DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No.12184649. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 12 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 13 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pub.No.: US 2017/0054707 A1 to Leicher et al(hereafter referenced as Leicher in view of Pub.No.: US 2011/0239306 A1 to Avni et al(hereafter referenced as Avni)
Regarding claim 1, Leicher discloses “a service-level user identity credential certifier node and a legal user identity credential certifier node”( a user registers an identity with an identity provider that is tightly bound to the user's specific platform, e.g., the TPM [par.0006, the method comprising: obtaining an identity authentication assurance level corresponding to a service provided by a relying party; determining, according to the identity authentication assurance level, a user identity credential used by a user for the service” (user registers(i.e. requests) an identity with an identity provider that is tightly bound to the user's specific platform, e.g., the TPM [par.006] also see the identity provider may compare the reported system state to previously generated reference values, and allowing only the legitimate user using a trustworthy platform to login and claim an identity [par.0007]); ‘in accordance with a determination that the user identity credential is a legal identity credential, transmitting the user identity credential to the legal user identity credential certifier node via the relying party node, wherein the legal user identity credential certifier node is configured to perform user identity credential authentication for the user for the service” (trusted authentication and access from a user platform comprises logging onto a service provider using a predetermined identity, an authentication challenge is received from the identity provider and in response to the authentication challenge, transmitting a ticket based on a trusted platform module (TPM) on a condition that the user platform accepted the authentication challenge.[par.0051]); in accordance with a determination that the user identity credential is a service-level user identity credential, transmitting the user identity credential to the service-level user identity credential certifier node via the relying party node” (clients in a proven integrity verified State may be given access to the Web service [par.0047]).“wherein the service-level user identity credential certifier node is configured to perform user identity credential authentication for the user for the service” (Evolved-Universal Terrestrial Radio Access Network (E-UTRAN) 405 includes a WTRU 410 and several evolved Node-Bs, (eNBs) 420 [par.0055]); and performing the service with the relying party node in response to reception of a receipt indicating that the user identity credential authentication succeeds from one of the legal user identity credential certifier node and the service-level user identity credential certifier node.” ( a user registers an identity with an identity provider that is tightly bound to the user's specific platform, e.g., the TPM [par.0006]),
Leicher does not explicitly disclose “an identity authentication method, performed by a computer device acting as a personal security kernel node of an identity authentication system, the identity authentication system further comprising a relying party node.”
However, Avni in an analogous art discloses “an identity authentication method, performed by a computer device acting as a personal security kernel node of an identity authentication system, the identity authentication system further comprising a relying party node.”(computing device with kernel mode of operation and a user mode of operation monitors the kernel mode of the computing device to detect user-initiated events Avni[ par.0001]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Leicher’s trusted identity authentication system with Avni’s kernel mode for monitoring and detecting user initiated events in order to provide additional security. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combined because Leicher teaches a trusted identity system, Avni discloses a kernel detection and monitoring system, and both are from the same field of endeavor.
Regrading claim 2 in view of claim 1, the references combined disclose “wherein the identity authentication system further comprises a relying party qualification certifier node(a privacy certification authority (PCA) 130 Leicher[par.0016]), and the method further comprises: obtaining relying party qualification information(authentication and authorization protocol uses attestation identity keys (AIKS), generated by a trusted platform module (TPM) in a trusted computing environment, as identifying credentials Leicher [par.0005]); and transmitting the relying party qualification information to the relying party qualification certifier node(an authentication challenge is received from the identity provider and in response to the authentication challenge, transmitting a ticket based on a trusted platform module (TPM) on a condition that the user platform accepted the authentication challenge Leicher [par.0051]), wherein the relying party qualification certifier node performs relying party qualification authentication(authentication and authorization protocol uses attestation identity keys (AIKS), generated by a trusted platform module (TPM) in a trusted computing environment, as identifying credentials Leicher [par.0005]); and the obtaining an identity authentication assurance level corresponding to a service provided by a relying party comprises: obtaining, in response to receiving a reply indicating that the relying party qualification authentication succeeds from the relying party qualification certifier node, the identity authentication assurance level corresponding to the service provided by the relying party” (clients in a proven integrity verified State may be given access to the Web service Leicher [par.0047]).
Regarding claim 3 in view of claim 1, the references combined disclose “wherein the determining, according to the identity authentication assurance level, a user identity credential used by a user for the service comprises: presenting candidate user identity credentials that match the identity authentication assurance level and the service provided by the relying party” (the identity provider may compare the reported system state to previously generated reference values, and allowing only the legitimate user using a trustworthy platform to login and claim an identity Leicher[par.0007]); and receiving a candidate user identity credential selected by the user, and determining the candidate user identity credential selected by the user as the user identity credential used by the user for the service” (identity provider may compare the reported system state to previously generated reference values, and allowing only the legitimate user using a trustworthy platform to login and claim an identity Leicher[par.0007]).
Regarding claim 6 in view of claim 2, the references combined disclose “wherein the relying party qualification certifier node comprises a relying party identity authenticator node; the relying party qualification information comprises a relying party identity certificate and an identifier of a relying party identity authenticator node that issues the relying party identity certificate(Evolved-Universal Terrestrial Radio Access Network (E-UTRAN) 405 includes a WTRU 410 and several evolved Node-Bs, (eNBs) 420 Leicher [par.0055]) a user registers an identity with an identity provider that is tightly bound to the user's specific platform, e.g., the TPM Leicher [par.0006]); and the transmitting the relying party qualification information to the relying party qualification certifier node, so that the relying party qualification certifier node performs relying party qualification authentication comprises: transmitting the relying party identity certificate to the relying party identity authenticator node corresponding to the identifier of the relying party identity authenticator node, so that the relying party qualification certifier node performs relying party identity authentication” (an authentication challenge is received from the identity provider and in response to the authentication challenge, transmitting a ticket based on a trusted platform module (TPM) on a condition that the user platform accepted the authentication challenge Leicher [par.0051]).
Regarding claim 7 in view of claim 2, the references combined disclose “wherein the relying party qualification certifier node comprises a security credential authenticator node; the relying party qualification information comprises a relying party security credential (client/user platform 110 includes Server 150 that generates credentials, or tickets, for service access in which Server 150 authenticates the user Server 150 validates the client/user platform 110, and itself, toward the identity provider 120 using trusted computing methods of platform attestation Leicher [par.0020]) and an identifier of a security credential authenticator node that issues the relying party security credential; and
the transmitting the relying party qualification information to the relying party
qualification certifier node, SO that the relying party qualification certifier node performs
relying party qualification authentication comprises: transmitting the relying party security credential to the security credential authenticator node corresponding to the identifier of the security credential authenticator node, SO that the relying party qualification certifier node performs relying party security credential authentication” (an authentication challenge is received from the identity provider and in response to the authentication challenge, transmitting a ticket based on a trusted platform module (TPM) on a condition that the user platform accepted the authentication challenge Leicher[par.0051]).
Regarding claim 8 in view of claim 1, the references combined disclose “wherein the determining, according to the identity authentication assurance level, a user identity credential used by a user for the service comprises: searching a correspondence table of identity authentication assurance levels, services, and user identity credentials, to determine user identity credentials that match the identity authentication assurance level and the service provided by the relying party(an authentication challenge is received from the identity provider and in response to the authentication challenge, transmitting a ticket based on a trusted platform module (TPM) on a condition that the user platform accepted the authentication challenge [par.0051]), presenting the determined user identity credentials as candidate user identity credentials to the user of the service; and determining one of the candidate user identity credentials selected by the user of the service as the user identity credential used by the user for the service” (identity provider may compare the reported system state to previously generated reference values, and allowing only the legitimate user using a trustworthy platform to login and claim an identity Leicher[par.0007]).
Claims 9-11, and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over of Pub.No.: US 2011/0239306 A1 to Avni et al(hereafter referenced as Avni) in view of Pub.No.: US 2017/0054707 A1 to Leicher et al(hereafter referenced as Leicher.
Regarding claim 9, Avni discloses “A computer device acting as a personal security kernel node of an identity authentication system to perform an identity authentication method” (computing device with kernel mode of operation and a user mode of operation monitors the kernel mode of the computing device to detect user-initiated events Avni[ par.0001]).
Anvi does not explicitly disclose “the identity authentication system further comprising a relying party node and a user identity credential certifier node, the computer device comprising: a memory, storing computer-readable instructions; and a processor, configured to execute the computer-readable instructions stored in the memory, to perform a plurality of operations including: obtaining an identity authentication assurance level corresponding to a service provided by a relying party; determining, according to the identity authentication assurance level, a user identity credential used by a user for the service ; in accordance with a determination that the user identity credential is a legal identity credential, transmitting the user identity credential to the legal user identity credential certifier node via the relying party node, wherein the legal user identity credential certifier node is configured to perform user identity credential authentication for the user for the service; in accordance with a determination that the user identity credential is a service-level user identity credential, transmitting the user identity credential to the service-level user identity credential certifier node via the relying party node, wherein the service-level user identity credential certifier node is configured to perform user identity credential authentication for the user for the service.”
However, Leicher in an analogous art discloses “the identity authentication system further comprising a relying party node and a user identity credential certifier node” ( a user registers an identity with an identity provider that is tightly bound to the user's specific platform, e.g., the TPM [par.0006, the computer device comprising: a memory, storing computer-readable instructions; and a processor, configured to execute the computer-readable instructions stored in the memory, to perform a plurality of operations including: obtaining an identity authentication assurance level corresponding to a service provided by a relying party; determining, according to the identity authentication assurance level, a user identity credential used by a user for the service” (user registers(i.e. requests) an identity with an identity provider that is tightly bound to the user's specific platform, e.g., the TPM [par.006] also see the identity provider may compare the reported system state to previously generated reference values, and allowing only the legitimate user using a trustworthy platform to login and claim an identity [par.0007]); in accordance with a determination that the user identity credential is a legal identity credential, transmitting the user identity credential to the legal user identity credential certifier node via the relying party node, wherein the legal user identity credential certifier node is configured to perform user identity credential authentication for the user for the service; in accordance with a determination that the user identity credential is a service-level user identity credential” (clients in a proven integrity verified State may be given access to the Web service [par.0047]).“, transmitting the user identity credential to the service-level user identity credential certifier node via the relying party node, wherein the service-level user identity credential certifier node is configured to perform user identity credential authentication for the user for the service(Evolved-Universal Terrestrial Radio Access Network (E-UTRAN) 405 includes a WTRU 410 and several evolved Node-Bs, (eNBs) 420 [par.0055]); and performing the service with the relying party node in response to reception of a receipt indicating that the user identity credential authentication succeeds from one of the legal user identity credential certifier node and the service-level user identity credential certifier node” ( a user registers an identity with an identity provider that is tightly bound to the user's specific platform, e.g., the TPM [par.0006]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Avni’s kernel mode for monitoring and detecting user initiated events with Leicher’s trusted identity authentication system with in order to provide additional security. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combined because Leicher teaches a trusted identity system, Avni discloses a kernel detection and monitoring system, and both are from the same field of endeavor.
Regarding claim 10 in view of claim 9, the references combined disclose “wherein the identity authentication system further comprises a relying party qualification certifier node, and the method further comprises: obtaining relying party qualification information; and transmitting the relying party qualification information to the relying party qualification certifier node, wherein the relying party qualification certifier node performs relying party qualification authentication (authentication and authorization protocol uses attestation identity keys (AIKS), generated by a trusted platform module (TPM) in a trusted computing environment, as identifying credentials Leicher [par.0005]); ; and the obtaining an identity authentication assurance level corresponding to a service provided by a relying party comprises: obtaining, in response to receiving a reply indicating that the relying party qualification authentication succeeds from the relying party qualification certifier node(authentication and authorization protocol uses attestation identity keys (AIKS), generated by a trusted platform module (TPM) in a trusted computing environment, as identifying credentials Leicher [par.0005]);, the identity authentication assurance level corresponding to the service provided by the relying party” (clients in a proven integrity verified State may be given access to the Web service [par.0047]).
Regarding claim 11 in view of claim 9, the references combined disclose “wherein the determining, according to the identity authentication assurance level, a user identity credential used by a user for the service comprises: presenting candidate user identity credentials that match the identity authentication assurance level and the service provided by the relying party” (the identity provider may compare the reported system state to previously generated reference values, and allowing only the legitimate user using a trustworthy platform to login and claim an identity Leicher[par.0007]); “and receiving a candidate user identity credential selected by the user, and determining the candidate user identity credential selected by the user as the user identity credential used by the user for the service” ” (identity provider may compare the reported system state to previously generated reference values, and allowing only the legitimate user using a trustworthy platform to login and claim an identity Leicher[par.0007]).
Regarding claim 14 in view of claim 10, the references combined disclose “wherein the relying party qualification certifier node comprises a relying party identity authenticator node; the relying party qualification information comprises a relying party identity certificate and an identifier of a relying party identity authenticator node that issues the relying party identity certificate” (Evolved-Universal Terrestrial Radio Access Network (E-UTRAN) 405 includes a WTRU 410 and several evolved Node-Bs, (eNBs) 420 [par.0055]) a user registers an identity with an identity provider that is tightly bound to the user's specific platform, e.g., the TPM [par.0006]); and the transmitting the relying party qualification information to the relying party qualification certifier node, so that the relying party qualification certifier node performs relying party qualification authentication comprises: transmitting the relying party identity certificate to the relying party identity authenticator node corresponding to the identifier of the relying party identity authenticator node, so that the relying party qualification certifier node performs relying party identity authentication” (an authentication challenge is received from the identity provider and in response to the authentication challenge, transmitting a ticket based on a trusted platform module (TPM) on a condition that the user platform accepted the authentication challenge.[par.0051]).
Regarding claim 15 in view of claim 10, the references combined disclose “wherein the relying party qualification certifier node comprises a security credential authenticator node; the relying party qualification information comprises a relying party security credential and an identifier of a security credential authenticator node that issues the relying party security credential” (client/user platform 110 includes Server 150 that generates credentials, or tickets, for service access in which Server 150 authenticates the user Server 150 validates the client/user platform 110, and itself, toward the identity provider 120 using trusted computing methods of platform attestation Leicher [par.0020]); and the transmitting the relying party qualification information to the relying party qualification certifier node, SO that the relying party qualification certifier node performs relying party qualification authentication comprises: transmitting the relying party security credential to the security credential authenticator node corresponding to the identifier of the
security credential authenticator node, so that the relying party qualification certifier node performs relying party security credential authentication” (an authentication challenge is received from the identity provider and in response to the authentication challenge, transmitting a ticket based on a trusted platform module (TPM) on a condition that the user platform accepted the authentication challenge Leicher[par.0051]).
Regarding claim 16 in view of claim 9, the references combined disclose “computer device according to claim 9, wherein the determining, according to the
identity authentication assurance level, a user identity credential used by a user for the service comprises: searching a correspondence table of identity authentication assurance levels, services, and user identity credentials, to determine user identity credentials that match the identity authentication assurance level and the service provided by the relying party” (the identity provider may compare the reported system state to previously generated reference values, and allowing only the legitimate user using a trustworthy platform to login and claim an identity Leicher[par.0007]). “presenting the determined user identity credentials as candidate user identity credentials to the user of the service; and determining one of the candidate user identity credentials selected by the user of the service as the user identity credential used by the user for the service” (the identity provider may compare the reported system state to previously generated reference values, and allowing only the legitimate user using a trustworthy platform to login and claim an identity Leicher[par.0007]).
Regarding claim 17, Avni discloses “a non-transitory computer readable medium, storing computer-readable instructions, the computer-readable instructions, when executed by a processor of a computer device acting as a personal security kernel node of an identity authentication system that further comprises a relying party node and a user identity credential certifier node” (computing device with kernel mode of operation and a user mode of operation monitors the kernel mode of the computing device to detect user-initiated events Avni[ par.0001]).
Avni does not explicitly disclose “causing the computer device to perform a plurality of operations including: obtaining an identity authentication assurance level corresponding to a service provided by a relying party; determining, according to the identity authentication assurance level, a user identity credential used by a user for the service; in accordance with a determination that the user identity credential is a legal identity credential, transmitting the user identity credential to the legal user identity credential certifier node via the relying party node, wherein the legal user identity credential certifier node is configured to perform user identity credential authentication for the user for the service; in accordance with a determination that the user identity credential is a service-level user identity credential, transmitting the user identity credential to the service-level user identity credential certifier node via the relying party node, wherein the service-level user identity credential certifier node is configured to perform user identity credential authentication for the user for the service; and performing the service with the relying party node in response to reception of a receipt indicating that the user identity credential authentication succeeds from one of the legal user identity credential certifier node and the service-level user identity credential certifier node.
However, Leicher in an analogous art discloses “causing the computer device to perform a plurality of operations including: obtaining an identity authentication assurance level corresponding to a service provided by a relying party; determining, according to the identity authentication assurance level, a user identity credential used by a user for the service” (user registers(i.e. requests) an identity with an identity provider that is tightly bound to the user's specific platform, e.g., the TPM [par.006] also see the identity provider may compare the reported system state to previously generated reference values, and allowing only the legitimate user using a trustworthy platform to login and claim an identity [par.0007]); “in accordance with a determination that the user identity credential is a legal identity credential, transmitting the user identity credential to the legal user identity credential certifier node via the relying party node, wherein the legal user identity credential certifier node is configured to perform user identity credential authentication for the user for the service; in accordance with a determination that the user identity credential is a service-level user identity credential”(clients in a proven integrity verified State may be given access to the Web service [par.0047]), transmitting the user identity credential to the service-level user identity credential certifier node via the relying party node, wherein the service-level user identity credential certifier node is configured to perform user identity credential authentication for the user for the service(Evolved-Universal Terrestrial Radio Access Network (E-UTRAN) 405 includes a WTRU 410 and several evolved Node-Bs, (eNBs) 420 [par.0055]); and performing the service with the relying party node in response to reception of a receipt indicating that the user identity credential authentication succeeds from one of the legal user identity credential certifier node and the service-level user identity credential certifier node” ( a user registers an identity with an identity provider that is tightly bound to the user's specific platform, e.g., the TPM [par.0006]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Avni’s kernel mode for monitoring and detecting user initiated events with Leicher’s trusted identity authentication system with in order to provide additional security. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combined because Leicher teaches a trusted identity system, Avni discloses a kernel detection and monitoring system, and both are from the same field of endeavor.
Regarding claim 18 in view of claim 17, the references combined disclose “wherein the identity authentication system further comprises a relying party qualification certifier node, and the plurality of operations further comprise: obtaining relying party qualification information; and transmitting the relying party qualification information to the relying party qualification certifier node” (an authentication challenge is received from the identity provider and in response to the authentication challenge, transmitting a ticket based on a trusted platform module (TPM) on a condition that the user platform accepted the authentication challenge.[par.0051]), wherein the relying party qualification certifier node performs relying party qualification authentication; and the obtaining an identity authentication assurance level corresponding to a service provided by a relying party comprises: obtaining, in response to receiving a reply indicating that the relying party qualification authentication succeeds from the relying party qualification certifier node, the identity authentication assurance level corresponding to the service provided by the relying
Party” (clients in a proven integrity verified State may be given access to the Web service [par.0047]).
Regarding claim 19 in view of claim 17, the references combined disclose “wherein the determining, according to the identity authentication assurance level, a user identity credential used by a user for the service comprises: presenting candidate user identity credentials that match the identity authentication assurance level and the service provided by the relying party” (the identity provider may compare the reported system state to previously generated reference values, and allowing only the legitimate user using a trustworthy platform to login and claim an identity Leicher[par.0007]); “and receiving a candidate user identity credential selected by the user, and determining the candidate user identity credential selected by the user as the user identity credential used by the user for the service” (identity provider may compare the reported system state to previously generated reference values, and allowing only the legitimate user using a trustworthy platform to login and claim an identity Leicher[par.0007]).
Regarding claim 20 in view of claim 17, the references combined disclose “wherein the determining, according to the identity authentication assurance level, a user identity credential used by a user for the service comprises: searching a correspondence table of identity authentication assurance levels, services,
and user identity credentials, to determine user identity credentials that match the identity authentication assurance level and the service provided by the relying party” (user registers(i.e. requests) an identity with an identity provider that is tightly bound to the user's specific platform, e.g., the TPM [par.006] also see the identity provider may compare the reported system state to previously generated reference values, and allowing only the legitimate user using a trustworthy platform to login and claim an identity [par.0007]); “presenting the determined user identity credentials as candidate user identity credentials to the user of the service; and determining one of the candidate user identity credentials selected by the user of the service as the user identity credential used by the user for the service” (identity provider may compare the reported system state to previously generated reference values, and allowing only the legitimate user using a trustworthy platform to login and claim an identity Leicher[par.0007]).
Conclusion
/MICHAEL D ANDERSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2433
/JEFFREY C PWU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2433