DETAILED ACTION
Introduction
2. This action responds to amendment filed on 07-23-2026. Claims 1 and 11 have been amended. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Double Patenting
4. Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,182,472. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because, the current (18/947,513) claim limitations are broader than claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,182,472 as shown in the table below.
Instant Application No. 18/947,513
US PAT. 12,182,472.
1. A method, comprising: calculating a location of a first device relative to a second device based on a wave signal transmitted between the first device and the second device; determining a zone status of the first device based on the location of the first device relative to the second device and a predetermined zone; and initiating a Bluetooth Connected Isochronous Stream (CIS) connection between the first device and the second device based on the zone status indicating that the first device is within the predetermined zone.
1. A method, comprising: calculating a location of a first device relative to a second device based on a wave signal transmitted from one of the first device or the second device to the other of the first device or the second device, wherein the first device is a wearable audio device; determining a zone status of the first device based on the location of the first device relative to the second device and a predetermined zone; and initiating an action based on the zone status, wherein the action comprises playing, via the first device, audio corresponding to a broadcast isochronous stream (BIS) provided by the second device if the zone status indicates that the first device is within the predetermined zone; and wherein the wave signal is embedded in an advertisement packet, wherein the advertisement packet comprises an advertisement protocol data unit (PDU), wherein the advertisement PDU comprises an announcement corresponding to the BIS, and wherein the predetermined zone is defined by coordinates embedded in the advertisement PDU.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
. 8. Claims 1-3, 8-9, 11-13 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Starobin et al. (US 2019/0394589) in view of Lee (US.2022/0272644).
Consider claim 1, Starobin teaches a method, comprising:
calculating(see figs. 7-8) a location of a first device (see fig. 1(112-115)) relative to a second device(see fig. 1(111)) based on a wave signal transmitted from one of the first device or the second device (see fig. 1(112-115, 111)) to the other of the first device or the second device, wherein the first device is a wireless audio device(see figs. 1-2 and paragraphs[0024]-[0029]);
determining a zone status of the first device(see fig.1 (front left loudspeaker 112, front right loudspeaker 113) in fig. 1, family room) based on the location of the first device(see fig. 1(112-115)) relative to the second device(see fig. 1(111)) and a predetermined zone(a predetermined zone such as family room, kitchen, master bedroom)(see figs. 2-3 and paragraphs [0038]-[0045]); and initiate an action based on the zone status(see figs. 1-6 and paragraphs[0050]-[0055]), wherein the first device(see fig.7) is configured to play audio provided by the second device(see fig. 8) (see figs. 1-6 and paragraphs[0057]-[0065]); but Starobin does not explicitly teach initiating a Bluetooth Connected Isochronous Stream (CIS) connection between the first device and the second device based on the zone status indicating that the first device is within the predetermined zone..
However, Lee teaches initiating a Bluetooth Connected Isochronous Stream (CIS) connection between the first device and the second device based on the zone status indicating that the first device is within the predetermined zone (see figs. 1-27 and paragraphs[0250]-[0331]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teaching of Lee into the teaching of Starobin to provide determining a first synchronization value associated with a point in time at which reception of the audio data of each of a first device and a second device is completed; determining a second synchronization value for synchronizing points in time at which the audio data is output from the first device and the second device; determining a first synchronization reference time point based on the first synchronization value and the second synchronization value; performing a specific operation associated with transmitting the audio data; and transmitting, to each of the first device and the second device, the audio data on a specific channel associated with transmitting the audio data, wherein the audio data is transmitted based on the first synchronization reference time point and a second synchronization reference time point determined based on a specific time value for the specific operation.
Consider claims 2 and 3, Starobin as modified by Lee teaches the method wherein calculating the location of the first device relative to the second device is performed by the first device(see figs. 2-3 and paragraphs[0038]-[0046]); and the method wherein the first device comprises an antenna array(see figs. 5-8 and paragraphs[0144]-[0149]).
Consider claims 8 and 9, Starobin as modified by Lee teaches the method wherein the zone status corresponds to the first device entering the predetermined zone(see figs. 1-6 and paragraphs[0057]-[0065]); and the method wherein the zone status corresponds to the first device leaving the predetermined zones(see figs. 1-6 and paragraphs[0057]-[0065]).
Consider claim 11, Starobin teaches a first device, comprising: a wireless receiver configured to receive a wave signal transmitted by a second device(see figs. 7-8); and a processor(see figs.7(790), fig.8(890)) configured to::
calculating(see figs. 7-8) a location of a first device (see fig. 1(112-115)) relative to a second device(see fig. 1(111)) based on a wave signal transmitted from one of the first device or the second device (see fig. 1(112-115, 111)) to the other of the first device or the second device, wherein the first device is a wireless audio device(see figs. 1-2 and paragraphs[0024]-[0029]);
determining a zone status of the first device(see fig.1 (front left loudspeaker 112, front right loudspeaker 113) in fig. 1, family room) based on the location of the first device(see fig. 1(112-115)) relative to the second device(see fig. 1(111)) and a predetermined zone(a predetermined zone such as family room, kitchen, master bedroom)(see figs. 2-3 and paragraphs [0038]-[0045]); and initiate an action based on the zone status(see figs. 1-6 and paragraphs[0050]-[0055]), wherein the first device(see fig.7) is configured to play audio provided by the second device(see fig. 8) (see figs. 1-6 and paragraphs[0057]-[0065]); but Starobin does not explicitly teach initiating a Bluetooth Connected Isochronous Stream (CIS) connection between the first device and the second device based on the zone status indicating that the first device is within the predetermined zone..
However, Lee teaches initiating a Bluetooth Connected Isochronous Stream (CIS) connection between the first device and the second device based on the zone status indicating that the first device is within the predetermined zone(see figs. 1-27 and paragraphs[0250]-[0331]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teaching of Lee into the teaching of Starobin to provide determining a first synchronization value associated with a point in time at which reception of the audio data of each of a first device and a second device is completed; determining a second synchronization value for synchronizing points in time at which the audio data is output from the first device and the second device; determining a first synchronization reference time point based on the first synchronization value and the second synchronization value; performing a specific operation associated with transmitting the audio data; and transmitting, to each of the first device and the second device, the audio data on a specific channel associated with transmitting the audio data, wherein the audio data is transmitted based on the first synchronization reference time point and a second synchronization reference time point determined based on a specific time value for the specific operation.
Consider claims 12 and 13, Starobin as modified by Lee teaches the method wherein calculating the location of the first device relative to the second device is performed by the first device(see figs. 2-3 and paragraphs[0038]-[0046]); and the method wherein the first device comprises an antenna array(see figs. 5-8 and paragraphs[0144]-[0149]).
Consider claims 18 and 19, Starobin as modified by Lee teaches the first device wherein the zone status corresponds to the first device entering the predetermined zone(see figs. 1-6 and paragraphs[0057]-[0065]); and the first device wherein the zone status corresponds to the first device leaving the predetermined zones(see figs. 1-6 and paragraphs[0057]-[0065]).
9. Claims 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Starobin et al. (US 2019/0394589) as modified by Lee (US.2022/0272644) as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Knaappila. (US 2022/0022132).
Consider claim 4, Starobin does not explicitly teach the method wherein the second device comprises an antenna array.
However, Knaappila teaches the method wherein the second device comprises an antenna array(see figs. 1-7 and paragraphs [0026]-[0034]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teaching of Knaappila into the teaching of Starobin to provide allows a network device to remain synchronized to a master device while minimizing its own power consumption is disclosed. The network device exits a low power mode at regular intervals in order to receive a synchronous communication from a master device. Once the network device has received enough information to confirm that this synchronous communication is from the correct master device, the network device may then return to the low power mode, even before the entirety of the synchronous communication has been received. This may reduce the time that the network device is in the active state by more than 90% in certain instances.
Consider claim 14, Starobin does not explicitly teach the first device wherein the second device comprises an antenna array.
However, Knaappila teaches the first device wherein the second device comprises an antenna array(see figs. 1-7 and paragraphs [0026]-[0034]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teaching of Knaappila into the teaching of Starobin to provide allows a network device to remain synchronized to a master device while minimizing its own power consumption is disclosed. The network device exits a low power mode at regular intervals in order to receive a synchronous communication from a master device. Once the network device has received enough information to confirm that this synchronous communication is from the correct master device, the network device may then return to the low power mode, even before the entirety of the synchronous communication has been received. This may reduce the time that the network device is in the active state by more than 90% in certain instances.
10. Claims 5-7 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Starobin et al. (US 2019/0394589) as modified by of Lee (US.2022/0272644) as applied to claims 1 and 11, above, and further in view of Laidlaw et al.(US 2019/0073179).
Consider claim 5, Starobin does not explicitly teach the method wherein the predetermined zone is defined by coordinates embedded in the advertisement PDU.
However, Laidiaw teaches the method wherein the predetermined zone is defined by coordinates embedded in the advertisement PDU(see figs.2-8 and paragraphs [0084]-[0110])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teaching of Laidlaw into the teaching of Starobin to provide a electronic display band comprises a circuit board and a plurality of components mounted to the circuit board. The plurality of components comprises one or more battery, one or more integrated circuits, a first plurality of light emitting elements arranged in a grid, a second plurality of light emitting elements and a wireless module. The wireless module comprises a radio, wherein the wireless module is configured to implement a bi-directional wireless mesh network using the radio.
Consider claims 6 and 7, Starobin as modified by Lee and Laidlaw teaches the method wherein the predetermined zone is further defined by a coordinate format header embedded in the advertisement PDU(In Laidlaw, see figs.2-8 and paragraphs [0093]-[0110]); and the method wherein the predetermined zone is further defined by a coordinate format header embedded in the advertisement PDU(In Laidlaw, see figs.2-8 and paragraphs [0093]-[0110]).
Consider claim 15, Starobin does not explicitly teach the first device wherein the predetermined zone is defined by coordinates embedded in the advertisement PDU.
However, Laidiaw teaches the first device wherein the predetermined zone is defined by coordinates embedded in the advertisement PDU(see figs.2-8 and paragraphs [0084]-[0110])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teaching Laidlaw into the teaching of Starobin to provide a electronic display band comprises a circuit board and a plurality of components mounted to the circuit board. The plurality of components comprises one or more battery, one or more integrated circuits, a first plurality of light emitting elements arranged in a grid, a second plurality of light emitting elements and a wireless module. The wireless module comprises a radio, wherein the wireless module is configured to implement a bi-directional wireless mesh network using the radio.
Consider claims 16 and 17, Starobin as modified by Laidlaw teaches the first device wherein the predetermined zone is further defined by a coordinate format header embedded in the advertisement PDU(In Laidlaw, see figs.2-8 and paragraphs [0093]-[0110]); and the first device wherein the predetermined zone is further defined by a coordinate format header embedded in the advertisement PDU(In Laidlaw, see figs.2-8 and paragraphs [0093]-[0110]).
11. Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Starobin et al. (US 2019/0394589) as modified by Lee (US.2022/0272644) as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Bonde et al. (US 2022/0014295).
Consider claim 10, Starobin does not explicitly teach the method wherein initiating the Bluetooth CIS connection includes exchanging pairing information between the first device and the second device via Asynchronous Connection-Oriented Logical Transport (ACL) communication.
However, Knaappila teaches the method wherein initiating the Bluetooth CIS connection includes exchanging pairing information between the first device and the second device via Asynchronous Connection-Oriented Logical Transport (ACL) communication (see figs. 1-4 and paragraphs [0004], [0052]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teaching of Bonde into the teaching of Starobin to provide an audio system, method, and computer program product for synchronizing device clocks. The systems, methods and computer program product can establish a first isochronous data stream between a peripheral device and a first device and establish a second isochronous data stream between the first device and a second device to send data between the first and second device. As the two data streams may rely on two different device clocks, e.g., one clock which defines the timing for the first isochronous data stream and a second clock which defines the timing for the second isochronous data stream, the systems, methods, and computer program disclosed herein are configured to maintain synchronization and/or synchronize the first clock with the second clock to prevent data loss due to clock drift.
Consider claim 20, Starobin does not explicitly teach the first device wherein initiating the Bluetooth CIS connection includes exchanging pairing information between the first device and the second device via Asynchronous Connection-Oriented Logical Transport (ACL) communication.
However, Knaappila teaches the first device wherein initiating the Bluetooth CIS connection includes exchanging pairing information between the first device and the second device via Asynchronous Connection-Oriented Logical Transport (ACL) communication (see figs. 1-4 and paragraphs [0004], [0052]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teaching of Bonde into the teaching of Starobin to provide an audio system, method, and computer program product for synchronizing device clocks. The systems, methods and computer program product can establish a first isochronous data stream between a peripheral device and a first device and establish a second isochronous data stream between the first device and a second device to send data between the first and second device. As the two data streams may rely on two different device clocks, e.g., one clock which defines the timing for the first isochronous data stream and a second clock which defines the timing for the second isochronous data stream, the systems, methods, and computer program disclosed herein are configured to maintain synchronization and/or synchronize the first clock with the second clock to prevent data loss due to clock drift.
Response to Arguments
Double Patenting
12. The examiner responds that, since the applicant does not file a terminal disclaimer and the rejection on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting will be maintained.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
13. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
14. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. Liu et al. (US 2022/0201392) is cited to show other related the LOCATION-BASED SYSTEMS AND METHODS FOR INITIATING WIRELESS DEVICE ACTION.
15. Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Mail Stop ____(explanation, e.g., Amendment or After-final, etc.)
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Facsimile responses should be faxed to:
(571) 273-8300
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to:
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
should be directed to Lao,Lun-See whose telephone number is (571) 272-7501 The examiner
can normally be reached on Monday-Friday from 8:00 to 5:30.
supervisor, Nguyen Duc M(SPE), can be reached on (571) 272-7503.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding
should be directed to the Technology Center 2600 whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
/LUN-SEE LAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2691 US Patent and Trademark Office
Knox
571-272-7501
Date 08-26-2026