DETAILED ACTION
This responds to Applicant’s Arguments/Remarks filed 09/30/2025. Claims 1, 4-5, 8, 11-12, 15, 18-19 have been amended. Claims 1-20 are now pending in this Application.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claims 1, 8, and 15 appears to be directed to an abstract idea without reciting additional limitations that tie it to a practical application or without reciting additional limitations that amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. One can mentally generate graph with nodes for spaces in a building as well as assets that are contained within those spaces. Then one can also mentally associate and classify senor readings and generate relationships between spaces, assets and sensors. The additional limitations are receiving data. These additional limitations are mere data gathering which are insignificant extra solution activities under step 2A prong II and well understood routine and conventional under step 2B (For Berkhiemer See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) Versata.)
Step 2A, Prong One: Mathematical Concepts
Independent claims 1, 9, and 17 are directed to generate textual about physical location.
Obtaining, contextual data related to a given phucial location, wherein the contextual data related to the given physical location comprises reviews by respective users of client devices, of the given physical location, wherein the given physical location is a particular type and wherein the particular type is one of: business, a landmark, a tourist attraction or a park;
[0027] In some implementations, POI database 154 may be utilized to identify one or more locations that are associated with computing interactions of interactions database 152. For example, physical locations identified in POI database 154 may be associated with an address, longitude and latitude, and/or other coordinates that may be utilized to map interactions of interactions database 152 with physical locations. Also, for example, each of one or more physical locations identified in POI database 154 may be associated with one or more aliases for the physical location and/or aliases for properties of the location and those aliases may be utilized to map interactions of interactions database 152 with physical locations.
Automatically generating, based on at least the reviews of the given physical location, a textual description of the given physical location, wherein the textual description of the given physical location describes one or more of: characteristics of the given physical location or the given physical location in comparison to other physical location of the particular type.
[0043] Textual summary generation engine 128 may be configured to automatically generate one or more textual summaries about a physical location based on signals provided by various components, such as interaction measure engine 124 and/or aspect engine 126. For example, in some implementations, textual summary generation engine 128 may be configured to automatically generate a textual description of a physical location based on comparison of two or more interaction measures. This comparison may be the same comparison that yields one or more aspects that are assigned to the physical location, and in fact, in some implementations, textual summary generation engine 128 may additionally or alternatively automatically generate a textual description of a physical location based on one or more aspects assigned to the physical location. Textual summaries may fall into various categories, including textual summaries that describe a physical location in comparison to a “peer group” of similar locations (the peer group may include the location itself, too), and textual summaries that describe absolute characteristics of a physical location.
Performing a search, based upon the FBD rule, to identifying a particular collection of finding data elements, grouped according to the grouping attribute, that satisfy the criterion specified by the FBD rule; identifying the finding group to be displayed via a second user interface. As such this can be performed mentally.
Step 2A Prong Two and Step 2B:
Collecting information, analyzing and presenting results would constitute use of a generic computer used as tool to implement the abstract idea discussed above.
The step of receiving data associated with a building constitutes an insignificant extra-solution activity in the form of mere data gather, see MPEP 2106.05(g)
i. Performing clinical tests on individuals to obtain input for an equation, In re Grams, 888 F.2d 835, 839-40; 12 USPQ2d 1824, 1827-28 (Fed. Cir. 1989);
Looking at the limitations, this falls into “organizing human activity, information processing, and content recommendation”. This combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation.
Claims 2-8, 10-16, and 18-20 depend on claim 1, 9 and 17 and therefore includes all of the limitation of the independent claims. The dependent claims do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and do not add significantly more than the judicial exception, the claim as a whole merely performs organizing human activity, information processing, and content recommendation on a computer which does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
Accordingly claims 1-20 are found to be directed to a patent ineligible abstract idea.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 02/4/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5, 11-12 and 18-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-10, 13-17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Heng et al (U.S. Pub No. 2013/0297206 A1), and in view of Yang et al (U.S. Pub No. 2015/0161212 A1).
As per claim 1, Heng discloses a method implanted by one or more processors, the method comprising:
obtaining, from one or more client devices, contextual data related to a given physical location, wherein the given physical location is a particular type, wherein the contextual data related to the given physical location, by one or more respective users of the one or more client devices, of the given physical location, and wherein the particular type is one of: a business, a landmark, a tourist attraction, or a park (Par [0010, 0022, 0025-0026, 0039]);
automatically generating, based on at least the client with the given physical location, a textual description of the given physical location, wherein the textual description of the given physical location describes one or more of: characteristics of the given physical location, or the given physical location in comparison to other physical locations of the particular type (Par [0023, 0032]);
receiving, via an interface of a given additional client device of a given user, a search query that is associated with the given physical location; and in response to receiving the search query that is associated with the given physical location: causing the textual description of the given physical location to be rendered via the interface of the given additional client device (par [0032, 0034]).
Heng does not explicitly disclose physical location comprise reviews, based on at least the reviews.
However, Yang discloses physical location comprise reviews, based on at least the reviews (Par [0022]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the features as disclosed in Yang into the teachings of Heng in order to improve the search system.
As per claim 2, Heng discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the interface of the given additional client device is a software application interface of a software application, and wherein the software application comprises one of: a browser software application, or a mapping software application (Par [0022]).
As per claim 3, Heng discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the contextual data related to the given physical location further comprises: directional queries that seek directions to or from the given physical location or one or more additional physical locations (Par [0023-0026]).
As per claim 6, Heng discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: causing additional information associated with the given physical location to be rendered, along with the textual description of the given physical location, via the interface of the given additional client device (par [0032, 0034]).
As per claim 7, Heng discloses the method of claim 6, wherein the additional information is dependent on the particular type of the given physical location (Par [0022-0023]).
As per claim 8, Heng discloses a system, comprising:
at least one processor; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to be operable to (par [0070]):
obtain, from one or more client devices, contextual data related to a given physical location, wherein the contextual data related to the given physical location, by one or more respective users of the one or more client devices, of the given physical location, wherein the given physical location is a particular type, and wherein the particular type is one of: a business, a landmark, a tourist attraction, or a park (Par [0010, 0022]);
automatically generate, based on at least the given physical location, a textual description of the given physical location, wherein the textual description of the given physical location describes one or more of: characteristics of the given physical location, or the given physical location in comparison to other physical locations of the particular type (Par [0023, 0032]);
receive, via an interface of a given additional client device of a given user, a search query that is associated with the given physical location; and in response to receiving the search query that is associated with the given physical location: cause the textual description of the given physical location to be rendered via the interface of the given additional client device (Par [0032-0034]).
Heng does not explicitly disclose physical location comprise reviews, based on at least the reviews.
However, Yang discloses physical location comprise reviews, based on at least the reviews (Par [0022]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the features as disclosed in Yang into the teachings of Heng in order to improve the search system.
As per claim 2, Heng discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the interface of the given additional client device is a software application interface of a software application, and wherein the software application comprises one of: a browser software application, or a mapping software application (Par [0022]).
As per claim 9, Heng discloses the system of claim 8, wherein the interface of the given additional client device is a software application interface of a software application, and wherein the software application comprises one of: a browser software application, or a mapping software application (par [0022]).
As per claim 10, Heng discloses the system of claim 8, wherein the contextual data related to the given physical location further comprises: directional queries that seek directions to or from the given physical location or one or more additional physical locations (Par [0023-0026]).
As per claim 13, Heng discloses the system of claim 8, wherein the at least one processor is further operable to: cause additional information associated with the given physical location to be rendered, along with the textual description of the given physical location, via the interface of the given additional client device (par [0032, 0034]).
As per claim 14, Heng discloses the system of claim 13, wherein the additional information is dependent on the particular type of the given physical location (par [0022-0023]).
As per claim 15, Heng discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to execute the instructions to:
obtain, from one or more client devices, contextual data related to a given physical location, wherein the contextual data related to the given physical location, by one or more respective users of the one or more client devices, of the given physical location, and wherein the given physical location is a particular type, and wherein the particular type is one of: a business, a landmark, a tourist attraction, or a park (Par [0010, 0022]);
automatically generate, based on at least the given physical location, a textual description of the given physical location, wherein the textual description of the given physical location describes one or more of: characteristics of the given physical location, or the given physical location in comparison to other physical locations of the particular type (Par [0023, 0032]);
receive, via an interface of a given additional client device of a given user, a search query that is associated with the given physical location; and in response to receiving the search query that is associated with the given physical location: cause the textual description of the given physical location to be rendered via the interface of the given additional client device (Par [0032-0034]).
Heng does not explicitly disclose physical location comprise reviews, based on at least the reviews.
However, Yang discloses physical location comprise reviews, based on at least the reviews (Par [0022]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the features as disclosed in Yang into the teachings of Heng in order to improve the search system.
As per claim 2, Heng discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the interface of the given additional client device is a software application interface of a software application, and wherein the software application comprises one of: a browser software application, or a mapping software application (Par [0022]).
As per claim 16, Heng discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 15, wherein the interface of the given additional client device is a software application interface of a software application, and wherein the software application comprises one of: a browser software application, or a mapping software application (Par [0022]).
As per claim 17, Heng discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 15, wherein the contextual data related to the given physical location further comprises: directional queries that seek directions to or from the given physical location or one or more additional physical locations (par [0032, 0034]).
As per claim 20, Heng discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 15, wherein the instructions further cause the at least one processor to execute the instructions to: cause additional information associated with the given physical location to be rendered, along with the textual description of the given physical location, via the interface of the given additional client device, wherein the additional information is dependent on the particular type of the given physical location (par [0032, 0034]).
Conclusion
March 21, 2026
/THU N NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2154