [0074-0075], In step 209 the webifier may generate one or more web pages as part of a dynamic interactive web application. Each web page may be based on one or more user interface templates identified in step 205. Each user interface template may define and/or identify a data format and/or one or more data sources for inclusion on a web page. Each web page, upon rendering or generation for transmission to an end-user browser, may be populated with data from the web data store meeting the criteria set forth in the user interface template. Where the user interface template comprises the data sources and records themselves, the resultant web page may appear as a simple web table based on the data in the spreadsheet. Kim, paragraph [0019-0020]. para [0062-0063], An XML file can be transferred into various presentations using extensible stylesheets (XSL). An example of an XSL file which converts the XML file 206 into an HTML file is given in FIG. 3A. In particular, block 302 shows that the top level <html> tag is created when the XSL file matches the tag "document" and block 304 shows how to assign the value from the source XML file to the target HTML file. A corresponding screenshot of the resulted HTML from a browser application (e.g. Microsoft Internet Explorer) is given in FIG. 3B. Para [0064-0065].).
Claim 3 is rejected for the reasons set forth hereinabove for claim 1, Stachura and Kim teach the method (300), according to claim 1, wherein the source code generated by the transcribing of the formatted data set according to the set of transcription rules is a second source code, the master data management application through which the second source code is read is a second data management application, and wherein the formatted data set is transcribed from a first source code, that is read by a first data management application, according to a set of back-transcription rules (Stachura, fig. 2 and para [0076], In step 211, when a web page is interactive, the web application may receive user input to edit one or more data records via the web page, e.g., using form fields, input boxes, or any other user input mechanic. In step 213 the web application updates the web data store based on the user input, e.g., adding, editing, deleting, and/or otherwise amending the data previously stored in the web data store. In step 215, the webifier software and/or the web application may be used to update data in the original blueprint spreadsheet used to generate the web application in the first place, or may output the data to a new spreadsheet. When replacing the data in the blueprint spreadsheet, data formatting may be retained, and only the data is replaced/amended. Para [0081], FIG. 3A illustrates the visitor checking the checkbox and clicking submit in the browser 356 resulting in the browser sending an http post request 307 to the webifier logic controller 353. The webifier logic 353 may reload the current spreadsheet definition from memory 305. The webifier logic 353 processes the post request and updates the memory 351 with an updated spreadsheet definition. If the designer's Add-On 357 still has an active session, webifier logic 353 may send 308 the updated partial spreadsheet definition, or change events sufficient to update the spreadsheet definition presented, to the Add-On 357, then using Excel's COM Interop library the Add-On 357 may present 309 an updated version to the designer in the spreadsheet application 354 such that the designer's worksheet would then display “true” in cell A2. . Kim, paragraph [0019-0020]. para [0062-0063], An XML file can be transferred into various presentations using extensible stylesheets (XSL). An example of an XSL file which converts the XML file 206 into an HTML file is given in FIG. 3A. In particular, block 302 shows that the top level <html> tag is created when the XSL file matches the tag "document" and block 304 shows how to assign the value from the source XML file to the target HTML file. A corresponding screenshot of the resulted HTML from a browser application (e.g. Microsoft Internet Explorer) is given in FIG. 3B. Para [0064-0065].).
Claim 4 is rejected for the reasons set forth hereinabove for claim 3, Stachura and Kim teach the method (300) according to claim 3, wherein the first source code is back-transcribed into a first formatted data set, and the method further comprises
converting the first formatted data set into the master data set according to a set of back-conversion rules (Stachura, fig. 2 and para [0076], In step 215, the webifier software and/or the web application may be used to update data in the original blueprint spreadsheet used to generate the web application in the first place, or may output the data to a new spreadsheet. When replacing the data in the blueprint spreadsheet, data formatting may be retained, and only the data is replaced/amended. . Kim, paragraph [0019-0020]. para [0062-0063], An XML file can be transferred into various presentations using extensible stylesheets (XSL). An example of an XSL file which converts the XML file 206 into an HTML file is given in FIG. 3A. In particular, block 302 shows that the top level <html> tag is created when the XSL file matches the tag "document" and block 304 shows how to assign the value from the source XML file to the target HTML file. A corresponding screenshot of the resulted HTML from a browser application (e.g. Microsoft Internet Explorer) is given in FIG. 3B. Para [0064-0065].);
converting the master data set into a second formatted data set according to a second set of conversion rules, the second source code being transcribed from the second formatted data set (Stachura, para [0094], ] FIG. 20 is a diagram illustrating a source spreadsheet definition containing a traditional spreadsheet table and that table being referenced in a report page as a record source, and illustrating the resulting destination page which was defined using the spreadsheet definition. The diagram further illustrates that for the specific logged in visitor “Halee”, the webifier has filtered the record set down to only row 2 where cell A2 matched the logged in username and the formula, as seen in the top-right of the screenshot, “=ISLOGGEDINWEBUSER(A2)” returned true when evaluated on the destination system. The diagram also illustrates that the function ISLOGGEDINWEBUSER returned alternating placeholder values during design-time but evaluated correctly when the logged in visitor was known when rendering the destination page. . Kim, paragraph [0019-0020]. para [0062-0063], An XML file can be transferred into various presentations using extensible stylesheets (XSL). An example of an XSL file which converts the XML file 206 into an HTML file is given in FIG. 3A. In particular, block 302 shows that the top level <html> tag is created when the XSL file matches the tag "document" and block 304 shows how to assign the value from the source XML file to the target HTML file. A corresponding screenshot of the resulted HTML from a browser application (e.g. Microsoft Internet Explorer) is given in FIG. 3B. Para [0064-0065].).
Claim 5 is rejected for the reasons set forth hereinabove for claim 1, Stachura and Kim teach the method according to claim 1, further comprising
detecting an inconsistency in the master data set by comparison with one or more of a set of check rules and a previous master data set; and wherein the converting and the transcribing are implemented when no inconsistencies are detected in the master data set(Stachura, para [0215-0217], data validation, Sometimes spreadsheet tools include data validation capabilities. For example, a data validation rule can be specified in the spreadsheet tool where the cell should only allow whole numbers, only allow decimal numbers, only allow numbers within a specified min and max range, only allow dates or times perhaps within a min and max range, limit the max number of characters allowed, or limit the min number of characters required, among others. A data validation can also be set to only allow the cell to contain one of the values specified in a list. The list can be provided during the data validation definition as a simple text list of values, or it can specify a reference to a range of cells on the spreadsheet where the tool would get the list of acceptable values from and it can cause a dropdown control to appear within the spreadsheet tool for that cell. . Kim, paragraph [0019-0020]. para [0062-0063], An XML file can be transferred into various presentations using extensible stylesheets (XSL). An example of an XSL file which converts the XML file 206 into an HTML file is given in FIG. 3A. In particular, block 302 shows that the top level <html> tag is created when the XSL file matches the tag "document" and block 304 shows how to assign the value from the source XML file to the target HTML file. A corresponding screenshot of the resulted HTML from a browser application (e.g. Microsoft Internet Explorer) is given in FIG. 3B. Para [0064-0065].).
Claim 6 is rejected for the reasons set forth hereinabove for claim 4, Stachura and Kim teach the method according to claim 4, wherein the converting of the master data set into the second formatted data set is implemented when no inconsistencies are detected in the master data set (Stachura, para [0204-0205], When using the page, the visitor may be told the expected number of columns to be inserted. They may also have the option to exclude the first row of the CSV file. The visitor then selects a CSV file using a standard file upload control, and submits the page. The page may limit the upload control to only accept .csv extensions. If the page contains no data, or improperly formatted data, an error is returned (FIG. 87). . Kim, paragraph [0019-0020]. para [0062-0063], An XML file can be transferred into various presentations using extensible stylesheets (XSL). An example of an XSL file which converts the XML file 206 into an HTML file is given in FIG. 3A. In particular, block 302 shows that the top level <html> tag is created when the XSL file matches the tag "document" and block 304 shows how to assign the value from the source XML file to the target HTML file. A corresponding screenshot of the resulted HTML from a browser application (e.g. Microsoft Internet Explorer) is given in FIG. 3B. Para [0064-0065].).
Claim 7 rejected, Stachura teaches a method, implemented by a computer, of generating a master data set from source code that is read by a master data management application, the method comprising (Stachura, abstract and summary):
transcribing, according to a set of back-transcription rules, the source code into a formatted data set(Stachura, fig. 2 and para [0076], In step 211, when a web page is interactive, the web application may receive user input to edit one or more data records via the web page, e.g., using form fields, input boxes, or any other user input mechanic. In step 213 the web application updates the web data store based on the user input, e.g., adding, editing, deleting, and/or otherwise amending the data previously stored in the web data store. In step 215, the webifier software and/or the web application may be used to update data in the original blueprint spreadsheet used to generate the web application in the first place, or may output the data to a new spreadsheet. When replacing the data in the blueprint spreadsheet, data formatting may be retained, and only the data is replaced/amended.);
converting the formatted data set into the master data set according to a set of back-conversion rules(Stachura, . Para [0081], FIG. 3A illustrates the visitor checking the checkbox and clicking submit in the browser 356 resulting in the browser sending an http post request 307 to the webifier logic controller 353. The webifier logic 353 may reload the current spreadsheet definition from memory 305. The webifier logic 353 processes the post request and updates the memory 351 with an updated spreadsheet definition. If the designer's Add-On 357 still has an active session, webifier logic 353 may send 308 the updated partial spreadsheet definition, or change events sufficient to update the spreadsheet definition presented, to the Add-On 357, then using Excel's COM Interop library the Add-On 357 may present 309 an updated version to the designer in the spreadsheet application 354 such that the designer's worksheet would then display “true” in cell A2).
The Office would like to use prior art Kim to back up Stachura to further teach limitation
transcribing, according to a set of back-transcription rules, the source code into a formatted data set(Kim, para [0064-0065], Other than transferring an XML file into various presentations, an XSL file can also transfer an XML file into another XML file with different DTD or schema. The primary reason for this type of transformation is for information exchange between different systems. FIG. 3D shows an example of an XSL file, which converts the XML file 206 into another XML file of a list of the recipe titles. In particular, block 320 shows that the top level <recipe_title_list> tag is created when the XSL file matches the "document" element and block 322 shows how to assign each of the "title" values in the source XML file to the <recipe_title> tag in the target XML file.);
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of cited references. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate Kim into Stachura to design extensible stylesheets using meta-tag information for various presentations and information exchange in document processing and electronic publishing system as suggested by Kim (See abstract and conclusion).
Claim 8 is rejected for the reasons set forth hereinabove for claim 7, Stachura and Kim teach the method according to claim 7, further comprising
detecting an inconsistency in the master data set by comparison with one or more of a set of check rules and a previous master data set(Stachura, para [0215-0217], data validation, Sometimes spreadsheet tools include data validation capabilities. For example, a data validation rule can be specified in the spreadsheet tool where the cell should only allow whole numbers, only allow decimal numbers, only allow numbers within a specified min and max range, only allow dates or times perhaps within a min and max range, limit the max number of characters allowed, or limit the min number of characters required, among others. A data validation can also be set to only allow the cell to contain one of the values specified in a list. The list can be provided during the data validation definition as a simple text list of values, or it can specify a reference to a range of cells on the spreadsheet where the tool would get the list of acceptable values from and it can cause a dropdown control to appear within the spreadsheet tool for that cell. . Kim, paragraph [0019-0020]. para [0062-0063], An XML file can be transferred into various presentations using extensible stylesheets (XSL). An example of an XSL file which converts the XML file 206 into an HTML file is given in FIG. 3A. In particular, block 302 shows that the top level <html> tag is created when the XSL file matches the tag "document" and block 304 shows how to assign the value from the source XML file to the target HTML file. A corresponding screenshot of the resulted HTML from a browser application (e.g. Microsoft Internet Explorer) is given in FIG. 3B. Para [0064-0065].).
Claim 9 is rejected for the reasons set forth hereinabove for claim 7, Stachura and Kim teach the method according to claim 7, wherein the master data set is constructed in accordance with at least one construction rule(Stachura, para [0204-0205], When using the page, the visitor may be told the expected number of columns to be inserted. They may also have the option to exclude the first row of the CSV file. The visitor then selects a CSV file using a standard file upload control, and submits the page. The page may limit the upload control to only accept .csv extensions. If the page contains no data, or improperly formatted data, an error is returned (FIG. 87). . Kim, paragraph [0019-0020]. para [0062-0063], An XML file can be transferred into various presentations using extensible stylesheets (XSL). An example of an XSL file which converts the XML file 206 into an HTML file is given in FIG. 3A. In particular, block 302 shows that the top level <html> tag is created when the XSL file matches the tag "document" and block 304 shows how to assign the value from the source XML file to the target HTML file. A corresponding screenshot of the resulted HTML from a browser application (e.g. Microsoft Internet Explorer) is given in FIG. 3B. Para [0064-0065].).
Claim 10 is rejected for the reasons set forth hereinabove for claim 9, Stachura and Kim teach the method according to claim 9 wherein,
the master data set is included in a file which is in a spreadsheet type format constructed according to the at least one construction rule(Stachura, fig. 2 and para [0209-0211], Once the spreadsheet is defined, the webifier may generate the destination system pages based on the spreadsheet definitions, according to an illustrative embodiment. In the example where the spreadsheet definition is persistently stored on the destination system, the process begins with extracting and making available the definition of the cells that fall within the applicable source ranges (step 207, FIG. 2). If the spreadsheet definition is starting out in xlsx file format, the file may be unzipped to obtain the inner content which is in XML format. A variety of XML parsing options, from rudimentary string parsing to sophisticated parsing typically done by calling functions in an XML parsing library, are used to provide convenient access to iterate through all of the individual data items, including cells, and their attributes as well as to load them into an alternate or intermediary format such as to in-memory object-oriented classes and instances. Alternatively, a commercially available spreadsheet file format parser that is compatible with xlsx, MS-XLSB, SpreadsheetML, ODS formats, and similar schemas may be used to expose the data of the spreadsheet in object-oriented classes conveniently specialized to the attributes and format typically found in spreadsheet data. . Kim, paragraph [0019-0020]. para [0062-0063], An XML file can be transferred into various presentations using extensible stylesheets (XSL). An example of an XSL file which converts the XML file 206 into an HTML file is given in FIG. 3A. In particular, block 302 shows that the top level <html> tag is created when the XSL file matches the tag "document" and block 304 shows how to assign the value from the source XML file to the target HTML file. A corresponding screenshot of the resulted HTML from a browser application (e.g. Microsoft Internet Explorer) is given in FIG. 3B. Para [0064-0065].) ;
the formatted data set is included in a file which is in a generic markup type format (Stachura, fig. 2 and para [0209-0211], Once the spreadsheet is defined, the webifier may generate the destination system pages based on the spreadsheet definitions, according to an illustrative embodiment. In the example where the spreadsheet definition is persistently stored on the destination system, the process begins with extracting and making available the definition of the cells that fall within the applicable source ranges (step 207, FIG. 2). If the spreadsheet definition is starting out in xlsx file format, the file may be unzipped to obtain the inner content which is in XML format. A variety of XML parsing options, from rudimentary string parsing to sophisticated parsing typically done by calling functions in an XML parsing library, are used to provide convenient access to iterate through all of the individual data items, including cells, and their attributes as well as to load them into an alternate or intermediary format such as to in-memory object-oriented classes and instances. Alternatively, a commercially available spreadsheet file format parser that is compatible with xlsx, MS-XLSB, SpreadsheetML, ODS formats, and similar schemas may be used to expose the data of the spreadsheet in object-oriented classes conveniently specialized to the attributes and format typically found in spreadsheet data. . Kim, paragraph [0019-0020]. para [0062-0063], An XML file can be transferred into various presentations using extensible stylesheets (XSL). An example of an XSL file which converts the XML file 206 into an HTML file is given in FIG. 3A. In particular, block 302 shows that the top level <html> tag is created when the XSL file matches the tag "document" and block 304 shows how to assign the value from the source XML file to the target HTML file. A corresponding screenshot of the resulted HTML from a browser application (e.g. Microsoft Internet Explorer) is given in FIG. 3B. Para [0064-0065].);
the set of transcription and/or back-transcription rules is contained in a file established in a functional type transformation language (Stachura, para [0212—0213], (Stachura, fig. 2 and para [0209-0211], Once the spreadsheet is defined, the webifier may generate the destination system pages based on the spreadsheet definitions, according to an illustrative embodiment. In the example where the spreadsheet definition is persistently stored on the destination system, the process begins with extracting and making available the definition of the cells that fall within the applicable source ranges (step 207, FIG. 2). If the spreadsheet definition is starting out in xlsx file format, the file may be unzipped to obtain the inner content which is in XML format. A variety of XML parsing options, from rudimentary string parsing to sophisticated parsing typically done by calling functions in an XML parsing library, are used to provide convenient access to iterate through all of the individual data items, including cells, and their attributes as well as to load them into an alternate or intermediary format such as to in-memory object-oriented classes and instances. Alternatively, a commercially available spreadsheet file format parser that is compatible with xlsx, MS-XLSB, SpreadsheetML, ODS formats, and similar schemas may be used to expose the data of the spreadsheet in object-oriented classes conveniently specialized to the attributes and format typically found in spreadsheet data. . Kim, paragraph [0019-0020]. para [0062-0063], An XML file can be transferred into various presentations using extensible stylesheets (XSL). An example of an XSL file which converts the XML file 206 into an HTML file is given in FIG. 3A. In particular, block 302 shows that the top level <html> tag is created when the XSL file matches the tag "document" and block 304 shows how to assign the value from the source XML file to the target HTML file. A corresponding screenshot of the resulted HTML from a browser application (e.g. Microsoft Internet Explorer) is given in FIG. 3B. Para [0064-0065].).
Claim 11 is rejected for the reasons set forth hereinabove for claim 10, Stachura and Kim teach the method according to claim 10, wherein the file comprising the master data set is in XLS or XLSX format, the file comprising the formatted data set is in XML format, and the file comprising the set of transcription and/or back-transcription rules is in XSLT format (Stachura, fig. 2 and para [0209-0211], Once the spreadsheet is defined, the webifier may generate the destination system pages based on the spreadsheet definitions, according to an illustrative embodiment. In the example where the spreadsheet definition is persistently stored on the destination system, the process begins with extracting and making available the definition of the cells that fall within the applicable source ranges (step 207, FIG. 2). If the spreadsheet definition is starting out in xlsx file format, the file may be unzipped to obtain the inner content which is in XML format. A variety of XML parsing options, from rudimentary string parsing to sophisticated parsing typically done by calling functions in an XML parsing library, are used to provide convenient access to iterate through all of the individual data items, including cells, and their attributes as well as to load them into an alternate or intermediary format such as to in-memory object-oriented classes and instances. Alternatively, a commercially available spreadsheet file format parser that is compatible with xlsx, MS-XLSB, SpreadsheetML, ODS formats, and similar schemas may be used to expose the data of the spreadsheet in object-oriented classes conveniently specialized to the attributes and format typically found in spreadsheet data. Stachura, para [0212—0213], (Stachura, fig. 2 and para [0209-0211], Once the spreadsheet is defined, the webifier may generate the destination system pages based on the spreadsheet definitions, according to an illustrative embodiment. In the example where the spreadsheet definition is persistently stored on the destination system, the process begins with extracting and making available the definition of the cells that fall within the applicable source ranges (step 207, FIG. 2). If the spreadsheet definition is starting out in xlsx file format, the file may be unzipped to obtain the inner content which is in XML format. A variety of XML parsing options, from rudimentary string parsing to sophisticated parsing typically done by calling functions in an XML parsing library, are used to provide convenient access to iterate through all of the individual data items, including cells, and their attributes as well as to load them into an alternate or intermediary format such as to in-memory object-oriented classes and instances. Alternatively, a commercially available spreadsheet file format parser that is compatible with xlsx, MS-XLSB, SpreadsheetML, ODS formats, and similar schemas may be used to expose the data of the spreadsheet in object-oriented classes conveniently specialized to the attributes and format typically found in spreadsheet data. . Kim, paragraph [0019-0020]. para [0062-0063], An XML file can be transferred into various presentations using extensible stylesheets (XSL). An example of an XSL file which converts the XML file 206 into an HTML file is given in FIG. 3A. In particular, block 302 shows that the top level <html> tag is created when the XSL file matches the tag "document" and block 304 shows how to assign the value from the source XML file to the target HTML file. A corresponding screenshot of the resulted HTML from a browser application (e.g. Microsoft Internet Explorer) is given in FIG. 3B. Para [0064-0065].).
Claim 12 is rejected for the reasons set forth hereinabove for claim 1, Stachura and Kim teach the method according to claim 1, wherein the method is implemented by a computer system(Stachura, fig. 2 and para [0209-0211]. Kim, para [0062-0065].).
As per claim 13, this is the product claim to method claim 1. Therefore, it is rejected for the same reasons as above.
As per claim 14, this is the medium claim to method claim 1. Therefore, it is rejected for the same reasons as above.
Inquiry
/DUY KHUONG T NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2199