DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-9, 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Nijim et al. (10,963,333).
For claims 1, 8, Nijim teaches a method and system (abstract) for mitigating anomalies (background, summary and claims) in a network device (col. 3, lines 15-40; CPE) comprising:
identifying a first pattern of log event information (col. 9, line 60 – col. 10, line 35) correlated to an anomaly of at least one network device (col. 3, lines 40-60) ;
selecting a first mitigation process including one or more mitigation actions (col. 3, line 60 – col. 4, line 15); and
instructing a first network device to monitor (col. 3, lines 40-60) its own log event information for the first pattern of log event information (col. 8, lines 30-55) and, when the first pattern of log event information is detected, to implement the first mitigation process (col. 8, line 55 – col. 9, line 5).
For claim 2, Nijim teaches identifying the first pattern of log event information comprises:
receiving log event information for the at least one network device (col. 9, line 60 – col. 10, line 35); and
performing string recognition for detecting log events in the log event information that match the first pattern (col. 7, line 55 – col. 8, line 10; text analytics and natural language).
For claim 3, Nijim teaches wherein instructing the first network device comprises instructing each of the at least one network device to monitor its own log event information for the first pattern of log event information (col. 8, lines 30-55) and, when the first pattern of log event information is detected, to implement the first mitigation process. (col. 3, line 60 – col. 4, line 15)
For claims 6, 12, Nijim teaches further comprising:
using unsupervised machine learning techniques (col. 7, line 55 – col. 8, line 10) to determine a second pattern of log event information (col. 9, line 60 – col. 10, line 35) correlated to a second anomaly of the at least one network device (col. 3, lines 40-60);
selecting a second mitigation process including the one or more mitigation actions (col. 3, line 60 – col. 4, line 15); and
instructing the first network device to monitor its own log event information for the second pattern of log event information (col. 8, lines 30-55) and, when the second pattern of log event information is detected, to implement the second mitigation process (col. 8, line 55 – col. 9, line 5).
For claims 7, 13, Nijim teaches wherein receiving log event information for the at least one network device comprises receiving log event information for at least one network device operating at a plurality of customer premises (col. 9, lines 35-60).
For claim 9, Nijim teaches that the first pattern of log event information comprises one or more events that occur within a limited time period (col. 7, line 55 – col. 8, line 15).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5, 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nijim as applied to claims 2, 8 above, and further in view of Murata et al. (12,057,996).
For claims 4, 10, Nijim does not expressly disclose elements regarding a match count. Murata teaches a method and system (abstract) in the relevant art (background, summary and claims) further comprising:
when the first pattern is detected in the log event information, determining a match count (col. 4, line 55 – col. 5, line 20);
when the match count (col. 5, lines 20-35) meets a count threshold (col. 6, line 50 – col. 7, line 10), categorizing the first pattern (col. 5, lines 30-45); and
based on the category, causing the first network device to perform an upload of detailed log information from the first network device (col. 10, lines 15-35).
At the time of filing, one of ordinary skill in the art would have added Murata in order to provide improvements to handling failures independent from central network management (col. 1, lines 55-67).
For claims 5, 11, Nijim teaches that determining the match count comprises correlating the first pattern to customer complaints and service calls information (col. 6, lines 5-50).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/MELVIN H POLLACK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2445