DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group 1-B, 2-A in the reply filed on 08/31/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the species defined by the Office action do not all include mutually exclusive characteristics. A second traversal is on the grounds that not all species in group 2 are claimed. Upon further review, the requirement for restriction is withdrawn. All claims remain pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-10, and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent 8,112,829 (hereinafter Shieh).
Regarding claim 1, Shieh discloses a universal canister flush valve (fig. 3) comprising: a valve body (10) configured to fixedly couple to a toilet (fig. 3); a guide post (30) extending away from the valve body (10); a float (50) including an outer wall (53) and a bottom (51a) extending radially inward from the outer wall (fig. 3, 13, 14), the bottom including a central opening (surrounded by inner cylindrical wall 52 as seen in fig. 7) configured to receive the guide post (30) and at least one hole (57a); and a disc (60a) including at least one port (613a) rotatably coupled to the float, wherein relative rotation between the disc and the float adjusts the at least one port relative to the at least one hole to change a flow area (fig. 13, 14; col. 10, ln. 18-23).
Regarding claim 2, Shieh discloses the disc (60a) is disposed below the bottom (51a) (fig. 13, 14).
Regarding claim 3, Shieh discloses wherein the float is configured to move between an open position (fig. 11) and a closed position (fig. 3), and wherein the disc comprises an integrated disk (61a) and seal (55) including a disk portion (61a) and a sealing member (55) configured to seat against the valve body (10) when the float is in the closed position (fig. 3).
Regarding claim 5, Shieh discloses wherein the guide post includes a hollow central body (31, 32) (note hollow central portions of body 31 and spaces formed between fins 321 in fig. 3) and a lower leg (332) coupled to the valve body (fig. 3).
Regarding claim 6, Shieh discloses a flute (331) extending from the hollow central body (31, 32) (fig. 4).
Regarding claim 7, Shieh discloses the flute (331) is positioned a predetermined height above the bottom (51a) and configured to act as a travel stop for the float (fig. 3).
Regarding claim 8, Shieh discloses wherein the float further comprises an inner wall (52), wherein the bottom (51a) extends between the outer wall (53) and the inner wall (52).
Regarding claim 9, Shieh discloses a universal canister flush valve comprising: a valve body (10) configured to fixedly couple to a toilet (fig. 3); a guide post (30) extending away from the valve body; a float (50) configured to move relative to the guide post (30), wherein the float includes an outer wall (53), an overflow tube (52), and a bottom (51a) extending between the overflow tube (52) and the outer wall (53); and a disc (60a) including at least one slot (613a) rotatably coupled to the float, wherein relative rotation between the disc and the float adjusts buoyancy of the float (fig. 13, 14; col. 10, ln. 18-23).
Regarding claim 10, Shieh discloses wherein the disc (61a) is rotatably coupled to an inside of the overflow tube (col. 8, ln. 34-47).
Regarding claim 13, Shieh discloses wherein the float further comprises at least one opening (57a) disposed in the bottom, wherein the relative rotation between the disc and the float changes a position of the at least one slot in the disc relative to the at least one opening in the float changing a flow area (fig. 13, 14; col. 10, ln. 18-23).
Regarding claim 14, Shieh discloses wherein the overflow tube includes at least one slot (521), and wherein the relative rotation between the disc and the float changes a position of the at least one slot (613) in the disc relative to the at least one slot (521) in the overflow tube changing a flow area (col. 6, ln. 13-19) (fig. 8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shieh in view of US Patent Application Publication 2008/0282457 (hereinafter Denzin).
Regarding claim 4, Shieh is silent as to the materials and thus fails to show wherein the disc portion (61a) and the sealing member (55) are comprised of different materials. Attention is turned to Denzin in the same field of endeavor of canister flush valves which shows selecting a compressible material for a seal and a more rigid stable material for a bottom/disc portion of the valve (par. 40). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to select suitable materials known for their intended use as evidenced by the teachings above.
Double Patenting
Claims 15-18 and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,163,321. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims of instant application present a broader scope of the issued claims.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Patent 9,328,494 is directed to the state of the art of float valves and overflow tubes having multiple openings on an outer wall that have covering members.
/JANIE M LOEPPKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3754