Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-7, 9-11, 13 and 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Di Censo et al. (US 11447010 B2).
Regarding Claim 1, Di Censo teaches a recreational vehicle comprising: a chassis (Fig. 2 vehicle 104); an occupant seating area supported by the chassis, the occupant seating area (Shown in Fig. 3) including: a first row of seating having a seat back (Fig. 1 element 2); and a second row of seating behind the first row of seating; a battery (“The power supply 110 may be a vehicle electrical system accessed through an outlet, such as a cigarette lighter supplying 12V, a vehicle battery of an electric vehicle, and/or another suitable battery dedicated to providing power to the infotainment system 100. In embodiments, an electrical connection to a powered seat may provide the power supply 110” Col. 3 lines 13-19); a housing coupled to the seat back (Fig. 1 element 108); and a plurality of electronics (Fig. 2 element 100) powered by the battery, the plurality of electronics supported by the housing such that the plurality of electronics are accessible by an occupant in the second row of seating (Shown in Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 2, Di Censo teaches the limitations set forth in Claim 1 and further discloses the plurality of electronics include a display configured to provide a visual output to the occupant in the second row of seating (Fig. 1 element 112).
Regarding Claim 3, Di Censo teaches the limitations set forth in Claim 1 and further discloses the housing includes a mount positioned along a top edge of the housing, the mount configured to support the display (Fig. 4 element 122).
Regarding Claim 6, Di Censo teaches the limitations set forth in Claim 1 and further discloses the first row of seating includes a support member configured to support the seat back and the housing (Fig. 1 element 106).
Regarding Claim 7, Di Censo teaches the limitations set forth in Claim 6 and further discloses wiring electrically coupling the plurality of electronics to the battery, and wherein the support member is configured to receive a portion of the wiring to guide the wiring between the plurality of electronics and the battery (“The power supply 110 may be a vehicle electrical system accessed through an outlet, such as a cigarette lighter supplying 12V, a vehicle battery of an electric vehicle, and/or another suitable battery dedicated to providing power to the infotainment system 100. In embodiments, an electrical connection to a powered seat may provide the power supply 110” Col. 3 lines 13-19).
Regarding Claim 9, Di Censo teaches the limitations set forth in Claim 7 and further discloses the support member is integrally formed with the housing (Shown in Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 10, Di Censo teaches the limitations set forth in Claim 1 and further discloses the plurality of electronics include a speaker configured to provide an audio output to the occupant (Fig. 1 elements 116).
Regarding Claim 11, Di Censo teaches the limitations set forth in Claim 1 and further discloses the plurality of electronics include a fan configured to direct airflow at the occupant (“Examples also include a ventilation subsystem 162 comprising ventilation elements including one or more fans 164 and one or more cooling/heating elements 166 for directing climate-controlled air towards a passenger” Col. 6 lines 25-29).
Regarding Claim 13, Di Censo teaches the limitations set forth in Claim 1 and further discloses the plurality of electronics includes a charging port or a wireless charging interface (“In exemplary embodiments, the charging module(s) 156 may be wireless and charge the personal mobile device(s) 146 through the passenger side 130 of the panel 126. Wired and wireless charging connections may both be included in the same embodiment of the infotainment system 100” Col. 5 lines 45-50).
Regarding Claim 15, Di Censo teaches the limitations set forth in Claim 1 and further discloses a deployable tray coupled to the housing, and wherein the plurality of electronics include a wireless charger disposed along the deployable tray (Fig. 1 elements 154/156; “the charging module(s) 156 may be wireless and charge the personal mobile device(s) 146 through the passenger side 130 of the panel 126” Col. 5 lines 45-48).
Regarding Claim 16, Di Censo teaches the limitations set forth in Claim 1 and further discloses a third row of seating positioned behind the second row of seating, the third row of seating being a rearmost row of seating, the third row of seating supporting at least one of a camera or rear-facing display (“A passenger side 130 of the panel 126 is disposed opposite the rear side 128 of the panel 126 and is configured to generally face a passenger when the passenger is seated comfortably in another vehicle seat (e.g., a rear passenger seat, a second-row seat, a third-row seat, a rear van seat, and/or another suitable vehicle seat disposed behind a front row, behind a driver seat, or further toward the rear of a vehicle) Col. 3 lines 30-37).
Regarding Claim 17, Di Censo teaches the limitations set forth in Claim 1 and further discloses a sensor configured to monitor a location of the recreational vehicle, wherein the plurality of electronics include a display configured to provide a visual output to the occupant in the second row of seating, and wherein the visual output is indicative of the location of the recreational vehicle (“the one or more microprocessors 150 may include the one or more communication/connectivity modules for transmitting and receiving commands and information with vehicle-level systems, with the personal mobile device(s) 146, with remote servers, and/or with other systems supporting delivery of an infotainment service (e.g., banking institutions, navigation/GPS servers/satellites, etc.)” Col. 4 line 64- Col. 5 line 4).
Regarding Claim 18, Di Censo teaches the limitations set forth in Claim 1 and further discloses the recreational vehicle is configured as a golf cart, an all-terrain vehicle, a utility task vehicle, a low speed vehicle, or a personal transport vehicle (“The vehicle 104 may be an automobile powered by an internal combustion engine, an electric vehicle, a train, an airplane, a bus, a boat/ship, or other suitable vehicle” Col. 2 lines 51-54).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Di Censo et al. (US 11447010 B2).
Regarding Claim 20, Di Censo teaches a recreational vehicle comprising: a chassis (Fig. 2 vehicle 104); an occupant seating area supported by the chassis, the occupant seating area (Shown in Fig. 3) including: a first row of seating having a seat back (Fig. 1 element 2); and a second row seating behind the first row seating; a battery (“The power supply 110 may be a vehicle electrical system accessed through an outlet, such as a cigarette lighter supplying 12V, a vehicle battery of an electric vehicle, and/or another suitable battery dedicated to providing power to the infotainment system 100. In embodiments, an electrical connection to a powered seat may provide the power supply 110” Col. 3 lines 13-19); a housing coupled to the seat back (Fig. 1 element 108); and a plurality of electronics (Fig. 2 element 100) powered by the battery, the plurality of electronics supported by the housing such that the plurality of electronics are accessible by an occupant in the second row of seating (Shown in Fig. 3), the plurality of electronics including: a display configured to provide a visual output to the occupant in the second row of seating (Fig. 1 element 112); a speaker configured to provide an audio output to the occupant (Fig. 1 elements 116); a fan configured to direct airflow at the occupant (“Examples also include a ventilation subsystem 162 comprising ventilation elements including one or more fans 164 and one or more cooling/heating elements 166 for directing climate-controlled air towards a passenger” Col. 6 lines 25-29); and a charging port or a wireless charging interface (“In exemplary embodiments, the charging module(s) 156 may be wireless and charge the personal mobile device(s) 146 through the passenger side 130 of the panel 126. Wired and wireless charging connections may both be included in the same embodiment of the infotainment system 100” Col. 5 lines 45-50).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Di Censo et al. (US 11447010 B2) in view of Hanlon et al. (US 20090089841 A1).
Regarding Claim 4, Di Censo teaches the limitations set forth in Claim 1.
Di Censo fails to explicitly teach the mount is movable between a retracted position and a deployed position, wherein, in the retracted position, the display is disposed within a cavity between the housing and the seat back, and, in the deployed position, the display is visible by the occupant in the second row of seating.
However, Hanlon teaches the mount is movable between a retracted position and a deployed position, wherein, in the retracted position, the display is disposed within a cavity between the housing and the seat back, and, in the deployed position, the display is visible by the occupant in the second row of seating (Shown in transition between Figs. 2-3).
Di Censo and Hanlon are considered analogous to the claimed invention as they are in the same field of vehicle rear seat infotainment systems. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the display of Di Censo to be retractable/deployable as disclosed by Hanlon. Doing so would allow the user to hide the display if there is no intention of using the display. This would also provide increased protection to the display when not in use.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Di Censo et al. (US 11447010 B2) in view of Hanlon et al. (US 20090089841 A1).
Regarding Claim 5, Di Censo teaches the limitations set forth in Claim 3.
Di Censo fails to explicitly teach the display is selectively removable from the mount.
However, Hanlon teaches the display is selectively removable from the mount (Removable via pivotable connection 34).
Di Censo and Hanlon are considered analogous to the claimed invention as they are in the same field of vehicle rear seat infotainment systems. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the display of Di Censo to be removable as disclosed by Hanlon. Doing so would allow for the display to be repaired or replaced without having to replace the entire system.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 12 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding Claim 19, there is no prior art nor any reasons to modify any prior art to have a support member extending from the seat bottom and configured to support the seat back; and a pedestal configured to support the seat bottom, a battery disposed within the pedestal; and wiring extending from the battery, through the pedestal, into the support member, and into a cavity between the seat back and the housing to power the plurality of electronics. The limitations stated along with the other limitations of the independent claim give reason for allowance.
Conclusion
/E.A./Examiner, Art Unit 3644
/Nicholas McFall/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3644