DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Request for continued Examination, filed on 05/11/2026, has been entered and acknowledged by the Examiner. In the Amendment, applicant amended claims 1, 9, , 17, 21, 25 and 29 . As necessitated by the Amendment, Examiner hereby respectfully maintains 35 U.S.C § 101 rejections to claims 1-32.
As to Arguments and Remarks filed in the Amendment, please see Examiner’s responses shown after Rejections - 35 U.S.C § 103
Please note claims 1-32 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The Claim recites the language of “receiving, by a network device, from an application on a user device, based on a request to access the application, a request for a file of a plurality of files stored in persistent storage of the network device;
sending, to the user device, based on the request for the file, the file to be stored in non-persistent storage of the user device;
receiving, based on a change in a state of the application, an altered file, wherein the altered file is generated based on one or more changes by the application to existing data of the file stored in the non-persistent storage of the user device; and causing the file stored in the persistent storage of the network device to be replaced with the altered file.”
Claim 1 recites the limitation of “receiving, by a network device, from an application on a user device, based on a request to access the application, a request for a file of a plurality of files stored in persistent storage of the network device”, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. For example, “receive” in the context of this claim encompasses the user manually receive an instruction. Similarly, the limitation of sending to the user device, based on the request for the file, the file to be stored in non-persistent storage of the user device, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. For example, but for the “sending” in the context of this claim encompasses the user manually sending/distributing information. Similarly, the limitation of receiving, based on a change in a state of the application, an altered file, wherein the altered file is generated based on one or more changes by the application to existing data of the file stored in the non-persistent storage of the user device, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. For example, but for the “receiving” in the context of this claim encompasses the user manually receiving an instruction. Also similarly, the limitation of causing the file stored in the persistent storage of the network device to be replaced with the altered file, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. For example, “storing an update file” in the context of this claim encompasses the user manually saving information. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in human activity but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “mental processes and/or certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim only recites one additional element – using one or more processors and memory to perform the receiving, sending, storing steps. The apparatus in those steps is recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic system performing a generic computer function of receiving, sending, storing information) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using a processor and memory to receiving, sending, storing steps amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 2 is dependent on independent claim 1 and includes all the limitations of claim 1. Claim 2 recites “request to access the application is based on one or more of: a request for a website or a request to run a HyperText Markup Language (HTML) application”. The claim language provides only further access request which is directed towards the abstract idea and does not amount to significantly more. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements when considered both individually and as an ordered combination do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claim 3 is dependent on independent claim 1 and includes all the limitations of claim 1. Claim 3 recites “wherein the file is configured for use by the application”. The claim language provides only further a file which is directed towards the abstract idea and does not amount to significantly more. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements when considered both individually and as an ordered combination do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claim 4 is dependent on independent claim 1 and includes all the limitations of claim 1. Claim 4 recites “the file is a cookie jar comprising a plurality of web cookies”. The claim language provides only further cook jar which is directed towards the abstract idea and does not amount to significantly more. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements when considered both individually and as an ordered combination do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claim 5 is dependent on independent claim 1 and includes all the limitations of claim 1. Claim 5 recites “changes to existing data of the requested file is associated with a change in a state of the application”. The claim language provides only further updating/change information/file/data which is directed towards the abstract idea and does not amount to significantly more. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements when considered both individually and as an ordered combination do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claim 6 is dependent on independent claim 5 and includes all the limitations of claims 5 and 1. Claim 6 recites “change in the state of the application is associated with an execution of a function of the application”. The claim language provides only further change/update information which is directed towards the abstract idea and does not amount to significantly more. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements when considered both individually and as an ordered combination do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claim 7 is dependent on independent claim 1 and includes all the limitations of claim 1. Claim 7 recites “receiving, from the user device, the altered file”. The claim language provides only further altered file which is directed towards the abstract idea and does not amount to significantly more. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements when considered both individually and as an ordered combination do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claim 8 is dependent on independent claim 1 and includes all the limitations of claim 1. Claim 8 recites “the persistent storage comprises cloud based storage”. The claim language provides only further cloud storage which is directed towards the abstract idea and does not amount to significantly more. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements when considered both individually and as an ordered combination do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
Regarding claims 9-16 are essentially the same as claims 1-8 except that they set forth the claimed invention as an apparatus rather than a method respectively and correspondingly, therefore are rejected under the same reasons set forth in rejections of claims 1-8.
Regarding claims 17-24 are essentially the same as claims 1-8 except that they set forth the claimed invention as non-transitory computer-readable media rather than a method respectively and correspondingly, therefore are rejected under the same reasons set forth in rejections of claims 1-8.
Regarding claims 25-32 are essentially the same as claims 1-8 except that they set forth the claimed invention as a system rather than a method respectively and correspondingly, therefore are rejected under the same reasons set forth in rejections of claims 1-8.
Accordingly, the claims 1-32 are not patent eligible.
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns, paragraphs, figures and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baskaran et al. (US PGPUB, 2013/0007813, hereinafter Baskaran), in view of Cardozo et al. (US PGPUB 2013/0246563, hereinafter Cardozo) and further in view of Rothschild et al. (US PGPUB 2014/0237525, hereinafter Rothschild).
As per as claim 1, Baskaran discloses:
A method comprising:
receiving, by a network device, from an application on a user device, based on a request to access the application, a request for a file of a plurality of files stored in persistent storage of the network device (Baskaran, e.g., [0016-0024], “…television programming or executed in real-time for supporting STB 103…execution of STB 103 functionality from one or more user devices, whether the devices are located inside the user premise 113 or outside. For example, the platform 101 may interact with a mobile device 108 belonging to the user/viewer that is configured to access the control signal data 111a and content data 111b as stored by way of a playback application 127. The playback application 127 may be a media player, television broadcast software or any other like utility having the appropriate application programming interfaces (APIs) for accessing the simulation platform 101, enabling the execution of content data 111b and invoking the various features of the STB 103. Per this execution, in response to a request for access to particular content or execution of an STB feature (e.g., activation of a game…) (the examiner asserts that the set top box (STB) is a persistent storage, and you can download/retrieve file and store file);
sending, to the user device, based on the request for the file, the file to be stored in non- persistent storage of the user device (Baskaran, e.g., [0016-0024], [0031], “…caching execution of platform 101 during connectivity, the STB 103 may access the following information from the head-end: Timing information, Channel Map Data, and Dynamic Data. In one embodiment, timing information includes data for indicating a last recorded time of accessing the head-end control data signals. Hence, the control data signals are stored and time stamped accordingly during periods of scheduled caching (storing)…”) (the examiner asserts that caching file/game/TV show = storing the files in non-persistent storage); and
causing the file stored in the persistent storage of the network device to be replaced with an altered file (Baskaran, e.g., [0016-0029], “…One program may be scheduled to occur, for example, at 3 pm-4 pm, while another is set for the 4 pm-5 pm time slot…Dynamic Data include information that is asynchronously changed as further updates to the content data (e.g., metadata), channel map data…” and “...Updates in data may occur at any time…encoding and transmitting content. ...the content data 111b is mapped to a specific channel via the channel map data, for playback on demand or upon accessing of a particular channel based on the specified time as live television content…the platform 101 may interact with a mobile device 108 belonging to the user/viewer that is configured to access the control signal data 111a and content data...”), (the examiner asserts that user can altering/updating/changing/replace the program when time if update and caching file/game/TV show/channel on the TV), further see [0031] and [0050], “…Alternatively, the user may be presented with the option of executing a different program (content data) or channels…”).
To make records clearer regarding to the language of “receiving a request/ processing the request to access an application” (although as stated above it teaches the functional of sending a request/processing the request to access the files).
However Cardozo, in an analogous art, discloses “receiving a request/ processing the request to access an application”, (Cardozo, e.g., [0016-0019], “…receives requests from clients 105 and responds to the requests with one or more webpages, such as HTML webpages… receive requests from clients 105 and may respond to the requests with one or more webpages, such as HML webpages. When processing requests, from clients 105, for webpages, each of web servers 122-1 through 122-3 may store and/or use state information. State information may be stored by a cloud cookie component 125. Similar to cloud cookie component 115, cloud cookie component 125 may include, for example, a database, a file server…). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art BEFORE the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Cardozo and Baskaran to identify and process user request based on user identification and user preference information to archiving in provide user correct files/TV shows and other files based on user request (Cardozo, e.g., [0001-0002]).
The combination of Cardozo and Baskaran disclose “change/modify in a state of the application to existing data of the file stored in the non-persistent storage of the users device” (Baskaran, e.g., [0019-0024], “…Dynamic Data include information that is asynchronously changed as further updates to the content data (e.g., metadata), channel map data, and other information becomes available. Updates in data may occur at any time, with periods of inactivity in between, as the content data 111b is being cached. By way of example, the dynamic data may include program changes as indicated by the television broadcast system provider (e.g., cable television provider) or media service provider 119 for affecting configuration of the channel map data. As another example, the dynamic data may be cached for supporting on-demand execution of widgets, games and content-based features via the STB, etc. Under this approach, dynamic data is therefore made available in the form of input provided by the user/viewer during execution of a widget or any other interaction with the various features of the STB 103…”), but to further clarify the language of “receiving, based on a change in a state of the application, an altered file, wherein the altered file is generated based on one or more changes by the application to existing data of the file stored in the non-persistent storage of the user device”.
However Rothschild, in an analogous art, discloses “receiving, based on a change in a state of the application, an altered file, wherein the altered file is generated based on one or more changes by the application to existing data of the file stored in the non-persistent storage of the user device”, (Rothschild, e.g., [0038], [0048-0050], “…one or more client devices 110. The nDVR cloud storage may comprise one or more nDVR storage arrays 106 and one or more nDVR servers 112. The nDVR cloud storage may process transport streams of live content, wherein the processing may include encoding, transcoding, and rate-shaping of transport streams…transmit a request to the nDVR application 186 for a list of content assets associated with the user account associated with the client device 110. The nDVR application 186 may retrieve or otherwise obtain information from one or more nDVR storage arrays 106 and generate a list of all assets associated with the user account and metadata associated with the content assets…”, [0088-0089], “…the ABR application 188 may change the state to "recorded." For each profile of the specific source, the ABR application 188 may initiate a file clone process to create a copy of the file in each of the target locations…” and further [0121-0125], “…The nDVR application 186 may check to see if the last cloned files represent the completion of the asset, and if so, change the state to "recorded-qc." The nDVR application 186 may request the latest manifest file for the source, check the file modification time, and determine that all segments are in the manifest files during the duration from the last run based on the assumed segment duration…”). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art BEFORE the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Rothschild, Cardozo and Baskaran utilize digital video recorders (DVRs) to facilitate the recording of broadband content at the customer's direction and store manifest files, place entries in the nDVR storage array for each segment time period to be recorded and/or stored, change the state of the asset (Rothschild, e.g., [0003] and [0038]).
As per as claim 2, the combination of Rothschild, Cardozo and Baskaran disclose:
The method of claim 1, wherein the request to access the application is based on one or more of: a request for a website or a request to run a HyperText Markup Language (HTML) application (Baskaran, e.g., [0016-0024], “…television programming or executed in real-time for supporting STB 103…execution of STB 103 functionality from one or more user devices, whether the devices are located inside the user premise 113 or outside. For example, the platform 101 may interact with a mobile device 108 belonging to the user/viewer that is configured to access the control signal data 111a and content data 111b as stored by way of a playback application 127. The playback application 127 may be a media player, television broadcast software or any other like utility having the appropriate application programming interfaces (APIs) for accessing the simulation platform 101, enabling the execution of content data 111b and invoking the various features of the STB 103. Per this execution, in response to a request for access to particular content or execution of an STB feature (e.g., activation of a game…) and (Cardozo, e.g., [0014-0019], “…web server 110 and server cluster 120 may include web servers that provide documents, such as hypertext markup language (HTML) webpages, in response to requests from clients…”).
As per as claim 3, the combination of Rothschild, Cardozo and Baskaran disclose: The method of claim 1, wherein the file is configured for use by the application (Baskaran, e.g., [0023], [0037-0038], [0042] and [0044], “application programming” and further see [0055], “media application”).
As per as claim 4, the combination of Rothschild, Cardozo and Baskaran disclose: The method of claim 1, wherein the file comprises a cookie jar comprising a plurality of web cookies (Cardozo, e.g., [0012-0013 and [0018-0019], (web cookies)).
As per as claim 5, the combination of Rothschild, Cardozo and Baskaran disclose: The method of claim 1, wherein the one or more changes to existing data of the requested file is associated with a change in a state of the application (Baskaran, e.g., [0019-0024], “…Dynamic Data include information that is asynchronously changed as further updates to the content data (e.g., metadata), channel map data, and other information becomes available. Updates in data may occur at any time, with periods of inactivity in between, as the content data 111b is being cached. By way of example, the dynamic data may include program changes as indicated by the television broadcast system provider (e.g., cable television provider) or media service provider 119 for affecting configuration of the channel map data. As another example, the dynamic data may be cached for supporting on-demand execution of widgets, games and content-based features via the STB, etc. Under this approach, dynamic data is therefore made available in the form of input provided by the user/viewer during execution of a widget or any other interaction with the various features of the STB 103…”) and further see (Rothschild, e.g., [0038], [0122-0125], “…create asset records and/or directories, create and store manifest files, place entries in the nDVR storage array 106 for each segment time period to be recorded and/or stored, change the state of the asset (e.g., change the state associated with the asset record to "recording" after receiving the first media segment, change the state associated with the asset record to "recorded" after receiving the last media segment for the content asset), calculate asset-specific quota data, associate entitlement checking data, and/or schedule and perform quality control for content assets…”).
As per as claim 6, the combination of Rothschild, Cardozo and Baskaran disclose: The method of claim 5, wherein the change in the state of the application is associated with an execution of a function of the application (Baskaran, e.g., [0016-0024], and further see [0027-0029] disclose user profile data associating with signal data and content data) and further see (Cardozo, e.g., [abstract], (state information relating to web browsing by the client/user) and further see (Rothschild, e.g., [0038], [0088-0089], [0122-0125]).
As per as claim 7, the combination of Rothschild, Cardozo and Baskaran disclose: The method of claim 1, further comprising receiving, from the user device, the altered file (Baskaran, e.g., [0016-0029], “…One program may be scheduled to occur, for example, at 3 pm-4 pm, while another is set for the 4 pm-5 pm time slot…Dynamic Data include information that is asynchronously changed as further updates to the content data (e.g., metadata), channel map data…” and ““...Updates in data may occur at any time…encoding and transmitting content...interact with a mobile device 108 belonging to the user/viewer that is configured to access the control signal data 111a and content data...”) and further see (Rothschild, e.g., [0038], [0048-0050], [0088-0089] and [0122-0125], (update file)).
As per as claim 8, the combination of Rothschild, Cardozo and Baskaran disclose: The method of claim 1, wherein the persistent storage comprises cloud-based storage (Baskaran, e.g., [0039], cloud based server) and (Cardozo, e.g., [0012-0013] and [0018-0019]) and (Rothschild, e.g., [0017], (cloud storage)).
Claims 9-16 are essentially the same as claims 1-8 except that they set forth the claimed invention as an apparatus rather a method, respectively and correspondingly, therefore is rejected under the same reasons set forth in rejections of claims 1-8.
Claims 17-24 are essentially the same as claims 1-8 except that they set forth the claimed invention as a non-transitory computer readable media rather a method, respectively and correspondingly, therefore is rejected under the same reasons set forth in rejections of claims 1-8.
Claims 25-32 are essentially the same as claims 1-8 except that they set forth the claimed invention as a system rather a method, respectively and correspondingly, therefore is rejected under the same reasons set forth in rejections of claims 1-8.
Response to Arguments
The Examiner respectfully reminds applicant of the broadest reasonable interpretation standard (See MPEP 2111), "During examination, the claims must be interpreted as broadly as their terms reasonably allow." In re American Academy of Science Tech Center, 367 F.3d 1359, 1369, 70 USPQ2d 1827, 1834 (Fed. Cir. 2004) (The USPTO uses a different standard for construing claims than that used by district courts; during examination the USPTO must give claims their broadest reasonable interpretation.) In Phillips v. AWH Corp., 415 F.3d 1303, 75 USPQ2d 1321 (Fed. Cir. 2005), the court further elaborated on the “broadest reasonable interpretation" standard and recognized that “The Patent and Trademark Office (“PTO") determines the scope of claims in patent applications not solely on the basis of the claim language, but upon giving claims their broadest reasonable construction." Thus, when interpreting claims, the courts have held that Examiners should (1) interpret claim terms as broadly as their terms reasonably allows and (2) interpret claim phrases as broadly as their construction reasonably allows.
Applicant’s arguments filed 05/11/2026 with respect to claims 1-32 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection necessitated by applicant's amendment to the claims. Applicant's newly amended features are taught implicitly, expressly, or impliedly by the prior art of record (See the new ground(s) of rejection set forth herein above).
Applicant's arguments filed 12/29/2025 with respect to claims 1-32 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Examiner respectfully maintains the rejection for the following reasons:
Issue I: Applicant argued on pages 8-15 (Remarks/Argument) regarding 101 rejection to claims 1-32.
Response I: The examiner respectfully submits: Claims 1-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claims are directed to a patent-ineligible abstract idea without reciting an inventive concept sufficient to transform the abstract idea into a patent-eligible application.
Alice/Mayo Step 2A, Prong 1: Direction to a Judicial Exception
The claims are evaluated to determine whether they recite a judicial exception (a mathematical concept, a method of organizing human activity, or a mental process).
Claims 1, 9, 17 and 24 including a newly amended portion of “receiving, based on a change in a state of the application, an altered file, wherein the altered file is generated based on one or more changes by the application to existing data of the file stored in the non-persistent storage of the user device."
These limitations are directed to an abstract idea falling under the category of mental processes and/or certain methods of organizing human activity. Specifically, the core concept amounts to collecting data (the existing file data), manipulating data based on a generic triggering condition (a state change), and outputting or receiving the modified data (the altered file). Generating an altered file based on changes to existing data in memory is a fundamental computational and data-handling concept that can be performed as a series of mental steps or modeled as basic mathematical/logical data manipulation.
Alice/Mayo Step 2A, Prong 2: Integration into a Practical Application
The claims are further evaluated to determine whether the recited judicial exception is integrated into a practical application. A claim that integrates an abstract idea into a practical application is patent-eligible.
The claim limitations do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application for the following reasons:
No Technological Improvement: The specification fails to demonstrate that the claimed step of generating an altered file based on application state changes in non-persistent memory provides a specific, unconventional improvement to the functioning of the user device or application itself.
Generic Computer Components as Tools: The elements performing these steps—such as the "user device," "application," and "non-persistent storage" are described and claimed in general, functional terms. The application uses these generic hardware and software mechanisms merely as tools to execute the underlying abstract data manipulation process. The claim does not impose physical or architectural constraints that alter the operations of the non-persistent storage or the device itself.
Accordingly, the claims are directed to an abstract idea under Step 2A.
Alice/Mayo Step 2B: Search for an Inventive Concept
Because the claims are directed to an abstract idea, they are evaluated under Step 2B to determine whether they contain an "inventive concept"—an element or combination of elements sufficient to ensure that the claim as a whole amounts to significantly more than the exception.
The additional elements in the claims, looked at both individually and as an ordered combination, do not add an inventive concept. [1]
Well-Understood, Routine, and Conventional: Modifying file data in non-persistent storage (such as RAM or cache) based on application state transitions, and
subsequently generating or receiving an updated/altered file, is well-understood, routine, and conventional activity in the computer arts.
Mere Automation: The combination of these steps represents nothing more than assigning an abstract data editing routine onto standard computer hardware architectures.
Because the claims do not recite an inventive concept that transforms the abstract idea into a patent-eligible application, the claims fail to meet the requirements of 35 U.S.C. § 101.
For the above reason, Examiner respectfully maintains the 101 rejections to claims 1-32.
Issue II: Applicant argued on pages 15-18 (Remarks/Argument) regarding 103 rejections.
Response II: See above new ground rejections.
The Examiner respectfully submits that, with respect to the totally newly amended subject matter, the Examiner respectfully cited proper paragraphs from cited reference to reject the claim in responsive to the newly amended, please refer to the corresponding section of the office action.
Additional Art Considered
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to the Applicants’ disclosure.
The following patents and papers are cited to further show the state of the art at the time of Applicants’ invention with respect to providing persistent storage using files or data stored in network storage in lieu of files or data stored locally which is user can access an HTML application from a device with limited/no local persistent storage, such as a set-top box, wherein request one or more files or data, such as cookies, from persistent storage located elsewhere and he device can store the files and/or data in non-persistent storage and the application can access the files and/or data from the non-persistent storage as needed. If any of the files and/or data are changed in the non-persistent storage, the files and/or data stored in the persistent storage (e.g., cloud storage) can be updated to reflect the changes.
a. Weber et al. (US PGPUB 2015/0067733, hereafter Weber); “Interactive Ticker” disclose “displaying data in the ticker, interacting with the ticker, altering characteristics of the ticker and preparing and transmitting data to the ticker”.
Weber also teaches changing a feed in a ticker application [0027], set top box to a television [0036].
Weber further teaches “receiving the color scheme information, the ticker application may change the color scheme of the ticker user interface prior to displaying the golf scores/news”. [0089], [0092].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. See form 892.
/TUAN A PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2163