DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of group II, directed to claims 11-14 and 16 in the reply filed on 5 October 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 1-10 and 15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 5 October 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumar et al. US PG-PUB 2025/0137951 A1 (hereafter Kumar) in view of Gu et al. US PG-PUB 2014/0318656 A1 (hereafter Gu).
As to claim 11: Kumar teaches a gas detection system (see fig. 2) comprising:
a sensor system (the sensing device 200, sense element 214, and circuitry 202 as disclosed in ¶ 56 and 57 are together considered to be a sensor system), wherein the sensor system further comprises:
a sensor housing (not labeled but see ¶ 56 regarding the disclosed housing);
a baffle (not labeled but see ¶ 56 regarding the disclosed baffle), wherein the baffle further comprises:
a base (not labeled but the baffle disclosed in ¶ 56 must necessarily have a surface that carries out the disclosed function of directing air and this surface may be considered to be a base);
a signal conditioning and data output unit (202; see ¶ 57 and 58);
a thermal conductivity sensor (214; see fig. 2 and ¶ 56) located on the signal conditioning and data output unit (see fig. 2);
a controller unit (not labeled but see ¶ 45 which notes that the circuitry, such as circuitry 202, includes a processor considered to be a controller unit); and
a computing device, wherein the controller unit and the computing device are in digital communication (see ¶ 50).
Kumar does not explicitly teach:
the sensor housing comprising a top housing and a bottom housing;
a nozzle, wherein the nozzle extends outwardly from the top housing;
the baffle further comprising a set of fluid diverters extending upwardly from the base into the nozzle; and
wherein a gap is formed between the base of the baffle and the top housing, and the base of the baffle and the signal conditioning and data output unit.
However, Gu teaches:
a sensor housing comprising a top housing and a bottom housing (see ¶ 8; the system depicted in fig. 1 necessarily contains a top portion and a bottom portion, at least embodied by the exterior that is vertically highest and lowest as depicted in the figure);
a nozzle (the interior portions of the housing depicted above the baffle 109 but below diaphragm 101), wherein the nozzle extends outwardly from the top housing (each of the depicted nozzle portions of the housing below the diaphragm 101 and above the baffle extend outward from the top portion of the housing that contacts the diaphragm 101)
a baffle (109; see fig. 1 and ¶ 42) that comprises a set of fluid diverters (not labeled but see fig. 1 regarding the multiple flow diverters) extending upwardly from a base (the lower portion of the device depicted in fig. 1); and
wherein a gap is formed between the base of the baffle and the top housing (the space interior to the device depicted in fig. 1 and between the exterior surface of the sensing device at element 107 and the baffle 109).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kumar such that the sensor housing comprises a top housing and a bottom housing; and a nozzle, wherein the nozzle extends outwardly from the top housing; the baffle further comprising a set of fluid diverters extending upwardly from the base into the nozzle; and wherein a gap is formed between the base of the baffle and the top housing, and the base of the baffle and the signal conditioning and data output unit because such a construction can control gas flowing within a device or system such that it may be directed to a specific inlet or outlet, such as suggested in ¶ 42 of Kumar, and would thus be useful if Kumar were to use inlets or outlets that required placement in specific geometries or directions in order to be accessible.
As to claim 12: Kumar as modified by Gu teaches the gas detection system of claim 11 further comprising a connection port located and connected below the bottom housing (117 of Gu; see fig. 1 and ¶ 42).
As to claim 13: Kumar as modified by Gu teaches the gas detection system of claim 11 further comprising a connection unit to connect the sensor system (the sensing device 200, sense element 214, and circuitry 202 of Kumar as disclosed in ¶ 56 and 57 are together considered to be a sensor system) to the controller unit (not labeled but see Kumar ¶ 45 which notes that the circuitry, such as circuitry 202, includes a processor considered to be a controller unit - the processor necessarily has electronics that connects the controller to the sensing components as depicted in fig. 2 and taught in ¶ 51 and 52).
As to claim 14: Kumar as modified by Gu teaches the gas detection system of claim 11, wherein a portion of a gaseous mixture (the ambient environment in which the device of Kumar as modified by Gu is disposed, such as air containing nitrogen, oxygen, and other gases) is redirected into through the nozzle into the top housing by the fluid diverts of the baffle (see Gu fig. 1 and ¶ 42).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 16 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claim 16: The prior art of record does not disclose or render obvious to the skilled artisan a method of detecting a concentration of a gas utilizing the gas concentration system of claim 11 comprising the steps of comparing the thermal conductivity level of the gaseous mixture to a set of calibration values and (emphasis added) calculating an individual gas concentration by matching the thermal conductivity level of the gaseous mixture to the set of calibration values, when considered in combination with the limitations of parent claim 11.
Conclusion
/JOHN M ROYSTON/Examiner, Art Unit 2855