DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-5, 8-9, 12-13, 16-17, 20-21, 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park et al. (US 2016/0232894 A1, “Park”).
As to claims 1, 9, 17, Park discloses a method comprising:
determining, by a computing device, usage information associated with another device different from the computing device (speech recognition apparatus 110 may receive information about a state of each controllable device 120, 130, 140, para. 0030-0031);
performing speech recognition using a plurality of voice commands that are based on the usage information (speech recognition apparatus 110 may obtain information about a grammar model with respect to at least one device based on the received state information, the grammar model information including command models for a device, and perform speech recognition to control at least one device based on the generated grammar model, para. 0031-0037); and
causing, based on a received audio input that comprises at least one voice command of the plurality of voice commands, performance of an action (controllable device receives a control signal from the speech recognition apparatus 110, para. 0040).
As to claims 4, 12, 20, Park discloses: determining, based on the usage information, one or more devices, wherein the causing the performance of the action comprises causing at least one of the one or more devices to perform the action (a control signal is transmitted to control a device based as a result of speech recognition based on user input ant the state of the device, para. 0132).
As to claims 5, 13, 21, Park discloses: wherein the usage information comprises an operational state of the another device (operation state of a device, para. 0018, 0125).
As to claims 8, 16, 24, Park discloses: further comprising the computing device receiving the usage information from the another device (speech recognition apparatus 110 may receive information about a state of each controllable device 120, 130, 140, para. 0030-0031).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 10, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Kothari et al. (US 2020/0312317 A1, “Kothari”).
Park differs from claims 2, 10, 18 in that it does not disclose: wherein the plurality of voice commands is further based on a distance of the computing device from a controllable device, and wherein the causing performance of the action comprises causing the controllable device to perform the action.
Kothari teaches applying a command to a device based on distance (lamp located closest to the digital assistant computing device is controlled, para. 0097). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Park with the above teaching of Kothari in order to determine which of a plurality of similar controllable devices is to be controlled.
Claim(s) 3, 11, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Leblang et al. (US 10,536,287 B1, “Leblang”).
Park differs from claims 3, 11, 19 in that it does not disclose: wherein the plurality of voice commands is further based on detection of an individual.
Leblang teaches detecting an individual using voice identification, accessing user profile information based on the detected identification, and determining a particular device from among a group of devices to receive the command based on the user profile (col. 13, line 11 – col. 17, line 30). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Park with the above teaching of Leblang in order to provide an improved control operation.
Claim(s) 6-7, 14-15, 22-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Melendo Casado et al. (US 2018/0061419 A1, “Casado”).
Park differs from claims 6, 14, 22 in that it does not disclose: wherein the usage information comprises an indication of content output by the another device.
Casado teaches processing a voice command based on content being output by another device, e.g. music being played by a device (para. 0053). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Park with the above teaching of Casado in order to control the appropriate device based on context, as taught by Casado (para. 0019).
As to claims 7, 15, 23, Park in view of Casado teaches: wherein the usage information is based on sound detected by a microphone (Casado: sounds from a television show are received by a microphone, para. 0035).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-24 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-39 of U.S. Patent No. 12,183,337. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-24 of the present application are anticipated by claims 1-39 of the patent.
For example:
Claim 1 (present application)
Claims 1, 9 (US 12,183,337)
A method comprising:
A method comprising:
determining, by a computing device, usage information associated with another device different from the computing device;
determining, by a computing device, information indicating content being output by another device in an environment associated with the computing device; (claim 1)
performing speech recognition using a plurality of voice commands that are based on the usage information; and
performing speech recognition using a subset of trigger commands, of a plurality of trigger commands, that are based on the indicated content; and (claim 1)
wherein the performing speech recognition using the subset of trigger commands is further based on an energy usage associated with listening for the subset of trigger commands. (claim 9)
causing, based on a received audio input that comprises at least one voice command of the plurality of voice commands, performance of an action.
causing, based on a received audio input that comprises at least one trigger command of the subset of trigger commands, performance of an action. (claim 1)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Choi et al. (US 2018/0173494 A1) teach trigger words based on context.
Hughes et al. (US 2018/0182390 A1) teach contextual hotwords.
Simkhada et al. (US 11,552,803 B1) teach command processing based on current device state.
STELLA L. WOO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2693
/Stella L. Woo/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2693