Detailed Action
Status of Claims
This communication is in response to application No. 18/947,598 filed on November 14, 2024. Claims 1-15 are currently pending and have been examined. Claims 1-15 have been rejected as follows.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on November 14, 2025 is considered by the examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim priority foreign applications EP23210033.9, filed on November 14, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a non-statutory category.
101 Analysis – Step 1
Claim 14 is directed to a computer program, which is no one of the four statutory categories. According to the MPEP 2106.03, a claim whose BRI includes non-statutory elements, such as a computer program per se, includes subject matter that is not eligible for patenting and therefore should be rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Dependent claims 15 are not patent eligible under the same rationale as provided in the rejection of claim 14.
Therefore, claim(s) 14 and 15 are ineligible under 35 USC §101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
A patent a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set th in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious bee the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as unpatentable over Cirillo (US 20230057202 A1) in view of Schillinger (US 20140132203 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Cirillo teaches A method operating a propulsion system of a railway or heavy haul vehicle in a catenary mode, (see at least [0021, 0024]; "According to the present invention, a power management system is provided ( traction and recharging) a vehicle with electrical traction (hereinafter referred to as “electric vehicle”), in particular of the railway or streetcar type, even more particularly a rail vehicle such as a railway vehicle…The power supply system 10 comprises:…(a catenary 104,") Cirillo describes a method operating a propulsion system of a railway in a catenary mode.
the propulsion system comprising a first DC link electrically coupling the propulsion system to a catenary , (see at least [0024]; "The power supply system 10 comprises: [0025] a local main power supply line (hereinafter referred to as “DC bus”) 1, configured to transfer a DC electric power supply to the vehicle, in particular to power the traction drive 3 of the vehicle (electric motor 3b) and any loads or auxiliary services 5; [0026] a pantograph 2, configured to be coupled to an external power supply line (a catenary 104, as in FIG. 20, or even a third rail, grounded or laterally arranged)") Cirillo describes the propulsion system comprising a first DC link electrically coupling the propulsion system to a catenary.
a second DC link information electrically coupled to a traction battery system of the railway vehicle,(see at least [0043, 0044, 0045]; " The power supply system 20 includes, in addition to what is described with reference to the power supply system 10:… The rechargeable battery modules also allow the storage of the braking energy of the vehicle; [0045] a bidirectional DC/DC electronic converter 22, connected between the DC bus 1 and the battery pack 21,") Cirillo describes a secondary DC link electrically coupled to a traction battery system of the railway vehicle.
a first half-bridge electrically coupled to the first DC link (20), (see at least [0030]; "The power supply system 1 further comprises a plurality of switches K1-K4, in particular bi-directional switches, implemented example in the m of contactors, contactors, TRIACs, non-manually operated electro-mechanical devices designed withstanding currents in conditions of high power, or solid-state devices. Alternatively, the K1-K4 switches can be made with semiconductor technology such as, example, MOSFET or IGBT.") Cirillo describes a first half-bridge electrically coupled to the first DC link.
a second half-bridge electrically coupled to the second DC link information, and (see at least [0048]; "As illustrated in FIG. 2, a switch K5 (of a similar type to the switches K1-K4) is interposed between the electronic DC/DC converter 22 and the DC bus 1, to connect/disconnect the electronic converter DC/DC 22, and Therefore the battery pack 21, to/from DC bus 1.") Cirillo describes a second half-bridge electrically coupled to the second DC link.
the method comprising: receiving a first voltage signal which is representative of a first voltage provided by the catenary ; (see at least [0036, 0130]; "During the use of the vehicle, when the catenary 104 is present, the pantograph 2 is controlled so as to couple to the catenary 104 and receive from the latter an electric voltage to power the electric motor 3b (vehicle in traction)….The electrical power required traction is, in this context, provided by the catenary") Cirillo describes a first voltage provided by the catenary.
receiving a second voltage signal which is representative of a second voltage provided by the traction battery system ; (see at least [0043]; " [0045] a bidirectional DC/DC electronic converter 22, connected between the DC bus 1 and the battery pack 21, configured to raise the voltage supplied by the battery pack 21 to the voltage value of the DC bus 1 (alternatively, it is possible to use two unidirectional DC-DC converters, example one of the boost type and the other of the buck type or both of the buck-boost type).") Cirillo describes a second voltage provided by the traction battery system.
comparing the first voltage with the second voltage; (see at least [0050]; "In the specific case in which the DC bus 1 operates at a voltage greater than the voltage at which the battery pack 21 operates,") Cirillo describes a comparison of the voltages.
using the first half-bridge as a step-down converter to reduce the first voltage to the second voltage, when the first voltage is higher than the second voltage; and (see at least [0048, 0050]; "As illustrated in FIG. 2, a switch K5 (of a similar type to the switches K1-K4) is interposed between the electronic DC/DC converter 22 and the DC bus 1, to connect/disconnect the electronic converter DC/DC 22, and Therefore the battery pack 21, to/from DC bus 1… In the specific case in which the DC bus 1 operates at a voltage greater than the voltage at which the battery pack 21 operates, the DC-DC converter 22 is configured to operate as a voltage lowering converter, ( example “buck converter”) to supply electricity from the DC bus 1 to the battery pack 21, and as a voltage boost converter to supply electricity from the battery pack 21 to the DC bus 1.") Cirillo describes using the half bridge (switches K1-K4) to reduce the first voltage, the DC bus which comes from the catenary, to the second voltage.
using the second half-bridge as a step-up converter to increase the first voltage to the second voltage, when the first voltage is lower than the second voltage. (see at least [0048, 0051]; "As illustrated in FIG. 2, a switch K5 (of a similar type to the switches K1-K4) is interposed between the electronic DC/DC converter 22 and the DC bus 1, to connect/disconnect the electronic converter DC/DC 22, and Therefore the battery pack 21, to/from DC bus 1…It is evident that, in the event that the DC bus 1 operates at a voltage lower than the voltage at which the battery pack 21 operates, the DC-DC converter 22 operates inversely to that previously specified.") Cirillo describes using the half bridge to reduce the second voltage, the battery power, to the first voltage, the catenary.
Cirillo does not teach an inductance electrically coupling the first half-bridge to the second half-bridge ,
However, Schillinger teaches an inductance electrically coupling the first half-bridge to the second half-bridge , (see at least [0031]; "The converter device U also has a further half-bridge H2 with a pair of switches S3, S4 and a further half-bridge H3 with a pair of switches S5, S6. In each case one winding inductance of an electric motor M is interconnected at the connection points of the switches ") Schillinger describes an inductance that electrically couples half bridges, which could be used the first half-bridge and second half-bridge.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cirillo to incorporate teachings of Schillinger which teaches an inductance electrically coupling half bridges in order to link the circuits and enhance performance of the system.
Regarding claim 3, Cirillo and Schillinger, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, Cirillo discloses The method in accordance with claim 2, wherein: the first control signal is configured such that a first phase of the first half-bridge is switched between positive and negative potential in accordance with the first modulation. (see at least [0048]; "As illustrated in FIG. 2, a switch K5 (of a similar type to the switches K1-K4) is interposed between the electronic DC/DC converter 22 and the DC bus 1, to connect/disconnect the electronic converter DC/DC 22, and Therefore the battery pack 21, to/from DC bus 1)
Regarding claim 4, Cirillo and Schillinger, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, Cirillo discloses the method in accordance with claim 2, wherein:a second phase of the second half-bridge is kept on the positive potential, while the first half-bridge is used as the step-down converter. (see at least [0048, 0050]; "As illustrated in FIG. 2, a switch K5 (of a similar type to the switches K1-K4) is interposed between the electronic DC/DC converter 22 and the DC bus 1, to connect/disconnect the electronic converter DC/DC 22, and Therefore the battery pack 21, to/from DC bus 1… In the specific case in which the DC bus 1 operates at a voltage greater than the voltage at which the battery pack 21 operates, the DC-DC converter 22 is configured to operate as a voltage lowering converter, ( example “buck converter”) to supply electricity from the DC bus 1 to the battery pack 21, and as a voltage boost converter to supply electricity from the battery pack 21 to the DC bus 1.")
Regarding claim 5, Cirillo and Schillinger, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, Cirillo discloses The method in accordance with claim 1, wherein:the second half-bridge is used as the step-up converter by sending a second control signal to the second half-bridge;, and (see at least [0048, 0051]; "As illustrated in FIG. 2, a switch K5 (of a similar type to the switches K1-K4) is interposed between the electronic DC/DC converter 22 and the DC bus 1, to connect/disconnect the electronic converter DC/DC 22, and Therefore the battery pack 21, to/from DC bus 1…It is evident that, in the event that the DC bus 1 operates at a voltage lower than the voltage at which the battery pack 21 operates, the DC-DC converter 22 operates inversely to that previously specified.")
the second control signal comprises a second modulation representative of a second amplification factor corresponding to the increment of the first voltage to the second voltage. (see at least [0048, 0051]; "As illustrated in FIG. 2, a switch K5 (of a similar type to the switches K1-K4) is interposed between the electronic DC/DC converter 22 and the DC bus 1, to connect/disconnect the electronic converter DC/DC 22, and Therefore the battery pack 21, to/from DC bus 1…It is evident that, in the event that the DC bus 1 operates at a voltage lower than the voltage at which the battery pack 21 operates, the DC-DC converter 22 operates inversely to that previously specified.")
Regarding claim 6, Cirillo and Schillinger, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, Cirillo discloses The method in accordance with claim 5, wherein:the second control signal is configured such that a second phase of the second half-bridge is switched between positive and negative potential in accordance with the second modulation. (see at least [0048]; "As illustrated in FIG. 2, a switch K5 (of a similar type to the switches K1-K4) is interposed between the electronic DC/DC converter 22 and the DC bus 1, to connect/disconnect the electronic converter DC/DC 22, and Therefore the battery pack 21, to/from DC bus 1)
Regarding claim 7, Cirillo and Schillinger, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, Cirillo discloses The method in accordance with claim 5 or 6, wherein: a first phase of the first half-bridge is kept on the positive potential, while the second half-bridge is used as the step-up converter. (see at least [0048]; "As illustrated in FIG. 2, a switch K5 (of a similar type to the switches K1-K4) is interposed between the electronic DC/DC converter 22 and the DC bus 1, to connect/disconnect the electronic converter DC/DC 22, and Therefore the battery pack 21, to/from DC bus 1)
Regarding claim 8, Cirillo and Schillinger, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, Cirillo discloses The method in accordance with claim 1, further comprising: controlling the first half-bridge and/or the second half-bridge such that at least one traction battery of the traction battery system is charged by the energy provided by the catenary (see at least [0074]; "If the state of charge of the batteries 21 is below a threshold value, and the vehicle is powered by means of an external power line (catenary 104), the battery pack 21 can be recharged by drawing energy from the DC bus 1 which, in turn, receives power from the catenary 104, as illustrated in FIG. 6. In this case, in addition to the switches K2, K3, K4 and K6, switch K5 is also closed. The remaining switches are open.")
while using the first half-bridge as the step-down converter or when using the second half-bridge as the step-up converter. (see at least [0050]; " In the specific case in which the DC bus 1 operates at a voltage greater than the voltage at which the battery pack 21 operates, the DC-DC converter 22 is configured to operate as a voltage lowering converter, ( example “buck converter”) to supply electricity from the DC bus 1 to the battery pack 21, and as a voltage boost converter to supply electricity from the battery pack 21 to the DC bus 1.")
Regarding claim 9, Cirillo and Schillinger, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, Cirillo discloses The method in accordance with claim 1, wherein the first half-bridge is electrically coupled to and configured drive at least one first auxiliary consumer (29) of the railway vehicle, and (see at least [0060, 0064]; "The microcontroller 30 Therefore sends suitable control signals S.sub.K1-S.sub.K6 of the respective switches K1-K6 to:… connect/disconnect the auxiliary services 5 and the auxiliary services converter 4 to/from the DC bus 1 (signal S.sub.K4 acting on the switch K4);")
the second half-bridge is electrically coupled to and configured to drive a second auxiliary consumer (39) of the railway vehicle, the method further comprising: driving the first auxiliary consumer (29) by the first voltage from the catenary and (see at least 0072] ; " FIG. 5 illustrates the power supply system 20 when the vehicle is powered by means of an external power line (i.e., by catenary 104). In this case, the catenary 104 supplies both the electric motor 3b and the auxiliary systems 5.")
driving the second auxiliary consumer (39) by the reduced first voltage, while using the first half-bridge as the step-down converter; and (see at least [0024]; " to withdraw DC electric energy from such line and make it available to the vehicle, even when the latter is moving, by feeding the DC electric energy towards the DC bus 1; [0027] an auxiliary services converter 4, configured to convert the DC electric power from the DC bus 1 into AC or DC electric power at a lower voltage and usable by the loads or auxiliary services 5 of the vehicle; ")
driving the first auxiliary consumer (29) by the first voltage from the catenary and (see at least [0060, 0064]; "The microcontroller 30 Therefore sends suitable control signals S.sub.K1-S.sub.K6 of the respective switches K1-K6 to:… connect/disconnect the auxiliary services 5 and the auxiliary services converter 4 to/from the DC bus 1 (signal S.sub.K4 acting on the switch K4);")
driving the second auxiliary consumer (39) by the increased first voltage, (see at least [0036]; "During the use of the vehicle, when the catenary 104 is present, the pantograph 2 is controlled so as to couple to the catenary 104 and receive from the latter an electric voltage to power the electric motor 3b (vehicle in traction). In this operative condition, switches K2 and K3 are closed (conducting), so that the power supply can flow from the catenary 104 towards the DC bus 1 and, from the latter, towards the electric motor 3b through the three-phase inverter 3a; the switch K4 is also controlled in the closed state, so that the power supply can flow from the DC bus 1 towards the auxiliary services 5 that request it, through the auxiliary services converter 4.")
while using the first half-bridge as the step-up converter. (see at least [0050]; " In the specific case in which the DC bus 1 operates at a voltage greater than the voltage at which the battery pack 21 operates, the DC-DC converter 22 is configured to operate as a voltage lowering converter, ( example “buck converter”) to supply electricity from the DC bus 1 to the battery pack 21, and as a voltage boost converter to supply electricity from the battery pack 21 to the DC bus 1.")
Claim 10, 11, 12, 13, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as unpatentable over Cirillo (US 20230057202 A1) in view of Schillinger (US 20140132203 A1), in further view of Yang (CN 111347941 B).
Regarding claim 10, Cirillo discloses A controller configured to operate a propulsion system of a railway or heavy haul vehicle in a catenary mode, (see at least [0021, 0024]; "According to the present invention, a power management system is provided ( traction and recharging) a vehicle with electrical traction (hereinafter referred to as “electric vehicle”), in particular of the railway or streetcar type, even more particularly a rail vehicle such as a railway vehicle…The power supply system 10 comprises:…(a catenary 104,")
the propulsion system comprising a first DC link (20) electrically coupling the propulsion system to a catenary , (see at least [0024]; "The power supply system 10 comprises: [0025] a local main power supply line (hereinafter referred to as “DC bus”) 1, configured to transfer a DC electric power supply to the vehicle, in particular to power the traction drive 3 of the vehicle (electric motor 3b) and any loads or auxiliary services 5; [0026] a pantograph 2, configured to be coupled to an external power supply line (a catenary 104, as in FIG. 20, or even a third rail, grounded or laterally arranged)") Cirillo describes the propulsion system comprising a first DC link electrically coupling the propulsion system to a catenary.
a second DC link information electrically coupled to a traction battery system of the railway vehicle, (see at least [0043, 0044, 0045]; " The power supply system 20 includes, in addition to what is described with reference to the power supply system 10:… The rechargeable battery modules also allow the storage of the braking energy of the vehicle; [0045] a bidirectional DC/DC electronic converter 22, connected between the DC bus 1 and the battery pack 21,") Cirillo describes a secondary DC link electrically coupled to a traction battery system of the railway vehicle.
a first half-bridge electrically coupled to the first DC link (20), (see at least [0030]; "The power supply system 1 further comprises a plurality of switches K1-K4, in particular bi-directional switches, implemented example in the m of contactors, contactors, TRIACs, non-manually operated electro-mechanical devices designed withstanding currents in conditions of high power, or solid-state devices. Alternatively, the K1-K4 switches can be made with semiconductor technology such as, example, MOSFET or IGBT.") Cirillo describes a first half-bridge electrically coupled to the first DC link.
a second half-bridge electrically coupled to the second DC link information, and (see at least [0048]; "As illustrated in FIG. 2, a switch K5 (of a similar type to the switches K1-K4) is interposed between the electronic DC/DC converter 22 and the DC bus 1, to connect/disconnect the electronic converter DC/DC 22, and Therefore the battery pack 21, to/from DC bus 1.") Cirillo describes a second half-bridge electrically coupled to the second DC link.
the controller comprising: an interface configured to receive a first voltage signal, which is representative of a first voltage provided by the catenary , and (see at least [0036, 0130]; "During the use of the vehicle, when the catenary 104 is present, the pantograph 2 is controlled so as to couple to the catenary 104 and receive from the latter an electric voltage to power the electric motor 3b (vehicle in traction)….The electrical power required traction is, in this context, provided by the catenary") Cirillo describes a first voltage provided by the catenary.
a second voltage signal, which is representative of a second voltage provided by the traction battery system ; (see at least [0043]; " [0045] a bidirectional DC/DC electronic converter 22, connected between the DC bus 1 and the battery pack 21, configured to raise the voltage supplied by the battery pack 21 to the voltage value of the DC bus 1 (alternatively, it is possible to use two unidirectional DC-DC converters, example one of the boost type and the other of the buck type or both of the buck-boost type).") Cirillo describes a second voltage provided by the traction battery system
Cirillo does not explicitly disclose an inductance electrically coupling the first half-bridge to the second half-bridge, a memory configured to store information about the first voltage and about the second voltage; and a processor electrically coupled to the interface and the memory and configured to carry out the method in accordance with claim 1.
However, Schillinger discloses an inductance electrically coupling the first half-bridge to the second half-bridge , (see at least [0031]; "The converter device U also has a further half-bridge H2 with a pair of switches S3, S4 and a further half-bridge H3 with a pair of switches S5, S6. In each case one winding inductance of an electric motor M is interconnected at the connection points of the switches ") Schillinger describes an inductance that electrically couples half bridges, which could be used the first half-bridge and second half-bridge.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cirillo to incorporate teachings of Schillinger which teaches an inductance electrically coupling half bridges in order to link the circuits and enhance performance of the system.
Schillinger does not explicitly disclose a memory configured to store information about the first voltage and about the second voltage; and a processor electrically coupled to the interface and the memory and configured to carry out the method in accordance with claim 1.
However, Yang discloses a memory configured to store information about the first voltage and about the second voltage; and (see at least [175 ]; "In the above embodiments, multiple steps or methods can be implemented by software or firmware stored in a memory and executed by a suitable instruction execution system. ")
a processor electrically coupled to the interface and the memory and configured to carry out the method in accordance with claim 1. (see at least [175, 10]; "In the above embodiments, multiple steps or methods can be implemented by software or firmware stored in a memory and executed by a suitable instruction execution system… The controller includes a memory, a processor, and a computer program stored in the memory and running on the processor. When the processor executes the program, The control method of the auxiliary power supply system of a rail vehicle described in the embodiment of the first aspect.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cirillo to incorporate teachings of Yang which teaches a memory to store information and a processor to execute the data in the memory in order to be able to execute the desired functions of the propulsion system.
Regarding claim 11, Cirillo, Schillinger, and Yang in combination, disclose limitations of claim 11 as discussed above, furthermore, Cirillo discloses A propulsion system configured to propel a railway or heavy haul vehicle, the propulsion system comprising:
a first DC link to electrically couple the propulsion system to a catenary;, (see at least [0024]; "The power supply system 10 comprises: [0025] a local main power supply line (hereinafter referred to as “DC bus”) 1, configured to transfer a DC electric power supply to the vehicle, in particular to power the traction drive 3 of the vehicle (electric motor 3b) and any loads or auxiliary services 5; [0026] a pantograph 2, configured to be coupled to an external power supply line (a catenary 104, as in FIG. 20, or even a third rail, grounded or laterally arranged)") Cirillo describes the propulsion system comprising a first DC link electrically coupling the propulsion system to a catenary.
a second DC link information electrically coupled to a traction battery system of the railway vehicle;[[,]](see at least [0043, 0044, 0045]; " The power supply system 20 includes, in addition to what is described with reference to the power supply system 10:… The rechargeable battery modules also allow the storage of the braking energy of the vehicle; [0045] a bidirectional DC/DC electronic converter 22, connected between the DC bus 1 and the battery pack 21,") Cirillo describes a secondary DC link electrically coupled to a traction battery system of the railway vehicle.
a first half-bridge electrically coupled to the first DC link;(20), (see at least [0030]; "The power supply system 1 further comprises a plurality of switches K1-K4, in particular bi-directional switches, implemented example in the m of contactors, contactors, TRIACs, non-manually operated electro-mechanical devices designed withstanding currents in conditions of high power, or solid-state devices. Alternatively, the K1-K4 switches can be made with semiconductor technology such as, example, MOSFET or IGBT.") Cirillo describes a first half-bridge electrically coupled to the first DC link.
a second half-bridge electrically coupled to the second DC link;information,(see at least [0048]; "As illustrated in FIG. 2, a switch K5 (of a similar type to the switches K1-K4) is interposed between the electronic DC/DC converter 22 and the DC bus 1, to connect/disconnect the electronic converter DC/DC 22, and Therefore the battery pack 21, to/from DC bus 1.") Cirillo describes a second half-bridge electrically coupled to the second DC link.
Cirillo does not explicitly disclose an inductance electrically coupling the first half-bridge to the second half-bridge;, and the controller in accordance with claim 10.
However, Schillinger teaches an inductance electrically coupling the first half-bridge to the second half-bridge;, and (see at least [0031]; "The converter device U also has a further half-bridge H2 with a pair of switches S3, S4 and a further half-bridge H3 with a pair of switches S5, S6. In each case one winding inductance of an electric motor M is interconnected at the connection points of the switches ") Schillinger describes an inductance that electrically couples half bridges, which could be used the first half-bridge and second half-bridge
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cirillo to incorporate teachings of Schillinger which teaches an inductance electrically coupling half bridges in order to link the circuits and enhance performance of the system.
Schillinger does not explicitly disclose the controller in accordance with claim 10.
However, Yang discloses the controller in accordance with claim 10. (see at least [0053]; "Among them, the rail vehicle is provided with a controller to control the auxiliary power supply system of the rail vehicle.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cirillo to incorporate teachings of Yang which describes a controller in order to manage the flow of electricity to the necessary equipment at the desired rate.
Regarding claim 12, Cirillo, Schillinger, and Yang in combination, disclose limitations of claim 11 as discussed above, furthermore, Cirillo does not explicitly disclose The propulsion system in accordance with claim 11, wherein:the inductance is provided by an inductor electrically connecting the first DC link (20) to the second DC link.
However, Schillinger teaches The propulsion system in accordance with claim 11, wherein:the inductance is provided by an inductor electrically connecting the first DC link (20) to the second DC link. (see at least [0031]; "The converter device U also has a further half-bridge H2 with a pair of switches S3, S4 and a further half-bridge H3 with a pair of switches S5, S6. In each case one winding inductance of an electric motor M is interconnected at the connection points of the switches ") Schillinger describes an inductance that electrically couples half bridges, which could be used the first half-bridge and second half-bridge.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cirillo to incorporate teachings of Schillinger which teaches an inductance electrically coupling half bridges in order to link the circuits and enhance performance of the system.
Regarding claim 13, Cirillo, Schillinger, and Yang in combination, disclose limitations of claim 11 as discussed above, furthermore, Cirillo does not explicitly disclose, The propulsion system in accordance with claim 11, wherein:the inductance is provided by at least one electric motor (27, 37) of the railway vehicle
However, Schillinger teaches The propulsion system in accordance with claim 11, wherein:the inductance is provided by at least one electric motor (27, 37) of the railway vehicle. (see at least [0031]; "The converter device U also has a further half-bridge H2 with a pair of switches S3, S4 and a further half-bridge H3 with a pair of switches S5, S6. In each case one winding inductance of an electric motor M is interconnected at the connection points of the switches ")
Regarding claim 14, Cirillo, Schillinger, and Yang in combination, disclose limitations of claim 11 as discussed above, furthermore, Cirillo discloses operate a propulsion system of a railway or heavy haul vehicle in a catenary mode,(see at least [0021, 0024]; "According to the present invention, a power management system is provided ( traction and recharging) a vehicle with electrical traction (hereinafter referred to as “electric vehicle”), in particular of the railway or streetcar type, even more particularly a rail vehicle such as a railway vehicle…The power supply system 10 comprises:…(a catenary 104,")
Cirillo does not explicitly disclose A computer program configured to operate a propulsion system of a railway or heavy haul vehicle in a catenary mode, the computer program configured to carry out a method in accordance with claim 1 when executed by a processor of the controller according to claim 10, A computer program configured to the computer program configured to carry out a method in accordance with claim 1 to 9, when executed by a processor of the controller according to claim 10.
However, Yang teaches A computer program configured to operate a propulsion system of a railway or heavy haul vehicle in a catenary mode, the computer program configured to carry out a method in accordance with claim 1 when executed by a processor of the controller according to claim 10. (see at least [006, 0021] ; " An embodiment of the present application provides a method controlling a rail vehicle auxiliary power supply system…As shown in FIG. 6, the controller 15 in the embodiment of the present application includes a memory 152, a processor 154, and a computer program stored on the memory 152 and running on the processor 154. When the processor 154 executes the program, The control method of the auxiliary power supply system of a rail vehicle described in the embodiment of the first aspect.")
A computer program configured to (see at least [006, 0021] ; " An embodiment of the present application provides a method controlling a rail vehicle auxiliary power supply system…As shown in FIG. 6, the controller 15 in the embodiment of the present application includes a memory 152, a processor 154, and a computer program stored on the memory 152 and running on the processor 154. When the processor 154 executes the program, The control method of the auxiliary power supply system of a rail vehicle described in the embodiment of the first aspect.")
the computer program configured to carry out a method in accordance with claim 1 to 9, when executed by a processor of the controller according to claim 10. (see at least [112]; "112. As shown in FIG. 6, the controller 15 in the embodiment of the present application includes a memory 152, a processor 154, and a computer program stored on the memory 152 and running on the processor 154. When the processor 154 executes the program, The control method of the auxiliary power supply system of a rail vehicle described in the embodiment of the first aspect.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cirillo to incorporate teachings of Yang which teaches the computer program and processor in order to execute the desired functions of the propulsion system.
Regarding claim 15, Cirillo, Schillinger, and Yang in combination, disclose limitations of claim 11 as discussed above, furthermore, Cirillo does not explicitly disclose A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, on which the computer program in accordance with claim 14 is stored.
177. The storage medium mentioned above may be a read-only memory, a magnetic disk or an optical disk, etc. ")
However, Yang teaches A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, on which the computer program in accordance with claim 14 is stored.(see at least [176]; "The program can be stored in a computer-readable storage medium. When executed, it includes one of the steps of the method embodiment or a combination thereof.
177. The storage medium mentioned above may be a read-only memory, a magnetic disk or an optical disk, etc. ")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cirillo to incorporate teachings of Yang which teaches a storage medium in order to be able to have instructions for operation readily available.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as unpatentable over Cirillo (US 20230057202 A1) in view of Schillinger (US 20140132203 A1) in further view of Aiura (US 20110181264 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Cirillo, and Schillinger, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, Cirillo discloses The method in accordance with claim 1, wherein:the first half-bridge is used as the step-down converter by sending a first control signal to the first half-bridge;, and (see at least [0048, 0050]; "As illustrated in FIG. 2, a switch K5 (of a similar type to the switches K1-K4) is interposed between the electronic DC/DC converter 22 and the DC bus 1, to connect/disconnect the electronic converter DC/DC 22, and Therefore the battery pack 21, to/from DC bus 1… In the specific case in which the DC bus 1 operates at a voltage greater than the voltage at which the battery pack 21 operates, the DC-DC converter 22 is configured to operate as a voltage lowering converter, ( example “buck converter”) to supply electricity from the DC bus 1 to the battery pack 21, and as a voltage boost converter to supply electricity from the battery pack 21 to the DC bus 1.")
Cirillo does not explicitly disclose the first control signal comprises a first modulation representative of a first amplification factor corresponding to the reduction of the first voltage to the second voltage.
However, Aiura teaches disclose the first control signal comprises a first modulation representative of a first amplification factor corresponding to the reduction of the first voltage to the second voltage. (see at least [5, 6]; "FIG. 1 shows an example of a conventional buck converter 10. The buck converter 10 includes an error amplifier 12, a PWM controller 14, and an output transistor 16…In the buck converter 10 of FIG. 1, the duty ratio D1 of the pulse P1 may be expressed by the equation shown below. D1=VERR/VP1 Equation 1 Accordingly, the transfer function of the buck converter 10 may be expressed by equation 2 when using equation 1. VOUT=VIN.times.D1=VIN.times.VERR/VP1 Equation 2")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cirillo to incorporate teachings of Aiura which teaches a scaling factor of the voltage in order to increase the functionality of the system by improving the signal to noise ratio.
Conclusion
/HANA VICTORIA HALL/Examiner, Art Unit 3664
/RACHID BENDIDI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3664