DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,171,441 in view of Li (US 20100253190). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the instant claims and claims 1-13 of US 12,171,441 are directed to a method of harvesting and processing bone and cellular material including steps of receiving bone and cellular material, storing the material, and instructing to send the material to a facility to store the material. Claims 1-13 of US 12,171,441 do not expressly teach storing the cancellous bone, cortical bone chips, and bone marrow in at least one of a first container, second container, and third container, wherein the first container is configured for typification of a patient, the second container is configured for safety and quality examination, and the third container configured to receive harvested cancellous bone, cortical bone chips, and bone marrow material of a patient for a subsequent use.
Li, however, teaches to a storage tank containing cartridges storing stem cells that are connected via a compartment unit (Fig. 9B; para. 61). The cartridges can be removed separately via a telescoping arm (Fig. 9B; para. 61). The Examiner further asserts that the usage of the containers has been interpreted as intended use. A recitation directed to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be used does not distinguish the claimed apparatus from the prior art, if the prior art has the capability to so perform, see MPEP 2114 and Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). The Examiner notes the recited prior art has the capability to perform the limitations indicated as intended use.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the aforementioned features in Li based on the motivation of providing a storage apparatus in which independent storage-access operation, lowering cost and raising storage-access accuracy can be achieved (Li – para. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 15 recites “instructing the cancellous bone, cortical bone chips, and bone marrow to be sent to a facility”. However, it is unclear how bone material can be given instructions to be sent to a facility. Appropriate clarification and correction is required. Dependent claims 16-18 are also rejected due to their dependency from Claim 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marom (US20130052169) in view of Li (US 20100253190).
As per claim 15, Marom teaches a method for storing harvested bone and cellular material, comprising:
receiving cancellous bone, cortical bone chips, and bone marrow (para. 91-92: material collected from patient including bone and bone marrow materials);
storing the cancellous bone, cortical bone chips, and bone marrow in at least one of a first container (para. 143: stem cells harvested from bone and bone material are stored in various tanks for later use); and
instructing the cancellous bone, cortical bone chips, and bone marrow to be sent to a facility configured to store cancellous bone, cortical bone chips, and bone marrow (para. 143-145, 166: after stem cell collection and storage the material is then sent to a bank for storage).
Marom does not expressly teach storing the cancellous bone, cortical bone chips, and bone marrow in at least one of a first container, second container, and third container, wherein the first container is configured for typification of a patient, the second container is configured for safety and quality examination, and the third container configured to receive harvested cancellous bone, cortical bone chips, and bone marrow material of a patient for a subsequent use.
Li, however, teaches to a storage tank containing cartridges storing stem cells that are connected via a compartment unit (Fig. 9B; para. 61). The cartridges can be removed separately via a telescoping arm (Fig. 9B; para. 61). The Examiner further asserts that the usage of the containers has been interpreted as intended use. A recitation directed to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be used does not distinguish the claimed apparatus from the prior art, if the prior art has the capability to so perform, see MPEP 2114 and Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). The Examiner notes the recited prior art has the capability to perform the limitations indicated as intended use.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the aforementioned features in Li with Marom based on the motivation of providing a storage apparatus in which independent storage-access operation, lowering cost and raising storage-access accuracy can be achieved (Li – para. 2).
As per claim 16, Marom and Li teach the method according to claim 15. Marom teaches wherein the subsequent use is for the patient whose cancellous bone, cortical bone chips, and bone marrow has been harvested (para. 8: stem cell transplants can be either autologous or allogenic).
As per claim 17, Marom and Li teach the method according to claim 15. Marom teaches wherein the subsequent use is for another patient that is not the patient whose cancellous bone, cortical bone chips, and bone marrow has been harvested (para. 8: stem cell transplants can be either autologous or allogenic).
As per claim 18, Marom and Li teach the method according to claim 15. Marom does not expressly teach wherein the containers are detachably connected to each other.
Li, however, teaches to a storage tank containing cartridges storing stem cells that are connected via a compartment unit (Fig. 9B; para. 61). The cartridges can be removed separately via a telescoping arm (Fig. 9B; para. 61).
The motivations to combine the above mentioned references are discussed in the rejection of claim 15, and incorporated herein.
Prior Art Rejection
All of the cited references fail to expressly teach or suggest, either alone or in combination, the features found within claims 1-14 & 19-20. In particular, the cited prior art of record fails to expressly teach or suggest the combination of: obtaining identification data collected from identifying a set of patients undergoing an existing surgical procedure in which a bone of the patient is to be reamed or resected and cancellous bone, cortical bone chips, and bone marrow material removed; obtaining screening data collected from screening the patients using a set of criteria to ascertain a subset of patients who qualify to donate cancellous bone, cortical bone chips, and bone marrow; reaming bone from the subset of patients with a tool to extract cancellous bone, cortical bone chips, and bone marrow material during an orthopedic procedure; and instructing that the extracted material be sent to a facility.
The most relevant prior art of record includes:
Woods et al. (US Patent Publication 20120052049) teaches a method for treating preselected diseases comprising the steps of providing a therapeutic dose of a mesenchymal stem cell composition, the mesenchymal stem cell composition comprising mesenchymal stem cells harvested from at least one tissue selected from the group consisting of placental tissue, bone marrow, dental tissue, testicle tissue, and dermal tissue; and systemically administering the mesenchymal stem cell composition to the patient suffering from a preselected disease or diseased state through an intravenous injection. Porter et al. ("Osteogenic Potential of Reamer Irrigator Aspirator (RIA) Aspirate Collected from Patients Undergoing Hip Arthroplasty") teaches using RIA aspirate to develop improved, clinically expeditious, cost-effective technologies for accelerating the healing of bone and other musculoskeletal tissues. Brevnova et al. (US Patent Publication 20080215364) teaches to collection, extraction, preservation, containment, packaging, delivery and storage of the stem cells in a storage medium that can be cost-effectively maintained by the donor, parent or guardian at home or in a custodial location.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Meridew (US 9445907 B2) teaches to preparing a femoral neck for receiving a neck implant includes resecting a femoral head from a femoral neck of a patient according to a pre-operative patient-specific plan. The method also includes removing only cancellous bone from the femoral neck and proximal femoral bone of the patient using a patient-specific broach.
/Jonathan Ng/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619