DETAILED ACTION
A complete action on the merits of pending claims 25-44 appears below.
Claim Objections
Claim 25 and 35 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 25 and 35 recite “the touch sensor configured to sense tissue contact at at least one touch location”. One of the ats should be deleted.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 25-29, 31, 32, 34-41, 43, and 44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Houser US 20120116266.
Regarding claims 25, 35, and 39, Wiener teaches comprising: an electrosurgical generator configured to output electrosurgical energy; an electrosurgical instrument configured to deliver the electrosurgical energy to tissue, the electrosurgical instrument comprising: an end effector assembly, comprising: a first jaw member with a first surface; and a second jaw member with a second surface, with at least one of the first jaw member or the second jaw member movable about a pivot for grasping the tissue between the first surface and the second surface (Figs. 21 and 22); a touch sensor disposed on one of the first jaw member or the second jaw member, the touch sensor configured to sense tissue contact at least one touch location (par. [0182] and Fig. 22 pressure sensor to determine the tissue location along the jaws); and an angle sensor configured to sense an angle about the pivot between the first surface and the second surface (par. [0222] aperture defined by pivot angle sensed by a potentiometer, a Hall effect sensor, an optical encoder, an optical IR sensor, or an inductance sensor); and a controller communicatively coupled to the touch sensor and the angle sensor and having a processor and a memory, with the controller configured to: estimate a size property of the grasped tissue based on the at least one touch location and the angle (par. [0220] using tissue size to determine energy modalities); and controllably operate the electrosurgical generator to deliver the electrosurgical energy based on the size property (par. [0149] control the device based on sensed parameters).
Regarding claim 26, Wiener teaches wherein the size property comprises at least one of a thickness of the grasped tissue, a cross-sectional area of the grasped tissue, or a mass of the grasped tissue (par. [0186] sensing tissue thickness and density).
Regarding claims 27 and 44, Wiener teaches wherein the controller is further configured to estimate a change in the size property during delivery of electrosurgical energy to the grasped tissue, and to controllably operate the electrosurgical generator based on the change in the size property (par. [0233] comparing aperture values to determine if the tissue has shrunk and apply ultrasonic or RF energy based upon the size).
Regarding claims 28, 36, and 40, Wiener teaches wherein the at least one touch location comprises a proximal touch location and a distal touch location, with the proximal touch location and the distal touch location defining a span region of the grasped tissue along the corresponding one of the first surface or the second surface (Fig. 22 regions 1-5 determining where the tissue is within the jaw).
Regarding claims 29, 37, and 41, Weiner teaches wherein the controller is further configured to: determine a first distance between the pivot and the proximal touch location; determine a second distance between the pivot and the distal touch location (par. [0181] location of the tissue within the jaws based upon the segments); and estimate the size property based on the first distance, the second distance, and the angle (par. [0182] thickens of tissue in the segment locations).
Regarding claims 31, 38, and 43, Weiner teaches wherein the controller is further configured to output at least one feedback indicative of at least one of: the size property of the grasped tissue, the grasped tissue being suitable for tissue sealing, or the grasped tissue being unsuitable for tissue sealing (par. [0233] comparing aperture values for tissue size to determine if RF energy can be applied).
Regarding claim 32, wherein the at least one feedback comprises at least one of an illuminated light source or an audio alert (par. [0149] audio and visual feedback for the user).
Regarding claim 34, Wiener teaches wherein the controller is located within the electrosurgical generator (par. [0113] input unit and processing happen on/in the generator).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 30 and 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weiner in view of Rupp US 20120136354.
Regarding claims 30 and 42, Wiener does not explicitly teach wherein the controller is further configured to: estimate a cross-sectional area of the grasped tissue based on the first distance, the second distance, and the angle; and estimate a mass of the grasped tissue by multiplying the cross-sectional area, a width of the first or second jaw member, and a density of the grasped tissue. However, Wiener teaches determining the tissue thickness and density (par. [0186]).
Rupp, in an analogous device, teaches where the mass of the tissue is predicted for the procedure (par. [0046]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the device of Weiner to determine the mass of the tissue, as in Rupp. Determining the mass allows for a better estimation of total energy needed to complete an ablation procedure (par. [0046]). Multiplying the cross-sectional area, a width of the first or second jaw member, and a density of the grasped tissue is the mathematical equation for determining mass: mass=volume*density.
Claim 33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weiner in view of Houser US 20120116266.
Regarding claim 33, Wiener teaches wherein the controller is located within the electrosurgical instrument.
Houser, in an analogous device, teaches the controller can be within the housing of the instrument (par. [0046]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to substitute the location of the controller of Weiner in the generator with the location in the handle, as in Houser. It is seen to perform equally as well and would yield the predictable result of controlling the energy of the device.
Conclusion
/R.T.C./Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/THOMAS A GIULIANI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794