DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. The following features are absent from the drawings
Claims 5, 13 and 19, “a first circuit breaker associated with the first transponder; a second circuit breaker associated with the second transponder; and a third circuit breaker associated with the third transponder, wherein in the first mode, the third circuit breaker is set to disable power to the third transponder, and in the second mode, the first circuit breaker or the second circuit breaker is set to disable power to the first transponder or the second transponder.”
Claims 6 , 14, and 20 “a loader card enables flight software to operate in association with the first mode or the second mode, and the loader card enables the flight software to operate in a civil mode, or operate in the civil mode and a military mode..”
Therefore, the above subject matter must be shown or the features canceled from the claims. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7-11, and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woodring(US10928506B1) in view of CHEE(SG161123A1)
Regarding claim 1, Woodring discloses
An aircraft (“ A flight-transponder is a required electronic communications devise in the secured cockpit or flight deck of a commercial aircraft” [Col.4, ll.21-23]), comprising: avionics circuitry (FIG.11, Part.1100); a first transponder (FIG.11, Part.1110A); a second transponder(FIG.11, Part.1110B); a third transponder(FIG.11, Part.1110B); a first relay(FIG.11, Part.1114); […] a first antenna (“After receiving an interrogation, the aircraft's transponder transmits” [Col.4, ll.34-35]); a second antenna (“The second transmitter” [Col.10, L.39]); and a switch (Fig.11, Part.1112),
Woodring does not explicitly disclose nor limit wherein the switch selectively connects the first second and third transponders in two individual modes. CHEE teaches in the same field of endeavor of aircraft transponder systems. CHEE discloses, a second relay (FIG.2, Part.150) […] wherein the first and second relay are configured for installation between the first transponder, the second transponder, and the third transponder, and the first and second antennas(FIG.2, Parts. 101, 105,110, 120 & 150), the switch is configured to enable the aircraft to operate in a first mode or a second mode (“ operating a first transponder in respective identification modes corresponding to one or more communication modes; operating a second transponder in respective identification modes
corresponding to one or more communication modes, wherein the first and second transponders have one or more overlapping identification modes; and switching between the first and second
transponders” [Pgs.3-4, ll.34-36&1-4]), in the first mode, the switch is configured to drive the first and second relays and connect the first and second transponders to the first and second antennas, and in the second mode, the switch is configured to drive the first and second relays and connect the second and third transponders to the first and second antennas (“switching between the first and second transponders such that in each 5 switched state, only one of the transponders operates in said one or more overlapping identification modes”[Pg.4, ll.4-6]).
CHEE teaches in the same field of endeavor of aircraft transponder systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Woodring with the teachings of CHEE to incorporate the features of selectively connecting transponders in order to produce two individual modes so as to gain the advantage of reducing complexity [Pg.12, Par.3, CHEE]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 2, Woodring as modified by CHEE disclose all the limitations of claim 1. Woodring discloses wherein, the first transponder comprises a first civil transponder; and the second transponder comprises a second civil transponder (“some commercial aircraft have two independent transponders
that provide a second or backup-transponder” [Col.6, ll.1-3]).
Regarding claim 3, Woodring as modified by CHEE disclose all the limitations of claim 2. Woodring does not explicitly disclose nor limit a military transponder. CHEE teaches in the same field of endeavor of aircraft transponder systems. CHEE discloses wherein, the third transponder comprises a military transponder (“The first transponder may operate in identification modes corresponding to civilian modes, mode 3/A and mode C and military modes, mode 1 and mode 2.” [Pg. 3, ll.13-24]).
CHEE teaches in the same field of endeavor of aircraft transponder systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Woodring with the teachings of CHEE to incorporate the features of a military transponder so as to gain the advantage of reducing complexity [Pg.12, Par.3, CHEE]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 7, Woodring as modified by CHEE disclose all the limitations of claim 1. Woodring does not explicitly disclose nor limit a military transponder. CHEE teaches in the same field of endeavor of aircraft transponder systems. CHEE discloses a jumper harness enabling the aircraft to operate in a civil mode, or operate in the civil mode and a military mode (FIG.2, Parts.109, 111 & 150).
CHEE teaches in the same field of endeavor of aircraft transponder systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Woodring with the teachings of CHEE to incorporate the features of a military transponder so as to gain the advantage of reducing complexity [Pg.12, Par.3, CHEE]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 8, Woodring discloses
A system, comprising: a first transponder (FIG.11, Part.1110A); a second transponder (FIG.11, Part.1110B); a third transponder (FIG.11, Part.1110B); a first relay (FIG.11, Part.1114); […] a first antenna (“After receiving an interrogation, the aircraft's transponder transmits” [Col.4, ll.34-35]); a second antenna (“The second transmitter” [Col.10, L.39]); and a switch, (Fig.11, Part.1112),
Woodring does not explicitly disclose nor limit wherein the switch selectively connects the first second and third transponders in two individual modes. CHEE teaches in the same field of endeavor of aircraft transponder systems. CHEE discloses, a second relay (FIG.2, Part.150) […]wherein the switch is configured to enable the system to operate in a first mode or a second mode, in the first mode (“ operating a first transponder in respective identification modes corresponding to one or more communication modes; operating a second transponder in respective identification modes
corresponding to one or more communication modes, wherein the first and second transponders have one or more overlapping identification modes; and switching between the first and second transponders” [Pgs.3-4, ll.34-36&1-4]), the switch is configured to drive the first and second relays and connect the first and second transponders to the first and second antennas, and in the second mode, the switch is configured to drive the first and second relays and connect the second and third transponders to the first and second antennas (“switching between the first and second transponders
such that in each 5 switched state, only one of the transponders operates in said one or more overlapping identification modes”[Pg.4, ll.4-6]).
CHEE teaches in the same field of endeavor of aircraft transponder systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Woodring with the teachings of CHEE to incorporate the features of selectively connecting transponders in order to produce two individual modes so as to gain the advantage of reducing complexity [Pg.12, Par.3, CHEE]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 9, Woodring as modified by CHEE disclose all the limitations of claim 8. Woodring does not explicitly disclose nor limit a second relay. CHEE teaches in the same field of endeavor of aircraft transponder systems. CHEE discloses, the first and second relay are configured for installation between the first transponder, the second transponder, and the third transponder, and the first and second antennas (FIG.2, Parts. 101, 105,110, 120 & 150).
CHEE teaches in the same field of endeavor of aircraft transponder systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Woodring with the teachings of CHEE to incorporate the features of a second relay so as to gain the advantage of reducing complexity [Pg.12, Par.3, CHEE]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 10, Woodring as modified by CHEE disclose all the limitations of claim 8. Woodring discloses wherein, the first transponder comprises a first civil transponder; and the second transponder comprises a second civil transponder (“some commercial aircraft have two independent transponders
that provide a second or backup-transponder” [Col.6, ll.1-3]).
Regarding claim 11, Woodring as modified by CHEE disclose all the limitations of claim 10. Woodring does not explicitly disclose nor limit a military transponder. CHEE teaches in the same field of endeavor of aircraft transponder systems. CHEE discloses wherein, the third transponder comprises a military transponder (“The first transponder may operate in identification modes corresponding to civilian modes, mode 3/A and mode C and military modes, mode 1 and mode 2.” [Pg. 3, ll.13-24]).
CHEE teaches in the same field of endeavor of aircraft transponder systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Woodring with the teachings of CHEE to incorporate the features of a military transponder so as to gain the advantage of reducing complexity [Pg.12, Par.3, CHEE]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 15, Woodring discloses
A transponder arrangement, comprising: a first transponder (FIG.11, Part.1110A); a second transponder(FIG.11, Part.1110B); a third transponder (FIG.11, Part.1110B); a first relay (FIG.11, Part.1114) […]and a switch (Fig.11, Part.1112),
Woodring does not explicitly disclose nor limit wherein the switch selectively connects the first second and third transponders in two individual modes. CHEE teaches in the same field of endeavor of aircraft transponder systems. CHEE discloses, a second relay (FIG.2, Part.150) […] wherein the switch is configured to enable an aircraft to operate in a first mode or a second mode(“ operating a first transponder in respective identification modes corresponding to one or more communication
modes; operating a second transponder in respective identification modes corresponding to one or more communication modes, wherein the first and second transponders have one or more overlapping identification modes; and switching between the first and second transponders” [Pgs.3-4, ll.34-36&1-4]), in the first mode, the switch is configured to drive the first and second relays and connect the first and second transponders to first and second antennas, and in the second mode, the switch is configured to drive the first and second relays and connect the second and third transponders to the first and second antennas (“switching between the first and second transponders such that in each 5 switched state, only one of the transponders operates in said one or more overlapping identification modes”[Pg.4, ll.4-6]).
CHEE teaches in the same field of endeavor of aircraft transponder systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Woodring with the teachings of CHEE to incorporate the features of selectively connecting transponders in order to produce two individual modes so as to gain the advantage of reducing complexity [Pg.12, Par.3, CHEE]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 16, Woodring as modified by CHEE disclose all the limitations of claim 15. Woodring does not explicitly disclose nor limit a second relay. CHEE teaches in the same field of endeavor of aircraft transponder systems. CHEE discloses wherein, the first and second relay are configured for installation between the first transponder, the second transponder, and the third transponder, and the first and second antennas (FIG.2, Parts. 101, 105,110, 120 & 150).
CHEE teaches in the same field of endeavor of aircraft transponder systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Woodring with the teachings of CHEE to incorporate the features of a second relay so as to gain the advantage of reducing complexity [Pg.12, Par.3, CHEE]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 17, Woodring as modified by CHEE disclose all the limitations of claim 15. Woodring discloses wherein, the first transponder comprises a first civil transponder; the second transponder comprises a second civil transponder; and the third transponder comprises a military transponder (“some commercial aircraft have two independent transponders that provide a second or backup-transponder” [Col.6, ll.1-3]).
Woodring does not explicitly disclose nor limit a military transponder. CHEE teaches in the same field of endeavor of aircraft transponder systems. CHEE discloses the third transponder comprises a military transponder(FIG.2, Parts.109, 111 & 150).
CHEE teaches in the same field of endeavor of aircraft transponder systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Woodring with the teachings of CHEE to incorporate the features of a military transponder so as to gain the advantage of reducing complexity [Pg.12, Par.3, CHEE]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Claims 4, 12, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woodring(US10928506B1) as modified by CHEE(SG161123A1) as applied to claims 1, 8, and 15, above, and further in view of GRAF(EP3273262A1).
Regarding claim 4, Woodring as modified by CHEE disclose all the limitations of claim 1. Woodring as modified by CHEE does not explicitly disclose nor limit coaxial relays. GRAF teaches in the same field of endeavor of aircraft transponder systems. GRAF discloses wherein, the first relay and the second relay include coaxial relays (“coaxial relays to connect one of the two redundant transmit/receiver TX/RX channels” [Pg.5, ll.8-9]).
GRAF teaches in the same field of endeavor of aircraft transponder systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Woodring as modified by CHEE with the teachings of GRAF to incorporate the features of coaxial relays so as to gain the advantage of improving switching precision. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 12, Woodring as modified by CHEE disclose all the limitations of claim 8. Woodring as modified by CHEE does not explicitly disclose nor limit coaxial relays. GRAF teaches in the same field of endeavor of aircraft transponder systems. GRAF discloses wherein, the first relay and the second relay include coaxial relays (“coaxial relays to connect one of the two redundant transmit/receiver TX/RX channels” [Pg.5, ll.8-9]).
GRAF teaches in the same field of endeavor of aircraft transponder systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Woodring as modified by CHEE with the teachings of GRAF to incorporate the features of coaxial relays so as to gain the advantage of improving switching precision. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 18, Woodring as modified by CHEE disclose all the limitations of claim 15. Woodring as modified by CHEE does not explicitly disclose nor limit coaxial relays. GRAF teaches in the same field of endeavor of aircraft transponder systems. GRAF discloses wherein, the first relay and the second relay include coaxial relays (“coaxial relays to connect one of the two redundant transmit/receiver TX/RX channels” [Pg.5, ll.8-9]).
GRAF teaches in the same field of endeavor of aircraft transponder systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Woodring as modified by CHEE with the teachings of GRAF to incorporate the features of coaxial relays so as to gain the advantage of improving switching precision. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Claims 5, 13, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woodring(US10928506B1) as modified by CHEE(SG161123A1) as applied to claims 1, 8, and 15 above, and further in view of BARTONEK(US20090326855A1).
Regarding claim 5, Woodring as modified by CHEE disclose all the limitations of claim 1. Woodring as modified by CHEE does not explicitly disclose nor limit circuit breakers. BARTONEK teaches in the same field of endeavor of transponder systems. BARTONEK discloses, a first circuit breaker associated with the first transponder; a second circuit breaker associated with the second transponder; and a third circuit breaker associated with the third transponder, wherein in the first mode, the third circuit breaker is set to disable power to the third transponder, and in the second mode, the first circuit breaker or the second circuit breaker is set to disable power to the first transponder or the second transponder (“The parts of the electrical distribution and/or installation facility 2 secured by the first, second, third, and fourth circuit breaker 13, 14, 15, 16” [0021])
BARTONEK teaches in the same field of endeavor of transponder systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Woodring as modified by CHEE with the teachings of BARTONEK to incorporate the features of circuit breakers so as to gain the advantage of improving system reliability. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 13, Woodring as modified by CHEE disclose all the limitations of claim 8. Woodring as modified by CHEE does not explicitly disclose nor limit circuit breakers. BARTONEK teaches in the same field of endeavor of transponder systems. BARTONEK discloses, a first circuit breaker associated with the first transponder; a second circuit breaker associated with the second transponder; and a third circuit breaker associated with the third transponder, wherein in the first mode, the third circuit breaker is set to disable power to the third transponder, and in the second mode, the first circuit breaker or the second circuit breaker is set to disable power to the first transponder or the second transponder (“The parts of the electrical distribution and/or installation facility 2 secured by the first, second, third, and fourth circuit breaker 13, 14, 15, 16” [0021])
BARTONEK teaches in the same field of endeavor of transponder systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Woodring as modified by CHEE with the teachings of BARTONEK to incorporate the features of circuit breakers so as to gain the advantage of improving system reliability. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 19, Woodring as modified by CHEE disclose all the limitations of claim 15. Woodring as modified by CHEE does not explicitly disclose nor limit circuit breakers. BARTONEK teaches in the same field of endeavor of transponder systems. BARTONEK discloses wherein, the first transponder is associated with a first circuit breaker; the second transponder is associated with a second circuit breaker; and the third transponder is associated with a third circuit breaker, wherein in the first mode, the third circuit breaker is set to disable power to the third transponder, and in the second mode, the first circuit breaker or the second circuit breaker is set to disable power to the first transponder or the second transponder (“The parts of the electrical distribution and/or installation facility 2 secured by the first, second, third, and fourth circuit breaker 13, 14, 15, 16” [0021])
BARTONEK teaches in the same field of endeavor of transponder systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Woodring as modified by CHEE with the teachings of BARTONEK to incorporate the features of circuit breakers so as to gain the advantage of improving system reliability. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Claims 6, 14, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woodring(US10928506B1) as modified by CHEE(SG161123A1) as applied to claims 1, 8, and 15 above, and further in view of Gadgil(US20160200455A1).
Regarding claim 6, Woodring as modified by CHEE disclose all the limitations of claim 1. Woodring as modified by CHEE does not explicitly disclose nor limit loader card. Gadgil teaches in the same field of endeavor of transponder systems. Gadgil discloses wherein, a loader card enables flight software to operate in association with the first mode or the second mode, and the loader card enables the flight software to operate in a civil mode, or operate in the civil mode and a military mode (“the technician or other user may insert a physical memory loader card that includes software and configuration data for the new LRU” [0003]).
Gadgil teaches in the same field of endeavor of transponder systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Woodring as modified by CHEE with the teachings of Gadgil to incorporate the features of a loader card so as to gain the advantage of improving software configuration [0006, Gadgil]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 14, Woodring as modified by CHEE disclose all the limitations of claim 8. Woodring as modified by CHEE does not explicitly disclose nor limit loader card. Gadgil teaches in the same field of endeavor of transponder systems. Gadgil discloses wherein, a loader card enables flight software to operate in association with the first mode or the second mode (“the technician or other user may insert a physical memory loader card that includes software and configuration data for the new LRU” [0003]).
Gadgil teaches in the same field of endeavor of transponder systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Woodring as modified by CHEE with the teachings of Gadgil to incorporate the features of a loader card so as to gain the advantage of improving software configuration [0006, Gadgil]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 20, Woodring as modified by CHEE disclose all the limitations of claim 15. Woodring as modified by CHEE does not explicitly disclose nor limit loader card. Gadgil teaches in the same field of endeavor of transponder systems. Gadgil discloses wherein, a loader card enables flight software to operate in a civil mode, or operate in the civil mode and a military mode (“the technician or other user may insert a physical memory loader card that includes software and configuration data for the new LRU” [0003]).
Gadgil teaches in the same field of endeavor of transponder systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Woodring as modified by CHEE with the teachings of Gadgil to incorporate the features of a loader card so as to gain the advantage of improving software configuration [0006, Gadgil]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
For applicant’s benefit portions of the cited reference(s) have been cited to aid in the review of the rejection(s). While every attempt has been made to be thorough and consistent within the rejection it is noted that the PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS. See MPEP 2141.02 VI.
Documents Considered but not Relied Upon
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to the applicant’s Disclosure.
Troxel(US20190113617A1) is considered analogous art to the instant application as it discloses in [0005] “The system can also include a first mode-S transponder function in wired connection to the directional antenna. The system can further include a second mode-S transponder function in wired connection to the directional antenna, wherein the first mode-S transponder function is independent from the second mode-S transponder function.”
Conclusion
/C.P.R./Examiner, Art Unit 3646
/JACK W KEITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3646