Claim Interpretation
During patent examination, pending claims must be “given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification.” MPEP 2111; See also, MPEP 2173.02. Limitations appearing in the specification but not recited in the claim are not read into the claim. In re Prater, 415 F.2d 1393, 1404-05, 162 USPQ 541, 550-551 (CCPA 1969). See also, In re Zletz, 893 F.2d 319, 321-22, 13 USPQ2d 1320, 1322 (Fed. Cir. 1989) (“During patent examination the pending claims must be interpreted as broadly as their terms reasonably allow”). The reason is simply that during patent prosecution when claims can be amended, ambiguities should be recognized, scope and breadth of language explored, and clarification imposed. An essential purpose of patent examination is to fashion claims that are precise, clear, correct, and unambiguous. Only in this way can uncertainties of claim scope be removed, as much as possible, during the administrative process.
The Examiner respectfully requests of the Applicant in preparing responses, to consider fully the entirety of the reference(s) as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention. It is noted, REFERENCES ARE RELEVANT AS PRIOR ART FOR ALL THEY CONTAIN.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “the controller is capable of setting/making…”, “set whether or not to display…” in claims 1, and 14.
Paragraph 14: The controller 100 achieves various functions by reading and executing various programs stored in the storage 160. For example, the controller 100 is configured of one or more arithmetic devices (central processing units (CPUs)) and the like. The controller 100 may also be configured as a system on a chip (SoC) having a plurality of functions among those described below.
Paragraph 20: The user authentication function setter 108 sets whether to enable or disable the user authentication function (login processing). For example, the user authentication function setter 108 displays, on the displayer 140, a screen for accepting an operation of enabling or disabling the user authentication function according to a user operation, and enables or disables the user authentication function according to a user operation. Also see fig. 2, setter 108 under controller 100.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication Number U.S. 20190004751 A1 to Ikeda.
With regards to claim 1, Ikeda discloses:
1. An image forming apparatus comprising (see, detailed description, including, Fig. 2, image processing apparatus 100) a display (see, detailed description, including, summary, para. 0004), a communicator for communicating with an external device and one or more controllers, wherein the one or more controllers:
set whether or not to display, on the display, an information screen to display, after the image forming apparatus is activated (see, detailed description, including, the setting to display, in response to the login to the image processing apparatus, the content registered by the registration unit, processing of displaying the content registered by the registration unit on the display unit in accordance with a user login, para.0004), the information screen being aggregating and displaying information regarding the image forming apparatus;
display the information screen on the display after the image forming apparatus is activated, in case that it is set to display the information screen on the displayer after the image forming apparatus is activated (see, detailed description, as above, and including, the setting to display, in response to the login to the image processing apparatus, the content registered by the registration unit, processing of displaying the content registered by the registration unit on the display unit in accordance with a user login, para.0004); and
display, on the information screen, information regarding communication via the communicator as the information regarding the image forming apparatus (see, detailed description, including, display setting of the authentication screen is set to display the authentication screen at the time of selecting a function, para. 0018).
With regards to claim 5, Ikeda discloses:
5. The image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the one or more controllers display a setting value of at least a part of information regarding the communication in such a way that the setting value is changeable (see, Fig. 8A, and detailed description, including, a flow of screens displayed in a case where a display setting of a signage application 300 is set to OFF, para. 0016).
With regards to claim 6, Ikeda discloses:
6. The image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the one or more controllers:
set whether to enable or disable a user authentication function (see, as above, and a flow of screens displayed in a case where a display setting of a signage application 300 is set to OFF, para. 0016); and
display a setting value of at least a part of information regarding the communication in such a way that the setting value is changeable, in case that it is set to enable the user authentication function, and after a user authentication is performed (see, Fig. 8C, and detailed description, including, the display setting of the authentication screen is set to display the authentication screen at the time of selecting a function, and FIG. 8C illustrates a flow of screens displayed in a case where the display setting of the signage application is set to OFF and a user authentication function is set to OFF, para. 0016).
With regards to claim 7, Ikeda discloses:
7. The image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the one or more controllers display, on the information screen, information regarding an IP address of the image forming apparatus as the information regarding the communication (see, detailed description, including, application 300 is an embedded software program installed in the image processing apparatus 100. The signage application 300 includes an external communication unit 301, a web content display unit 302, a display control unit 303, a content setting unit 304, a content management unit 305, a content setting management table 306, and an event reception unit 307, para. 0039).
With regards to claim 8, Ikeda discloses:
8. The image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the one or more controllers:
set whether to enable or disable a user authentication function (see, Fig. 10A, and detailed description, including, a flow of screens displayed in a case where the display setting of the signage application is set to ON, the display setting of the authentication screen is set to display the authentication screen at the time of starting an operation, and a web content is to be displayed after a login, para. 0018); and
display information regarding an IP address on the information screen in case that it is set to enable the user authentication function, and after a user authentication is performed (see, Fig. 10C, and detailed description, including, the display setting of the authentication screen is set to display the authentication screen at the time of starting an operation, and a web content is to be displayed after auto-clear processing, FIG. 10C illustrates a flow of screens displayed in a case where the display setting of the signage application is set to ON and the display setting of the authentication screen is set to display the authentication screen at the time of selecting a function, para.0018).
With regards to claim 9, Ikeda discloses:
9. The image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein one or more controllers:
set whether to enable or disable a user authentication function (see, detailed description, including, many image processing apparatuses include a user authentication function to limit the use of the image processing apparatuses to limited users. When the user authentication function of an image processing apparatus is ON, para. 0021); and
in case that: it is set to enable the user authentication function; and it is set to display the information screen on the display after the image forming apparatus is activated (see, detailed description, including, first inputs a user identification (ID) and a password of the user via an authentication screen, and if the user authentication and login are successfully completed, para. 0021),
display the information screen before a user authentication is performed, and display a user authentication screen based on a user operation (see, detailed description, including, On the other hand, when the user authentication function is OFF, an authentication screen is not displayed, and the user can use the various functions of the image processing apparatus without user authentication and login, para. 0021), and
display a predetermined screen that is predetermined as an initial screen after the user authentication is performed (see, detailed description, including, t On the other hand, when the user authentication function is OFF, an authentication screen is not displayed, and the user can use the various functions of the image processing apparatus without user authentication and login. In this way, the change of the screen to be displayed is changed depending on whether the user authentication function is ON or OFF, and appropriate timings for operating as signage also change. This also applies to not only the case of ON/OFF of the user authentication function but also cases where the user authentication function is ON but the timing to display the authentication screen differs, para. 0021).
With regard to claim 10, Ikeda discloses:
10. The image forming apparatus according to claim 9, wherein the one or more controllers display the information screen as the predetermined screen (see, as above, and In this way, the change of the screen to be displayed is changed depending on whether the user authentication function is ON or OFF, and appropriate timings for operating as signage also change. This also applies to not only the case of ON/OFF of the user authentication function but also cases where the user authentication function is ON but the timing to display the authentication screen differs, para. 0021).
With regards to claim 11, Ikeda discloses:
11. The image forming apparatus according to claim 9, wherein the one or more controllers display a screen different from the information screen as the predetermined screen (see, detailed description, including, The CPU 201 can set the content display timing to the timing at which a login event occurs or the timing at which an auto-clear event occurs. Further, the CPU 201 controls the processing of displaying a content at set timings, para. 0140).
With regards to claim 12, Ikeda discloses:
12. The image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the one or more controllers display, as the information regarding the image forming apparatus, notification information to a user on the information screen (see, Fig. 3, and detailed description, including, The authentication processing unit 308 displays the authentication screen on the operation unit 209 and the client PC 102 and performs user authentication using user-input authentication information such as a user ID and a password, para. 0079).
With regards to claim 13, Ikeda discloses:
13. The image forming apparatus according to claim 12, wherein the notification information includes version information regarding a software of the image forming apparatus (see, detailed description, including, web-based Distributed Authoring and Versioning (web DAV), para. 0039).
With regard to claim 14, claim 14 (a method claim) recites substantially similar limitations to claim 1 (an apparatus claim) and is therefore rejected using the same art and rationale set forth above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikeda in view of .U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2018/0220018 A1 to Shinosaki.
2. The image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the one or more controllers display, on the information screen, setting information for each paper feed tray as the information regarding the image forming apparatus.
With regards to claim 2, Ikeda fails to explicitly disclose:
wherein the one or more controllers display, on the information screen, setting information for each paper feed tray as the information regarding the image forming apparatus.
Shinosaki discloses:
wherein the one or more controllers display, on the information screen, setting information for each paper feed tray as the information regarding the image forming apparatus (see, Fig. 4, and the conditions for screen 4A, detailed description, including, The sheet region 4A2 indicates candidates for the supply source of sheets onto which the image is to be printed (copied). To be specific, the sheet region 4A2 contains select buttons 4A21-4A26. The select buttons 4A21-4A24 correspond to the first through fourth paper feed trays from the top of the printing unit 10m, respectively, para. 0056).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the time the invention was filed, and having the teachings of Ikeda with Shinosaki before her, to be motivated to combine the features from Shinosaki, with Ikeda, including, one or more controllers display, on the information screen, setting information for each paper feed tray as the information regarding the image forming apparatus (see, Fig. 4, and the conditions for screen 4A, detailed description, including, The sheet region 4A2 indicates candidates for the supply source of sheets onto which the image is to be printed (copied). To be specific, the sheet region 4A2 contains select buttons 4A21-4A26. The select buttons 4A21-4A24 correspond to the first through fourth paper feed trays from the top of the printing unit 10m, respectively, para. 0056).
Therefore, a rationale to support a conclusion that a claim would have been obvious is that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art1.
With regards to claim 3, Ikeda fails to explicitly disclose:
3. The image forming apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the setting information for each paper feed tray includes at least one of a paper size, a paper type and a paper remaining amount.
Shinosaki discloses:
the setting information for each paper feed tray includes at least one of a paper size, a paper type and a paper remaining amount (see, detailed description, including, the select button 4A26 is to allow the image forming apparatus 1 to automatically select a paper feed tray from which a paper sheet is to be supplied depending on the size of a document sheet or the like, para. 0056).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the time the invention was filed, and having the teachings of Ikeda with Shinosaki before her, to be motivated to combine the features from Shinosaki, with Ikeda, including, the setting information for each paper feed tray includes at least one of a paper size, a paper type and a paper remaining amount (see, detailed description, including, the select button 4A26 is to allow the image forming apparatus 1 to automatically select a paper feed tray from which a paper sheet is to be supplied depending on the size of a document sheet or the like, para. 0056).
Therefore, a rationale to support a conclusion that a claim would have been obvious is that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art2.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikeda in view of .U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20200412901 A1 to Watanabe.
With regards to claim 4, Ikeda fails to explicitly disclose:
wherein the one or more controllers display, on the information screen, information regarding a toner remaining amount of the image forming apparatus as the information regarding the image forming apparatus.
Watanabe discloses:
the one or more controllers display, on the information screen, information regarding a toner remaining amount of the image forming apparatus as the information regarding the image forming apparatus (see, detailed description, including, an information processing system in a thirteenth embodiment is described. The thirteenth embodiment is an example in which the portable terminal device 4 acquires device use information such as a toner remaining amount or an error history from the MFP 9, para. 0133).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the time the invention was filed, and having the teachings of Ikeda with Watanabe before her, to be motivated to combine the features from Watanabe, with Ikeda, including, an information processing system in a thirteenth embodiment is described. The thirteenth embodiment is an example in which the portable terminal device 4 acquires device use information such as a toner remaining amount or an error history from the MFP 9, para. 0133).
Therefore, a rationale to support a conclusion that a claim would have been obvious is that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art3.
A sampling of the prior art made of record and not relied upon and considered pertinent to Applicants' disclosure includes: U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0098232 A1 to Sato that discusses, a first receiving unit for receiving user information selected from a screen. A second receiving unit receives user information from an external apparatus through a network. An execution unit executes a login process based on user information received by the first or second receiving unit. A determination unit determines whether a password is set in the user information. A control unit restricts the login process based on the user information that is received by the second receiving unit, and determines that a password is not set.
Conclusion
WILLIAM D. TITCOMB
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2178
/WILLIAM D TITCOMB/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2178 10-14-2026
1 1 KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 82 U.S.P.Q.2d 1385 (2007).
2 1 KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 82 U.S.P.Q.2d 1385 (2007).
3 1 KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 82 U.S.P.Q.2d 1385 (2007).