DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6, 8, 10-14, 19, and 21-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ganick et al. (US20160139232A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ryan et al. discloses A method (Fig. 7) comprising:
at a device having a processor (Fig. 7; Fig. 5; Para. 61; At the highest level the mobile device contains an image sensor 501 to capture optically transmitted information, a central processing unit 502 to decipher and manage received information, and a network adapter 503 to send and receive information):
obtaining, via a light sensor (Fig. 7; Fig. 5; image sensor 501), a signal (Fig. 7; Fig. 5; Para. 61; At the highest level the mobile device contains an image sensor 501 to capture optically transmitted information, a central processing unit 502 to decipher and manage received information, and a network adapter 503 to send and receive information) corresponding to light flicker (Fig. 7; Fig. 5; Fig. 1; Para. 36; Para. 30; The modulation frequency of the light source is highly dependent on the receiving circuitry. LED lighting sources are designed to flicker above the rate which the eye can see in order to increase their longevity, and consume less power. There are many modulation techniques used to send information through light 102. One technique, “On Off Keying” (OOK), is a scheme to transmit digital data by rapidly switching a signal source on and off) from one or more light sources within a physical environment (Fig. 7; Fig. 2; Para. 42; the mobile device 103 is in view of several light sources, it can receive multiple signals at once. FIG. 2 is a representation of a mobile device 103 receiving identification information 102a-102c from multiple LED light sources 101a-101c);
comparing a characteristic of the signal associated with the light flicker from the one or more light sources with predetermined flicker profile data (Fig. 7; Fig. 2; Para. 42; Para. 69-70; Each light source is transmitting its own unique piece of information. The mobile device 103 sends decoded ID codes 701 through a network 601 to a server 703, which sends back location information 702. The decoded ID codes 701 are found in the information 401, which is contained in the optically transmitted signal. After receiving this signal containing a unique ID code 701 the mobile device 103 sends a request for location data 702 to the server 703, which sends back the appropriate responses. Location data 702 is the indoor location information which matches the received information 401), the predetermined flicker profile data identifying one or more flicker attributes associated with one or more locations within the physical environment (Fig. 7; Para. 70; Location data 702 is the indoor location information which matches the received information 401. The location data 702 corresponds to indoor coordinates which match the ID code 701. The location data 702 could also contain generic data associated with the light identification information 401); and
based on the comparing, determining a location of the device within the physical environment (Fig. 7; Para. 72; Server 703 handles incoming ID codes 701, and appropriately returns indoor location data 702 to the mobile devices 103. The handling can include receiving incoming ID codes, searching databases to determine matches, calculating position coordinates based on the ID codes, and communicating indoor location data 702).
Regarding claim 6, the present system discloses The method of claim 1, as described and applied above, wherein the characteristic of the signal is a Fast Fourier transform (FFT) conversion of the of the signal (Fig. 2; Para. 49; If start bits 402 are found, the demodulation algorithm assumes it is reading a valid packet of information 401 and proceeds to capture the rest of the transmission. Two samples are used for each bit, so the algorithm creates a linear buffer that is twice the size of the remaining packet. Each subsequent ADC is written sequentially to the linear buffer. When the linear buffer is filled, the demodulation algorithm performs a fast fourier transform (FFT) on the buffer to recover the transmitted signal).
Regarding claim 8, the present system discloses The method of claim 1, as described and applied above, wherein said determining the location of the device within the physical environment is further based on audio data obtained within the physical environment (Fig. 7; Para. 81; To deal with duplicate ID Codes 701, additional distinguishing information can be contained inside of the individual log records; ID 1 1001, ID 2 1003, and ID 3 1004. This information can contain additional records about neighboring ID Codes 701 which are in physical proximity of the LED light source 101, or additional sensor data including but not limited to: accelerometer or gyroscope data, WiFi triangulation or fingerprinting data, GSM signature data, infrared or Bluetooth data, and ultrasonic audio data).
Regarding claim 10, the present system discloses The method of claim 1, as described and applied above, wherein said determining the location of the device within the physical environment is further based on motion sensor data obtained within the physical environment (Fig. 7; Para. 81; To deal with duplicate ID Codes 701, additional distinguishing information can be contained inside of the individual log records; ID 1 1001, ID 2 1003, and ID 3 1004. This information can contain additional records about neighboring ID Codes 701 which are in physical proximity of the LED light source 101, or additional sensor data including but not limited to: accelerometer or gyroscope data, WiFi triangulation or fingerprinting data, GSM signature data, infrared or Bluetooth data, and ultrasonic audio data).
Regarding claim 11, the present system discloses The method of claim 1, as described and applied above, wherein said determining the location of the device within the physical environment is further based on sensor data, from multiple sensors (Fig. 7; Para. 81; To deal with duplicate ID Codes 701, additional distinguishing information can be contained inside of the individual log records; ID 1 1001, ID 2 1003, and ID 3 1004. This information can contain additional records about neighboring ID Codes 701 which are in physical proximity of the LED light source 101, or additional sensor data including but not limited to: accelerometer or gyroscope data, WiFi triangulation or fingerprinting data, GSM signature data, infrared or Bluetooth data, and ultrasonic audio data), periodically changing over time (Fig. 15; Para. 102; Initiate background service 1 1501 is the primary background running service on the mobile device. This service is tasked with initiating a function that can communicate wirelessly to determine if the mobile device is close to an enabled area. The wireless communication includes radio frequency communication techniques such as global position system (GPS), cellular communication (e.g., LTE, CDMA, UMTS, GSM), or WiFi communications. Determine position 1502 is the function that periodically samples the wireless communication signal and based on distance parameters decides whether or not the mobile device is close enough to an area to move forward to the next service).
Regarding claim 12, the present system discloses The method of claim 1, as described and applied above, wherein said determining the location of the device within the physical environment is further based on additional localization events (Fig. 15; Para. 103; 1503 is a decision block that moves forward if the mobile device is close to an enabled location, initiate background service 2 1504 is activated once the mobile device enters an enabled area. The service is tasked with initiating the functions that receive location information via the modulated light).
Regarding claim 13, the present system discloses The method of claim 1, as described and applied above, wherein the light sensor is integrated with the device (Fig. 5; Para. 37; Mobile device 103 is a smart mobile device and is most commonly found in the form of mobile phones, tablets, and portable laptop computers. In order for a mobile device 103 to receive information 102 from the LED light source 101 it has an embedded or attached sensor which is used to receive the incoming light 102 signals. One such sensor is a camera, which has a typical frame refresh rate between fifteen and sixty frames per second (fps)).
Regarding claim 14, Ganick et al. discloses A device (Fig. 5) comprising:
a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (Fig. 5; Claim 1; the storage medium 504 is shown. A mobile device, comprising: a memory); and
one or more processors coupled to the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (Fig. 5; Claim 1; CPU 502 is coupled to the storage 504 as shown. Software in the memory to be run by the processor), wherein the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprises program instructions that, when executed on the one or more processors, cause the electronic device to perform operations (Fig. 5; Claim 1; software in the memory to be run by the processor, wherein running of the software by the processor configures the mobile device to perform functions) comprising:
obtaining, via a light sensor (Fig. 7; Fig. 5; image sensor 501), a signal (Fig. 7; Fig. 5; Para. 61; At the highest level the mobile device contains an image sensor 501 to capture optically transmitted information, a central processing unit 502 to decipher and manage received information, and a network adapter 503 to send and receive information) corresponding to light flicker (Fig. 7; Fig. 5; Fig. 1; Para. 36; Para. 30; The modulation frequency of the light source is highly dependent on the receiving circuitry. LED lighting sources are designed to flicker above the rate which the eye can see in order to increase their longevity, and consume less power. There are many modulation techniques used to send information through light 102. One technique, “On Off Keying” (OOK), is a scheme to transmit digital data by rapidly switching a signal source on and off) from one or more light sources within a physical environment (Fig. 7; Fig. 2; Para. 42; the mobile device 103 is in view of several light sources, it can receive multiple signals at once. FIG. 2 is a representation of a mobile device 103 receiving identification information 102a-102c from multiple LED light sources 101a-101c);
comparing a characteristic of the signal associated with the light flicker from the one or more light sources with predetermined flicker profile data (Fig. 7; Fig. 2; Para. 42; Para. 69-70; Each light source is transmitting its own unique piece of information. The mobile device 103 sends decoded ID codes 701 through a network 601 to a server 703, which sends back location information 702. The decoded ID codes 701 are found in the information 401, which is contained in the optically transmitted signal. After receiving this signal containing a unique ID code 701 the mobile device 103 sends a request for location data 702 to the server 703, which sends back the appropriate responses. Location data 702 is the indoor location information which matches the received information 401), the predetermined flicker profile data identifying one or more flicker attributes associated with one or more locations within the physical environment (Fig. 7; Para. 70; Location data 702 is the indoor location information which matches the received information 401. The location data 702 corresponds to indoor coordinates which match the ID code 701. The location data 702 could also contain generic data associated with the light identification information 401); and
based on the comparing, determining a location of the device within the physical environment (Fig. 7; Para. 72; Server 703 handles incoming ID codes 701, and appropriately returns indoor location data 702 to the mobile devices 103. The handling can include receiving incoming ID codes, searching databases to determine matches, calculating position coordinates based on the ID codes, and communicating indoor location data 702).
Regarding claim 19, the present system discloses The device of claim 14, as described and applied above, wherein the characteristic of the signal is a Fast Fourier transform (FFT) conversion of the of the signal (Fig. 2; Para. 49; If start bits 402 are found, the demodulation algorithm assumes it is reading a valid packet of information 401 and proceeds to capture the rest of the transmission. Two samples are used for each bit, so the algorithm creates a linear buffer that is twice the size of the remaining packet. Each subsequent ADC is written sequentially to the linear buffer. When the linear buffer is filled, the demodulation algorithm performs a fast fourier transform (FFT) on the buffer to recover the transmitted signal).
Regarding claim 21, the present system discloses The device of claim 14, as described and applied above, wherein said determining the location of the device within the physical environment is further based on: audio data obtained within the physical environment (Fig. 7; Para. 81; To deal with duplicate ID Codes 701, additional distinguishing information can be contained inside of the individual log records; ID 1 1001, ID 2 1003, and ID 3 1004. This information can contain additional records about neighboring ID Codes 701 which are in physical proximity of the LED light source 101, or additional sensor data including but not limited to: accelerometer or gyroscope data, WiFi triangulation or fingerprinting data, GSM signature data, infrared or Bluetooth data, and ultrasonic audio data); image data obtained within the physical environment; or motion sensor data obtained within the physical environment.
Regarding claim 22, the present system discloses The device of claim 14, as described and applied above, wherein said determining the location of the device within the physical environment is further based on sensor data, from multiple sensors (Fig. 7; Para. 81; To deal with duplicate ID Codes 701, additional distinguishing information can be contained inside of the individual log records; ID 1 1001, ID 2 1003, and ID 3 1004. This information can contain additional records about neighboring ID Codes 701 which are in physical proximity of the LED light source 101, or additional sensor data including but not limited to: accelerometer or gyroscope data, WiFi triangulation or fingerprinting data, GSM signature data, infrared or Bluetooth data, and ultrasonic audio data), periodically changing over time (Fig. 15; Para. 102; Initiate background service 1 1501 is the primary background running service on the mobile device. This service is tasked with initiating a function that can communicate wirelessly to determine if the mobile device is close to an enabled area. The wireless communication includes radio frequency communication techniques such as global position system (GPS), cellular communication (e.g., LTE, CDMA, UMTS, GSM), or WiFi communications. Determine position 1502 is the function that periodically samples the wireless communication signal and based on distance parameters decides whether or not the mobile device is close enough to an area to move forward to the next service).
Regarding claim 23, the present system discloses The device of claim 14, as described and applied above, wherein said determining the location of the device within the physical environment is further based on additional localization events (Fig. 15; Para. 103; 1503 is a decision block that moves forward if the mobile device is close to an enabled location, initiate background service 2 1504 is activated once the mobile device enters an enabled area. The service is tasked with initiating the functions that receive location information via the modulated light).
Regarding claim 24, the present system discloses The device of claim 14, as described and applied above, wherein the light sensor is integrated with the device (Fig. 5; Para. 37; Mobile device 103 is a smart mobile device and is most commonly found in the form of mobile phones, tablets, and portable laptop computers. In order for a mobile device 103 to receive information 102 from the LED light source 101 it has an embedded or attached sensor which is used to receive the incoming light 102 signals. One such sensor is a camera, which has a typical frame refresh rate between fifteen and sixty frames per second (fps)).
Regarding claim 25, Ganick et al. discloses A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (Fig. 5; Claim 1; the storage medium 504 is shown. A mobile device, comprising: a memory) storing program instructions executable via one or more processors of a device to perform operations (Fig. 5; Claim 1; software in the memory to be run by the processor, wherein running of the software by the processor configures the mobile device to perform functions) comprising;
obtaining, via a light sensor (Fig. 7; Fig. 5; image sensor 501), a signal (Fig. 7; Fig. 5; Para. 61; At the highest level the mobile device contains an image sensor 501 to capture optically transmitted information, a central processing unit 502 to decipher and manage received information, and a network adapter 503 to send and receive information) corresponding to light flicker (Fig. 7; Fig. 5; Fig. 1; Para. 36; Para. 30; The modulation frequency of the light source is highly dependent on the receiving circuitry. LED lighting sources are designed to flicker above the rate which the eye can see in order to increase their longevity, and consume less power. There are many modulation techniques used to send information through light 102. One technique, “On Off Keying” (OOK), is a scheme to transmit digital data by rapidly switching a signal source on and off) from one or more light sources within a physical environment (Fig. 7; Fig. 2; Para. 42; the mobile device 103 is in view of several light sources, it can receive multiple signals at once. FIG. 2 is a representation of a mobile device 103 receiving identification information 102a-102c from multiple LED light sources 101a-101c);
comparing a characteristic of the signal associated with the light flicker from the one or more light sources with predetermined flicker profile data (Fig. 7; Fig. 2; Para. 42; Para. 69-70; Each light source is transmitting its own unique piece of information. The mobile device 103 sends decoded ID codes 701 through a network 601 to a server 703, which sends back location information 702. The decoded ID codes 701 are found in the information 401, which is contained in the optically transmitted signal. After receiving this signal containing a unique ID code 701 the mobile device 103 sends a request for location data 702 to the server 703, which sends back the appropriate responses. Location data 702 is the indoor location information which matches the received information 401), the predetermined flicker profile data identifying one or more flicker attributes associated with one or more locations within the physical environment (Fig. 7; Para. 70; Location data 702 is the indoor location information which matches the received information 401. The location data 702 corresponds to indoor coordinates which match the ID code 701. The location data 702 could also contain generic data associated with the light identification information 401); and
based on the comparing, determining a location of the device within the physical environment (Fig. 7; Para. 72; Server 703 handles incoming ID codes 701, and appropriately returns indoor location data 702 to the mobile devices 103. The handling can include receiving incoming ID codes, searching databases to determine matches, calculating position coordinates based on the ID codes, and communicating indoor location data 702).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-5 and 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ganick et al. (US20160139232A1) in view of Verbrugh et al. (US20180376570A1).
Regarding claim 2, the present system discloses The method of claim 1, as described and applied above.
However, the present combination does not expressly disclose the predetermined flicker profile data is generated during an enrollment process based on detecting the one or more flicker attributes from the one or more light sources within the one or more locations within the physical environment.
Verbrugh et al. discloses the predetermined flicker profile data is generated during an enrollment process based on detecting the one or more flicker attributes from the one or more light sources within the one or more locations within the physical environment (Fig. 1; Para. 71; before this service can be provided, the database 28 must be populated with the VLC codes idX, idY. In order to populate the database 28 with this information, after installation of the lighting system, a subsequent commissioning phase is performed. Prior to commissioning, the database is populated with the known location identifier r0, r1 (but not the VLC codes idX, idY). The commissioning phase then involves inputting the VLC codes into the database 28, and mapping them to the appropriate ones of the location identifiers r0, r1 already stored in the database 28).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize the technique taught by Verbrugh et al. to build the location database. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because, although Garnick et al. teaches using an existing database to identify a location, it does not describe how the location database is initially generated. Verbrugh et al. provide these implementation details by teaching a technique for building the location database.
Regarding claim 3, the present combination discloses The method of claim 2, as described and applied above, wherein the enrollment process is an active enrollment process that includes using the device to actively enable the detecting (Verbrugh et al., Fig. 1; Para. 59; When the user device 6 is in the vicinity of one of the luminaires 6, it can receive light emitted by that luminaire via the camera 16. When executed on the processor 10, the code 12 processes the captured image data in order to detect and extract the luminaire identifier embedded in the received illumination).
Regarding claim 4, the present system discloses The method of claim 2, as described and applied above, wherein the enrollment process is a passive enrollment process that includes using the device to passively enable the detecting as background operations performed over time during operational usage of the device (Ganick et al., Fig. 15; Para. 102; FIG. 15 is a process describing the act of turning on the application background services and determining when to sample the image sensor. Initiate background service 1 1501 is the primary background running service on the mobile device. This service is tasked with initiating a function that can communicate wirelessly to determine if the mobile device is close to an enabled area. The wireless communication includes radio frequency communication techniques such as global position system (GPS), cellular communication (e.g., LTE, CDMA, UMTS, GSM), or WiFi communications. Determine position 1502 is the function that periodically samples the wireless communication signal and based on distance parameters decides whether or not the mobile device is close enough to an area to move forward to the next service).
Regarding claim 5, the present system discloses The method of claim 1, as described and applied above.
However, the present system does not expressly disclose adjusting the predetermined flicker profile data based on detecting a new or different flicker attribute at a first location within the physical environment.
Verbrugh et al. discloses adjusting the predetermined flicker profile data based on detecting a new or different flicker attribute at a first location within the physical environment (Fig. 4A; Para. 100-102; The database 23 contains an error, as the luminaire identifier associated with location rC in the database 28 is X not C. The commissioning engineer 8 walks along the line of luminaires with the camera 16 of their user device 6 pointing up towards the ceiling. As the user walks along, they detect the sequence of VLC codes (A, B, C, D) in turn. The computer program detects that the user is moving along the route (rA, rB, rC, rD) by comparing at least part of the sequence of detected identifiers (A, B, C, D) to the expected sequence of luminaire identifiers (A, B, X, D). In this case, it is clear the user is moving along the route as (rA, rB, rC, rD) three out of four identifiers match. Because the computer program knows the user is following the route (rA, rB, rC, rD), it knows that the third, non-matching VLC code (C) to be detected in moving along the route must have been detected at the third location along the route (rC), and corrects the database accordingly (S4) to replace X with C in the record associated with location rC).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize the technique taught by Verbrugh et al. to build the location database. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because, although Garnick et al. teaches using an existing database to identify a location, it does not describe how the location database is initially generated. Verbrugh et al. provide these implementation details with the capability of correction by teaching a technique for building the location database.
Regarding claim 15, the present system discloses The device of claim 14, as described and applied above.
However, the present combination does not expressly disclose the predetermined flicker profile data is generated during an enrollment process based on detecting the one or more flicker attributes from the one or more light sources within the one or more locations within the physical environment.
Verbrugh et al. discloses the predetermined flicker profile data is generated during an enrollment process based on detecting the one or more flicker attributes from the one or more light sources within the one or more locations within the physical environment (Fig. 1; Para. 71; before this service can be provided, the database 28 must be populated with the VLC codes idX, idY. In order to populate the database 28 with this information, after installation of the lighting system, a subsequent commissioning phase is performed. Prior to commissioning, the database is populated with the known location identifier r0, r1 (but not the VLC codes idX, idY). The commissioning phase then involves inputting the VLC codes into the database 28, and mapping them to the appropriate ones of the location identifiers r0, r1 already stored in the database 28).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize the technique taught by Verbrugh et al. to build the location database. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because, although Garnick et al. teaches using an existing database to identify a location, it does not describe how the location database is initially generated. Verbrugh et al. provide these implementation details by teaching a technique for building the location database.
Regarding claim 16, the present combination discloses The device of claim 15, as described and applied above, wherein the enrollment process is an active enrollment process that includes using the device to actively enable the detecting (Verbrugh et al., Fig. 1; Para. 59; When the user device 6 is in the vicinity of one of the luminaires 6, it can receive light emitted by that luminaire via the camera 16. When executed on the processor 10, the code 12 processes the captured image data in order to detect and extract the luminaire identifier embedded in the received illumination).
Regarding claim 17, the present system discloses The device of claim 15, as described and applied above, wherein the enrollment process is a passive enrollment process that includes using the device to passively enable the detecting as background operations performed over time during operational usage of the device (Ganick et al., Fig. 15; Para. 102; FIG. 15 is a process describing the act of turning on the application background services and determining when to sample the image sensor. Initiate background service 1 1501 is the primary background running service on the mobile device. This service is tasked with initiating a function that can communicate wirelessly to determine if the mobile device is close to an enabled area. The wireless communication includes radio frequency communication techniques such as global position system (GPS), cellular communication (e.g., LTE, CDMA, UMTS, GSM), or WiFi communications. Determine position 1502 is the function that periodically samples the wireless communication signal and based on distance parameters decides whether or not the mobile device is close enough to an area to move forward to the next service).
Regarding claim 18, the present system discloses The device of claim 18, as described and applied above.
However, the present system does not expressly disclose adjusting the predetermined flicker profile data based on detecting a new or different flicker attribute at a first location within the physical environment.
Verbrugh et al. discloses adjusting the predetermined flicker profile data based on detecting a new or different flicker attribute at a first location within the physical environment (Fig. 4A; Para. 100-102; The database 23 contains an error, as the luminaire identifier associated with location rC in the database 28 is X not C. The commissioning engineer 8 walks along the line of luminaires with the camera 16 of their user device 6 pointing up towards the ceiling. As the user walks along, they detect the sequence of VLC codes (A, B, C, D) in turn. The computer program detects that the user is moving along the route (rA, rB, rC, rD) by comparing at least part of the sequence of detected identifiers (A, B, C, D) to the expected sequence of luminaire identifiers (A, B, X, D). In this case, it is clear the user is moving along the route as (rA, rB, rC, rD) three out of four identifiers match. Because the computer program knows the user is following the route (rA, rB, rC, rD), it knows that the third, non-matching VLC code (C) to be detected in moving along the route must have been detected at the third location along the route (rC), and corrects the database accordingly (S4) to replace X with C in the record associated with location rC).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize the technique taught by Verbrugh et al. to build the location database. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because, although Garnick et al. teaches using an existing database to identify a location, it does not describe how the location database is initially generated. Verbrugh et al. provide these implementation details with the capability of correction by teaching a technique for building the location database.
Claim(s) 7, 9, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ganick et al. (US20160139232A1) in view of Ryan et al. (US8334898B1).
Regarding claim 7, the present system discloses The method of claim 1, as described and applied above.
However, the present system does not expressly disclose the characteristic of the signal is used to generate a spectrogram associated with differing flickering patterns, associated with the signal corresponding to the light flicker, changing over time and space.
Ryan et al. discloses the characteristic of the signal is used to generate a spectrogram associated with differing flickering patterns (Ryan et al., Fig. 41; Column 35, line 58-Column 36, line 4; FIG. 41 shows a 2-D Fast Fourier Transform 4101 of the post processed DPR modulated signal data 3701. 2-D Fourier Analysis is a popular and widely used technique for image analysis. The DPR tones 4102 can be easily seen across the vertical axis 4103 of the 2-D FFT. Brighter areas on the FFT image 4101 correspond to areas on the image with higher spectral content. A peak can be seen at the origin 4104, which corresponds to the DC component of the DPR signal), associated with the signal corresponding to the light flicker, changing over time and space (Ryan et al., Fig. 37; the transmitted signal changing over time and space is shown).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the teachings of Ryan et al., in the present combination. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because, although Garnick et al. teaches using pulse recognition technique, it does not describe adequately how the pulse recognition technique is performed. Ryan et al. provide these details.
Regarding claim 9, the present system discloses The method of claim 1, as described and applied above.
However, the present system does not expressly disclose determining the location of the device within the physical environment is further based on image data obtained within the physical environment.
Ryan et al. discloses determining the location of the device within the physical environment is further based on image data obtained within the physical environment (Fig. 36; Column 35, lines 16-19; FIG. 36 contains a sample image 3601 of a surface illuminated by a light source undergoing DPR modulation. The image is being recorded from a mobile device using a rolling shutter CMOS camera).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the teachings of Ryan et al., in the present combination. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because, although Garnick et al. teaches using pulse recognition technique, it does not describe adequately how the pulse recognition technique is performed. Ryan et al. provide these details.
Regarding claim 20, the present system discloses The device of claim 14, as described and applied above.
However, the present system does not expressly disclose the characteristic of the signal is used to generate a spectrogram associated with differing flickering patterns, associated with the signal corresponding to the light flicker, changing over time and space.
Ryan et al. discloses the characteristic of the signal is used to generate a spectrogram associated with differing flickering patterns (Ryan et al., Fig. 41; Column 35, line 58-Column 36, line 4; FIG. 41 shows a 2-D Fast Fourier Transform 4101 of the post processed DPR modulated signal data 3701. 2-D Fourier Analysis is a popular and widely used technique for image analysis. The DPR tones 4102 can be easily seen across the vertical axis 4103 of the 2-D FFT. Brighter areas on the FFT image 4101 correspond to areas on the image with higher spectral content. A peak can be seen at the origin 4104, which corresponds to the DC component of the DPR signal), associated with the signal corresponding to the light flicker, changing over time and space (Ryan et al., Fig. 37; the transmitted signal changing over time and space is shown).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the teachings of Ryan et al., in the present combination. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because, although Garnick et al. teaches using pulse recognition technique, it does not describe adequately how the pulse recognition technique is performed. Ryan et al. provide these details.
Conclusion
JAI M. LEE
Examiner
Art Unit 2634
/JAI M LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2634