DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lepre et al. (hereafter “Lepre”)(US 2006/0201227).
With regards to claim 1, Lepre discloses a tube expansion method of a tubular material, comprising:
extruding a tubular material in which a hollow is formed [paragraph 0037 and Figure 5];
wherein the tubular material extruded through the extruding step has portions with different thicknesses along a circumferential direction, as seen in at least Figure 2C, paragraph 0015;
inserting the tubular material into a cavity of a mold corresponding to a shape of a part to be manufactured, as seen in Figure 6; and
performing hydroforming by injecting a pressure medium into the hollow of the tubular material at a predetermined pressure or higher [at least paragraph 0044].
With regards to claim 2, Lepre discloses wherein: the portions of the tubular material having different thicknesses in the circumferential direction include a first portion with a first thickness and a second portion with a second thickness, wherein the first thickness is greater than the second thickness, as seen in at least Figure 5; and strain of the first portion is greater than strain of the second portion [the portion with the greater thickness would inherently have a greater strain as well.
With regards to claim 5, Lepre discloses wherein the part formed by the hydroforming has portions with different lengths of an outer circumference of a cross-sectional plane [at least paragraph 0037 and Figure 5];
With regards to claim 6, Lepre discloses wherein the tubular material has three or more portions with different thicknesses in the circumferential direction [at least paragraph 0037 and Figure 5].
With regards to claim 7, Lepre discloses wherein portions of the tubular material having different thicknesses in the circumferential direction are formed at a plurality of positions in a longitudinal direction of the tubular material [paragraph 0037 and Figure 5].
With regards to claim 8, Lepre discloses wherein, in portions of the tubular material with different thicknesses in the circumferential direction, a thickness change between adjacent portions with different thicknesses in the circumferential direction is linear, and a thickness change between portions with different thicknesses not adjacent to each other is non-linear, as seen in at least Figure 5.
With regards to claims 9 and 10, Lepre discloses tubular material part manufactured in one piece by the tube expansion method of claim 1, wherein the tubular material part has portions with different outer circumference lengths, as seen in at least Figure 2C. It is noted that claims 9 and 10 are considered as product-by-process claims. It is noted that even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. See MPEP 2113.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lepre in view of Colosseo et al. (hereafter “Colosseo”)(US 2015/0343519).
Lepre discloses wherein: the portions of the tubular material having different thicknesses in the circumferential direction include a first portion (246) with a first thickness and a second portion (242) with a second thickness, wherein the first thickness is greater than the second thickness, as seen in at least Figure 5.
Lepre discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for wherein in the performing of the hydroforming, the first portion contacts an inner wall surface of the mold later than the second portion and a gap between the first portion and an inner wall surface of the mold facing the first portion is greater than a gap between the second portion and an inner wall surface of the mold facing the second portion.
With regards to claim 3, Colosseo is relied upon to teach hydroforming a tube wherein first portion (ends of tube) contacts an inner wall surface of the mold later than the second portion (middle of tube), as seen in Figure 5D. With regards to claim 4, Colosseo is relied upon to teach a gap between the first portion (considered to be the middle of the tube) and an inner wall surface of the mold facing the first portion is greater than a gap between the second portion (end of tube) and an inner wall surface of the mold facing the second portion, as seen in Figure 5D. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Lepre’s hydroforming with relationship between the tube and die as taught by Colosseo because combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results require only routine skill in the art. [KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and further show the state of the art: US 2010/0075786.
/TERESA M EKIERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725