Information Disclosure Statement
Receipt is acknowledged of the Information Disclosure Statement filed 3/17/2025, 3/30/2025, 6/19/2025, 2/3/2026. The Examiner has considered the reference cited therein to the extent that each is a proper citation. Please see the attached USPTO Form 1449.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claim is a “use” claim. “Use” claims that do not purport to claim a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter fail to comply with 35 U.S.C. 101. In re Moreton, 288 F.2d 708, 709, 129 USPQ 227, 228 (CCPA 1961). MPEP 2173.05(q).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 6, 7, 9, 10, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is a “use” claim. The claim is indefinite because it recites a use but failed to recite steps. See MPEP 2173.05(q).
Regarding claims 6, 7, and 8, the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claims 3, 6, 7, 9, 10, and 15, the claims contain improper Markush language. Claim language defined by a Markush grouping requires selection from a closed group "consisting of" the alternative members. MPEP 2117 (I). The instant claims only recite “independently selected from” or “selected from” and does not make clear if the language is open or closed. The claims are missing the closed language. Applicant is advised to amend the claims to “selected from a group consisting of”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xue et al (US2020/0199492).
Xue et al teach a cleaning composition comprising one or more biosurfactants and other surfactants [0001]. The composition is applied to offshore tanks and vessels in order to remove heavy oils [0059]. Xue teaches an exemplary composition containing 4% sophorolipid biosurfactants sodium lauryl ether sulfate (anionic surfactant) for use on a metal surface [0120].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xue et al (US2020/0199492) in view of Silva et al (Int. J. Mol. Sci. 2014, 15, 12523-12542).
The teachings of Xue et al are discussed above. Xue et al does not teach the lipopeptide and phospholipid biosurfactants.
Silva et al teaches the use of biosurfactants in oil tank cleaning (p.12532, 5.3). Silva teaches microbial biosurfactants is an alternative cleaning procedure to decrease the viscosity of sludge and oil deposits which allows the recovery of crude oil. Silva teaches lipopeptides and polymeric biosurfactant are used in oil recovery, oil removal and bioremediation of oil contaminated sites (Table 4). Silva teaches commonly used lipopeptides include surfactin and commonly used polymeric surfactants include liposan (Table 3).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art to make the claimed invention before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the following reasons. One of ordinary skill in the art would add the phospholipids and polymeric surfactants to the composition of Xue et al in order to enhance the cleaning properties and further remove the oil. Both references shows that all biosurfactant have use in cleaning, removing, recovering oil. Therefore, the invention as a whole would be obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art.
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xue et al (US2020/0199492) in view of Mahmoudkhani et al (US20230086243).
The teachings of Xue et al are discussed above. Xue et al further teaches the composition comprising chelating agents such as ethylenediaminedisuccinic acid and iminodisuccinic acid [0054]. Xue et al does not teach the composition comprising terpenes.
Mahmoudkhani et al teaches the use of a composition comprising biosurfactant, such as sophorolipids [0017, 0020]. The composition is used for oil recovery and cleaning storage tanks [0030]. Mahmoudkhani et al teaches when the composition contains solvents it has enhanced properties [0025]. Mahmoudkhani et al further teaches terpenes can be the solvent in the composition [0073].
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art to make the claimed invention before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the following reasons. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to add the terpene to the composition of Xue et al in order to enhance the properties of oil cleaning and recovery. Therefore, the invention as a whole would be obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art.
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Conclusion
/ANGELA C BROWN-PETTIGREW/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1761