DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 11/14/2024.
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/25/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 18 objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding Claim 18, it recites in part “the first data channel capability information is data channel capability information of the first terminal device”, however there is no previous recitation of “a first terminal device” that this limitation refers back to. This should be corrected to “the first data channel capability information is data channel capability information of a first terminal device”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to abstract idea without significantly more.
Regarding Claim 1-2, 14, and 18, they recite in part “ generating, by the core network device, a data channel application list based on the first data channel capability information and the second data channel capability information”, “wherein the data channel application list is generated by the core network device based on the first data channel capability information and second data channel capability information, and the second data channel capability information is data channel capability information of a second terminal device”, and “wherein the data channel application list is generated by the core network device based on first data channel capability information and the second data channel capability information, and the first data channel capability information is data channel capability information of the first terminal device.”
The limitations as drafted above is a process that under broadest reasonable interpretation covers performance of the limitations in the mind, but for recitation of generic computer component and extra solution activities. That is, other than the limitations of “A method for processing a data channel application list, comprising: obtaining, by a core network device, first data channel capability information of a first terminal device; obtaining, by the core network device, second data channel capability information of a second terminal device”, “A method for processing a data channel application list, comprising: sending, by a first terminal device, first data channel capability information of the first terminal device to a core network device; and receiving, by the first terminal device, a data channel application list sent by the core network device”, “A method for processing a data channel application list, comprising: sending, by a second terminal device, second data channel capability information to a core network device; and receiving, by the second terminal device, a data channel application list sent by the core network device” “wherein the method further comprises: sending, by the core network device, the data channel application list to at least one of the first terminal device or the second terminal device” the claim comprises limitations that can be performed in the human mind and/or using pen or paper. In this case, a person can reasonably analyze sets of capabilities and determine a list of common capabilities. If a claim under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitations in the mind but for the recitation of generic components and extra solution activities, then it falls within “mental processes” grouping of abstract idea. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular the claims on recite the additional features of “A method for processing a data channel application list, comprising: obtaining, by a core network device, first data channel capability information of a first terminal device; obtaining, by the core network device, second data channel capability information of a second terminal device”, “A method for processing a data channel application list, comprising: sending, by a first terminal device, first data channel capability information of the first terminal device to a core network device; and receiving, by the first terminal device, a data channel application list sent by the core network device”, “A method for processing a data channel application list, comprising: sending, by a second terminal device, second data channel capability information to a core network device; and receiving, by the second terminal device, a data channel application list sent by the core network device”, “wherein the method further comprises: sending, by the core network device, the data channel application list to at least one of the first terminal device or the second terminal device”. Regarding the devices, a Core network device, first terminal and second terminal are all generic network elements recited as performing routine activities. Regarding the steps of obtaining, sending and receiving, these are extra solution activities that either obtain or send the information used to perform the abstract idea, or receives the result of the abstract idea. Accordingly, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims are therefore directed to an abstract idea.
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed in respect to the integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the elements of “A method for processing a data channel application list, comprising: obtaining, by a core network device, first data channel capability information of a first terminal device; obtaining, by the core network device, second data channel capability information of a second terminal device”, “A method for processing a data channel application list, comprising: sending, by a first terminal device, first data channel capability information of the first terminal device to a core network device; and receiving, by the first terminal device, a data channel application list sent by the core network device”, “A method for processing a data channel application list, comprising: sending, by a second terminal device, second data channel capability information to a core network device; and receiving, by the second terminal device, a data channel application list sent by the core network device”, “wherein the method further comprises: sending, by the core network device, the data channel application list to at least one of the first terminal device or the second terminal device” amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the abstract idea to generic network elements, generic computer elements and extra solution activities. Mere instructions to apply the abstract idea to generic/well-known hardware/software components and extra solution activities cannot provide an inventive concept. The claims are not patent eligible.
Regarding Claims 3, 6, 15, and 19, they depend on claims 1, 14, and 18 and therefore recite the same abstract idea as set forth above.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular the claims on recite the additional features of “wherein the obtaining, by a core network device, first data channel capability information of a first terminal device comprises: receiving, by the core network device, the first data channel capability information sent by the first terminal device during establishment of a bootstrap data channel; or receiving, by the core network device, the first data channel capability information sent by the first terminal device via a bootstrap data channel; or sending, by the core network device, a first request message to the first terminal device, wherein the first request message is used to instruct the first terminal device to send the first data channel capability information; and receiving, by the core network device, the first data channel capability information sent by the first terminal device in response to the first request message; or obtaining, by the core network device, the first data channel capability information sent by the first terminal device during registration” in Claim 3, and similar versions of the claim in 6, 15 and 19. Under broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim requires only a single one of these options. In this case, the limitation “obtaining, by the core network device, the first data channel capability information sent by the first terminal device during registration” is well known in the art to provide capability information during registration. Accordingly, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims are therefore directed to an abstract idea.
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed in respect to the integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the elements of “wherein the obtaining, by a core network device, first data channel capability information of a first terminal device comprises: receiving, by the core network device, the first data channel capability information sent by the first terminal device during establishment of a bootstrap data channel; or receiving, by the core network device, the first data channel capability information sent by the first terminal device via a bootstrap data channel; or sending, by the core network device, a first request message to the first terminal device, wherein the first request message is used to instruct the first terminal device to send the first data channel capability information; and receiving, by the core network device, the first data channel capability information sent by the first terminal device in response to the first request message; or obtaining, by the core network device, the first data channel capability information sent by the first terminal device during registration”, amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the abstract idea to a well-known extra solution activity. Mere instructions to apply the abstract idea to generic/well-known hardware/software components and extra solution activities cannot provide an inventive concept. The claims are not patent eligible.
Regarding Claims claim 4, 7, 16, and 20, they depend on claims 3, 6, 15, and 19, however these claims further limit an option not selected in the analysis of claim 3, 6, 15 and 19 as set forth above. Therefore Claims 4, 7, 16, and 20 are rejected under the same rationale as claims 3, 6, 15, and 19 as set forth above.
Regarding Claims claim 5, 8, and 17, they depend on claims 3, 6, 15, however these claims further limit an option not selected in the analysis of claim 3, 6, 15 as set forth above. Therefore Claims 5, 8, and 17 are rejected under the same rationale as claims 3, 6, 15, as set forth above.
Regarding Claims 9-13, they depend on claim 1 and therefore recite the same abstract idea as set forth above. The Claims further recite in part “wherein the second data channel capability information comprises at least one data channel capability in an intersection of a data channel capability supported by the second terminal device and a data channel capability supported by the first terminal device and indicated by the first data channel capability information”, “wherein the data channel application list comprises information of data channel applications supported by both the first terminal device and the second terminal device; or the data channel application list comprises information of applications supported by the second terminal device and meeting a first preset condition, wherein the first preset condition comprises that the core network device is capable of processing data of data channel applications into data recognizable by the first terminal device; or the data channel application list comprises information of applications supported by the first terminal device and meeting a second preset condition, wherein the second preset condition comprises that the core network device is capable of processing data of data channel applications into data recognizable by the second terminal device” “wherein the first indication information is used to indicate a data channel application supported by the first terminal device but not supported by the second terminal device, or the first indication information is used to indicate a data channel application supported by the first terminal device and supported by the second terminal device; or wherein the second indication information is used to indicate a data channel application supported by the second terminal device but not supported by the first terminal device, or the second indication information is used to indicate a data channel application supported by the first terminal device and supported by the second terminal device.”
The limitations as drafted above is a process that under broadest reasonable interpretation covers performance of the limitations in the mind, but for recitation of generic computer component and extra solution activities. That is, other than the limitations of “sending, by the core network device, the first data channel capability information to the second terminal device;”, “wherein the sending, by the core network device, the first data channel capability information to the second terminal device comprises: sending, by the core network device, a sixth request message to an application server, wherein the sixth request message is used to instruct the application server to send the first data channel capability information to the second terminal device.”, “wherein the sending, by the core network device, the data channel application list to at least one of the first terminal device or the second terminal device comprises: in a case that the first terminal device supports a data channel function and the second terminal device supports the data channel function, sending, by the core network device, the data channel application list to the first terminal device and the second terminal device; or in a case that the first terminal device does not support a data channel function and the second terminal device supports the data channel function, sending, by the core network device, the data channel application list to the second terminal device; or in a case that the first terminal device supports a data channel function and the second terminal device does not support the data channel function, sending, by the core network device, the data channel application list to the first terminal device”, “sending, by the core network device, first indication information to the first terminal device,… information is used to indicate a data channel application supported by the first terminal device and supported by the second terminal device; or sending, by the core network device, second indication information to the second terminal device”, the claims comprise limitations that can be performed in the human mind and/or using pen or paper. In this case, a person can reasonably analyze sets of capabilities of the device and of terminals and determine a list of common capabilities. If a claim under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitations in the mind but for the recitation of generic components and extra solution activities, then it falls within “mental processes” grouping of abstract idea. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular the claims on recite the additional features of “sending, by the core network device, the first data channel capability information to the second terminal device;”, “wherein the sending, by the core network device, the first data channel capability information to the second terminal device comprises: sending, by the core network device, a sixth request message to an application server, wherein the sixth request message is used to instruct the application server to send the first data channel capability information to the second terminal device.”, “wherein the sending, by the core network device, the data channel application list to at least one of the first terminal device or the second terminal device comprises: in a case that the first terminal device supports a data channel function and the second terminal device supports the data channel function, sending, by the core network device, the data channel application list to the first terminal device and the second terminal device; or in a case that the first terminal device does not support a data channel function and the second terminal device supports the data channel function, sending, by the core network device, the data channel application list to the second terminal device; or in a case that the first terminal device supports a data channel function and the second terminal device does not support the data channel function, sending, by the core network device, the data channel application list to the first terminal device”, “sending, by the core network device, first indication information to the first terminal device,… information is used to indicate a data channel application supported by the first terminal device and supported by the second terminal device; or sending, by the core network device, second indication information to the second terminal device”. Regarding the sending steps these are extra solution activities that merely send the results of the abstract idea, comprising the particular set of information generating via the abstract idea, i.e. whether or not a device supports an application. Regarding the hardware elements, as discussed above in view of the independent claims, the terminals and core network device are all generic network elements recited as performing routing activities. Accordingly, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims are therefore directed to an abstract idea.
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed in respect to the integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the elements of “sending, by the core network device, the first data channel capability information to the second terminal device;”, “wherein the sending, by the core network device, the first data channel capability information to the second terminal device comprises: sending, by the core network device, a sixth request message to an application server, wherein the sixth request message is used to instruct the application server to send the first data channel capability information to the second terminal device.”, “wherein the sending, by the core network device, the data channel application list to at least one of the first terminal device or the second terminal device comprises: in a case that the first terminal device supports a data channel function and the second terminal device supports the data channel function, sending, by the core network device, the data channel application list to the first terminal device and the second terminal device; or in a case that the first terminal device does not support a data channel function and the second terminal device supports the data channel function, sending, by the core network device, the data channel application list to the second terminal device; or in a case that the first terminal device supports a data channel function and the second terminal device does not support the data channel function, sending, by the core network device, the data channel application list to the first terminal device”, “sending, by the core network device, first indication information to the first terminal device,… information is used to indicate a data channel application supported by the first terminal device and supported by the second terminal device; or sending, by the core network device, second indication information to the second terminal device”, amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the abstract idea to a well-known extra solution activity. Mere instructions to apply the abstract idea to generic/well-known hardware/software components and extra solution activities cannot provide an inventive concept. The claims are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9, 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Song et al. (hereinafter Song, US 9,313,324 B2).
Regarding Claim 1, Song discloses A method for processing a data channel application list (Song: col. 2 lines 1-65 “constructing an additional service menu in accordance with the acquired group list information, and providing the constructed additional service menu through a ring-back; and the call-originating terminal for receiving information of the additional service menu constructed by the first server, and constructing an additional service menu usable by the call-terminating terminal based on the information.” method for generating an application list, i.e. service menu and/or additional service menu), comprising: obtaining, by a core network device, first data channel capability information of a first terminal device (Song: col. 9 lines 22-34 “In step 310, the PIP server acquires service capability information of the call-originating and call-terminating terminal users. Then, in step 312, the PIP server determines if there exists a common additional service usable by both the call-originating terminal and the call-terminating terminal.” The data channel capability information, i.e. service capability information, is obtained by the PIP server for both the calling and called terminals, Fig. 3 310);
obtaining, by the core network device, second data channel capability information of a second terminal device (Song: col. 9 lines 22-34 “In step 310, the PIP server acquires service capability information of the call-originating and call-terminating terminal users. Then, in step 312, the PIP server determines if there exists a common additional service usable by both the call-originating terminal and the call-terminating terminal.” The data channel capability information, i.e. service capability information, is obtained by the PIP server for both the calling and called terminals Fig. 3 310); and
generating, by the core network device, a data channel application list based on the first data channel capability information and the second data channel capability information (Song: Fig. 3, Col. 9 lines 22-65 “As a result of the determination, the PIP server … proceeds to step 316 when at least one common additional service exists. In step 312, the PIP server may use the group list information of the call-originating and call-terminating terminals in determining if there exists a common additional service usable by both the call-originating terminal and the call-terminating terminal…. In step 316, the PIP server determines a common additional service usable in both the call-originating terminal and the call-terminating terminal as a commonly usable item to be included in an additional service menu that will be constructed in the call-originating terminal, and determines an additional service usably only by the call-originating terminal from among non-common additional services as an item for use by only the call-originating terminal user to be selectively included in the additional service menu. … Then, in step 318, the PIP server determines if the PIP server constructs the additional service menu by itself and provides a ring-back to the call-originating terminal … That is, the PIP server may either construct the additional service menu by itself and provide a ring-back to the call-originating terminal as in step 322” Fig. 3 318, the pip server generates a menu with both common services usable by both parties, in addition to services only available to the calling party).
Regarding Claim 2, Song discloses claim 1 as set forth above.
Song further discloses wherein the method further comprises: sending, by the core network device, the data channel application list to at least one of the first terminal device or the second terminal device (Song: Fig. 3, Col. 9 lines 22-65 “Then, in step 318, the PIP server determines if the PIP server constructs the additional service menu by itself and provides a ring-back to the call-originating terminal … That is, the PIP server may either construct the additional service menu by itself and provide a ring-back to the call-originating terminal as in step 322” Fig. 3 318, the pip server generates a menu with both common services usable by both parties, in addition to services only available to the calling party, and provides the menu to the caller device, Fig. 3 322, and Fig. 7 725 col. 13 line 20-30.).
Regarding Claim 3, Song discloses claim 1 as set forth above.
Song further discloses wherein the obtaining, by a core network device, first data channel capability information of a first terminal device comprises: receiving, by the core network device, the first data channel capability information sent by the first terminal device during establishment of a bootstrap data channel;
or receiving, by the core network device, the first data channel capability information sent by the first terminal device via a bootstrap data channel;
or sending, by the core network device, a first request message to the first terminal device, wherein the first request message is used to instruct the first terminal device to send the first data channel capability information; and receiving, by the core network device, the first data channel capability information sent by the first terminal device in response to the first request message;
or obtaining, by the core network device, the first data channel capability information sent by the first terminal device during registration (Song: Fig. 7 705 col. 12 lines 28-37 “Further, the call-originating terminal 700 and the call-terminating terminal 750 register their service capability information in an SCS 740, respectively in Steps 705 and 707.” The capability of each device is sent during registration by each terminal device, and eventually obtained by the PIP server.).
Regarding Claim 4, Song discloses claim 3 as set forth above.
Regarding the limitations of “wherein the receiving, by the core network device, the first data channel capability information sent by the first terminal device during establishment of a bootstrap data channel comprises: receiving, by the core network device, a second request message; or receiving, by the core network device, the first data channel capability information sent by an application server in response to a second request message; wherein the second request message is a request message for establishing the bootstrap data channel during establishment of the bootstrap data channel, and the second request message carries the first data channel capability information; wherein an allow header of the second request message carries the first data channel capability information; or a supported header of the second request message carries the first data channel capability information; or the second request message comprises a first header, and the first header carries the first data channel capability information; or the second request message comprises first data channel attribute information, and the first data channel attribute information carries the first data channel capability information.”, Examiner notes that this limitation modifies the limitation of “wherein the receiving, by the core network device, the first data channel capability information sent by the first terminal device during establishment of a bootstrap data channel comprises..” in Claim 3, however “obtaining, by the core network device, the first data channel capability information sent by the first terminal device during registration” option was selected in the rejection of claim 3, therefore this limitation further modifies an option of the Markush group that was not selected and the claim remains rejected under the same rationale as claim 3.
Regarding Claim 5, Song discloses claim 3 as set forth above.
Regarding the limitations of “wherein the sending, by the core network device, a first request message to the first terminal device comprises: sending, by the core network device, a third request message to an application server, wherein the third request message is used to instruct the application server to send the first request message to the first terminal device; and the receiving, by the core network device, the first data channel capability information sent by the first terminal device in response to the first request message comprises: receiving, by the core network device, the first data channel capability information sent by the first terminal device through the application server; wherein the first request message comprises a re-invite request message or an option message.”, Examiner notes that this limitation modifies the limitations of “the sending, by the core network device, a first request message to the first terminal device” and “the receiving, by the core network device, the first data channel capability information sent by the first terminal device in response to the first request message” of Claim 3. However, the “obtaining, by the core network device, the first data channel capability information sent by the first terminal device during registration.” Option was selected in the rejection of claim 3, therefore this limitation further modifies an option of the Markush group that was not selected and the claim remains rejected under the same rationale as claim 3.
Regarding Claim 6, Song discloses claim 1 as set forth above.
Song further discloses wherein the obtaining, by the core network device, second data channel capability information of a second terminal device comprises: receiving, by the core network device, the second data channel capability information sent by the second terminal device during establishment of a bootstrap data channel; or
receiving, by the core network device, the second data channel capability information sent by the second terminal device via a bootstrap data channel; or
sending, by the core network device, a fourth request message to the second terminal device, wherein the fourth request message is used to instruct the second terminal device to send the second data channel capability information; and receiving, by the core network device, the second data channel capability information sent by the second terminal device in response to the fourth request message; or
obtaining, by the core network device, the second data channel capability information sent by the second terminal device during registration (Song: Fig. 7 705 col. 12 lines 28-37 “Further, the call-originating terminal 700 and the call-terminating terminal 750 register their service capability information in an SCS 740, respectively in Steps 705 and 707.” The capability of each device is sent during registration by each terminal device, and eventually obtained by the PIP server.).
Regarding Claim 7, Song discloses claim 6 as set forth above.
Regarding the limitations of “wherein the receiving, by the core network device, the second data channel capability information sent by the second terminal device during establishment of a bootstrap data channel comprises: receiving, by the core network device, a target response message; or receiving, by the core network device, the second data channel capability information sent by an application server in response to a target response message; wherein the target response message is a response message for establishing the bootstrap data channel during establishment of the bootstrap data channel, and the target response message carries the second data channel capability information; wherein an allow header of the target response message carries the second data channel capability information; or a supported header of the target response message carries the second data channel capability information; or the target response message comprises a second header, and the second header carries the second data channel capability information; or the target response message comprises second data channel attribute information, and the second data channel attribute information carries the second data channel capability information”, Examiner notes that this limitation modifies the limitation of “wherein the receiving, by the core network device, the second data channel capability information sent by the second terminal device during establishment of a bootstrap data channel” in Claim 6, however “obtaining, by the core network device, the second data channel capability information sent by the second terminal device during registration” option was selected in the rejection of claim 6, therefore this limitation further modifies an option of the Markush group that was not selected and the claim remains rejected under the same rationale as claim 6.
Regarding Claim 8, Song discloses claim 6 as set forth above.
Regarding the limitations of “wherein the sending, by the core network device, a fourth request message to the second terminal device comprises: sending, by the core network device, a fifth request message to an application server, wherein the fifth request message is used to instruct the application server to send the fourth request message to the second terminal device; and the receiving, by the core network device, the second data channel capability information sent by the second terminal device in response to the fourth request message comprises: receiving, by the core network device, the second data channel capability information sent by the second terminal device through the application server; wherein the fourth request message comprises a re-invite request message or an option message”, Examiner notes that this limitation modifies the limitations of “the sending, by the core network device, a fourth request message to the second terminal device” and “the receiving, by the core network device, the second data channel capability information sent by the second terminal device in response to the fourth request message” of Claim 6. However, the “obtaining, by the core network device, the second data channel capability information sent by the second terminal device during registration” Option was selected in the rejection of claim 6, therefore this limitation further modifies an option of the Markush group that was not selected and the claim remains rejected under the same rationale as claim 6.
Regarding Claim 9, Song discloses claim 1 as set forth above.
Song further discloses wherein the method further comprises: sending, by the core network device, the first data channel capability information to the second terminal device (Song: col. 10 line 61-col.11 line 4 “Then, in step 418, the PIP server determines if the PIP server constructs the additional service menu by itself and provides a bell to the call-terminating terminal or provides only the information for construction of the additional service menu to the call-terminating terminal. That is, the PIP server may either construct the additional service menu by itself and provide a bell to the call-terminating terminal as in step 422 or may transmit the information for construction of the additional service menu to the call-terminating terminal as in step 420 so that the call-terminating terminal can construct the additional service menu.” The service menu that comprises common and un common services are provided to the terminating terminal.);
wherein the second data channel capability information comprises at least one data channel capability in an intersection of a data channel capability supported by the second terminal device and a data channel capability supported by the first terminal device and indicated by the first data channel capability information (Song: col. 10 lines 28-60 “In step 410, the PIP server acquires service capability information of the call-originating and call-terminating terminal users. Then, in step 412, the PIP server determines if there exists a common additional service usable by both the call-originating terminal and the call-terminating terminal… In step 416, the PIP server determines a common additional service usable in both the call-originating terminal and the call-terminating terminal as a commonly usable item to be included in an additional service menu that will be constructed in the call-terminating terminal, and determines an additional service usably only by the call-terminating terminal from among non-common additional services as an item for use by only the call-terminating terminal user to be selectively included in the additional service menu.” The service capabilities of the two devices are compared and both common service capabilities, therefore the first channel capabilities and second channel capabilities are intersected by the common capabilities).
Regarding Claim 11, Song discloses claim 1 as set forth above.
Song further discloses wherein the data channel application list comprises information of data channel applications supported by both the first terminal device and the second terminal device (Song: Fig. 3, Col. 9 lines 22-65 “As a result of the determination, the PIP server … proceeds to step 316 when at least one common additional service exists. In step 312, the PIP server may use the group list information of the call-originating and call-terminating terminals in determining if there exists a common additional service usable by both the call-originating terminal and the call-terminating terminal…. In step 316, the PIP server determines a common additional service usable in both the call-originating terminal and the call-terminating terminal as a commonly usable item to be included in an additional service menu that will be constructed in the call-originating terminal, and determines an additional service usably only by the call-originating terminal from among non-common additional services as an item for use by only the call-originating terminal user to be selectively included in the additional service menu. … Then, in step 318, the PIP server determines if the PIP server constructs the additional service menu by itself and provides a ring-back to the call-originating terminal … That is, the PIP server may either construct the additional service menu by itself and provide a ring-back to the call-originating terminal as in step 322” Fig. 3 318, the pip server generates a menu with both common services usable by both parties, in addition to services only available to the calling party);
or the data channel application list comprises information of applications supported by the second terminal device and meeting a first preset condition, wherein the first preset condition comprises that the core network device is capable of processing data of data channel applications into data recognizable by the first terminal device;
or the data channel application list comprises information of applications supported by the first terminal device and meeting a second preset condition, wherein the second preset condition comprises that the core network device is capable of processing data of data channel applications into data recognizable by the second terminal device.
Regarding Claim 12 Song discloses claim 2 as set forth above.
Song further discloses wherein the sending, by the core network device, the data channel application list to at least one of the first terminal device or the second terminal device comprises:
in a case that the first terminal device supports a data channel function and the second terminal device supports the data channel function, sending, by the core network device, the data channel application list to the first terminal device and the second terminal device; or
in a case that the first terminal device does not support a data channel function and the second terminal device supports the data channel function, sending, by the core network device, the data channel application list to the second terminal device (Song: col. 10 lines 28- col.11 line 4 “In step 410, the PIP server acquires service capability information of the call-originating and call-terminating terminal users. Then, in step 412, the PIP server determines if there exists a common additional service usable by both the call-originating terminal and the call-terminating terminal… In step 416, the PIP server determines a common additional service usable in both the call-originating terminal and the call-terminating terminal as a commonly usable item to be included in an additional service menu that will be constructed in the call-terminating terminal, and determines an additional service usably only by the call-terminating terminal from among non-common additional services as an item for use by only the call-terminating terminal user to be selectively included in the additional service menu….That is, the PIP server may either construct the additional service menu by itself and provide a bell to the call-terminating terminal as in step 422 or may transmit the information for construction of the additional service menu to the call-terminating terminal as in step 420 so that the call-terminating terminal can construct the additional service menu.” The service capabilities of the two devices are compared and both common service capabilities, as well as services only available to the terminating party are sent to the terminating device.); or
in a case that the first terminal device supports a data channel function and the second terminal device does not support the data channel function, sending, by the core network device, the data channel application list to the first terminal device (Song: Fig. 3, Col. 9 lines 22-65 “In step 316, the PIP server determines a common additional service usable in both the call-originating terminal and the call-terminating terminal as a commonly usable item to be included in an additional service menu that will be constructed in the call-originating terminal, and determines an additional service usably only by the call-originating terminal from among non-common additional services as an item for use by only the call-originating terminal user to be selectively included in the additional service menu. … Then, in step 318, the PIP server determines if the PIP server constructs the additional service menu by itself and provides a ring-back to the call-originating terminal … That is, the PIP server may either construct the additional service menu by itself and provide a ring-back to the call-originating terminal as in step 322” Fig. 3 318, the pip server generates a menu with both common services usable by both parties, in addition to services only available to the calling party and provides the menu with the additional service only available to the calling party, to the calling party).
Regarding Claim 13, Song discloses claim 1 as set forth above.
Song further discloses wherein the method further comprises: sending, by the core network device, first indication information to the first terminal device, wherein the first indication information is used to indicate a data channel application supported by the first terminal device but not supported by the second terminal device, or the first indication information is used to indicate a data channel application supported by the first terminal device and supported by the second terminal device (Song: Fig. 3, Col. 9 lines 22-65 “In step 316, the PIP server determines a common additional service usable in both the call-originating terminal and the call-terminating terminal as a commonly usable item to be included in an additional service menu that will be constructed in the call-originating terminal, and determines an additional service usably only by the call-originating terminal from among non-common additional services as an item for use by only the call-originating terminal user to be selectively included in the additional service menu. … Then, in step 318, the PIP server determines if the PIP server constructs the additional service menu by itself and provides a ring-back to the call-originating terminal … That is, the PIP server may either construct the additional service menu by itself and provide a ring-back to the call-originating terminal as in step 322” Fig. 3 318, the pip server generates a menu with both common services usable by both parties, in addition to services only available to the calling party and provides the menu with the additional service only available to the calling party, to the calling party);
or sending, by the core network device, second indication information to the second terminal device, wherein the second indication information is used to indicate a data channel application supported by the second terminal device but not supported by the first terminal device, or the second indication information is used to indicate a data channel application supported by the first terminal device and supported by the second terminal device (Song: col. 10 lines 28- col.11 line 4 “In step 410, the PIP server acquires service capability information of the call-originating and call-terminating terminal users. Then, in step 412, the PIP server determines if there exists a common additional service usable by both the call-originating terminal and the call-terminating terminal… In step 416, the PIP server determines a common additional service usable in both the call-originating terminal and the call-terminating terminal as a commonly usable item to be included in an additional service menu that will be constructed in the call-terminating terminal, and determines an additional service usably only by the call-terminating terminal from among non-common additional services as an item for use by only the call-terminating terminal user to be selectively included in the additional service menu….That is, the PIP server may either construct the additional service menu by itself and provide a bell to the call-terminating terminal as in step 422 or may transmit the information for construction of the additional service menu to the call-terminating terminal as in step 420 so that the call-terminating terminal can construct the additional service menu.” The service capabilities of the two devices are compared and both common service capabilities, as well as services only available to the terminating party are sent to the terminating device.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song et al. (hereinafter Song, US 9,313,324 B2) in view of Le Gall (US 2016/0330163 A1).
Regarding Claim 10, Song discloses claim 9 as set forth above.
However Song does not explicitly disclose wherein the sending, by the core network device, the first data channel capability information to the second terminal device comprises: sending, by the core network device, a sixth request message to an application server, wherein the sixth request message is used to instruct the application server to send the first data channel capability information to the second terminal device.
Le Gall discloses wherein the sending, by the core network device, the first data channel capability information to the second terminal device comprises: sending, by the core network device, a sixth request message to an application server (Le Gall: Fig. 1, para.0048-0049 “Step 105: In the called IMS core, an application server AS2 receives the enhanced 200 OK message and checks if the destination (user B) has subscribed to the service for automatically discovering the social network identifiers and statuses of a user: if the checking is positive, it sends a second response message towards the user A, this message being an enhanced 200 OK SIP message carrying the RCS capabilities and the social network capabilities of the terminal of user B.” the called IMS core sends to the AS1 in step 106 the RCS capabilities of User B),
wherein the sixth request message is used to instruct the application server to send the first data channel capability information to the second terminal device (Le Gall: Fig.1, para.0052 “Step 106: The calling IMS core forwards it to the user agent of the caller A.” the AS1 in the calling IMS core in response to the sixth request message in step 105, forwards the 200 OK message comprising the RCS capabilities to the User A.).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Song with that of Le Gall in order to incorporate wherein the sending, by the core network device, the first data channel capability information to the second terminal device comprises: sending, by the core network device, a sixth request message to an application server, wherein the sixth request message is used to instruct the application server to send the first data channel capability information to the second terminal device.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine because of the expected benefit of exchanging capabilities when the called party is served by a separate core and different capabilities (Le Gall: para.0005, para.0048-0049, Fig. 1).
Claim(s) 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song et al. (hereinafter Song, US 9,313,324 B2) in view of Shi et al. (hereinafter Shi, US 2019/0379707 A1).
Regarding Claim 14, Song discloses A method for processing a data channel application list (Song: col. 2 lines 1-65 “constructing an additional service menu in accordance with the acquired group list information, and providing the constructed additional service menu through a ring-back; and the call-originating terminal for receiving information of the additional service menu constructed by the first server, and constructing an additional service menu usable by the call-terminating terminal based on the information.” method for generating an application list, i.e. service menu and/or additional service menu), comprising: sending, by a first terminal device, first data channel capability information of the first terminal device to a network device (Song: Fig. 7 705 col. 12 lines 28-37 “Further, the call-originating terminal 700 and the call-terminating terminal 750 register their service capability information in an SCS 740, respectively in Steps 705 and 707.” The capability of each device is sent during registration by each terminal device, and eventually obtained by the PIP server.); and
receiving, by the first terminal device, a data channel application list sent by the core network device (Song: col. 10 lines 28- col.11 line 4 “That is, the PIP server may either construct the additional service menu by itself and provide a bell to the call-terminating terminal as in step 422 or may transmit the information for construction of the additional service menu to the call-terminating terminal as in step 420 so that the call-terminating terminal can construct the additional service menu.” The service capabilities of the two devices are compared and both common service capabilities, as well as services only available to the terminating party are sent to the terminating device.);
wherein the data channel application list is generated by the core network device based on the first data channel capability information and second data channel capability information, and the second data channel capability information is data channel capability information of a second terminal device (Song: col. 10 lines 28- col.11 line 4 “In step 410, the PIP server acquires service capability information of the call-originating and call-terminating terminal users. Then, in step 412, the PIP server determines if there exists a common additional service usable by both the call-originating terminal and the call-terminating terminal… In step 416, the PIP server determines a common additional service usable in both the call-originating terminal and the call-terminating terminal as a commonly usable item to be included in an additional service menu that will be constructed in the call-terminating terminal, and determines an additional service usably only by the call-terminating terminal from among non-common additional services as an item for use by only the call-terminating terminal user to be selectively included in the additional service menu….That is, the PIP server may either construct the additional service menu by itself and provide a bell to the call-terminating terminal as in step 422 or may transmit the information for construction of the additional service menu to the call-terminating terminal as in step 420 so that the call-terminating terminal can construct the additional service menu.” The service capabilities of each of the two devices are compared and both common service capabilities, as well as services only available to the terminating party are compiled into a menu).
However Song does not explicitly disclose sending, by a first terminal device, first data channel capability information of the first terminal device to a core network device, that is, the same core network device that the capability information is sent to is not the core network device that generates and sends back the application list.
Shi discloses sending, by a first terminal device, first data channel capability information of the first terminal device to a core network device (Shi: para.0039 “Step 201: Separately obtain transcoding capability information reported by at least two terminals, where the capability information includes first transcoding capability data and a service type of a service executed by the at least two terminals, and the at least two terminals belong to a same service group. The first transcoding capability data includes a transcoding capability parameter….Step 202: Determine, based on the transcoding capability parameter of each of the at least two terminals, a first group of transcoding capability parameters satisfying the transcoding capability of the at least two terminals and satisfying the service type… Step 203: Determine a second group of transcoding capability parameters based on the first group of transcoding capability parameters and the preset transcoding capability parameter…. Step 204: Select a first transcoding capability parameter satisfying a preset condition from the second group of transcoding capability parameters, and generate the second transcoding capability data based on the first transcoding capability parameter…. Step 205: Send the second transcoding capability data to each of the at least two terminals, so that each terminal configures a transcoding parameter based on the second transcoding capability data” when determining common service capability, each device sends to the same server their service capability, and using that information the server determines a common capability in step 204, and sends back to each terminal the common capability data.).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Song with Shi in order to incorporate sending, by a first terminal device, first data channel capability information of the first terminal device to a core network device, such that the same core network device that obtains the capability information is the one that generates the data channel application lists.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine because of the expected benefit of improved network performance by reducing the number of transmissions required to generate the lists (Shi: para.0021) than that of Song that requires sending back and forth from SCS, DMS and PIP server as in Fig. 7.
Regarding Claim 15, Song-Shi discloses claim 14 as set forth above.
Song further discloses wherein the sending, by a first terminal device, first data channel capability information of the first terminal device to a network device comprises: sending, by the first terminal device, the first data channel capability information to the core network device during establishment of a bootstrap data channel; or
sending, by the first terminal device, the first data channel capability information to the core network device via a bootstrap data channel; or
receiving, by the first terminal device, a first request message sent by the core network device, wherein the first request message is used to instruct the first terminal device to send the first data channel capability information; and sending, by the first terminal device, the first data channel capability information to the core network device in response to the first request message; or
sending, by the first terminal device, the first data channel capability information to the network device during registration (Song: Fig. 7 705 col. 12 lines 28-37 “Further, the call-originating terminal 700 and the call-terminating terminal 750 register their service capability information in an SCS 740, respectively in Steps 705 and 707.” The capability of each device is sent during registration by each terminal device, and eventually obtained by the PIP server.).
However Song does not explicitly disclose wherein the sending, by a first terminal device, first data channel capability information of the first terminal device to a core network device comprises: sending, by the first terminal device, the first data channel capability information to the core network device during establishment of a bootstrap data channel; or sending, by the first terminal device, the first data channel capability information to the core network device via a bootstrap data channel; or receiving, by the first terminal device, a first request message sent by the core network device, wherein the first request message is used to instruct the first terminal device to send the first data channel capability information; and sending, by the first terminal device, the first data channel capability information to the core network device in response to the first request message; or sending, by the first terminal device, the first data channel capability information to the core network device during registration.
Shi discloses wherein the sending, by a first terminal device, first data channel capability information of the first terminal device to a core network device comprises: sending, by the first terminal device, the first data channel capability information to the core network device during establishment of a bootstrap data channel; or
sending, by the first terminal device, the first data channel capability information to the core network device via a bootstrap data channel; or
receiving, by the first terminal device, a first request message sent by the core network device, wherein the first request message is used to instruct the first terminal device to send the first data channel capability information; and sending, by the first terminal device, the first data channel capability information to the core network device in response to the first request message; or
sending, by the first terminal device, the first data channel capability information to the core network device during registration (Shi: para.0039 “Step 201: Separately obtain transcoding capability information reported by at least two terminals, where the capability information includes first transcoding capability data and a service type of a service executed by the at least two terminals, and the at least two terminals belong to a same service group. The first transcoding capability data includes a transcoding capability parameter….Step 202: Determine, based on the transcoding capability parameter of each of the at least two terminals, a first group of transcoding capability parameters satisfying the transcoding capability of the at least two terminals and satisfying the service type… Step 203: Determine a second group of transcoding capability parameters based on the first group of transcoding capability parameters and the preset transcoding capability parameter…. Step 204: Select a first transcoding capability parameter satisfying a preset condition from the second group of transcoding capability parameters, and generate the second transcoding capability data based on the first transcoding capability parameter…. Step 205: Send the second transcoding capability data to each of the at least two terminals, so that each terminal configures a transcoding parameter based on the second transcoding capability data” when determining common service capability, each device sends to the same server their service capability, and using that information the server determines a common capability in step 204, and sends back to each terminal the common capability data.).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Song with Shi in order to incorporate wherein the sending, by a first terminal device, first data channel capability information of the first terminal device to a core network device comprises: sending, by the first terminal device, the first data channel capability information to the core network device during establishment of a bootstrap data channel; or sending, by the first terminal device, the first data channel capability information to the core network device via a bootstrap data channel; or receiving, by the first terminal device, a first request message sent by the core network device, wherein the first request message is used to instruct the first terminal device to send the first data channel capability information; and sending, by the first terminal device, the first data channel capability information to the core network device in response to the first request message; or sending, by the first terminal device, the first data channel capability information to the core network device during registration, such that the same core network device that obtains the capability information is the one that generates the data channel application lists.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine because of the expected benefit of improved network performance by reducing the number of transmissions required to generate the lists (Shi: para.0021) than that of Song that requires sending back and forth from SCS, DMS and PIP server as in Fig. 7.
Regarding Claim 16, Song discloses claim 15 as set forth above.
Regarding the limitations of “wherein the sending, by the first terminal device, the first data channel capability information to the core network device during establishment of a bootstrap data channel comprises: sending, by the first terminal device, a second request message to the core network device; or sending, by the first terminal device, a second request message to an application server; wherein the second request message is a request message for establishing the bootstrap data channel during establishment of the bootstrap data channel, and the second request message carries the first data channel capability information; wherein an allow header of the second request message carries the first data channel capability information; or a supported header of the second request message carries the first data channel capability information; or the second request message comprises a first header determined in advance, and the first header carries the first data channel capability information; or the second request message comprises first data channel attribute information, and the first data channel attribute information carries the first data channel capability information”, Examiner notes that this limitation modifies the limitation of “wherein the sending, by the first terminal device, the first data channel capability information to the core network device during establishment of a bootstrap data channel” in Claim 15, however “sending, by the first terminal device, the first data channel capability information to the core network device during registration” option was selected in the rejection of claim 15, therefore this limitation further modifies an option of the Markush group that was not selected and the claim remains rejected under the same rationale as claim 15.
Regarding Claim 17, Song discloses claim 15 as set forth above.
Regarding the limitations of “wherein the receiving, by the first terminal device, a first request message sent by the core network device comprises: receiving, by the first terminal device, the first request message sent by an application server in response to a third request message, wherein the third request message is used to instruct the application server to send the first request message to the first terminal device; and the sending, by the first terminal device, the first data channel capability information to the core network device in response to the first request message comprises: sending, by the first terminal device, the first data channel capability information to the core network device through the application server in response to the first request message; wherein the first request message comprises a re-invite request message or an option message”, Examiner notes that this limitation modifies the limitations of “wherein the receiving, by the first terminal device, a first request message sent by the core network device” and “the sending, by the first terminal device, the first data channel capability information to the core network device in response to the first request message” of Claim 15. However, the “sending, by the first terminal device, the first data channel capability information to the core network device during registration” Option was selected in the rejection of claim 15, therefore this limitation further modifies an option of the Markush group that was not selected and the claim remains rejected under the same rationale as claim 15.
Regarding Claim 18, Song discloses A method for processing a data channel application list (Song: col. 2 lines 1-65 “constructing an additional service menu in accordance with the acquired group list information, and providing the constructed additional service menu through a ring-back; and the call-originating terminal for receiving information of the additional service menu constructed by the first server, and constructing an additional service menu usable by the call-terminating terminal based on the information.” method for generating an application list, i.e. service menu and/or additional service menu), comprising: sending, by a second terminal device, second data channel capability information to network device (Song: Fig. 7 705 col. 12 lines 28-37 “Further, the call-originating terminal 700 and the call-terminating terminal 750 register their service capability information in an SCS 740, respectively in Steps 705 and 707.” The capability of each device is sent during registration by each terminal device, and eventually obtained by the PIP server.); and
receiving, by the second terminal device, a data channel application list sent by the core network device (Song: col. 10 lines 28- col.11 line 4 “That is, the PIP server may either construct the additional service menu by itself and provide a bell to the call-terminating terminal as in step 422 or may transmit the information for construction of the additional service menu to the call-terminating terminal as in step 420 so that the call-terminating terminal can construct the additional service menu.” The service capabilities of the two devices are compared and both common service capabilities, as well as services only available to the terminating party are sent to the terminating device.);
wherein the data channel application list is generated by the core network device based on first data channel capability information and the second data channel capability information, and the first data channel capability information is data channel capability information of the first terminal device (Song: col. 10 lines 28- col.11 line 4 “In step 410, the PIP server acquires service capability information of the call-originating and call-terminating terminal users. Then, in step 412, the PIP server determines if there exists a common additional service usable by both the call-originating terminal and the call-terminating terminal… In step 416, the PIP server determines a common additional service usable in both the call-originating terminal and the call-terminating terminal as a commonly usable item to be included in an additional service menu that will be constructed in the call-terminating terminal, and determines an additional service usably only by the call-terminating terminal from among non-common additional services as an item for use by only the call-terminating terminal user to be selectively included in the additional service menu….That is, the PIP server may either construct the additional service menu by itself and provide a bell to the call-terminating terminal as in step 422 or may transmit the information for construction of the additional service menu to the call-terminating terminal as in step 420 so that the call-terminating terminal can construct the additional service menu.” The service capabilities of each of the two devices are compared and both common service capabilities, as well as services only available to the terminating party are compiled into a menu).
However Song does not explicitly disclose sending, by a second terminal device, second data channel capability information to a core network device, that is, the same core network device that the capability information is sent to is not the core network device that generates and sends back the application list.
Shi discloses sending, by a second terminal device, second data channel capability information to network device (Shi: para.0039 “Step 201: Separately obtain transcoding capability information reported by at least two terminals, where the capability information includes first transcoding capability data and a service type of a service executed by the at least two terminals, and the at least two terminals belong to a same service group. The first transcoding capability data includes a transcoding capability parameter….Step 202: Determine, based on the transcoding capability parameter of each of the at least two terminals, a first group of transcoding capability parameters satisfying the transcoding capability of the at least two terminals and satisfying the service type… Step 203: Determine a second group of transcoding capability parameters based on the first group of transcoding capability parameters and the preset transcoding capability parameter…. Step 204: Select a first transcoding capability parameter satisfying a preset condition from the second group of transcoding capability parameters, and generate the second transcoding capability data based on the first transcoding capability parameter…. Step 205: Send the second transcoding capability data to each of the at least two terminals, so that each terminal configures a transcoding parameter based on the second transcoding capability data” when determining common service capability, each device sends to the same server their service capability, and using that information the server determines a common capability in step 204, and sends back to each terminal the common capability data.).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Song with Shi in order to incorporate sending, by a second terminal device, second data channel capability information to a core network device, such that the same core network device that obtains the capability information is the one that generates the data channel application lists.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine because of the expected benefit of improved network performance by reducing the number of transmissions required to generate the lists (Shi: para.0021) than that of Song that requires sending back and forth from SCS, DMS and PIP server as in Fig. 7.
Regarding Claim 19, Song-Shi discloses claim 18 as set forth above.
Song further discloses wherein the sending, by a second terminal device, second data channel capability information of the second terminal device to a network device comprises: sending, by the second terminal device, the second data channel capability information to the core network device during establishment of a bootstrap data channel;
or sending, by the second terminal device, the second data channel capability information to the core network device via a bootstrap data channel;
or receiving, by the second terminal device, a fourth request message sent by the core network device, wherein the fourth request message is used to instruct the second terminal device to send the second data channel capability information; and sending, by the second terminal device, the second data channel capability information to the core network device in response to the fourth request message;
or sending, by the second terminal device, the second data channel capability information to the network device during registration (Song: Fig. 7 705 col. 12 lines 28-37 “Further, the call-originating terminal 700 and the call-terminating terminal 750 register their service capability information in an SCS 740, respectively in Steps 705 and 707.” The capability of each device is sent during registration by each terminal device, and eventually obtained by the PIP server.).
However Song does not explicitly disclose wherein the sending, by a second terminal device, second data channel capability information of the second terminal device to a core network device comprises: sending, by the second terminal device, the second data channel capability information to the core network device during establishment of a bootstrap data channel; or sending, by the second terminal device, the second data channel capability information to the core network device via a bootstrap data channel; or receiving, by the second terminal device, a fourth request message sent by the core network device, wherein the fourth request message is used to instruct the second terminal device to send the second data channel capability information; and sending, by the second terminal device, the second data channel capability information to the core network device in response to the fourth request message; or sending, by the second terminal device, the second data channel capability information to the core network device during registration.
Shi discloses wherein the sending, by a second terminal device, second data channel capability information of the second terminal device to a core network device comprises: sending, by the second terminal device, the second data channel capability information to the core network device during establishment of a bootstrap data channel; or
sending, by the second terminal device, the second data channel capability information to the core network device via a bootstrap data channel; or
receiving, by the second terminal device, a fourth request message sent by the core network device, wherein the fourth request message is used to instruct the second terminal device to send the second data channel capability information; and sending, by the second terminal device, the second data channel capability information to the core network device in response to the fourth request message; or
sending, by the second terminal device, the second data channel capability information to the core network device during registration (Shi: para.0039 “Step 201: Separately obtain transcoding capability information reported by at least two terminals, where the capability information includes first transcoding capability data and a service type of a service executed by the at least two terminals, and the at least two terminals belong to a same service group. The first transcoding capability data includes a transcoding capability parameter….Step 202: Determine, based on the transcoding capability parameter of each of the at least two terminals, a first group of transcoding capability parameters satisfying the transcoding capability of the at least two terminals and satisfying the service type… Step 203: Determine a second group of transcoding capability parameters based on the first group of transcoding capability parameters and the preset transcoding capability parameter…. Step 204: Select a first transcoding capability parameter satisfying a preset condition from the second group of transcoding capability parameters, and generate the second transcoding capability data based on the first transcoding capability parameter…. Step 205: Send the second transcoding capability data to each of the at least two terminals, so that each terminal configures a transcoding parameter based on the second transcoding capability data” when determining common service capability, each device sends to the same server their service capability, and using that information the server determines a common capability in step 204, and sends back to each terminal the common capability data.).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Song with Shi in order to incorporate wherein the sending, by a second terminal device, second data channel capability information of the second terminal device to a core network device comprises: sending, by the second terminal device, the second data channel capability information to the core network device during establishment of a bootstrap data channel; or sending, by the second terminal device, the second data channel capability information to the core network device via a bootstrap data channel; or receiving, by the second terminal device, a fourth request message sent by the core network device, wherein the fourth request message is used to instruct the second terminal device to send the second data channel capability information; and sending, by the second terminal device, the second data channel capability information to the core network device in response to the fourth request message; or sending, by the second terminal device, the second data channel capability information to the core network device during registration, such that the same core network device that obtains the capability information is the one that generates the data channel application lists.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine because of the expected benefit of improved network performance by reducing the number of transmissions required to generate the lists (Shi: para.0021) than that of Song that requires sending back and forth from SCS, DMS and PIP server as in Fig. 7.
Regarding Claim 20, Song-Shi discloses claim 19 as set forth above.
Regarding the limitations of “wherein the sending, by the second terminal device, the second data channel capability information to the core network device during establishment of a bootstrap data channel comprises: sending, by the second terminal device, a target response message to the core network device; or sending, by the second terminal device, a target response message to an application server; wherein the target response message is a response message for establishing the bootstrap data channel during establishment of the bootstrap data channel, and the target response message carries the second data channel capability information; wherein an allow header of the target response message carries the second data channel capability information; or a supported header of the target response message carries the second data channel capability information; or the target response message comprises a second header determined in advance, and the second header carries the second data channel capability information; or the target response message comprises second data channel attribute information, and the second data channel attribute information carries the second data channel capability information”, Examiner notes that this limitation modifies the limitations of “wherein the sending, by the second terminal device, the second data channel capability information to the core network device during establishment of a bootstrap data channel” of Claim 19. However, the “sending, by the second terminal device, the second data channel capability information to the core network device during registration” Option was selected in the rejection of claim 19, therefore this limitation further modifies an option of the Markush group that was not selected and the claim remains rejected under the same rationale as claim 19.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Stille et al. US 2008/0279119 A1, See Fig. 2, and para.0035 that generates a common set of services for each terminal and returns a list of these services in step 207.
/EUI H KIM/ Examiner, Art Unit 2453
/KAMAL B DIVECHA/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2453