DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The following is a non-final office action is response the preliminary amendment filed on 12/30/2024.
Claims 1-60 are pending and have been examined.
Claims 1-60 are rejected.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 02/11/2025 and 07/24/2025 were filed. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5, 7-14, 17-18, 20-33, 38-40, 43-46, 48-50, 53-56, and 59-60 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Banthia et al., (US 2019/0322461 A1, hereinafter Banthia) in view of De Jager et al. (US 2023/0247942 A1, hereinafter De Jager)
Claim 1 Discloses: (Original)
“An electronic display device comprising: a visual display operably coupled to one or more sensors on a grain cart;”
Banthia teaches, (Paragraph [0002]) “The present invention relates to a control assembly for providing autonomous control of some of the functions of a grain cart and for providing guidance to an operator of the grain cart during the unloading of a grain cart.”
Banthia additionally teaches that, (Paragraph [0018], Lines 1-3) “the control assembly further includes a gate position sensor adapted to measure a position of the gate between the open position and the closed position,” and that, (Paragraph [0095], Lines 1-8) “In addition to the controller communicating with the display for outputting messages and notifications to the operator, the controller also communicates with the gate actuator 52 so as to be arranged to generate suitable opening and closing signals or other general gate operating signals as required to operate the gate actuator and position the gate assembly 48 at a selected position as prescribed by the programming instructions.”
“… the visual display is configured to be viewable by an operator of the grain cart during a grain transfer operation,”
Banthia teaches, (Paragraph [0114], Lines 4-8) “The entire system is monitored by an operator who sits in the cab of the tractor. Shown in the figures is an optional display panel mounted inside the tractor cab that includes a system ON/OFF button, PTO speed low warning light, real time PTO rpm values and gates position.”
“and the visual display is configured to display at least one of grain cart information or operating instructions.”
Banthia teaches, (Paragraph [0105], Lines 1-5) “the display may be configured as shown in FIG. 20 … to indicate the position of the gate as sensed by the gate sensor.”
“wherein the visual display is mounted on a grain transfer element of the grain cart,
Banthia does not explicitly teach the visual display being mounted on the grain transfer element of the grain cart.
De Jager does explicitly teach the visual display being mounted on the grain transfer element of the grain cart.
De Jager is relevant to the Applicant’s disclosure due to teaching, (Paragraph [0033], Lines 2-8) “a system 1 useful for, in a general sense, the movement or removal of materials positioned on or adjacent to a ground surface to a location elevated above the ground surface for transport to another location, such as, for example, during the harvesting or otherwise removing crop materials from an agricultural field and placing the materials in a vehicle,” wherein, (Paragraph [0033], Lines 22-24) “the mobile machine 2 may comprise an agricultural combine and the transport vehicle 5 may comprise a grain cart.”
De Jager particularly teaches, (Paragraph [0053], Lines 2-6) “the display 60 may be positioned at virtually any location on the harvester that is capable of being viewed by a driver of the transport vehicle 40 at a variety of positions of the vehicle laterally alongside the harvester so as to be visually apparent to the vehicle driver,” and that, (Paragraph [0054], Lines 1-4) “In the illustrative embodiments, the pacing indication display 60 may be configured to be positionable on the harvester at a first location 61a which is on the transfer spout 35 of the harvester (see, e.g., FIG. 5).”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the grain cart system display capable of displaying gate position information as taught by Banthia, with the methodology of mounting the display on the grain cart as taught by De Jager, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the well-known benefits of allowing the display to be visually apparent to an operator as they view the grain cart during an operation. As De Jager describes, (Paragraph [0053], Lines 2-6) “the display 60 may be positioned at virtually any location on the harvester that is capable of being viewed by a driver of the transport vehicle 40 at a variety of positions of the vehicle laterally alongside the harvester so as to be visually apparent to the vehicle driver.”
Claim 2 Discloses: (Original)
“The electronic display device of claim 1, wherein the visual display is configured to display at least one of a rotational speed, a torque, or a horsepower.”
Banthia teaches, (Claim 5, Lines 3-6) “the controller is arranged to generate a display signal which displays the measured rotation speed from the speed sensor on the display screen.”
Claim 5 Discloses: (Original)
“The electronic display device of claim 1, wherein the visual display is configured to display at least one of a warning, an error code, a troubleshooting code, a troubleshooting instruction, a calibration instruction, a maintenance reminder, or contact information.”
Banthia teaches, (Paragraph [0114], Lines 4-8) “The entire system is monitored by an operator who sits in the cab of the tractor. Shown in the figures is an optional display panel mounted inside the tractor cab that includes a system ON/OFF button, PTO speed low warning light, real time PTO rpm values and gates position.”
Claim 7 Discloses: (Original)
“The electronic display device of claim 1, wherein the visual display is configured to display at least one of letters, numbers, or symbols.”
Banthia teaches, (Paragraph [0082]) “Fig. 20 is an illustration of the display screen of the controller when operated according to the first mode of operation,” which comprises displayed letters such as, “PTO.”
Claim 8 Discloses: (Original)
“The electronic display device of claim 1, wherein the visual display is programmable to display graphics or messages.”
Banthia teaches, (Paragraph [0094], Lines 12-14) “The operator interface 102 typically comprises a display screen for displaying data or messages to the operator.”
Claim 9 Discloses: (Original)
“The electronic display device of claim 1, wherein the visual display is configured to be used as a work light.”
Banthia teaches, (Paragraph [0124], Lines 1-9) “according to the second mode of operation, to control and monitor the grain cart, a controller and several ultrasonic sensors have been mounted onto the grain cart to collect data and carry out commands. The controller and sensors are connected to a display/light panel mounted in the cab of tractor. The display/light panel may display data collected from the sensors or commands that may be issued to the operator. The entire system is monitored by an operator who sits in the cab of the tractor,” and that, (Paragraph [0113], Lines 9-11) “Accordingly, in the third mode of operation the system effectively combines the functionality of the first and second modes of operation.”
Claim 10 Discloses: (Original)
“The electronic display device of claim 1, wherein at least one of the sensors is a feed gate position sensor,”
Banthia teaches, (Paragraph [0018], Lines 1-3) “the control assembly further includes a gate position sensor adapted to measure a position of the gate between the open position and the closed position.”
“wherein the electronic display device is operably coupled to the feed gate position sensor, and wherein the visual display is configured to display a feed gate position.”
Banthia teaches, (Paragraph [0095], Lines 1-8) “In addition to the controller communicating with the display for outputting messages and notifications to the operator, the controller also communicates with the gate actuator 52 so as to be arranged to generate suitable opening and closing signals or other general gate operating signals as required to operate the gate actuator and position the gate assembly 48 at a selected position as prescribed by the programming instructions,” wherein, (Paragraph [0105], Lines 1-5) “the display may be configured as shown in FIG. 20 … to indicate the position of the gate as sensed by the gate sensor.”
Claim 11 Discloses: (Original)
“The electronic display device of claim 10, wherein the visual display is configured to display at least one of a direction the feed gate is moving, if the feed gate is opening or closing, if the feed gate is fully open or fully closed, or a percentage of the opening of the feed gate from 0% to 100%.”
Banthia teaches, (Paragraph [0014] and Paragraph [0017]) “Shown in the figures is an optional display panel mounted inside the tractor cab that includes a system ON/OFF button, PTO speed low warning light, real time PTO rpm values and gates position. The process in this instance typically involves the following steps: … Once the PTO rpm reaches a certain predetermined threshold value 1, the auger gates automatically open to a preset value (for e.g. 33%) and the unloading begins.”
Claim 12 Discloses: (Original)
“The electronic display device of claim 10, wherein the visual display is configured to display a programmed feed gate position, and wherein the visual display is configured to display the feed gate position relative to the programmed feed gate position.”
Banthia teaches, (Paragraph [0105], Lines 1-5) “In the first mode of operation, the display may be configured as shown in FIG. 20 to indicate within which region the rotation speed measured by the speed sensor falls, to indicate the measured speed of rotation, and to indicate the position of the gate as sensed by the gate sensor,” wherein, (Paragraph [0123], Lines 1-4) “when the PTO rpm reaches threshold 1 (T1), the system automatically opens the hopper gates to a predefined position (for e.g. 33%) to load the auger with grain and begin unloading,” and therefore the display portion portrays a actual position of the gate sensed by a sensor which is equal to a programmed gate position.
Claim 13 Discloses: (Original)
“The electronic display device of claim 10, wherein the visual display is configured to display an error in at least one of an operation or function of a feed gate.”
Banthia teaches, (Paragraph [0031]) “the assembly includes a display screen for mounting in an operator cab of the auxiliary implement, the controller may be arranged to generate a display signal which displays the measured rotation speed from the speed sensor on the display screen,” wherein, (Paragraph [0123], Lines 4-7) “The system continuously monitors the PTO driveshaft rpms and notifies the operator if the rpms drop below a pre-determined value (threshold T1), and closes the gates to prevent a stall.”
Claim 14 Discloses: (Original)
“The electronic display device of claim 10, wherein the operating instructions include at least one of positioning the feed gate, opening the feed gate, or closing the feed gate.”
Banthia teaches, (Paragraph [0108], Lines 11-21) “When the measured height falls below the height threshold and remains below the height threshold for a first prescribed duration, the controller determines that the receiving container has further capacity to receive more grain such that the controller notifies the operator to stop driving and the gates are signaled by the controller to open so that material from the grain cart begins to fall through the discharge opening into the unloading auger for transfer into the grain cart and for filling the receiving container to a maximum height at the current location.”
Claim 17 Discloses: (Original)
“The electronic display device of claim 1, wherein the operating instructions include at least one of starting or stopping a grain transfer operation.”
Banthia teaches, (Paragraph [0122], Lines 1-7) “The display screen according to the second mode of operation may be configured as shown in FIG. 22 in which input can be received from the operator for turning the system on and off in the manner of a power button. Also, as shown in FIG. 22, the display in this instance provides instructions for the driver to start or stop driving forwardly as well as for turning the PTO shaft of the tractor on or off.”
Banthia additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0108], Lines 11-21) “When the measured height falls below the height threshold and remains below the height threshold for a first prescribed duration, the controller determines that the receiving container has further capacity to receive more grain such that the controller notifies the operator to stop driving and the gates are signaled by the controller to open so that material from the grain cart begins to fall through the discharge opening into the unloading auger for transfer into the grain cart and for filling the receiving container to a maximum height at the current location.”
Claim 18 Discloses: (Original)
“The electronic display device of claim 1, wherein the operating instructions include at least one of increasing or decreasing a rotational speed.”
Banthia teaches, (Paragraph [0122], Lines 4-8) “A sensor monitors the speed of the PTO driveshaft and prompts the operator to increase the PTO rpms until it reaches a minimum pre-determined speed (threshold 1) at which the auger may be safely loaded with grain.”
Claim 20 Discloses: (Original)
“The electronic display device of claim 1 further comprising an auxiliary visual display operably coupled to the one or more sensors on the grain cart; wherein the auxiliary visual display is configured to be viewable by an operator of the grain cart during a grain transfer operation and to display at least one of grain cart information or operating instructions.”
Banthia does not explicitly teach the preceding auxiliary display.
De Jager does explicitly teach an auxiliary display.
De Jager teaches, (Paragraph [0052], Lines 1-8) “The driver pacing information apparatus 50 may also include a pacing indication display 60 for providing pacing information to the driver of the transport vehicle 40 so that the driver may take an action that may correspond to the character of the pacing information, such as speeding up the movement of the vehicle 40 or slowing down the movement of the vehicle 40 across the agricultural field (see, for example, FIGS. 5 and 6).”
De Jager additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0054], Lines 1-3) “the pacing indication display 60 may be configured to be positionable on the harvester at a first location 61a,” and that, (Paragraph [0054], Lines 17-21) “Optionally, the second location 61b may include locations on the handrail on each side of the operator cab, and accordingly a display 60 may be mounted on each of the handrails and sides of the cab to provide enhanced visibility of the display on opposite sides of the harvester.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the system of Banthia with the auxiliary display methodology of De Jager, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the well-known benefits of allowing the display to be visually apparent to an operator at multiple potential locations as they view the grain cart during an operation. As De Jager describes, (Paragraph [0053]) “the display 60 may be positioned at virtually any location on the harvester that is capable of being viewed by a driver of the transport vehicle 40 at a variety of positions of the vehicle laterally alongside the harvester so as to be visually apparent to the vehicle driver. The illustrative embodiments include a variety of positions for the pacing indication display 60, and one or more of these positions may be utilized, or other positions may be utilized instead or in addition to one or more of these positions.”
Claim 21 Discloses: (Original)
“The electronic display device of claim 20, wherein the auxiliary visual display is at least one of a tablet computer, a smartphone, a monitor, or a heads- up display.”
Banthia teaches, (Paragraph [0031], Lines 1-2) “a display screen for mounting in an operator cab,” which may be (Paragraph [0005], Lines 17-18) “continuously monitored by the operator,” The Examiner of which is interpreting under broadest reasonable interpretation as an example of a monitor.
Banthia does not explicitly teach the preceding auxiliary display.
De Jager does explicitly teach an auxiliary display.
De Jager teaches, (Paragraph [0052], Lines 1-8) “The driver pacing information apparatus 50 may also include a pacing indication display 60 for providing pacing information to the driver of the transport vehicle 40 so that the driver may take an action that may correspond to the character of the pacing information, such as speeding up the movement of the vehicle 40 or slowing down the movement of the vehicle 40 across the agricultural field (see, for example, FIGS. 5 and 6).”
De Jager additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0054], Lines 1-3) “the pacing indication display 60 may be configured to be positionable on the harvester at a first location 61a,” and that, (Paragraph [0054], Lines 17-21) “Optionally, the second location 61b may include locations on the handrail on each side of the operator cab, and accordingly a display 60 may be mounted on each of the handrails and sides of the cab to provide enhanced visibility of the display on opposite sides of the harvester.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the system of Banthia with the auxiliary display methodology of De Jager, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the well-known benefits of allowing the display to be visually apparent to an operator at multiple potential locations as they view the grain cart during an operation. As De Jager describes, (Paragraph [0053]) “the display 60 may be positioned at virtually any location on the harvester that is capable of being viewed by a driver of the transport vehicle 40 at a variety of positions of the vehicle laterally alongside the harvester so as to be visually apparent to the vehicle driver. The illustrative embodiments include a variety of positions for the pacing indication display 60, and one or more of these positions may be utilized, or other positions may be utilized instead or in addition to one or more of these positions.”
Claim 22 Discloses: (Original)
“The electronic display device of claim 20, wherein the auxiliary visual display is mounted on a tractor.”
Banthia teaches, (Paragraph [0114], Lines 4-8) “The entire system is monitored by an operator who sits in the cab of the tractor. Shown in the figures is an optional display panel mounted inside the tractor cab that includes a system ON/OFF button, PTO speed low warning light, real time PTO rpm values and gates position.”
Banthia does not explicitly teach the preceding auxiliary display.
De Jager does explicitly teach an auxiliary display.
De Jager teaches, (Paragraph [0052], Lines 1-8) “The driver pacing information apparatus 50 may also include a pacing indication display 60 for providing pacing information to the driver of the transport vehicle 40 so that the driver may take an action that may correspond to the character of the pacing information, such as speeding up the movement of the vehicle 40 or slowing down the movement of the vehicle 40 across the agricultural field (see, for example, FIGS. 5 and 6).”
De Jager additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0054], Lines 1-3) “the pacing indication display 60 may be configured to be positionable on the harvester at a first location 61a,” and that, (Paragraph [0054], Lines 17-21) “Optionally, the second location 61b may include locations on the handrail on each side of the operator cab, and accordingly a display 60 may be mounted on each of the handrails and sides of the cab to provide enhanced visibility of the display on opposite sides of the harvester.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the system of Banthia with the auxiliary display methodology of De Jager, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the well-known benefits of allowing the display to be visually apparent to an operator at multiple potential locations as they view the grain cart during an operation. As De Jager describes, (Paragraph [0053]) “the display 60 may be positioned at virtually any location on the harvester that is capable of being viewed by a driver of the transport vehicle 40 at a variety of positions of the vehicle laterally alongside the harvester so as to be visually apparent to the vehicle driver. The illustrative embodiments include a variety of positions for the pacing indication display 60, and one or more of these positions may be utilized, or other positions may be utilized instead or in addition to one or more of these positions.”
Claim 23 Discloses:
“The electronic display device of claim 20, wherein at least one of the sensors is a feed gate position sensor,”
Banthia teaches, (Paragraph [0018], Lines 1-3) “the control assembly further includes a gate position sensor adapted to measure a position of the gate between the open position and the closed position.”
“wherein the electronic display device is operably coupled to the feed gate position sensor, and wherein the auxiliary visual display is configured to display a feed gate position.”
Banthia teaches, (Paragraph [0095], Lines 1-8) “In addition to the controller communicating with the display for outputting messages and notifications to the operator, the controller also communicates with the gate actuator 52 so as to be arranged to generate suitable opening and closing signals or other general gate operating signals as required to operate the gate actuator and position the gate assembly 48 at a selected position as prescribed by the programming instructions,” wherein, (Paragraph [0105], Lines 1-5) “the display may be configured as shown in FIG. 20 … to indicate the position of the gate as sensed by the gate sensor.”
Banthia does not explicitly teach the preceding auxiliary display.
De Jager does explicitly teach an auxiliary display.
De Jager teaches, (Paragraph [0052], Lines 1-8) “The driver pacing information apparatus 50 may also include a pacing indication display 60 for providing pacing information to the driver of the transport vehicle 40 so that the driver may take an action that may correspond to the character of the pacing information, such as speeding up the movement of the vehicle 40 or slowing down the movement of the vehicle 40 across the agricultural field (see, for example, FIGS. 5 and 6).”
De Jager additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0054], Lines 1-3) “the pacing indication display 60 may be configured to be positionable on the harvester at a first location 61a,” and that, (Paragraph [0054], Lines 17-21) “Optionally, the second location 61b may include locations on the handrail on each side of the operator cab, and accordingly a display 60 may be mounted on each of the handrails and sides of the cab to provide enhanced visibility of the display on opposite sides of the harvester.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the system of Banthia with the auxiliary display methodology of De Jager, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the well-known benefits of allowing the display to be visually apparent to an operator at multiple potential locations as they view the grain cart during an operation. As De Jager describes, (Paragraph [0053]) “the display 60 may be positioned at virtually any location on the harvester that is capable of being viewed by a driver of the transport vehicle 40 at a variety of positions of the vehicle laterally alongside the harvester so as to be visually apparent to the vehicle driver. The illustrative embodiments include a variety of positions for the pacing indication display 60, and one or more of these positions may be utilized, or other positions may be utilized instead or in addition to one or more of these positions.”
Claim 24 Discloses: (Currently Amended)
“The grain cart of claim [[15]] 23, wherein the auxiliary visual display is configured to display at least one of a direction the feed gate is moving, if the feed gate is opening or closing, if the feed gate is fully open or fully closed, or a percentage of the opening of the feed gate from 0% to 100%.”
Banthia teaches, (Paragraph [0014] and Paragraph [0017]) “Shown in the figures is an optional display panel mounted inside the tractor cab that includes a system ON/OFF button, PTO speed low warning light, real time PTO rpm values and gates position. The process in this instance typically involves the following steps: … Once the PTO rpm reaches a certain predetermined threshold value 1, the auger gates automatically open to a preset value (for e.g. 33%) and the unloading begins.”
Banthia does not explicitly teach the preceding auxiliary display.
De Jager does explicitly teach an auxiliary display.
De Jager teaches, (Paragraph [0052], Lines 1-8) “The driver pacing information apparatus 50 may also include a pacing indication display 60 for providing pacing information to the driver of the transport vehicle 40 so that the driver may take an action that may correspond to the character of the pacing information, such as speeding up the movement of the vehicle 40 or slowing down the movement of the vehicle 40 across the agricultural field (see, for example, FIGS. 5 and 6).”
De Jager additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0054], Lines 1-3) “the pacing indication display 60 may be configured to be positionable on the harvester at a first location 61a,” and that, (Paragraph [0054], Lines 17-21) “Optionally, the second location 61b may include locations on the handrail on each side of the operator cab, and accordingly a display 60 may be mounted on each of the handrails and sides of the cab to provide enhanced visibility of the display on opposite sides of the harvester.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the system of Banthia with the auxiliary display methodology of De Jager, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the well-known benefits of allowing the display to be visually apparent to an operator at multiple potential locations as they view the grain cart during an operation. As De Jager describes, (Paragraph [0053]) “the display 60 may be positioned at virtually any location on the harvester that is capable of being viewed by a driver of the transport vehicle 40 at a variety of positions of the vehicle laterally alongside the harvester so as to be visually apparent to the vehicle driver. The illustrative embodiments include a variety of positions for the pacing indication display 60, and one or more of these positions may be utilized, or other positions may be utilized instead or in addition to one or more of these positions.”
Claim 25 Discloses: (Currently Amended)
“The electronic display device of claim [[15]] 23, wherein the auxiliary visual display is configured to display a programmed feed gate position, and wherein the visual display is configured to display the feed gate position relative to the programmed feed gate position.”
Banthia teaches, (Paragraph [0105], Lines 1-5) “In the first mode of operation, the display may be configured as shown in FIG. 20 to indicate within which region the rotation speed measured by the speed sensor falls, to indicate the measured speed of rotation, and to indicate the position of the gate as sensed by the gate sensor,” wherein, (Paragraph [0123], Lines 1-4) “when the PTO rpm reaches threshold 1 (T1), the system automatically opens the hopper gates to a predefined position (for e.g. 33%) to load the auger with grain and begin unloading,” and therefore the display portion portrays a actual position of the gate sensed by a sensor which is equal to a programmed gate position.
Banthia does not explicitly teach the preceding auxiliary display.
De Jager does explicitly teach an auxiliary display.
De Jager teaches, (Paragraph [0052], Lines 1-8) “The driver pacing information apparatus 50 may also include a pacing indication display 60 for providing pacing information to the driver of the transport vehicle 40 so that the driver may take an action that may correspond to the character of the pacing information, such as speeding up the movement of the vehicle 40 or slowing down the movement of the vehicle 40 across the agricultural field (see, for example, FIGS. 5 and 6).”
De Jager additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0054], Lines 1-3) “the pacing indication display 60 may be configured to be positionable on the harvester at a first location 61a,” and that, (Paragraph [0054], Lines 17-21) “Optionally, the second location 61b may include locations on the handrail on each side of the operator cab, and accordingly a display 60 may be mounted on each of the handrails and sides of the cab to provide enhanced visibility of the display on opposite sides of the harvester.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the system of Banthia with the auxiliary display methodology of De Jager, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the well-known benefits of allowing the display to be visually apparent to an operator at multiple potential locations as they view the grain cart during an operation. As De Jager describes, (Paragraph [0053]) “the display 60 may be positioned at virtually any location on the harvester that is capable of being viewed by a driver of the transport vehicle 40 at a variety of positions of the vehicle laterally alongside the harvester so as to be visually apparent to the vehicle driver. The illustrative embodiments include a variety of positions for the pacing indication display 60, and one or more of these positions may be utilized, or other positions may be utilized instead or in addition to one or more of these positions.”
Claim 26 Discloses: (Currently Amended)
“The electronic display device of claim [[15]] 23, wherein the auxiliary visual display is configured to display an error in at least one of an operation or function of a feed gate.”
Banthia teaches, (Paragraph [0031]) “the assembly includes a display screen for mounting in an operator cab of the auxiliary implement, the controller may be arranged to generate a display signal which displays the measured rotation speed from the speed sensor on the display screen,” wherein, (Paragraph [0123], Lines 4-7) “The system continuously monitors the PTO driveshaft rpms and notifies the operator if the rpms drop below a pre-determined value (threshold T1), and closes the gates to prevent a stall.”
Banthia does not explicitly teach the preceding auxiliary display.
De Jager does explicitly teach an auxiliary display.
De Jager teaches, (Paragraph [0052], Lines 1-8) “The driver pacing information apparatus 50 may also include a pacing indication display 60 for providing pacing information to the driver of the transport vehicle 40 so that the driver may take an action that may correspond to the character of the pacing information, such as speeding up the movement of the vehicle 40 or slowing down the movement of the vehicle 40 across the agricultural field (see, for example, FIGS. 5 and 6).”
De Jager additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0054], Lines 1-3) “the pacing indication display 60 may be configured to be positionable on the harvester at a first location 61a,” and that, (Paragraph [0054], Lines 17-21) “Optionally, the second location 61b may include locations on the handrail on each side of the operator cab, and accordingly a display 60 may be mounted on each of the handrails and sides of the cab to provide enhanced visibility of the display on opposite sides of the harvester.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the system of Banthia with the auxiliary display methodology of De Jager, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the well-known benefits of allowing the display to be visually apparent to an operator at multiple potential locations as they view the grain cart during an operation. As De Jager describes, (Paragraph [0053]) “the display 60 may be positioned at virtually any location on the harvester that is capable of being viewed by a driver of the transport vehicle 40 at a variety of positions of the vehicle laterally alongside the harvester so as to be visually apparent to the vehicle driver. The illustrative embodiments include a variety of positions for the pacing indication display 60, and one or more of these positions may be utilized, or other positions may be utilized instead or in addition to one or more of these positions.”
Claim 27 Discloses: (Currently Amended)
“The electronic display device of claim [[15]] 23, wherein the auxiliary visual display is configured to display an error in at least one of an operation or function of a feed gate.”
Banthia teaches, (Paragraph [0108], Lines 11-21) “When the measured height falls below the height threshold and remains below the height threshold for a first prescribed duration, the controller determines that the receiving container has further capacity to receive more grain such that the controller notifies the operator to stop driving and the gates are signaled by the controller to open so that material from the grain cart begins to fall through the discharge opening into the unloading auger for transfer into the grain cart and for filling the receiving container to a maximum height at the current location.”
Claim 28 Discloses: (Original)
“A grain cart comprising: a grain cart container configured to hold grain;”
Banthia teaches, (Paragraph [0002]) “a control assembly for providing autonomous control of some of the functions of a grain cart and for providing guidance to an operator of the grain cart during the unloading of a grain cart,” wherein the, (Paragraph [0004], Lines 1-2) “Grain carts include a storage bin that further includes a hopper.”
“a grain transfer element configured to transfer grain from the grain cart container to a receiving container;”
Banthia teaches, (Paragraph [0009], Lines 4-7) “an unloading auger supported relative to the hopper container to receive material discharged from the hopper container through the discharge opening,” wherein, (Paragraph [0076]) “FIG. 2 is a perspective view of the grain cart in an unloading configuration relative to the receiving container of a grain truck.”
“a feed gate configured to selectively control a transfer rate of the grain;”
Banthia teaches capability to, (Paragraph [0039]) “generate a gate signal for the gate actuator to displace the gate at least partway towards the closed position responsive to the measured height of material from the height sensor meeting the height threshold.”
“a feed gate position sensor configured to detect a position of the feed gate;”
Banthia teaches, (Paragraph [0069], Lines 4-8) “A sensor package mounted on the PTO driveshaft and gate's hydraulic cylinder would deliver PTO rpms and gate position information to a cart mounted controller that controls the automatic function of the hopper gate.”
“and an electronic display device operatively coupled to the feed gate position sensor, … and configured to display a feed gate position and at least one of grain cart information or operating instructions, and the visual display is viewable by an operator of the grain cart during a grain transfer operation.”
Banthia teaches, (Paragraph [0095], Lines 1-8) “In addition to the controller communicating with the display for outputting messages and notifications to the operator, the controller also communicates with the gate actuator 52 so as to be arranged to generate suitable opening and closing signals or other general gate operating signals as required to operate the gate actuator and position the gate assembly 48 at a selected position as prescribed by the programming instructions,” wherein, (Paragraph [0105], Lines 1-5) “the display may be configured as shown in FIG. 20 … to indicate the position of the gate as sensed by the gate sensor.”
“the electronic display device including a visual display mounted on the grain cart”
Banthia does not explicitly teach the visual display being mounted on the grain cart.
De Jager does explicitly teach the visual display being mounted on the grain cart.
De Jager is relevant to the Applicant’s disclosure due to teaching, (Paragraph [0033], Lines 2-8) “a system 1 useful for, in a general sense, the movement or removal of materials positioned on or adjacent to a ground surface to a location elevated above the ground surface for transport to another location, such as, for example, during the harvesting or otherwise removing crop materials from an agricultural field and placing the materials in a vehicle,” wherein, (Paragraph [0033], Lines 22-24) “the mobile machine 2 may comprise an agricultural combine and the transport vehicle 5 may comprise a grain cart.”
De Jager particularly teaches, (Paragraph [0053], Lines 2-6) “the display 60 may be positioned at virtually any location on the harvester that is capable of being viewed by a driver of the transport vehicle 40 at a variety of positions of the vehicle laterally alongside the harvester so as to be visually apparent to the vehicle driver,” and that, (Paragraph [0054], Lines 1-4) “In the illustrative embodiments, the pacing indication display 60 may be configured to be positionable on the harvester at a first location 61a which is on the transfer spout 35 of the harvester (see, e.g., FIG. 5).”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the grain cart system display capable of displaying gate position information as taught by Banthia, with the methodology of mounting the display on the grain cart as taught by De Jager, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the well-known benefits of allowing the display to be visually apparent to an operator as they view the grain cart during an operation. As De Jager describes, (Paragraph [0053], Lines 2-6) “the display 60 may be positioned at virtually any location on the harvester that is capable of being viewed by a driver of the transport vehicle 40 at a variety of positions of the vehicle laterally alongside the harvester so as to be visually apparent to the vehicle driver.”
Claim 29 Discloses: (Original)
“The grain cart of claim 28, wherein the visual display is mounted on the grain transfer element.”
Banthia does not explicitly teach the visual display being mounted on the grain transfer element.
De Jager does explicitly teach the visual display being mounted on the grain transfer element.
De Jager teaches, (Paragraph [0053], Lines 2-6) “the display 60 may be positioned at virtually any location on the harvester that is capable of being viewed by a driver of the transport vehicle 40 at a variety of positions of the vehicle laterally alongside the harvester so as to be visually apparent to the vehicle driver,” and that, (Paragraph [0054], Lines 1-4) “In the illustrative embodiments, the pacing indication display 60 may be configured to be positionable on the harvester at a first location 61a which is on the transfer spout 35 of the harvester (see, e.g., FIG. 5).”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the grain cart system display capable of displaying gate position information as taught by Banthia, with the methodology of mounting the display on the grain transfer element as taught by De Jager, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the well-known benefits of allowing the display to be visually apparent to an operator as they view the grain cart during an operation. As De Jager describes, (Paragraph [0053], Lines 2-6) “the display 60 may be positioned at virtually any location on the harvester that is capable of being viewed by a driver of the transport vehicle 40 at a variety of positions of the vehicle laterally alongside the harvester so as to be visually apparent to the vehicle driver.”
Claim 30 Discloses: (Original)
“The grain cart of claim 28, wherein the visual display is configured to display at least one of a direction the feed gate is moving, if the feed gate is opening or closing, if the feed gate is fully open or fully closed, or a percentage of the opening of the feed gate from 0% to 100%.”
Banthia teaches, (Paragraph [0014] and Paragraph [0017]) “Shown in the figures is an optional display panel mounted inside the tractor cab that includes a system ON/OFF button, PTO speed low warning light, real time PTO rpm values and gates position. The process in this instance typically involves the following steps: … Once the PTO rpm reaches a certain predetermined threshold value 1, the auger gates automatically open to a preset value (for e.g. 33%) and the unloading begins.”
Claim 31 Discloses: (Original)
“The grain cart of claim 28, wherein the visual display is configured to display a programmed feed gate position and to display the feed gate position relative to the programmed feed gate position.”
Banthia teaches, (Paragraph [0105], Lines 1-5) “In the first mode of operation, the display may be configured as shown in FIG. 20 to indicate within which region the rotation speed measured by the speed sensor falls, to indicate the measured speed of rotation, and to indicate the position of the gate as sensed by the gate sensor,” wherein, (Paragraph [0123], Lines 1-4) “when the PTO rpm reaches threshold 1 (T1), the system automatically opens the hopper gates to a predefined position (for e.g. 33%) to load the auger with grain and begin unloading,” and therefore the display portion portrays a actual position of the gate sensed by a sensor which is equal to a programmed gate position.
Claim 32 Discloses: (Original)
“The grain cart of claim 28, wherein the visual display is configured to display an error in at least one of an operation or function of the feed gate.”
Banthia teaches, (Paragraph [0031]) “the assembly includes a display screen for mounting in an operator cab of the auxiliary implement, the controller may be arranged to generate a display signal which displays the measured rotation speed from the speed sensor on the display screen,” wherein, (Paragraph [0123], Lines 4-7) “The system continuously monitors the PTO driveshaft rpms and notifies the operator if the rpms drop below a pre-determined value (threshold T1), and closes the gates to prevent a stall.”
Claim 33 Discloses: (Original)
“The grain cart of claim 28, wherein the visual display is configured to display at least one of a rotational speed, a torque, or a horsepower.”
Banthia teaches, (Claim 5, Lines 3-6) “the controller is arranged to generate a display signal which displays the measured rotation speed from the speed sensor on the display screen.”
Claim 36 Discloses: (Original)
“The grain cart of claim 28, wherein the visual display is configured to display at least one of a warning, an error code, a troubleshooting code, a troubleshooting instruction, a calibration instruction, a maintenance reminder, or contact information.”
Banthia teaches, (Paragraph [0114], Lines 4-8) “The entire system is monitored by an operator who sits in the cab of the tractor. Shown in the figures is an optional display panel mounted inside the tractor cab that includes a system ON/OFF button, PTO speed low warning light, real time PTO rpm values and gates position.”
Claim 38 Discloses: (Original)
“The grain cart of claim 28, wherein the visual display is configured to display at least one of letters, numbers, or symbols.”
Banthia teaches, (Paragraph [0082]) “Fig. 20 is an illustration of the display screen of the controller when operated according to the first mode of operation,” which comprises displayed letters such as, “PTO.”
Claim 39 Discloses: (Original)
“The grain cart of claim 28, wherein the visual display is programmable to display graphics or messages.”
Banthia teaches, (Paragraph [0094], Lines 12-14) “The operator interface 102 typically comprises a display screen for displaying data or messages to the operator.”
Claim 40 Discloses: (Original)
“The grain cart of claim 28, wherein the visual display is configured to be used as a work light.”
Banthia teaches, (Paragraph [0124], Lines 1-9) “according to the second mode of operation, to control and monitor the grain cart, a controller and several ultrasonic sensors have been mounted onto the grain cart to collect data and carry out commands. The controller and sensors are connected to a display/light panel mounted in the cab of tractor. The display/light panel may display data collected from the sensors or commands that may be issued to the operator. The entire system is monitored by an operator who sits in the cab of the tractor,” and that, (Paragraph [0113], Lines 9-11) “Accordingly, in the third mode of operation the system effectively combines the functionality of the first and second modes of operation.”
Claim 43 Discloses: (Original)
“The grain cart of claim 28, wherein the operating instructions include at least one of positioning the feed gate, opening the feed gate, or closing the feed gate.”
Banthia teaches, (Paragraph [0095], Lines 1-8) “In addition to the controller communicating with the display for outputting messages and notifications to the operator, the controller also communicates with the gate actuator 52 so as to be arranged to generate suitable opening and closing signals or other general gate operating signals as required to operate the gate actuator and position the gate assembly 48 at a selected position as prescribed by the programming instructions,” wherein, (Paragraph [0105], Lines 1-5) “the display may be configured as shown in FIG. 20 … to indicate the position of the gate as sensed by the gate sensor.”
Claim 44 Discloses: (Original)
“The grain cart of claim 28, wherein the operating instructions include at least one of starting or stopping a grain transfer operation.”
Banthia teaches, (Paragraph [0122], Lines 1-7) “The display screen according to the second mode of operation may be configured as shown in FIG. 22 in which input can be received from the operator for turning the system on and off in the manner of a power button. Also, as shown in FIG. 22, the display in this instance provides instructions for the driver to start or stop driving forwardly as well as for turning the PTO shaft of the tractor on or off.”
Banthia additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0108], Lines 11-21) “When the measured height falls below the height threshold and remains below the height threshold for a first prescribed duration, the controller determines that the receiving container has further capacity to receive more grain such that the controller notifies the operator to stop driving and the gates are signaled by the controller to open so that material from the grain cart begins to fall through the discharge opening into the unloading auger for transfer into the grain cart and for filling the receiving container to a maximum height at the current location.”
Claim 45 Discloses: (Original)
“The grain cart of claim 28, wherein the operating instructions include at least one of increasing or decreasing a rotational speed.”
Banthia teaches, (Paragraph [0122], Lines 4-8) “A sensor monitors the speed of the PTO driveshaft and prompts the operator to increase the PTO rpms until it reaches a minimum pre-determined speed (threshold 1) at which the auger may be safely loaded with grain.”
Claim 46 Discloses: (Original)
“The grain cart of claim 28, wherein the operating instructions include instructions for moving the grain cart to change the position of the grain transfer element relative to a receiving container.”
Banthia teaches, (Abstract, Lines 4-14) “the control assembly collects input from one or more sensors including … boundary sensors that measure lateral position of the grain cart relative to the receptacle or grain truck. Based on the input, the control assembly may vary the position of the discharge gate of the grain cart, or provide guidance to the operator to steer and position the grain cart relative to an adjacent grain truck,” wherein, (Paragraph [0122] “as shown in FIG. 22, the display in this instance provides instructions for the driver to start or stop driving forwardly as well as for turning the PTO shaft of the tractor on or off. The display is further arranged to be responsive to the first and second notification signals which instruct the operator to steer in first and second directions respectively,” and further wherein, (Paragraph [0113], Lines 9-11) “Accordingly, in the third mode of operation the system effectively combines the functionality of the first and second modes of operation.”
Claim 48 Discloses: (Original)
“A method of operating an electronic display device with a visual display mounted on a grain transfer element of a grain cart,”
Banthia teaches, (Paragraph [0002]) “The present invention relates to a control assembly for providing autonomous control of some of the functions of a grain cart and for providing guidance to an operator of the grain cart during the unloading of a grain cart,” wherein, (Paragraph [0114], Lines 8-10) “The process in this instance typically involves … steps.”
Banthia additionally teaches that, (Paragraph [0018], Lines 1-3) “the control assembly further includes a gate position sensor adapted to measure a position of the gate between the open position and the closed position,” and that, (Paragraph [0095], Lines 1-8) “In addition to the controller communicating with the display for outputting messages and notifications to the operator, the controller also communicates with the gate actuator 52 so as to be arranged to generate suitable opening and closing signals or other general gate operating signals as required to operate the gate actuator and position the gate assembly 48 at a selected position as prescribed by the programming instructions.”
“the method comprising: detecting an operating condition of the grain cart; and displaying information related to the detected operating condition on the visual display that is viewable by an operator of the grain cart during a grain transfer operation.”
Banthia teaches, (Paragraph [0095], Lines 1-8) “In addition to the controller communicating with the display for outputting messages and notifications to the operator, the controller also communicates with the gate actuator 52 so as to be arranged to generate suitable opening and closing signals or other general gate operating signals as required to operate the gate actuator and position the gate assembly 48 at a selected position as prescribed by the programming instructions,” wherein, (Paragraph [0105], Lines 1-5) “the display may be configured as shown in FIG. 20 … to indicate the position of the gate as sensed by the gate sensor.”
Claim 49 Discloses: (Original)
“The method of claim 48, further comprising displaying operating instructions.”
Banthia teaches, (Paragraph [0094], Lines 12-14) “The operator interface 102 typically comprises a display screen for displaying data or messages to the operator,” wherein, (Paragraph [0122], Lines 1-7) “The display screen according to the second mode of operation may be configured as shown in FIG. 22 in which input can be received from the operator for turning the system on and off in the manner of a power button. Also, as shown in FIG. 22, the display in this instance provides instructions for the driver to start or stop driving forwardly as well as for turning the PTO shaft of the tractor on or off.”
Claim 50 Discloses: (Original)
“The method of claim 48, further comprising displaying at least one of a rotational speed, a torque, or a horsepower.”
Banthia teaches, (Claim 5, Lines 3-6) “the controller is arranged to generate a display signal which displays the measured rotation speed from the speed sensor on the display screen.”
Claim 53 Discloses: (Original)
“The method of claim 48, further comprising displaying at least one of a warning, an error code, a troubleshooting code, a troubleshooting instruction, a calibration instruction, a maintenance reminder, or contact information.”
Banthia teaches, (Paragraph [0114], Lines 4-8) “The entire system is monitored by an operator who sits in the cab of the tractor. Shown in the figures is an optional display panel mounted inside the tractor cab that includes a system ON/OFF button, PTO speed low warning light, real time PTO rpm values and gates position.”
Claim 54 Discloses: (Original)
“A method of manufacturing an electronic display device, the method comprising: providing a visual display configured to display grain cart information; operably coupling the visual display to a sensor;”
Banthia teaches, (Paragraph [0124], Lines 2-8) “to control and monitor the grain cart, a controller and several ultrasonic sensors have been mounted onto the grain cart to collect data and carry out commands. The controller and sensors are connected to a display/light panel mounted in the cab of tractor. The display/light panel may display data collected from the sensors or commands that may be issued to the operator.”
“and mounting the visual display on a grain cart grain transfer element; wherein the visual display is viewable by an operator of the grain cart during a grain transfer operation.”
Banthia does not explicitly teach the visual display being mounted on the grain cart.
De Jager does explicitly teach the visual display being mounted on the grain cart.
De Jager is relevant to the Applicant’s disclosure due to teaching, (Paragraph [0033], Lines 2-8) “a system 1 useful for, in a general sense, the movement or removal of materials positioned on or adjacent to a ground surface to a location elevated above the ground surface for transport to another location, such as, for example, during the harvesting or otherwise removing crop materials from an agricultural field and placing the materials in a vehicle,” wherein, (Paragraph [0033], Lines 22-24) “the mobile machine 2 may comprise an agricultural combine and the transport vehicle 5 may comprise a grain cart,” further wherein, (Paragraph [0023]) “FIG. 9 is a schematic perspective view of an illustrative embodiment of a pacing indication display for mounting on the transfer spout of the harvester.”
De Jager particularly teaches, (Paragraph [0053], Lines 2-6) “the display 60 may be positioned at virtually any location on the harvester that is capable of being viewed by a driver of the transport vehicle 40 at a variety of positions of the vehicle laterally alongside the harvester so as to be visually apparent to the vehicle driver,” and that, (Paragraph [0054], Lines 1-4) “In the illustrative embodiments, the pacing indication display 60 may be configured to be positionable on the harvester at a first location 61a which is on the transfer spout 35 of the harvester (see, e.g., FIG. 5).”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the grain cart system display capable of displaying gate position information as taught by Banthia, with the methodology of mounting the display on the grain cart as taught by De Jager, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the well-known benefits of allowing the display to be visually apparent to an operator as they view the grain cart during an operation. As De Jager describes, (Paragraph [0053], Lines 2-6) “the display 60 may be positioned at virtually any location on the harvester that is capable of being viewed by a driver of the transport vehicle 40 at a variety of positions of the vehicle laterally alongside the harvester so as to be visually apparent to the vehicle driver.”
Claim 55 Discloses: (Original)
“The method of claim 54, wherein the visual display is configured to display information related to a detected operating condition of the grain cart.”
Banthia teaches, (Paragraph [0095], Lines 1-8) “In addition to the controller communicating with the display for outputting messages and notifications to the operator, the controller also communicates with the gate actuator 52 so as to be arranged to generate suitable opening and closing signals or other general gate operating signals as required to operate the gate actuator and position the gate assembly 48 at a selected position as prescribed by the programming instructions,” wherein, (Paragraph [0105], Lines 1-5) “the display may be configured as shown in FIG. 20 … to indicate the position of the gate as sensed by the gate sensor.”
Claim 56 Discloses: (Original)
“The method of claim 54, wherein the visual display is configured to display at least one of a rotational speed, a torque, or a horsepower.”
Banthia teaches, (Claim 5, Lines 3-6) “the controller is arranged to generate a display signal which displays the measured rotation speed from the speed sensor on the display screen.”
Claim 59 Discloses: (Original)
“The method of claim 54, wherein the visual display is configured to display at least one of a warning, an error code, a troubleshooting code, a troubleshooting instruction, a calibration instruction, a maintenance reminder, or contact information.”
Banthia teaches, (Paragraph [0114], Lines 4-8) “The entire system is monitored by an operator who sits in the cab of the tractor. Shown in the figures is an optional display panel mounted inside the tractor cab that includes a system ON/OFF button, PTO speed low warning light, real time PTO rpm values and gates position.”
Claim 60 Discloses: (Original)
“The method of claim 54, wherein the visual display is configured to display operating instructions.”
Banthia teaches, (Paragraph [0122], Lines 1-7) “The display screen according to the second mode of operation may be configured as shown in FIG. 22 in which input can be received from the operator for turning the system on and off in the manner of a power button. Also, as shown in FIG. 22, the display in this instance provides instructions for the driver to start or stop driving forwardly as well as for turning the PTO shaft of the tractor on or off.”
Banthia additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0122], Lines 4-8) “A sensor monitors the speed of the PTO driveshaft and prompts the operator to increase the PTO rpms until it reaches a minimum pre-determined speed (threshold 1) at which the auger may be safely loaded with grain.”
Claims 3, 34, 51, and 57 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Banthia in view of De Jager, further in view of Donini et al. (US 2025/0095242 A1, hereinafter Donini)
Claim 3 Discloses: (Original)
“The electronic display device of claim 1, wherein the visual display is configured to display at least one of an unload rate, a moisture content, an unload time, a weight, an unloaded weight, a volume, or an unloaded volume.”
Banthia and De Jager do not teach displaying at least one of an unload rate, a moisture content, an unload time, a weight, an unloaded weight, a volume, or an unloaded volume.
Donini does teach displaying a moisture content.
Donini is relevant to the applicant’s disclosure due to teaching, (Paragraph [0119], Lines 22-37) “Interface display element 517-14 … is interactable, by a user or operator, or both, … Interface display element 517-16 displays a sync icon or symbol and indicates whether the harvester 100 is synced with other items of agricultural harvesting system 300 or with other machines, such as other harvesters at the same worksite or with receiving machines (e.g., grain carts) at the same worksite.”
Donini particularly teaches, (Paragraph [0118], Lines 10-14) “Interface display element 517-30 displays a current grain moisture value (in percentage) indicative of a grain moisture of grain harvested by harvester 100. While the example of interface display element 517-30 shown in FIG. 9, shows that current grain moisture is zero (0.0%).”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to additionally combine the references with the capability to display a grain moisture value as taught by Donini, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would-yield the well-known benefits of allowing an operator to determine the quality of grain yield based upon its moisture content, and additionally determine how said quality may affect the performance of the harvester. As Donini describes, (Paragraph [0026], Lines 18-25) “the values of the grain processing quality characteristic(s) along with values of other performance characteristics of the harvester, such as productivity characteristics (e.g., harvest rate, yield, etc.) such that a user or operator can see how, simultaneously, how grain processing quality characteristic performance relates to other performance characteristics of the harvester.”
Claim 34 Discloses: (Original)
“The grain cart of claim 28, wherein the visual display is configured to display at least one of an unload rate, a moisture content, an unload time, a weight, an unloaded weight, a volume, or an unloaded volume.”
Banthia and De Jager do not teach displaying at least one of an unload rate, a moisture content, an unload time, a weight, an unloaded weight, a volume, or an unloaded volume.
Donini does teach displaying a moisture content.
Donini is relevant to the applicant’s disclosure due to teaching, (Paragraph [0119], Lines 22-37) “Interface display element 517-14 … is interactable, by a user or operator, or both, … Interface display element 517-16 displays a sync icon or symbol and indicates whether the harvester 100 is synced with other items of agricultural harvesting system 300 or with other machines, such as other harvesters at the same worksite or with receiving machines (e.g., grain carts) at the same worksite.”
Donini particularly teaches, (Paragraph [0118], Lines 10-14) “Interface display element 517-30 displays a current grain moisture value (in percentage) indicative of a grain moisture of grain harvested by harvester 100. While the example of interface display element 517-30 shown in FIG. 9, shows that current grain moisture is zero (0.0%).”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to additionally combine the references with the capability to display a grain moisture value as taught by Donini, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would-yield the well-known benefits of allowing an operator to determine the quality of grain yield based upon its moisture content, and additionally determine how said quality may affect the performance of the harvester. As Donini describes, (Paragraph [0026], Lines 18-25) “the values of the grain processing quality characteristic(s) along with values of other performance characteristics of the harvester, such as productivity characteristics (e.g., harvest rate, yield, etc.) such that a user or operator can see how, simultaneously, how grain processing quality characteristic performance relates to other performance characteristics of the harvester.”
Claim 51 Discloses: (Original)
“The method of claim 48, further comprising displaying at least one of an unload rate, a moisture content, an unload time, a weight, an unloaded weight, a volume, or an unloaded volume.”
Banthia and De Jager do not teach displaying at least one of an unload rate, a moisture content, an unload time, a weight, an unloaded weight, a volume, or an unloaded volume.
Donini does teach displaying a moisture content.
Donini is relevant to the applicant’s disclosure due to teaching, (Paragraph [0119], Lines 22-37) “Interface display element 517-14 … is interactable, by a user or operator, or both, … Interface display element 517-16 displays a sync icon or symbol and indicates whether the harvester 100 is synced with other items of agricultural harvesting system 300 or with other machines, such as other harvesters at the same worksite or with receiving machines (e.g., grain carts) at the same worksite.”
Donini particularly teaches, (Paragraph [0118], Lines 10-14) “Interface display element 517-30 displays a current grain moisture value (in percentage) indicative of a grain moisture of grain harvested by harvester 100. While the example of interface display element 517-30 shown in FIG. 9, shows that current grain moisture is zero (0.0%).”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to additionally combine the references with the capability to display a grain moisture value as taught by Donini, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would-yield the well-known benefits of allowing an operator to determine the quality of grain yield based upon its moisture content, and additionally determine how said quality may affect the performance of the harvester. As Donini describes, (Paragraph [0026], Lines 18-25) “the values of the grain processing quality characteristic(s) along with values of other performance characteristics of the harvester, such as productivity characteristics (e.g., harvest rate, yield, etc.) such that a user or operator can see how, simultaneously, how grain processing quality characteristic performance relates to other performance characteristics of the harvester.”
Claim 57 Discloses: (Original)
“The method of claim 54, wherein the visual display is configured to display at least one of an unload rate, a moisture content, an unload time, a weight, an unloaded weight, a volume, or an unloaded volume.”
Banthia and De Jager do not teach displaying at least one of an unload rate, a moisture content, an unload time, a weight, an unloaded weight, a volume, or an unloaded volume.
Donini does teach displaying a moisture content.
Donini is relevant to the applicant’s disclosure due to teaching, (Paragraph [0119], Lines 22-37) “Interface display element 517-14 … is interactable, by a user or operator, or both, … Interface display element 517-16 displays a sync icon or symbol and indicates whether the harvester 100 is synced with other items of agricultural harvesting system 300 or with other machines, such as other harvesters at the same worksite or with receiving machines (e.g., grain carts) at the same worksite.”
Donini particularly teaches, (Paragraph [0118], Lines 10-14) “Interface display element 517-30 displays a current grain moisture value (in percentage) indicative of a grain moisture of grain harvested by harvester 100. While the example of interface display element 517-30 shown in FIG. 9, shows that current grain moisture is zero (0.0%).”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to additionally combine the references with the capability to display a grain moisture value as taught by Donini, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would-yield the well-known benefits of allowing an operator to determine the quality of grain yield based upon its moisture content, and additionally determine how said quality may affect the performance of the harvester. As Donini describes, (Paragraph [0026], Lines 18-25) “the values of the grain processing quality characteristic(s) along with values of other performance characteristics of the harvester, such as productivity characteristics (e.g., harvest rate, yield, etc.) such that a user or operator can see how, simultaneously, how grain processing quality characteristic performance relates to other performance characteristics of the harvester.”
Claims 4, 35, 52, and 58 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Banthia in view of De Jager, further in view of Bump et al. (US 2016/0343231 A1, hereinafter Bump)
Claim 4 Discloses: (Original)
“The electronic display device of claim 1, wherein the visual display is configured to display at least one of a remaining lubricant life, operating hours, a load count, or an unload count.”
Banthia and De Jager do not teach wherein the visual display is configured to display at least one of a remaining lubricant life, operating hours, a load count, or an unload count.
Bump does explicitly teach displaying operating hours, and despite being mainly directed to feed mixture, is relevant to the Applicant’s disclosure due to its teaching towards indicating an hour meter to an operator in the context of an agricultural system which includes a grain cart.
Bump teaches, (Paragraph [0011], Lines 1-8) “a machine control indicator system (also referred to as a scale indicator system) [which] provides monitoring and recording capability for operational data on: system settings, weight, rotation, revolutions per minute, peak weights, gearbox temperatures, hydraulic pressures, and the minimum and maximum limits of this data, on mobile agricultural Seed Tenders, Planters, Seed Drills, Air Seeders, Grain Carts, or Feed Mixers,” wherein, (Paragraph [0015]) “the graphical display of the data allows the viewer to easily determine when an event, or events, results in a concurrent effect on another component or the machine operating system as a whole.”
Bump particularly teaches, (Paragraph [0070], Lines 1-5) “Communication also facilitates real-time cab control via customer service device 124. This provides a customer service representative with the ability to interact with the indicator remotely in a manner similar to how a user can interact directly with the indicator,” wherein, (Paragraph [0073], Lines1-5) “Communication also facilitates an hour meter. An hour meter value can be displayed on the app. An hour meter value can be transferred to the app to allow additional maintenance messages to be displayed in accordance with OEM recommendations,” the Examiner of which is interpreting an example of operating hours under broadest reasonable interpretation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to additionally combine the references with the capability to display operating hours as taught by Bump, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the well-known benefits of using the measured operating hours to determine when a machine needs to potentially undergo maintenance. As Bump describes, (Paragraph [0073], Lines 1-5) “An hour meter value can be transferred to the app to allow additional maintenance messages to be displayed in accordance with OEM recommendations.”
Claim 35 Discloses: (Original)
“The grain cart of claim 28, wherein the visual display is configured to display at least one of a remaining lubricant life, operating hours, a load count, or an unload count.”
Banthia and De Jager do not teach wherein the visual display is configured to display at least one of a remaining lubricant life, operating hours, a load count, or an unload count.
Bump does explicitly teach displaying operating hours, and despite being mainly directed to feed mixture, is relevant to the Applicant’s disclosure due to its teaching towards indicating an hour meter to an operator in the context of an agricultural system which includes a grain cart.
Bump teaches, (Paragraph [0011], Lines 1-8) “a machine control indicator system (also referred to as a scale indicator system) [which] provides monitoring and recording capability for operational data on: system settings, weight, rotation, revolutions per minute, peak weights, gearbox temperatures, hydraulic pressures, and the minimum and maximum limits of this data, on mobile agricultural Seed Tenders, Planters, Seed Drills, Air Seeders, Grain Carts, or Feed Mixers,” wherein, (Paragraph [0015]) “the graphical display of the data allows the viewer to easily determine when an event, or events, results in a concurrent effect on another component or the machine operating system as a whole.”
Bump particularly teaches, (Paragraph [0070], Lines 1-5) “Communication also facilitates real-time cab control via customer service device 124. This provides a customer service representative with the ability to interact with the indicator remotely in a manner similar to how a user can interact directly with the indicator,” wherein, (Paragraph [0073], Lines1-5) “Communication also facilitates an hour meter. An hour meter value can be displayed on the app. An hour meter value can be transferred to the app to allow additional maintenance messages to be displayed in accordance with OEM recommendations,” the Examiner of which is interpreting an example of operating hours under broadest reasonable interpretation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to additionally combine the references with the capability to display operating hours as taught by Bump, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the well-known benefits of using the measured operating hours to determine when a machine needs to potentially undergo maintenance. As Bump describes, (Paragraph [0073], Lines 1-5) “An hour meter value can be transferred to the app to allow additional maintenance messages to be displayed in accordance with OEM recommendations.”
Claim 52 Discloses: (Original)
“The method of claim 48, further comprising displaying at least one of a remaining lubricant life, operating hours, or an unload count.”
Banthia and De Jager do not teach wherein the visual display is configured to display at least one of a remaining lubricant life, operating hours, a load count, or an unload count.
Bump does explicitly teach displaying operating hours, and despite being mainly directed to feed mixture, is relevant to the Applicant’s disclosure due to its teaching towards indicating an hour meter to an operator in the context of an agricultural system which includes a grain cart.
Bump teaches, (Paragraph [0011], Lines 1-8) “a machine control indicator system (also referred to as a scale indicator system) [which] provides monitoring and recording capability for operational data on: system settings, weight, rotation, revolutions per minute, peak weights, gearbox temperatures, hydraulic pressures, and the minimum and maximum limits of this data, on mobile agricultural Seed Tenders, Planters, Seed Drills, Air Seeders, Grain Carts, or Feed Mixers,” wherein, (Paragraph [0015]) “the graphical display of the data allows the viewer to easily determine when an event, or events, results in a concurrent effect on another component or the machine operating system as a whole.”
Bump particularly teaches, (Paragraph [0070], Lines 1-5) “Communication also facilitates real-time cab control via customer service device 124. This provides a customer service representative with the ability to interact with the indicator remotely in a manner similar to how a user can interact directly with the indicator,” wherein, (Paragraph [0073], Lines1-5) “Communication also facilitates an hour meter. An hour meter value can be displayed on the app. An hour meter value can be transferred to the app to allow additional maintenance messages to be displayed in accordance with OEM recommendations,” the Examiner of which is interpreting an example of operating hours under broadest reasonable interpretation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to additionally combine the references with the capability to display operating hours as taught by Bump, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the well-known benefits of using the measured operating hours to determine when a machine needs to potentially undergo maintenance. As Bump describes, (Paragraph [0073], Lines 1-5) “An hour meter value can be transferred to the app to allow additional maintenance messages to be displayed in accordance with OEM recommendations.”
Claim 58 Discloses: (Original)
“The method of claim 54, wherein the visual display is configured to display at least one of a remaining lubricant life, operating hours, or an unload count.”
Banthia and de Jager do not teach wherein the visual display is configured to display at least one of a remaining lubricant life, operating hours, a load count, or an unload count.
Bump does explicitly teach displaying operating hours, and despite being mainly directed to feed mixture, is relevant to the Applicant’s disclosure due to its teaching towards indicating an hour meter to an operator in the context of an agricultural system which includes a grain cart.
Bump teaches, (Paragraph [0011], Lines 1-8) “a machine control indicator system (also referred to as a scale indicator system) [which] provides monitoring and recording capability for operational data on: system settings, weight, rotation, revolutions per minute, peak weights, gearbox temperatures, hydraulic pressures, and the minimum and maximum limits of this data, on mobile agricultural Seed Tenders, Planters, Seed Drills, Air Seeders, Grain Carts, or Feed Mixers,” wherein, (Paragraph [0015]) “the graphical display of the data allows the viewer to easily determine when an event, or events, results in a concurrent effect on another component or the machine operating system as a whole.”
Bump particularly teaches, (Paragraph [0070], Lines 1-5) “Communication also facilitates real-time cab control via customer service device 124. This provides a customer service representative with the ability to interact with the indicator remotely in a manner similar to how a user can interact directly with the indicator,” wherein, (Paragraph [0073], Lines1-5) “Communication also facilitates an hour meter. An hour meter value can be displayed on the app. An hour meter value can be transferred to the app to allow additional maintenance messages to be displayed in accordance with OEM recommendations,” the Examiner of which is interpreting an example of operating hours under broadest reasonable interpretation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to additionally combine the references with the capability to display operating hours as taught by Bump, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the well-known benefits of using the measured operating hours to determine when a machine needs to potentially undergo maintenance. As Bump describes, (Paragraph [0073], Lines 1-5) “An hour meter value can be transferred to the app to allow additional maintenance messages to be displayed in accordance with OEM recommendations.”
Claims 6 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Banthia in view of De Jager, further in view of Tippery et al. (US 2020/0204944 A1, hereinafter Tippery)
Claim 6 Discloses: (Original)
“The electronic display device of claim 1, wherein the visual display comprises at least one of an LED display, an E-INK display, a liquid crystal display (LCD), an incandescent display, a plasma display, a matrix display, or a multicolor display.”
Banthia and De Jager do not explicitly teach their displays being one of the preceding types.
However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use one of the preceding display technologies.
Tippery does explicitly teach its display being at least one of the preceding types.
Tippery teaches a, (Paragraph [0004], Lines 3-4) “system includes a first communication device associated with a first entity,” wherein, “Examples of agricultural “entities” include several categories of machines and sensors. For example, entities may include self-propelled machines, such as, but not limited to, tractors, combines, forage harvesters, self-propelled sprayers, trucks, pickups, cars, or other personal vehicles. By way of another example, entities may include agricultural implements, such as, but not limited to, seeding and tillage equipment, planting equipment, hay harvesting equipment, and grain carts.”
Tippery additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0077], Lines 1-11) “In one embodiment, a user interface 119 is communicatively coupled to the controller 114. In one embodiment, the user interface 119 includes a display used to display data of the system 100 to a user. The display of the user interface 119 may include any display known in the art. For example, the display may include, but is not limited to, a liquid crystal display (LCD), an organic light-emitting diode (OLED) based display, or a CRT display. Those skilled in the art should recognize that any display device capable of integration with a user interface 119 is suitable for implementation in the present disclosure.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the references with the well-known examples of display technology such as the LCD exhibited by Tippery, in order to yield predictable results.
As Tippery describes, (Paragraph [0077], Lines 8-11) “Those skilled in the art should recognize that any display device capable of integration with a user interface 119 is suitable for implementation in the present disclosure.”
Claim 37 Discloses: (Original)
“The grain cart of claim 28, wherein the visual display comprises at least one of an LED display, an E-INK display, a liquid crystal display (LCD), an incandescent display, a plasma display, a matrix display, or a multicolor display.”
Banthia and De Jager do not explicitly teach their displays being one of the preceding types.
However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use one of the preceding display technologies.
Tippery does explicitly teach its display being at least one of the preceding types.
Tippery teaches a, (Paragraph [0004], Lines 3-4) “system includes a first communication device associated with a first entity,” wherein, “Examples of agricultural “entities” include several categories of machines and sensors. For example, entities may include self-propelled machines, such as, but not limited to, tractors, combines, forage harvesters, self-propelled sprayers, trucks, pickups, cars, or other personal vehicles. By way of another example, entities may include agricultural implements, such as, but not limited to, seeding and tillage equipment, planting equipment, hay harvesting equipment, and grain carts.”
Tippery additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0077], Lines 1-11) “In one embodiment, a user interface 119 is communicatively coupled to the controller 114. In one embodiment, the user interface 119 includes a display used to display data of the system 100 to a user. The display of the user interface 119 may include any display known in the art. For example, the display may include, but is not limited to, a liquid crystal display (LCD), an organic light-emitting diode (OLED) based display, or a CRT display. Those skilled in the art should recognize that any display device capable of integration with a user interface 119 is suitable for implementation in the present disclosure.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the references with the well-known examples of display technology such as the LCD exhibited by Tippery, in order to yield predictable results.
As Tippery describes, (Paragraph [0077], Lines 8-11) “Those skilled in the art should recognize that any display device capable of integration with a user interface 119 is suitable for implementation in the present disclosure.”
Claims 15-16 and 41-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Banthia in view of De Jager, further in view of Thomson et al. (US 2018/0242521 A1, hereinafter Thomson)
Claim 15 Discloses: (Original)
“The electronic display device of claim 1, wherein at least one of the sensors is a scale or load cell constructively configured to measure a weight of material in the grain cart, wherein the electronic display device is operably coupled to the scale or load cell, and wherein the visual display is configured to display the weight of the material in the grain cart.”
Banthia and De Jager do not explicitly teach the preceding limitations.
Thomson does teach the preceding limitations.
Thomson teaches, (Abstract, Lines 1-4) “A grain cart is provided having a storage hopper for holding crop material, load cells positioned on the grain cart to measure a weight of crop material in the grain cart and an indicator connected to the load cells,” wherein, (Paragraph [0036], Lines 13-18) “The indicator 400 can have a display 402 on which information can be displayed to the operator of the tow vehicle such as the current weight being measured by the load cells 48, the weight of the grain cart 10 and crop material, the weight of the crop material in the grain cart 10, etc.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the references with the load cell weight measurement and weight display methodology of Thomson, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the well-known benefits of allowing an operator to monitor the grain loading/unloading processes. As Thomson describes, (BACKGROUND, Paragraph [0004], Lines 1-9) “If an operator wants to unload a specific amount (weight) of crop material from a grain cart. The operator will typically watch a monitor inside the cab of the tow vehicle that shows how much the crop material, currently in the grain cart, weighs and when the desired weight of crop material has been removed, the operator can stop the crop material from being discharged from the grain cart (typically by shutting gates in the bottom of the grain cart storage hopper or by stopping the auger assembly on the grain cart).”
Claim 16 Discloses: (Original)
“The electronic display device of claim 1, wherein at least one of the sensors is a scale or load cell constructively configured to measure a weight of material in the grain cart, wherein the electronic display device is operably coupled to the scale or load cell, and wherein the visual display is configured to display a weight of material transferred to a receiving container.”
Banthia and De Jager do not explicitly teach the preceding limitations.
Thomson does teach the preceding limitations.
Thomson teaches, (Abstract, Lines 1-4) “A grain cart is provided having a storage hopper for holding crop material, load cells positioned on the grain cart to measure a weight of crop material in the grain cart and an indicator connected to the load cells,” wherein, (Paragraph [0036], Lines 13-18) “The indicator 400 can have a display 402 on which information can be displayed to the operator of the tow vehicle such as the current weight being measured by the load cells 48, the weight of the grain cart 10 and crop material, the weight of the crop material in the grain cart 10, etc.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the references with the load cell weight measurement and weight display methodology of Thomson, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the well-known benefits of allowing an operator to monitor the grain loading/unloading processes. As Thomson describes, (BACKGROUND, Paragraph [0004], Lines 1-9) “If an operator wants to unload a specific amount (weight) of crop material from a grain cart. The operator will typically watch a monitor inside the cab of the tow vehicle that shows how much the crop material, currently in the grain cart, weighs and when the desired weight of crop material has been removed, the operator can stop the crop material from being discharged from the grain cart (typically by shutting gates in the bottom of the grain cart storage hopper or by stopping the auger assembly on the grain cart).”
Claim 41 Discloses: (Original)
“The grain cart of claim 28, further comprising a scale or load cell constructively configured to measure a weight of material in the grain cart, wherein the electronic display device is operably coupled to the scale or load cell, and wherein the visual display is configured to display the weight of the material in the grain cart.”
Banthia and De Jager do not explicitly teach the preceding limitations.
Thomson does teach the preceding limitations.
Thomson teaches, (Abstract, Lines 1-4) “A grain cart is provided having a storage hopper for holding crop material, load cells positioned on the grain cart to measure a weight of crop material in the grain cart and an indicator connected to the load cells,” wherein, (Paragraph [0036], Lines 13-18) “The indicator 400 can have a display 402 on which information can be displayed to the operator of the tow vehicle such as the current weight being measured by the load cells 48, the weight of the grain cart 10 and crop material, the weight of the crop material in the grain cart 10, etc.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the references with the load cell weight measurement and weight display methodology of Thomson, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the well-known benefits of allowing an operator to monitor the grain loading/unloading processes. As Thomson describes, (BACKGROUND, Paragraph [0004], Lines 1-9) “If an operator wants to unload a specific amount (weight) of crop material from a grain cart. The operator will typically watch a monitor inside the cab of the tow vehicle that shows how much the crop material, currently in the grain cart, weighs and when the desired weight of crop material has been removed, the operator can stop the crop material from being discharged from the grain cart (typically by shutting gates in the bottom of the grain cart storage hopper or by stopping the auger assembly on the grain cart).”
Claim 42 Discloses: (Currently Amended)
“The grain cart of claim [[41]] 28, further comprising a scale or load cell constructively configured to measure a weight of material in the grain cart, wherein the visual display is configured to display a weight of material transferred to a receiving container.”
Banthia and De Jager do not explicitly teach the preceding limitations.
Thomson does teach the preceding limitations.
Thomson teaches, (Abstract, Lines 1-4) “A grain cart is provided having a storage hopper for holding crop material, load cells positioned on the grain cart to measure a weight of crop material in the grain cart and an indicator connected to the load cells,” wherein, (Paragraph [0036], Lines 13-18) “The indicator 400 can have a display 402 on which information can be displayed to the operator of the tow vehicle such as the current weight being measured by the load cells 48, the weight of the grain cart 10 and crop material, the weight of the crop material in the grain cart 10, etc.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the references with the load cell weight measurement and weight display methodology of Thomson, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the well-known benefits of allowing an operator to monitor the grain loading/unloading processes. As Thomson describes, (BACKGROUND, Paragraph [0004], Lines 1-9) “If an operator wants to unload a specific amount (weight) of crop material from a grain cart. The operator will typically watch a monitor inside the cab of the tow vehicle that shows how much the crop material, currently in the grain cart, weighs and when the desired weight of crop material has been removed, the operator can stop the crop material from being discharged from the grain cart (typically by shutting gates in the bottom of the grain cart storage hopper or by stopping the auger assembly on the grain cart).”
Claims 19 and 47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Banthia in view of De Jager, further in view of Meier et al. (US 2017/0370765 A1, hereinafter Meier)
Claim 19 Discloses: (Original)
“The electronic display device of claim 1, wherein the visual display is operably coupled to a sensor that is constructively configured to detect the orientation of the visual display,”
Banthia and De Jager do not teach the preceding limitations.
However, De Jager does teach, (Paragraph [0056], Lines 4-8) “the indication display 60 may be configured to be viewable from more than one side and from more than one perspective or point of view, which may be highly useful when the display 60 is mounted on transfer spout 34.”
Meier does teach the preceding limitations.
Meier teaches, “a method for enhancing display location diversity involves reversing the displayed image when unloading, and reflecting and restoring the image using a mirror located conveniently for the operator,” and that, (Paragraph [0087], Lines 1-3) “FIG. 7A is a drawing that illustrates a tablet showing loading/unloading information. FIG. 7B is a drawing showing the same tablet shown in FIG. 7B, but reversed.” Therefore, weight sensors that indicate a loading or unloading operation also allow the system to determine the relative orientation of the display towards an operation.
“and wherein the orientation of at least one of the grain cart information or the operating instructions displayed on the visual display is based at least in part on the detected orientation of the visual display.”
Meier additionally teaches that the, (Paragraph [0086], Lines 3-9) “display is located for convenient viewing in one of the two grain transfer phases (loading or unloading). During the other phase, the operator views the display through a mirror positioned at an angle that is convenient for viewing during that phase; the mirror reflects an image that is deliberately reversed by the display equipment so that it becomes restored through reflection.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the references with the system of Meier wherein the visual display is operably coupled to a sensor that is constructively configured to detect the orientation of the visual display, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the benefits of allowing an operator to get a clear view of an operation depending on the relative orientation of the display. Particularly, Meier describes that the, (Paragraph [0086], Lines 3-9) “display is located for convenient viewing in one of the two grain transfer phases (loading or unloading). During the other phase, the operator views the display through a mirror positioned at an angle that is convenient for viewing during that phase; the mirror reflects an image that is deliberately reversed by the display equipment so that it becomes restored through reflection.”
Claim 47 Discloses: (Original)
“The grain cart of claim 28, wherein the visual display is operably coupled to a sensor that is constructively configured to detect the orientation of the visual display,”
Banthia and De Jager do not teach the preceding limitations.
However, De Jager does teach, (Paragraph [0056], Lines 4-8) “the indication display 60 may be configured to be viewable from more than one side and from more than one perspective or point of view, which may be highly useful when the display 60 is mounted on transfer spout 34.”
Meier does teach the preceding limitations.
Meier teaches, “a method for enhancing display location diversity involves reversing the displayed image when unloading, and reflecting and restoring the image using a mirror located conveniently for the operator,” and that, (Paragraph [0087], Lines 1-3) “FIG. 7A is a drawing that illustrates a tablet showing loading/unloading information. FIG. 7B is a drawing showing the same tablet shown in FIG. 7B, but reversed.” Therefore, weight sensors that indicate a loading or unloading operation also allow the system to determine the relative orientation of the display towards an operation.
“and wherein the orientation of information displayed on the visual display is based at least in part on the detected orientation of the visual display.”
Meier additionally teaches that the, (Paragraph [0086], Lines 3-9) “display is located for convenient viewing in one of the two grain transfer phases (loading or unloading). During the other phase, the operator views the display through a mirror positioned at an angle that is convenient for viewing during that phase; the mirror reflects an image that is deliberately reversed by the display equipment so that it becomes restored through reflection.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the references with the system of Meier wherein the visual display is operably coupled to a sensor that is constructively configured to detect the orientation of the visual display, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the benefits of allowing an operator to get a clear view of an operation depending on the relative orientation of the display. Particularly, Meier describes that the, (Paragraph [0086], Lines 3-9) “display is located for convenient viewing in one of the two grain transfer phases (loading or unloading). During the other phase, the operator views the display through a mirror positioned at an angle that is convenient for viewing during that phase; the mirror reflects an image that is deliberately reversed by the display equipment so that it becomes restored through reflection.”
Conclusion
/ALEXANDER V GENTILE/Examiner, Art Unit 3664
/TYLER D PAIGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3664