DETAILED ACTION
The communication dated 7/29/2026 has been entered and fully considered.
Claims 1-11 are currently pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 7/29/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim 11 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/29/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zaccone et al. U.S. Publication 2007/0107471 (henceforth referred to as Zaccone).
As for claim 1, Zaccone teaches a tub ring (Fig. 2: part 100) for a washing machine (Fig. 1: part 10) that incorporates a tub (Fig. 1: part 30), the tub ring comprising: a generally circular outer wall adapted to fit around the top of the tub, a concentric inner wall opposing the outer wall, and a circular surface disposed between and approximately perpendicular to the outer wall and the inner wall (paragraphs [0023]-[0029]; Figs. 2-5), wherein the outer wall, inner wall and the circular surface cooperate to form a channel (Fig. 3: part 110); and a water outlet (Fig. 3: part 142) that protrudes through the outer wall into the channel at an angle relative to the inner wall, such that when water is delivered to the water outlet, a stream of water is directed at least partially around the channel before falling into the tub (paragraphs [0025]-[0026]; Fig. 3).
As for claims 2 and 7, Zaccone further teaches that the tub ring further comprises a barrier wall (Fig. 3: part 148) disposed generally concentrically between the outer wall and the inner wall.
As for claims 3 and 8, Zaccone further teaches that the inner wall includes a portion that is slanted inward toward a center of the tub from which water is directed into the tub (Fig. 2).
As for claims 4 and 9, Zaccone further teaches one or more diverters (Fig. 3: part 146) disposed on at least one of the circular surface and the inner wall within the channel that is configured to redirect the path of the water into the tub.
As for claims 5 and 10, Zaccone further teaches that the water outlet concurrently diverts water to opposite directions around the tub ring (Fig. 3; water entering a circular channel as depicted would have no preference to flow either clockwise or counterclockwise).
As for claim 6, Zaccone teaches a washing machine (Fig. 1: part 10) comprising: a housing (Fig. 1: part 12); a tub (Fig. 1: part 30) secured in the housing; a wash bucket (Fig. 1: part 32) that is concentrically nested inside the tub; and a tub ring (Fig. 2: part 100) that comprises: a generally circular outer wall adapted to fit around the top of the tub, a concentric inner wall opposing the outer wall, and a circular surface disposed between and approximately perpendicular to the outer wall and the inner wall (paragraphs [0023]-[0029]; Figs. 2-5), wherein the outer wall, inner wall and the circular surface cooperate to form a channel (Fig. 3: part 110); and a water outlet (Fig. 3: part 142) that protrudes through the outer wall into the channel at an angle relative to the inner wall, such that when water is delivered to the water outlet, a stream of water is directed at least partially around the channel before falling into the tub (paragraphs [0025]-[0026]; Fig. 3).
Conclusion
/LEVON J SHAHINIAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711