DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiu et al. (US 2016/0104455) in view of Song et al. (KR 20180015370, published 2/13/2018, *machine translation provided, Note: Examiner has provided the correct machine translation for KR 20180015370 with this Office Action).
Regarding claim 1, Chiu discloses a display device among a plurality of display devices included in a modular display device (figs. 2-4, fig. 10, ¶ 7, multiple display devices connected via daisy chain, see ¶ 33-38, see also ¶ 69-78, display matrix may include multiple daisy chains, e.g., see display 816 of fig. 10A),
the display device comprising: a first communication interface (figs. 2-4, fig. 10, ¶ 7, multiple display devices connected via daisy chain, see ¶ 31-38, e.g., terminal 201a, see also ¶ 69-78, display matrix may include multiple daisy chains);
a second communication interface that is distinct from the first communication interface (figs. 2-4, fig. 10, ¶ 7, multiple display devices connected via daisy chain, see ¶ 31-38, e.g., terminal 201b, see also ¶ 69-78, display matrix may include multiple daisy chains);
and a processor configured to: identify a value of the display device (figs. 2-4, fig. 10, ¶ 7, see ¶ 31-38, arrangement information transmitted between display devices and stored, see also ¶ 69-78);
receive a first value from a first display device among the plurality of display devices through the first communication interface, the first display device is connected to the display device (figs. 2-4, fig. 10, ¶ 7, see ¶ 31-38, arrangement information transmitted between display devices and stored, see also ¶ 69-78, e.g., display 815 of fig. 10A connected to display 816);
receive a second value from a second display device among the plurality of display devices through the second communication interface, the second display device is connected to the display device (figs. 2-4, fig. 10, ¶ 7, see ¶ 31-38, arrangement information transmitted between display devices and stored, see also ¶ 69-78, e.g., display 817 of fig. 10A connected to display 816);
and the daisy chain structure among the plurality of display devices (figs. 2-4, fig. 10, ¶ 7, multiple display devices connected via daisy chain, see ¶ 31-38, see also ¶ 69-78, display matrix may include multiple daisy chains).
Chiu fails to disclose a driving gain value of the display device based on image data of an image corresponding to images displayed on the plurality of display devices among an entire image displayed on the modular display device, a first driving gain value, a second driving gain value, based on a magnitude of the driving gain value, identify one of the driving gain value of the display device, the first driving gain value received from the first display device and through the first communication interface, and the second driving gain value received from the second display device and through the second communication interface; and control each of the plurality of display devices to display the image corresponding to the image data based on an identified driving gain value, the identified driving gain value being the one of the driving gain value of the display device, the first driving gain value received from the first display device and through the first communication interface, and the second driving gain value received from the second display device and through the second communication interface, wherein the first driving gain value received from the first display device and through the first communication interface is one of the driving gain value of the first display device and first other driving gain values of the display devices sequentially connected to the first display device based on a daisy chain structure among the plurality of display devices, and the second driving gain value received from the second display device and through the second communication interface is one of the driving gain value of the second display device and second other driving gain values of the display devices sequentially connected to the second display device.
Song teaches a driving gain value of the display device based on image data of an image corresponding to images displayed on the plurality of display devices among an entire image displayed on the modular display device, a first driving gain value, a second driving gain value (pp. 2-4, see also p. 6, ACL value received from multiple display modules, determining unit 116 determines the minimum value as the common ACL value),
based on a magnitude of the driving gain value, identify one of the driving gain value of the display device, the first driving gain value received from the first display device and through the first communication interface, and the second driving gain value received from the second display device and through the second communication interface (pp. 2-4, see also p. 6, ACL value received from multiple display modules, determining unit 116 determines the minimum value as the common ACL value);
and control each of the plurality of display devices to display the image corresponding to the image data based on an identified driving gain value, the identified driving gain value being the one of the driving gain value of the display device, the first driving gain value received from the first display device and through the first communication interface, and the second driving gain value received from the second display device and through the second communication interface (pp. 2-4, see also p. 6, ACL value received from multiple display modules, determining unit 116 determines the minimum value as the common ACL value for frame data correction to relieve brightness variation),
wherein the first driving gain value received from the first display device and through the first communication interface is one of the driving gain value of the first display device and first other driving gain values of the display devices sequentially connected to the first display device (pp. 2-4, see also p. 6, ACL value received from multiple display modules, determining unit 116 determines the minimum value as the common ACL value for frame data correction to relieve brightness variation),
and the second driving gain value received from the second display device and through the second communication interface is one of the driving gain value of the second display device and second other driving gain values of the display devices sequentially connected to the second display device (pp. 2-4, see also p. 6, ACL value received from multiple display modules, determining unit 116 determines the minimum value as the common ACL value for frame data correction to relieve brightness variation).
Chiu and Song are both directed to modular display systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Chiu with the gain value of Song since such a modification alleviates the luminance deviation between a plurality of display modules (Song, p. 2).
Regarding claim 2, Song further teaches wherein the first driving gain value received from the first display device and through the first communication interface is a minimum driving gain value among a driving gain value of the first display device and the first other driving gain values of the display devices sequentially connected to the first display device (pp. 2-4, see also p. 6, ACL value received from multiple display modules, determining unit 116 determines the minimum value as the common ACL value; minimum value determined through communication between modules among multiple ACL values),
the second driving gain value received from the second display device and through the second communication interface is a minimum driving gain value among a driving gain value of the second display device and the second other driving gain values of the display devices sequentially connected to the second display device (pp. 2-4, see also p. 6, ACL value received from multiple display modules, determining unit 116 determines the minimum value as the common ACL value; minimum value determined through communication between modules among multiple ACL values),
and the processor is further configured to: identify a minimum driving gain value from among the driving gain value of the display device, the first driving gain value received from the first display device and through the first communication interface, and the second driving gain value received from the second display device and through the second communication interface (pp. 2-4, see also p. 6, ACL value received from multiple display modules, determining unit 116 determines the minimum value as the common ACL value; minimum value determined through communication between modules among multiple ACL values);
and control the display device to display the image corresponding to the image data based on the identified minimum driving gain value (pp. 2-4, see also p. 6, ACL value received from multiple display modules, determining unit 116 determines the minimum value as the common ACL value for frame data correction to relieve brightness variation).
Regarding claim 3, Song further teaches wherein the processor is further configured to: control the display device to display the image based on the identified driving gain value at a time point set based on a number of the plurality of display devices and an identification value of the display device (pp. 3-4, image distributed to multiple display modules with timing control signals and module identification information),
wherein the identified driving gain value of the display device is at each of a plurality of image frames of the image, the image frames being of the image data (pp. 3-4, image distributed to multiple display modules with timing control signals and module identification information, image analyzed by unit of at least a frame; see also p. 6).
Regarding claim 4, Song further teaches wherein the processor is further configured to: identify a minimum driving gain value between the first driving gain value received from the first display device and through the first communication interface and the driving gain value of the display device (pp. 2-4, see also p. 6, ACL value received from multiple display modules, determining unit 116 determines the minimum value as the common ACL value; minimum value determined through communication between modules among multiple ACL values);
and transmit the identified minimum driving gain value to the second display device through the second communication interface (pp. 2-4, see also p. 6, ACL value received from multiple display modules, determining unit 116 determines the minimum value as the common ACL value for frame data correction to relieve brightness variation).
Regarding claim 5, Song further teaches wherein the processor is further configured to: identify a minimum driving gain value between the second driving gain value received from the second display device and through the second communication interface and the driving gain value of the display device (pp. 2-4, see also p. 6, ACL value received from multiple display modules, determining unit 116 determines the minimum value as the common ACL value; minimum value determined through communication between modules among multiple ACL values);
and transmit the identified minimum driving gain value to the first display device through the first communication interface (pp. 2-4, see also p. 6, ACL value received from multiple display modules, determining unit 116 determines the minimum value as the common ACL value for frame data correction to relieve brightness variation).
Regarding claim 6, Song further teaches wherein the processor is further configured to: segment data corresponding to the identified minimum driving gain value into first data and second data (pp. 3-4, image distributed to multiple display modules with timing control signals and module identification information);
transmit the first data to the second display device through the second communication interface, and subsequently transmit the second data to the second display device through the second communication interface (pp. 3-4, image distributed to multiple display modules with timing control signals and module identification information, see also p. 6, two-way communication disclosed).
Regarding claim 7, Song further teaches wherein the display device is configured to display the image based on determining the driving gain value to be equal to other driving gain values among the plurality of display devices (pp. 2-4, see also p. 6, ACL value received from multiple display modules, determining unit 116 determines the minimum value as the common ACL value).
Regarding claim 8, Song further teaches wherein the first display device is adjacent to the display device and is disposed on one side of the display device, and the second display device is adjacent to the display device and is disposed on an other side of the display device (figs. 1 and 5, see pp. 3-4, matrix of display modules disclosed).
Regarding claim 9, this claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 1.
Regarding claim 10, this claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 2.
Regarding claim 11, this claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 3.
Regarding claim 12, this claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 4.
Regarding claim 13, this claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 5.
Regarding claim 14, this claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 6.
Regarding claim 15, this claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 7.
Regarding claim 16, Chiu discloses wherein the display device comprises a first side and a second side opposite to the first side across a screen of the display device, the screen is configured to display at least part of the image (figs. 2-4, fig. 10, ¶ 7, multiple display devices connected via daisy chain, see ¶ 33-38, see also ¶ 69-78, display matrix may include multiple daisy chains, e.g., see display 816 of fig. 10A),
the first communication interface is connected to the first display device, and the first display device is arranged at the first side of the display device (figs. 2-4, fig. 10, ¶ 7, multiple display devices connected via daisy chain, see ¶ 31-38, e.g., terminal 201a, see also ¶ 69-78, e.g., display 815 of fig. 10A on left side of display 816),
the second communication interface is connected to the second display device, and the second display device is arranged at the second side of the display device (figs. 2-4, fig. 10, ¶ 7, multiple display devices connected via daisy chain, see ¶ 31-38, e.g., terminal 201b, see also ¶ 69-78, e.g., display 817 of fig. 10A on right side of display 816),
and the display device is central between the first display device and the second display device (figs. 2-4, fig. 10, ¶ 7, see ¶ 33-38, see also ¶ 69-78, e.g., see display 816 of fig. 10A).
Regarding claim 17, Chiu discloses wherein the display device comprises a first side and a second side opposite to the first side across a screen of the display device, the screen is configured to display at least part of the image (figs. 2-4, fig. 10, ¶ 7, multiple display devices connected via daisy chain, see ¶ 33-38, see also ¶ 69-78, display matrix may include multiple daisy chains, daisy chain may be composed of five display devices connected in series),
the first communication interface is connected to the first display device, the first display device is arranged at the first side of the display device, and at least one of the first other driving gain values is received by the first display device from a first other display device, of the display devices sequentially connected to the first display device, that is arranged at a side of the first display device furthest from the first side of the display device (figs. 2-4, fig. 10, ¶ 7, multiple display devices connected via daisy chain, see ¶ 31-38, e.g., terminal 201a; arrangement information transmitted between display devices and stored; see also ¶ 69-78, e.g., daisy chain may be composed of five display devices connected in series),
the second communication interface is connected to the second display device, the second display device is arranged at the second side of the display device, and at least one of the second other driving gain values is received by the second display device from a second other display device, of the display devices sequentially connected to the second display device, that is arranged at a side of the second display device furthest from the second side of the display device (figs. 2-4, fig. 10, ¶ 7, multiple display devices connected via daisy chain, see ¶ 31-38, e.g., terminal 201b; arrangement information transmitted between display devices and stored; see also ¶ 69-78, e.g., daisy chain may be composed of five display devices connected in series),
and the display device is central between the first display device and the second display device and is also central between the first other display device and the second other display device (figs. 2-4, fig. 10, ¶ 7, see ¶ 33-38, see also ¶ 69-78, e.g., daisy chain may be composed of five display devices connected in series).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chui in view of Song as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Cho et al. (US 2018/0061298).
Regarding claim 18, Chiu in view of Song fails to explicitly disclose wherein the driving gain value is any of a remaining power ratio and a remaining power value of a Switched Mode Power Supply (SMPS).
Cho teaches wherein the driving gain value is any of a remaining power ratio and a remaining power value of a Switched Mode Power Supply (SMPS) (figs. 1-2, ¶ 49-60, SMPS with on-off time ratio disclosed, current gain information based on luminance; see also ¶ 78-86, power increase rate Pr calculated based on power supply capacity; see also fig. 9, ¶ 104-114).
Chiu in view of Song and Cho are both directed to modular display systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Chiu in view of Song with the device of Cho since such a modification enhances screen quality, maximizes contrast of a low grayscale image, and reduces power consumption (Cho, ¶ 115).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 9 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEITH L CRAWLEY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2626