DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 4 and 13 are amended. Claims 10-11 are cancelled. Claims 21-22 are new.
Double Patenting
Claim 13 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,149,061. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 13 does not claim any limitation not already claimed in claim 1 of USP ‘061.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 7, 9, 12-18, and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2011/0303456 to Blanchard et al.
Regarding claim 1, Blanchard ‘456 discloses a support for a plurality of cables, comprising: a cable separator beam 200 having a length along a central beam axis and respective opposite beam ends; first and second half-cylindrically-shaped sleeves 136/204 connected to the cable separator beam on the respective opposite beam ends of the cable separator beam 200 (fig. 3); and a half-cylindrically-shaped end-cap 102 that is configured to align with one of the first and second half-cylindrically-shaped sleeves 136, wherein; the one of the first and second half-cylindrically-shaped sleeves 136 and the half- cylindrically-shaped end-cap 102 form a space for one or more of the plurality of cables (para 0034-0038 & 0051), and wherein the half-cylindrically-shaped end-cap 102 is separate from the cable separator beam 200 (para 0016, 0039, figs 2-3).
Regarding claim 4, Blanchard ‘456 discloses, further comprising: an elongated flexible fastener having a locking portion on one end thereof that fastens to a tail portion on another end thereof (para 0051 – cable tie), configured to surround and fasten the end cap 102 to the one of the first and second half-cylindrically-shaped sleeves 136 by drawing the tail portion of the elongated flexible fastener through the locking portion (para 0051 –cable tie) to pull the end cap 102 and the one of the first and second half-cylindrically-shaped sleeves 136 together in a mutually aligned and substantially abutting position. (para –0051).
Regarding claim 7, Blanchard ‘456 discloses, further comprising: a rib structure 128 on the half-cylindrically-shaped end-cap 102 having a fastening portion 130 for mounting the half-cylindrically-shaped end-cap on a structural support 104 (fig. 1 – para 0031).
Regarding claim 9, Blanchard ‘456 discloses, further comprising: a fastening portion 122 on the half-cylindrically-shaped end-cap 102 and a fastening structure 152 on one of the first and second half-cylindrically-shaped sleeves 136 of the cable separator beam, configured to fasten the half-cylindrically-shaped end-cap 102 to the one of the first and second half-cylindrically-shaped sleeves 136 of the cable separator beam 200.
Regarding claim 12, Blanchard ‘456 discloses, further comprising: one or more cable separator beams 200 in an assembly configured to support separated positions of two or more cables (one beam - para 0001, 0005-0007).
Regarding claim 13, Blanchard ‘456 discloses a support for a plurality of cables, comprising: a cable separator beam 200; first and second half-cylindrically-shaped sleeves 136/204 on respective opposite ends of the cable separator beam 200; and a half-cylindrically-shaped end-cap 102 that is configured to align with one of the first and second half-cylindrically-shaped sleeves 136, wherein, the one of the first and second half-cylindrically-shaped sleeves 136 and the half- cylindrically-shaped end-cap 102 form a space for one or more of the plurality of cable (fig 3 – para 0016, 0039).
Regarding claim 14, Blanchard ‘456 discloses, further comprising: a fastening portion 122 on the half-cylindrically-shaped end-cap 102 and a fastening structure 152 on one of the first and second half-cylindrically-shaped sleeves 136 of the cable separator beam, configured to fasten the half-cylindrically-shaped end-cap 102 to the one of the first and second half-cylindrically- shaped sleeves 136 of the cable separator beam 200 (fig. 2 – para 0034-0036).
Regarding claim 15, Blanchard ‘456 discloses, further comprising: a hook portion 122 (opening or portion for accepting a hook) on the half-cylindrically-shaped end-cap 102 and a latch structure 152 on one of the first and second half-cylindrically-shaped sleeves 136 of the cable separator beam, configured to fasten the half-cylindrically-shaped end-cap 102 to the one of the first and second half-cylindrically-shaped sleeves 136 of the cable separator beam 200 (fig. 2 – para 0034-0036).
Regarding claim 16, Blanchard ‘456 discloses, further comprising: a first fastening structure 120 on the half-cylindrically-shaped end-cap 102, a second fastening structure 150 on the one of the first and second half-cylindrically-shaped sleeves 136 of the cable separator beam, and a fastener 152 joining the first and second fastening structures 120/150, configured to fasten the half- cylindrically-shaped end-cap 102 to the one of the first and second half-cylindrically-shaped sleeves 136 of the cable separator beam (para 002 & 0034 – figs. 1-3).
Regarding claim 17, Blanchard ‘456 discloses, further comprising: a first latch structure 120 on the half-cylindrically-shaped end-cap 102, a second latch structure 150 on the one of the first and second half-cylindrically-shaped sleeves 136 of the cable separator beam, and a fastener 152 joining the first and second latch structures 120/150, configured to fasten the half-cylindrically- shaped end-cap 102 to the one of the first and second half-cylindrically-shaped sleeves 136 of the cable separator beam.
Regarding claim 18, Blanchard ‘456 discloses, further comprising: a first fastening structure 122 on the half-cylindrically-shaped end-cap 102 and a second fastening structure 152 on the one of the first and second half-cylindrically-shaped sleeves 136 of the cable separator beam, configured to fasten together, to fasten the half-cylindrically-shaped end-cap 102 to the one of the first and second half-cylindrically-shaped sleeves 136 of the cable separator beam.
Regarding claim 22, Blanchard ‘456 discloses a support for a plurality of cables, the support comprising: a cable separator beam 200; first and second curved sleeves 136/204 on respective opposite ends of the cable separator beam 200; and a curved end-cap 102 that is configured to align with one of the first and second curved sleeves 136, wherein the one of the first and second curved sleeves 136 and the curved end-cap 1022 form a space for one or more of the plurality of cables, and wherein the one of the first and second curved sleeves 136 is configured to be fastened to the curved end-cap 102 by a flexible fastener (para 0051), a screw fastener, a pin, or a latch.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8, 13 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 10,935,347 to Reis Green.
Regarding claim 1, Reis Green ‘347 discloses a support, comprising: a separator beam 22 having a length along a central beam axis and respective opposite beam ends (Fig 4b); first and second half-cylindrically-shaped sleeves 32/32 connected to the separator beam 22 on the respective opposite beam ends of the separator beam 22 (fig. 5b); and a half-cylindrically-shaped end-cap 34 that is configured to align with one of the first and second half-cylindrically-shaped sleeves 32 (figs 4ab), wherein; the one of the first and second half-cylindrically-shaped sleeves 32 and the half- cylindrically-shaped end-cap 34 form a space 14, and wherein the half- cylindrically-shaped end-cap 34 is separate from the separator beam 22.
Reis Green ‘347 teaches a support for an elongated rife scope where space 14 supports the elongated rifle scope. However, a POSITA would recognize that space 14 is also suitable for supporting a conduit or a plurality of cables due to the shape and size of space 14 that is formed by the half-cylindrically-shaped sleeve 32 and end cap 34.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the support of Reis Green ‘347 to support one or more cables rather than a rifle scope, since the same formed space 14 is sized and shaped to receive and retain an elongated cylindrical member. Such use merely represents using the known structure for its predictable result of supporting an elongated member(s).
Regarding claim 8, Reis Green ‘347, as modified, discloses, further comprising: a rib structure (top raised flattened portion 34 that supports threaded holes 19 – figs 4AB – col. 3, lines 41-43) on the half-cylindrically-shaped end-cap 34, having threaded inserts (or bolts - “… threaded openings 19 configured to receive bolts for coupling accessory adaptor plates …”) for mounting the half-cylindrically-shaped end-cap 34 on a structural support 24.
Regarding claim 13, Reis Green ‘347 discloses a support, comprising: a separator beam 22; first and second half-cylindrically-shaped sleeves 32/32 on respective opposite ends of the separator beam 22; and a half-cylindrically-shaped end-cap 34 that is configured to align with one of the first and second half-cylindrically-shaped sleeves 32, wherein, the one of the first and second half-cylindrically-shaped sleeves 32 and the half- cylindrically-shaped end-cap 34 form a space 14.
Reis Green ‘347 teaches a support for an elongated rife scope where space 14 supports the elongated rifle scope. However, a POSITA would recognize that space 14 is also suitable for supporting a conduit or a plurality of cables due to the shape and size of space 14 that is formed by the half-cylindrically-shaped sleeve 32 and end cap 34.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the support of Reis Green ‘347 to support one or more cables rather than a rifle scope, since the same formed space 14 is sized and shaped to receive and retain an elongated cylindrical member. Such use merely represents using the known structure for its predictable result of supporting an elongated member(s).
Regarding claim 19, Reis Green ‘347 discloses, further comprising: a first fastening structure 18 on the half-cylindrically-shaped end-cap 34 and a second fastening structure 18 on the one of the first and second half-cylindrically-shaped sleeves 32 of the cable separator beam 22, configured to be fastened together by a screw (mechanically equivalent to a pin – see motivation below) passing through each of the first fastening structure 18 and the second fastening structure 18, to fasten the half-cylindrically-shaped end-cap 34 to the one of the first and second half-cylindrically-shaped sleeves 32 of the cable separator beam 22 (col. 3, lines 44-64 – figs 4-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute a pin for the screw of Reis Green ‘347 because both are well known mechanical features used to secure two aligned structures together. Such substitution merely involves the use of one known fastening element in place of another known equivalent fastening element to achieve the predictable result of fastening the end-cap to the sleeve.
Regarding claim 20, Reis Green ‘347 discloses, further comprising: a first lock structure 18 on the half-cylindrically-shaped end-cap 34 and a second lock structure 18 on the one of the first and second half-cylindrically-shaped sleeves 32 of the cable separator beam, configured to be fastened together by a screw (mechanically equivalent to a pin – see motivation below) passing through each of the first lock structure 18 and the second lock structure 18, to fasten the half-cylindrically-shaped end-cap 34 to the one of the first and second half-cylindrically-shaped sleeves 32 of the cable separator beam 22.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute a pin for the screw of Reis Green ‘347 because both are well known mechanical features used to secure two aligned structures together. Such substitution merely involves the use of one known fastening element in place of another known equivalent fastening element to achieve the predictable result of fastening the end-cap to the sleeve.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2011/0303456 to Blanchard et al.
Regarding claim 21, Blanchard ‘456 discloses the cable separator beam 200 and the half-cylindrically-shaped end-cap 102. Blanchard ‘456 does not expressly disclose that the cable separator beam 200 and the half-cylindrically-shaped end-cap 102 are electrically insulating. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the cable separator beam 200 and the half-cylindrically-shaped end-cap 102 of insulating materials, because insulating materials, such as plastics, are conventionally used in cable support and cable retention systems to avoid electrical conduction and protect supported cables (para 0002). The modification merely involves the predictable use of a known material according to its established properties.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3 and 5-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and will be used in subsequent office action rejections.
The list of supports is as follows: US-20030025048-A1 OR US-6007029-A OR US-4099626-A OR US-20080243455-A1 OR US-5931423-A OR US-8985532-B2 OR US-5538208-A OR US-8511623-B1 OR US-6783101-B2 OR US-5730399-A OR US-4037810-A OR US-3794370-A OR US-8985531-B2 OR US-10487963-B2 OR US-5115542-A OR US-4431152-A OR US-12553541-B2 OR US-10663353-B2 OR US-8807491-B2 OR US-8702044-B2 OR US-7600723-B2 OR US-6421494-B1 OR US-4514103-A OR US-4805938-A OR US-12149061-B2 OR US-20060090806-A1 OR US-20050045786-A1 OR US-20150060612-A1 OR US-3526934-A.
/MONICA E MILLNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3632