DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-12, in the reply filed on 8/19/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 13-22 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 8/19/26.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “pyrolysis generator” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 4-5, in claim 4, the recitation “the frame part” has unclear antecedent basis in the claims
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jung (KR100715694 with ref made to Abstract provided by applicant on 11/18/25 and Espacenet Machine Translation of KR100715694 Obtained 2 September 2026).
Regarding claim 1, Jung teaches a pyrolysis system for waste (title, abstract), comprising a pyrolysis chamber 140 that provides a sealed internal space suitable to host introduced waste in layers; a pyrolysis member 140 provided on a lower side of the pyrolysis chamber and contacting a lower part of the layered waste to pyrolyze the waste, wherein the pyrolysis member is suitable to be heated by hot air supplied from fan 141 and tank 145 from the outside, suitable to melt and pyrolyze the waste that comes in contact with the pyrolysis member. Furthermore, this pyrolysis member 140 comprises (see configuration of fig. 6) a frame part formed by conduits 143/146 to block a lower part of the internal space of the pyrolysis chamber, on which the waste suitable to be layered; and discharge holes formed in the frame part between conduits 143/146 so that the residues generated during the pyrolysis of the waste can accumulate on the lower side of the pyrolysis member. Pipes 148a/148b are also suitable to transport hot air in the pyrolysis member. Hence this frame part is formed in a hollow shape and therefore suitable to allow the hot air to be introduced and circulated inside; an exhaust pipe 130 provided on one side of the pyrolysis chamber suitable to discharge combustible gas generated during the pyrolysis of the waste; and a residue discharge section 150 provided on a lower side of the pyrolysis member suitable to discharge residues remaining after the pyrolysis of the waste (see Figs 5-6, P6:last line - P8:last line).
Regarding claims 2-3, in Jung, as set forth above, the details of the frame as set forth above are taught as claimed.
Regarding claim 10, in Jung, as set forth above, the pyrolysis generator is at a predetermined distance from the bottom of the system (see Fig 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung (KR100715694 with ref made to Abstract provided by applicant on 11/18/25 and Espacenet Machine Translation of KR100715694 Obtained 2 September 2026).
Regarding claims 4-5, Jung teaches all limitations as set forth above, however does not teach the pair of distribution pipes header being an arc shape, because the distribution pipe 145 is a line (See Jung Fig 6), however changes in shape and size would be routine constructional design choice to one having ordinary skill in the art and would have the expected result of distributing air while advantageously changing the footprint of the unit to be more compact, see MPEP 2144.04 (IV).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung (KR100715694 with ref made to Abstract provided by applicant on 11/18/25 and Espacenet Machine Translation of KR100715694 Obtained 2 September 2026) as applied above and further in combination with Komori et al (JP2010270988 with ref made to Abstract provided by applicant on 11/14/24 and Espacenet Machine Translation of JP2010270988 Obtained 2 September 2026).
Regarding claims 6, Jung teaches all limitations as set forth above, including the first heater is the air distribution piping system as set forth above, however Jung does not teach second heater as claimed.
Komori teaches cylindrical combustion device for a solid fuel (title, abstract), Komori teaches the system comprises primary gas combustion space 5 in combustion unit 3 that is ignited by ignition unit 4, and surrounding chamber 3 is air heating space 7 that provides for air heating (see Fig 1-2, [0014,0021-0025,0033]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Jung in view of Komori to include additional surrounding air heating space to provide additional heating and improve efficiency of the system as taught by Komori in the system of Jung.
Claim(s) 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung (KR100715694 with ref made to Abstract provided by applicant on 11/18/25 and Espacenet Machine Translation of KR100715694 Obtained 2 September 2026) as applied above and further in combination with Jung ‘716 (KR 20110100716 with ref made to Abstract provided by applicant on 11/18/25 and Espacenet Machine Translation of KR20110100716 Obtained 2 September 2026).
Regarding claims 7-9, Jung teaches all limitations as set forth above, however Jung does not teach the sealed jacket space with refractory on interior side configured to receive air as claimed.
Jung ‘716 teaches a pyrolysis gas generation system for combustible wastes (title, abstract), Jung ‘716 teaches in the system to include a jacket portion formed of a refractory material and surrounding the exterior of the pyrolysis chamber suitable for a sealed gas circulation space provided between the jacket portion and the exterior e.g. jacket 310 with refractory material 320 on its inner surface surrounding the exterior of the pyrolysis chamber 330 to maintain decomposition temperature (see Fig 4, [0045-0051]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Jung in view of Jung ‘716 in include the exterior jacket isolated space that can be configured to receive air and including interior refractory as taught by Jung ‘716 to maintain decomposition temperature inside the pyrolysis system.
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung (KR100715694 with ref made to Abstract provided by applicant on 11/18/25 and Espacenet Machine Translation of KR100715694 Obtained 2 September 2026) as applied above and further in combination with Matsuoka et al (JP2004115576 with ref made to Abstract provided by applicant on 11/14/24 and Espacenet Machine Translation of JP2004115576 Obtained 2 September 2026).
Regarding claims 11-12, Jung teaches all limitations as set forth above, however Jung does not teach lower door with rotating scraper as claimed to remove solid particles to bin in the manner as claimed.
Matsuoka teaches a dry distillation system for decomposing a solid fuel (title, abstract), Matsuoka teaches the residue discharge section includes a rotating scraper 20, which is connected to a lower door 33 installed at the bottom of the pyrolysis chamber to selectively open or seal the internal space as an air tight structure (fig. 9-12, [0043-0049]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Jung in view of Matsuoka to include lower door with rotating scraper as claimed to remove solid particles to bin in the system of Jung as taught by Matsuoka to provide an efficient way to remove and contain the pyrolysis residue of Jung as taught by Matsuoka, and to select the driving system of the scraper as a magnetic motor would be routine selection of limited number of types of known drive motors for rotating scrapers with the expected result of driving the scraper rotation.
Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Janning (US 4,203,804) teaches pyrolysis system. Green (US 4,341,598) teaches pyrolysis system. Tanaka (US 5,264,196) teaches pyrolysis system. Ershag (US 2006/0163053) teaches a pyrolysis system. Machon (US 11,479,723) teaches a thermal decomposition system. BI (US 2023/0149875) teaches a fluid bed pyrolysis system. Heydenrych (US 2023/0357641) teaches a fluid pyrolysis system.
Conclusion
/JONATHAN MILLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1772