DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an application filed on 11/14/2024.
Claims 1-20 are pending for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The Examiner contends that the drawings submitted on 11/14/2024 are acceptable for examination proceedings.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1- 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over White et al. (US 20200053018 A1), hereinafter “White”; and in further view of IETF “RFC 9331: The Explicit Congestion Notification (ECN) Protocol for Low Latency, Low Loss, and Scalable Throughput”, hereinafter “IETF”.
Regarding claim 1, White teaches A method comprising:
determining, by a client device [White: Fig 2a, Par. 53], that a flow is a Low Latency, Low Loss, Scalable Throughout (L4S) flow [Fig. 5; Par. 85- 91 teaches of receiving low latency upstream service flow];
communicating that the flow is L4S using element[Fig. 3; Par. 57- 76 teaches classification module classified L4S flow using divides classic priority into sub-flow having different classic] ; and using, by an Access Point (AP), the enhanced TCLAS element to schedule the flow [Fig. 4,9B; Par. 57- 73 teaches scheduler schedule the flow using classifiers]
However, White does not teach communicating that the flow is L4S using an enhanced Traffic Classification (TCLAS) element.
Nevertheless, IETF, in the similar field of endeavor, teaches communicating that the flow is L4S using an enhanced Traffic Classification (TCLAS) element [ITEF: section 1.3, section 5.4.1.1-1.3 teaches L4S packets are marked with DSCP for classification/ TCLAS element].
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to utilize the teachings of ITEF to use DSCP element. One in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of ITEF in the White system with a motivation to make this modification in order to identify packets with specific indication such as DSCPs (ITEF: section 5.4 Pg. 19).
Regarding claim 2, the combined White in view of ITEF teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. White in view of ITEF further teaches wherein the enhanced TCLAS element comprises an enhance TCLAS classifier Type 1 element [ITEF: section 5. 3 & 5.4.1.1].
Regarding claim 3, the combined White in view of ITEF teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 2. White in view of ITEF further teaches wherein the enhance TCLAS classifier Type 1 element uses a Differentiated Service Code Point (DSCP) field based on at least one of DSCP bits and Explicit Congestion Notification (ECN) bits [ITEF: section 5. 3 & 5.4.1.1].
Regarding claim 4, the combined White in view of ITEF teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 2. White in view of ITEF further teaches wherein the enhance TCLAS classifier Type 1 element uses a reserved field based on Explicit Congestion Notification (ECN) bits [ITEF: section 5. 3 & 5.4.1.1].
Regarding claim 5, the combined White in view of ITEF teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. White in view of ITEF further teaches wherein the enhanced TCLAS element comprises an enhance TCLAS classifier Type 4 element [White: Par. 139-140 teaches ECN field of packet use different IPv4 and IPv6 (TCLAS element type 4 is for IP parameter (see spec. par. 280].
Regarding claim 6, the combined White in view of ITEF teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 5. White in view of ITEF further teaches herein the enhance TCLAS classifier Type 1 element uses a Differentiated Service Code Point (DSCP) field based on at least one of DSCP bits and Explicit Congestion Notification (ECN) bits [White: Par. 139].
Regarding claim 7, the combined White in view of ITEF teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 5. White in view of ITEF further teaches wherein the enhance TCLAS classifier Type 1 element uses a reserved field based on Explicit Congestion Notification (ECN) bits [White: Par. 139].
Regarding claim 8, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 2.
Regarding claim 10, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 3.
Regarding claim 11, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 4.
Regarding claim 12, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 5.
Regarding claim 13, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 6.
Regarding claim 14, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 7.
Regarding claim 15, White A non-transitory computer-readable medium that stores a set of instructions which when executed perform a method executed by the set of instructions comprising [White: Fig 2a, Par. 53, 206], determining, by a client device, that a flow is a Low Latency, Low Loss, Scalable Throughout (L4S) flow [Fig. 5; Par. 85- 91 teaches of receiving low latency upstream service flow];
communicating that the flow is L4S using element[Fig. 3; Par. 57- 76 teaches classification module classified L4S flow using divides classic priority into sub-flow having different classic] ; and using, by an Access Point (AP), the enhanced TCLAS element to schedule the flow [Fig. 4,9B; Par. 57- 73 teaches scheduler schedule the flow using classifiers]
However, White does not teach communicating that the flow is L4S using an enhanced Traffic Classification (TCLAS) element.
Nevertheless, IETF, in the similar field of endeavor, teaches communicating that the flow is L4S using an enhanced Traffic Classification (TCLAS) element [ITEF: section 1.3, section 5.4.1.1-1.3 teaches L4S packets are marked with DSCP for classification/ TCLAS element].
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to utilize the teachings of ITEF to use DSCP element. One in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of ITEF in the White system with a motivation to make this modification in order to identify packets with specific indication such as DSCPs (ITEF: section 5.4 Pg. 19).
Regarding claim 16, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 2.
Regarding claim 17, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 3.
Regarding claim 18, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 4.
Regarding claim 19, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 5.
Regarding claim 20, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 6.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record (see attached PTO-892) and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/KYAW Z SOE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412