DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
An amendment responsive to the final Office Action dated August 28, 2025 was submitted on November 26, 2025. Claims 1-4, 6-13 and 16-20 were amended. Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
The amendments to claim 11 have overcome the 35 USC 112(b) rejections of claims 11-20 (¶¶ 5-7 of the Office Action). These rejections have therefore been withdrawn.
The amendments to claims 1 and 11 have overcome the prior art rejections of claims 1-13 and 16-20 (¶¶ 9-20 of the Office Action). These rejections have therefore been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejection of claims 1-20 have been made as detailed below.
Claim Objections
Claims 7, 8, 17 and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities: in claim 7, line 3, “a first sealing protrusion located on” should be changed to “first sealing protrusions located on”; in claim 7, line 5, “a second sealing protrusion” should be changed to “second sealing protrusions”; in claim 8, line 3, “the second sealing protrusion are located” should be changed to “the second sealing protrusions are located”; in claim 17, line 3, “a first sealing protrusion located on” should be changed to “first sealing protrusions located on”; in claim 17, line 5, “a second sealing protrusion” should be changed to “second sealing protrusions”; in claim 18, line 3, “the second sealing protrusion are located” should be changed to “the second sealing protrusions are located”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0261807 A1, cited in IDS submitted November 19, 2024) in view of Kim et al. (International Patent Publication No. WO 2022/080834 A1, equivalent U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0030481 A1 provided and cited below).
Regarding claim 1, Lim discloses a sealing device (Abstract of Lim, sealing apparatus for battery case) comprising: a sealing block (FIG. 3, [0112] of Lim, apparatus includes a first block #110) including at least one sealing surface provided to press a lead film covering a lead metal of an electrode lead and a pouch enclosing the lead film (FIGS. 5, 8 of Lim, block has surfaces for sealing insulating films #52; FIG. 1, [0006] of Lim, battery being sealed includes a pouch), the lead film and the pouch overlapping with each other (FIG. 1 of Lim, electrode leads #11 #12 extend from electrodes in the pouch and therefore overlap the pouch), and the lead metal protruding in a width direction of the sealing surface (FIG. 1 of Lim, electrode leads #11 #12 protrude from the pouch along the width of the sealing surface).
Lim does not disclose a sealing protrusion provided on a portion of the sealing surface to protrude from the sealing surface with a predetermined thickness in a pressing direction of the sealing block to suppress or prevent the lead film from flowing into the width direction of the sealing surface, wherein the sealing protrusion has an elongate shape extending in a length direction of the sealing surface, and wherein the length direction of the sealing protrusion having the elongate shape is not along the width direction of the sealing surface. Kim, however, discloses an apparatus for sealing a battery case comprising a sealing tool having a body and a sealing part wherein the sealing part includes a pattern part having ribs and grooves (Abstract of Kim). Kim discloses an embodiment wherein the ribs and grooves are oriented along the length of the sealing part (i.e., perpendicular to the direction of tab protrusion) over the electrode lead (FIGS. 11-13, [0124] of Kim, pattern parts #2222 formed over protruding electrode lead #12). According to Kim, the pattern increases the surface area of the sealed area thereby increasing the sealing force of the sealed area ([0124] of Kim). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the sealing surface of the sealing apparatus of Lim with ribs and grooves are oriented along the length of the sealing part (i.e., perpendicular to the direction of tab protrusion). One of skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to increase the surface area of the sealed area thereby increasing the sealing force of the sealed area as taught by Kim ([0124] of Kim).
Regarding claim 2, Lim discloses that the sealing surface includes, a first sealing surface provided to seal a central portion of the lead film overlapping with the lead metal (FIG. 5 of Lim, step #201); and a second sealing surface located at either end portion of the first sealing surface and stepped from the first sealing surface and configured to seal an edge portion of the lead film (FIG. 5 of Lim, step #202).
Regarding claim 3, Kim suggests that the sealing protrusion is provided on the second sealing surface at one end portion of the first sealing surface. Moreover, Kim discloses providing the embossed features along the length of the pouch including over the electrode terminal and adjacent the electrode terminal (i.e., on the stepped regions of Lim) (FIG. 13 of Kim).
Regarding claim 4, Kim discloses the length direction of the sealing protrusion having the elongate shape is perpendicular to a width direction of the second sealing surface (FIG. 13 of Kim, protrusions extend along the length direction of the sealing parts).
Regarding claim 5, Kim discloses that the sealing protrusion is one of a plurality of sealing protrusions spaced apart in the width direction of the second sealing surface (FIG. 13 of Kim, protrusions spaced apart in the width direction of the sealing parts).
Regarding claim 6, Kim discloses that the sealing protrusion is located at an end of a width direction of the second sealing surface (FIG. 13 of Kim, protrusions formed near edges of sealing parts in width direction).
Regarding claim 7, Kim discloses that the sealing protrusion is one of a plurality of sealing protrusions that includes: a first sealing protrusion located on the second sealing surface at either end portion of the first sealing surface; and a second sealing protrusion provided to be spaced apart from the first sealing protrusions in the width direction of the second sealing surfaces (FIG. 13 of Kim, plurality of protrusions formed on sealing parts).
Regarding claim 8, Kim suggests that the first sealing protrusions are located at first end portions of the second sealing surfaces, and the second sealing protrusion are located at second end portions of the second sealing surfaces (FIG. 13 of Kim, protrusions extend along length and width directions of sealing parts and would therefore be formed at either end of stepped regions).
Regarding claim 9, Lim discloses that the sealing surface further includes third sealing surfaces that are positioned outside the second sealing surfaces on either end portion of the first sealing surface (FIG. 8 of Lim, sealing surfaces adjacent sealing planned part #150), wherein the plurality of sealing protrusions further include third sealing protrusions that are provided on the third sealing surfaces and extend from the second sealing protrusions ([0134] of Lim, protrusion parts may apply pressure to the sealing-planned part #150).
Regarding claim 10, Lim discloses that the sealing block is one of a pair of sealing blocks that are configured to be spaced apart from each other in the pressing direction (FIG. 3 of Lim, sealing blocks #110 #120 shown spaced apart in a direction perpendicular to the pressing surfaces; FIG. 2 of Lim, pressing occurs in a direction perpendicular to the pressing surfaces of the blocks).
Regarding claim 11, Lim discloses a sealing device (Abstract of Lim, sealing apparatus for battery case) comprising: a sealing block including at least one sealing surface configured to press a lead film protruding in a width direction of the sealing surface and covering a lead metal of an electrode lead (FIG. 3, [0112] of Lim, apparatus includes a first block #110; FIGS. 5, 8 of Lim, block has surfaces for sealing insulating films #52) and a pouch enclosing the lead film, the lead film and the pouch overlapping with each other (FIG. 1, [0006] of Lim, battery being sealed includes a pouch or case #14; FIG. 1, [0007], [0011] of Lim, insulating film #16 interposed between sealing planned parts #14a #14c which are external ends of battery case #14).
Lim does not disclose a sealing protrusion provided on a portion of the sealing surface to protrude from the sealing surface with a predetermined thickness in a pressing direction of the sealing block to suppress or prevent the lead film from flowing into the width direction of the sealing surface, wherein the sealing protrusion has an elongate shape extending in a length direction of the sealing surface , and wherein the length direction of the sealing protrusion having the elongate shape is not along the width direction of the sealing surface. Kim, however, discloses an apparatus for sealing a battery case comprising a sealing tool having a body and a sealing part wherein the sealing part includes a pattern part having ribs and grooves (Abstract of Kim). Kim discloses an embodiment wherein the ribs and grooves are oriented along the length of the sealing part (i.e., perpendicular to the direction of tab protrusion) over the electrode lead (FIGS. 11-13, [0124] of Kim, pattern parts #2222 formed over protruding electrode lead #12). According to Kim, the pattern increases the surface area of the sealed area thereby increasing the sealing force of the sealed area ([0124] of Kim). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the sealing surface of the sealing apparatus of Lim with ribs and grooves that are oriented along the length of the sealing part (i.e., perpendicular to the direction of tab protrusion). One of skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to increase the surface area of the sealed area thereby increasing the sealing force of the sealed area as taught by Kim ([0124] of Kim).
Regarding claim 12, Lim discloses that the sealing surface includes, a first sealing surface provided to seal a central portion of the lead film overlapping with the lead metal (FIG. 5 of Lim, step #201); and a second sealing surface located at either end portion of the first sealing surface and stepped from the first sealing surface and configured to seal an edge portion of the lead film (FIG. 5 of Lim, step #202).
Regarding claim 13, Kim suggests that the sealing protrusion is provided on the second sealing surface at one end portion of the first sealing surface. Moreover, Kim discloses providing the embossed features along the length of the pouch including over the electrode terminal and adjacent the electrode terminal (i.e., on the stepped regions of Lim) (FIG. 13 of Kim).
Regarding claim 14, Kim discloses that the length direction of the sealing protrusion having the elongate shape is perpendicular to a width direction of the second sealing surface (FIG. 13 of Kim, ribs and grooves oriented along the length of the sealing surface perpendicular to the tab protrusion direction).
Regarding claim 15, Kim discloses that the sealing protrusion is one of a plurality of sealing protrusions spaced apart in the width direction of the second sealing surface (FIGS. 11-13 of Kim, FIG. 13 of Kim, plurality of spaced ribs and grooves oriented along the length of the sealing surface perpendicular to the tab protrusion direction).
Regarding claim 16, Kim discloses that the sealing protrusion is located at an end of a width direction of the second sealing surface (FIG. 13 of Kim, protrusions formed near edges of sealing parts in width or x direction direction).
Regarding claim 17, Kim discloses that the sealing protrusion is one of a plurality of sealing protrusions that includes: a first sealing protrusion located on the second sealing surface at either end portion of the first sealing surface; and a second sealing protrusion provided to be spaced apart from the first sealing protrusions in the width direction of the second sealing surfaces (FIG. 13 of Kim, plurality of protrusions formed on sealing parts).
Regarding claim 18, Kim suggests that the first sealing protrusions are located at first end portions of the second sealing surfaces, and the second sealing protrusion are located at second end portions of the second sealing surfaces (FIG. 13 of Kim, protrusions extend along length and width directions of sealing parts and would therefore be formed at either end of stepped regions).
Regarding claim 19, Lim discloses that the sealing surface further includes third sealing surfaces that are positioned outside the second sealing surfaces on either end portion of the first sealing surface (FIG. 8 of Lim, sealing surfaces adjacent sealing planned part #150), wherein the plurality of sealing protrusions further includes a third sealing protrusion that is provided on the third sealing surface and extends from the second sealing protrusion ([0134] of Lim, protrusion parts may apply pressure to the sealing-planned part #150).
Regarding claim 20, Lim discloses that the sealing block is one of a pair of sealing blocks that are configured to be spaced apart from each other in the pressing direction (FIG. 3 of Lim, sealing blocks #110 #120 shown spaced apart in a direction perpendicular to the pressing surfaces; FIG. 2 of Lim, pressing occurs in a direction perpendicular to the pressing surfaces of the blocks).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered to the extent that they apply to the new grounds of rejection but they are not persuasive.
The applicant asserts that neither Lim nor Roh discloses elongate sealing protrusions extending in a length direction which length direction is not along the width direction of the sealing surface (i.e., i.e., in the direction of the protruding lead metal) (pp. 7-8 of the amendment). The Office Action, however, is relying upon the newly cited Kim reference to address this limitation. Moreover, Kim discloses an apparatus for sealing a battery case comprising a sealing tool having a body and a sealing part wherein the sealing part includes a pattern part having ribs and grooves oriented along the length of the sealing part (i.e., perpendicular to the direction of tab protrusion) over the electrode lead (FIGS. 11-13, [0124] of Kim, pattern parts #2222 formed over protruding electrode lead #12).
Conclusion
CHRISTOPHER W. RAIMUND
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1746
/CHRISTOPHER W RAIMUND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746