DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application is a CON of 17282430 filed 04/02/2021 (ABN).
17282430 is a 371 of PCT/US2019/054607 filed 10/04/2019.
PCT/US2019/054607 has PRO of 62838422 filed 04/25/2019, PRO of 62793487 filed 01/17/2019, and PRO of 62766591 filed 10/04/2018.
Accordingly claims 1-2, 4-5, 7, 11, 13-14, 19, 23-31, 33, 35-36 and 49 of this instant application are afforded the effective filing date of 10/04/2018.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/22/2025 has been considered by the examiner and initialed copies of the IDS are included with the mailing of this office action.
Status of the Claims
This action is in response to preliminary papers filed 01/22/2025 in which claims 3, 6, 8-10, 12, 15-18, 20-22, 32, 34, and 37-48 were canceled; claims 1-2, 4-5, 7, 11, 13-14, 19, 23-31, 33, 35, and 36 were amended; and claim 49 was newly added. All the amendments have been thoroughly reviewed and entered.
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 7, 11, 13, 14, 19, 23-31, 33, 35, 36, and 49 are pending in this instant application, and examined herein on the merits for patentability.
Claim Objections
Claims 2, 13, 14, and 36 are objected to because of the following informalities: please add “the group consisting of” after the phrase “selected from” in claims 2, 13-14 and 36 so as said claims are reciting proper Markush language. When materials recited in a claim are so related as to constitute a proper Markush groups, they may be recited in the conventional manner, or alternatively. For example, if “wherein R is a material selected from the group consisting of A, B, C and D” is a proper limitation, then “wherein R is A, B, C or D” shall also be considered proper. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 4, 5, 7 and 36 are objected to because of the following informalities: please add the term “further” before “comprises” in said claims 4, 5, 7 and 36.
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14, 28, 31, and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 14, a broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 14 recites the broad recitation “skin-conditioning agents,” and the claim also recites “humectants, miscellaneous, and occlusive,” which are the narrower statement of the limitation. The claim(s) 14 is considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Regarding claim 14, the parenthetical recitation “(“humectants, miscellaneous, and occlusive)” in claim14 is indefinite because it is unclear if the text within the parenthesis are alternative limitations of the claims or merely descriptors of other elements of the claims. It is noted that [p]arenthetical expressions are not permissible which do not contribute to clearness or exactness in stating Applicant’s invention (Ex parte Cahill, 1893 C. D., 78; 63 O. G., 2125).
Regarding claim 28, the recitation of “the attenuation of Azadirachta indica with a dilution of 1X” renders said claims 28 indefinite because there is lack of antecedent basis for the attenuation of Azadirachta indica in the claim. It is noted that claim 28 is directly or indirectly dependent from claims 19 and 1, respectively, yet neither claim 19 nor claim 1 is drawn to containing an attenuation of Azadirachta indica. Thus, it is unclear what the attenuation of Azadirachta indica is claim 28 referring to, as neither claim 19 or claim 1 contains an attenuation of Azadirachta indica.
Regarding claim 31, the recitation of “the attenuation of Ruta graveolus with a dilution of 12X” renders said claims 31 indefinite because there is lack of antecedent basis for the attenuation of Ruta graveolus in the claim. It is noted that claim 31 is directly or indirectly dependent from claims 19 and 1, respectively, yet neither claim 19 nor claim 1 is drawn to containing an attenuation of Ruta graveolus. Thus, it is unclear what the attenuation of Ruta graveolus is claim 31 referring to, as neither claim 19 or claim 1 contains an attenuation of Ruta graveolus.
Regarding claim 33, the recitation of “the attenuation of Hypericum with a dilution of 10X” renders said claims 33 indefinite because there is lack of antecedent basis for the attenuation of Hypericum in the claim. It is noted that claim 33 is directly or indirectly dependent from claims 19 and 1, respectively, yet neither claim 19 nor claim 1 is drawn to containing an attenuation of Hypericum. Thus, it is unclear what the attenuation of Hypericum is claim 33 referring to, as neither claim 19 or claim 1 contains an attenuation of Hypericum.
As a result, claims 14, 28, 31, and 33 do not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of patent protection desired.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 7, 11, 13, 14, 19, 23-31, 33, 35, 36, and 49 are directed to product of nature without significantly more.
Independent claim 1: Ineligible
Independent claim(s) 1 recites a composition comprising: an attenuation of Arnica montana; an attenuation of Calendula officinalis; an attenuation of Chamomilla; an attenuation of Ignatia amara; an attenuation of Ledum palustre; an attenuation of Silicea; and at least one of an attenuation of Echinacea purpurea or an attenuation of Echinacea angustifolia.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because claim 1 recites nature-based product limitations (Arnica montana, Calendula officinalis, Chamomilla, Ignatia amar, Ledum palustre, Silicea, Echinacea purpurea, and Echinacea angustifolia). Arnica montana, Calendula officinalis, Chamomilla, Ignatia amar, Ledum palustre, Silicea, Echinacea purpurea, and Echinacea angustifolia are plants/herbs/botanicals, thereby are all natural elements. The closest natural counterpart is naturally occurring Arnica montana, Calendula officinalis, Chamomilla, Ignatia amar, Ledum palustre, Silicea, Echinacea purpurea, and Echinacea angustifolia). Arnica montana, Calendula officinalis, Chamomilla, Ignatia amar, Ledum palustre, Silicea, Echinacea purpurea, and Echinacea angustifolia. When the claimed Arnica montana, Calendula officinalis, Chamomilla, Ignatia amar, Ledum palustre, Silicea, Echinacea purpurea, and Echinacea angustifolia). Arnica montana, Calendula officinalis, Chamomilla, Ignatia amar, Ledum palustre, Silicea, Echinacea purpurea, and Echinacea angustifolia are compared to these counterparts, the comparison indicates that there are no difference in structure, function or other characteristics. Therefore, the claimed Arnica montana, Calendula officinalis, Chamomilla, Ignatia amar, Ledum palustre, Silicea, Echinacea purpurea, and Echinacea angustifolia. Arnica montana, Calendula officinalis, Chamomilla, Ignatia amar, Ledum palustre, Silicea, Echinacea purpurea, and Echinacea angustifolia are product of nature exception. Association for Molecular Pathology v. Myriad Genetics Inc., 569 U.S. 576, 589-90 (2013) (naturally occurring things are “products of nature” which cannot be patented).
The composition is not markedly different from their closest naturally occurring counterpart because there is no indication the attenuation/dilution has caused the Arnica montana, Calendula officinalis, Chamomilla, Ignatia amar, Ledum palustre, Silicea, Echinacea purpurea, and Echinacea angustifolia to have any characteristics that are different from the naturally occurring Arnica montana, Calendula officinalis, Chamomilla, Ignatia amar, Ledum palustre, Silicea, Echinacea purpurea, and Echinacea angustifolia.
Claim(s) 1 does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the claim does not recite any additional elements beyond the claimed compositions themselves, and the specification does not provide data or any indication that the combination of these naturally occurring counterparts when combined would display markedly different characteristics compared to their naturally occurring counterpart. Therefore, claim 1 does not recite something significantly more than a judicial exception and are thus deemed patent ineligible subject matter.
For the reasons described above, claim 1 not markedly different from their closest naturally occurring counterparts and thus are product of nature judicial exceptions.
As such, claim 1 as a whole does not amounts to significantly more than the recited exception, and thereby not eligible.
Dependent claims 2, 4-5, 7, 11, 13-14, 19, 23-31, 33, 35, and 36: Ineligible
Claim 2 recites the addition of at least one ingredient selected from an attenuation of Azadirachta indica, an attenuation of Hepar sulphuris calcareum, and many more attenuations of other plant/botanical materials.
Claim 4 recites the addition of the composition comprises an attenuation of Hepar sulphuris calcareum.
Claim 5 recites the addition of the composition comprises an attenuation of Hypericum.
Claim 7 recites the addition of the composition comprises an attenuation of Ruta graveolens.
Claim 11 recites the addition of at least one of an allopathic medicine, a vitamin, a mineral, or an amino acid.
Claim 13 recites the addition of mineral selected from antimony, barium, beryllium, bismuth, boron … and many more minerals.
Claim 14 recites the addition of an excipient selected from viscosity modifying agents, buffers, antioxidants, and many more types of excipients.
Claim 19 recites the addition of the composition is formulated as a gel, a rinse, a spray, a pellet, a pill, or a drop.
Claim 23, recites the addition of the composition comprises the attenuation of Arnica montana at a dilution of 3X, 6X, or 18X.
Claim 24 recites the addition of the composition comprises the attenuation of Calendula officinalis at a dilution of 3X.
Claim 25 recites the addition of the composition comprises the attenuation of Chamomilla at a dilution of 5X.
Claim 26 recites the addition of the composition comprises the attenuation of Echinacea purpurea at a dilution of 3X.
Claim 27 recites the addition of the composition comprises the attenuation of Echinacea angustifolia with a dilution of 3X.
Claim 28 recites the addition of the composition comprises the attenuation of Azadirachta indica with a dilution of 1X.
Claim 29 recites the addition of the composition comprises the attenuation of Ignatia amara at a dilution of 30X.
Claim 30 recites the addition of the composition comprises the attenuation of Ledum palustre at a dilution of 6X.
Claim 31 recites the addition of the composition comprises the attenuation of Ruta graveolens with a dilution of 12X.
Claim 33 recites the addition of the composition comprises the attenuation of Hypericum with a dilution of 10X.
Claim 35 recites the addition of the composition comprises the attenuation of Silicea at a dilution of 8X
Claim 36 recites the addition of the composition comprises at least one ingredient selected from: allantoin, citric acid, glycerin, hydroxyethyl cellulose, peppermint oil, potassium sorbate, polysorbate 20, propolis, purified water, sodium benzoate, and xylitol.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claims recite nature-based product limitations (Arnica montana, Calendula officinalis, Chamomilla, Ignatia amar, Ledum palustre, Silicea, Echinacea purpurea, and Echinacea angustifolia). Arnica montana, Calendula officinalis, Chamomilla, Ignatia amar, Ledum palustre, Silicea, Echinacea purpurea, and Echinacea angustifolia are plants/herbs/botanicals, thereby are all natural elements. The closest natural counterpart is naturally occurring Arnica montana, Calendula officinalis, Chamomilla, Ignatia amar, Ledum palustre, Silicea, Echinacea purpurea, and Echinacea angustifolia). Arnica montana, Calendula officinalis, Chamomilla, Ignatia amar, Ledum palustre, Silicea, Echinacea purpurea, and Echinacea angustifolia. When the claimed Arnica montana, Calendula officinalis, Chamomilla, Ignatia amar, Ledum palustre, Silicea, Echinacea purpurea, and Echinacea angustifolia). Arnica montana, Calendula officinalis, Chamomilla, Ignatia amar, Ledum palustre, Silicea, Echinacea purpurea, and Echinacea angustifolia are compared to these counterparts, the comparison indicates that there are no difference in structure, function or other characteristics. Therefore, the claimed Arnica montana, Calendula officinalis, Chamomilla, Ignatia amar, Ledum palustre, Silicea, Echinacea purpurea, and Echinacea angustifolia. Arnica montana, Calendula officinalis, Chamomilla, Ignatia amar, Ledum palustre, Silicea, Echinacea purpurea, and Echinacea angustifolia are product of nature exception. Association for Molecular Pathology v. Myriad Genetics Inc., 569 U.S. 576, 589-90 (2013) (naturally occurring things are “products of nature” which cannot be patented).
The composition is not markedly different from their closest naturally occurring counterpart because there is no indication the attenuation/dilution has caused the Arnica montana, Calendula officinalis, Chamomilla, Ignatia amar, Ledum palustre, Silicea, Echinacea purpurea, and Echinacea angustifolia to have any characteristics that are different from the naturally occurring Arnica montana, Calendula officinalis, Chamomilla, Ignatia amar, Ledum palustre, Silicea, Echinacea purpurea, and Echinacea angustifolia.
Claim(s) 2, 4-5, 7, 11, 13-14, 19, 23-31, 33, 35, and 36 does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the addition of at least one ingredient selected from an attenuation of Azadirachta indica, an attenuation of Hepar sulphuris calcareum, an attenuation of Ruta graveolens, and many more attenuations of other plant/botanical materials as recited in claims 2, 4, 5, and 7, respectively, do not appear to change the structure, function or other characteristics of the natural counterparts (Arnica montana, Calendula officinalis, Chamomilla, Ignatia amar, Ledum palustre, Silicea, Echinacea purpurea, and Echinacea angustifolia), as Azadirachta indica, Hepar sulphuris calcareum, Ruta graveolens, and the remainder of the plants/herbs/botanicals recited in claims 2, 4, 5, and 7, respectively, are natural elements, and reciting combinations of natural elements do not appear to change the structure, function or other characteristics of the natural counterparts because combining these ingredients together does not provide anything markedly different, since the individual components have the same activity that they have naturally and the specification does not indicate or show that the combinations of natural elements as mentioned above would display markedly different characteristics compared to the naturally occurring counterpart alone.
The addition of vitamin, mineral or amino acid as in claim 11, and the addition of minerals as in claim 13 does not appear to change the structure, function or other characteristics of the natural counterparts (Arnica montana, Calendula officinalis, Chamomilla, Ignatia amar, Ledum palustre, Silicea, Echinacea purpurea, and Echinacea angustifolia), as vitamin, mineral and amino acid are natural elements and reciting combinations of natural elements do not appear to change the structure, function or other characteristics of the natural counterparts because combining these ingredients together does not provide anything markedly different, since the individual components have the same activity that they have naturally and the specification does not indicate or show that the combinations of natural elements as mentioned above would display markedly different characteristics compared to the naturally occurring counterpart alone.
The addition of an excipient selected from viscosity modifying agents, buffers, antioxidants, and many more types of excipients as recited in claim 14 does not appear to change the structure, function or other characteristics of the natural counterparts (Arnica montana, Calendula officinalis, Chamomilla, Ignatia amar, Ledum palustre, Silicea, Echinacea purpurea, and Echinacea angustifolia), as these excipients are recited in generality and there is no indication that the additional excipient(s) claimed in the composition results in a markedly different characteristic for the composition as compared to Arnica montana, Calendula officinalis, Chamomilla, Ignatia amar, Ledum palustre, Silicea, Echinacea purpurea, and Echinacea angustifolia, and reciting combinations of natural elements and excipients do not appear to change the structure, function or other characteristics of the natural counterparts because combining these ingredients together does not provide anything markedly different, since the individual components have the same activity that they have naturally and the specification does not indicate or show that the combinations of natural elements and excipient as mentioned above would display markedly different characteristics compared to the naturally occurring counterpart alone. The addition of an excipient as recited claim 14 does not add a meaningful limitation as it is merely a nominal or token extrasolution component of the claim, and is nothing more than an attempt to generally link the product of nature to a particular technological environment.
The formulation of the composition as a gel, a rinse, a spray, a pellet, a pill, or a drop as in claim 19 does not appear to change the structure, function or other characteristics of the natural counterparts (Arnica montana, Calendula officinalis, Chamomilla, Ignatia amar, Ledum palustre, Silicea, Echinacea purpurea, and Echinacea angustifolia), as Arnica montana, Calendula officinalis, Chamomilla, Ignatia amar, Ledum palustre, Silicea, Echinacea purpurea, and Echinacea angustifolia can be sprayed or provided as droplets and it is routine and conventional to make sprays and drops from a water formulation and homeopathic formulation indicates that the individual ingredients can be in an amount that is so dilute, that they are essentially water, which is found in nature in the form of drops. Likewise, gel formulation containing Arnica montana, Calendula officinalis, Chamomilla, Ignatia amar, Ledum palustre, Silicea, Echinacea purpurea, and Echinacea angustifolia does not result in a markedly different characteristic for the claimed composition because the dilution factor of the components can result in water and water is naturally found in gel. Thus, aloe gel, as an example is a gel formulation that contains water and does not provide anything markedly different, since aloe gel is found in nature. Since the individual components have the same activity that they have naturally and the specification does not indicate or show that the formulation of the composition as a gel, a rinse, a spray, a pellet, a pill, or a drop as mentioned above would display markedly different characteristics compared to the naturally occurring counterpart alone.
The attenuation and dilution factors as recited in claims 23-31, 33 and 35 does not appear to change the structure, function or other characteristics of the natural counterparts (Arnica montana, Calendula officinalis, Chamomilla, Ignatia amar, Ledum palustre, Silicea, Echinacea purpurea, and Echinacea angustifolia), there is no indication the attenuation/dilution has caused the Arnica montana, Calendula officinalis, Chamomilla, Ignatia amar, Ledum palustre, Silicea, Echinacea purpurea, and Echinacea angustifolia to have any characteristics that are different from the naturally occurring Arnica montana, Calendula officinalis, Chamomilla, Ignatia amar, Ledum palustre, Silicea, Echinacea purpurea, and Echinacea angustifolia, and the specification does not indicate or show that the attenuation/dilution factors as mentioned above would display markedly different characteristics compared to the naturally occurring counterpart alone.
The addition of the composition comprises at least one ingredient selected from: allantoin, citric acid, glycerin, hydroxyethyl cellulose, peppermint oil, potassium sorbate, polysorbate 20, propolis, purified water, sodium benzoate, and xylitol as in claim 36, as the ingredients such as citric acid, glycerin, peppermint oil, and purified water, among others are natural elements, and there is no indication that the additional ingredients claimed in the composition results in a markedly different characteristic for the composition as compared to Arnica montana, Calendula officinalis, Chamomilla, Ignatia amar, Ledum palustre, Silicea, Echinacea purpurea, and Echinacea angustifolia, and reciting combinations of natural elements and additional ingredients do not appear to change the structure, function or other characteristics of the natural counterparts because combining these ingredients together does not provide anything markedly different, since the individual components have the same activity that they have naturally and the specification does not indicate or show that the combinations of natural elements and additional ingredients recited in claim 36 as mentioned above would display markedly different characteristics compared to the naturally occurring counterpart alone.
For the reasons described above, claims 2, 4-5, 7, 11, 13-14, 19, 23-31, 33, 35, and 36 are markedly different from their closest naturally occurring counterparts and thus are product of nature judicial exceptions.
As such, claims 2, 4-5, 7, 11, 13-14, 19, 23-31, 33, 35, and 36 as a whole do not amounts to significantly more than the recited exception, and thereby not eligible.
Independent claim 49: Ineligible
Independent claim 49 recite kits containing a first composition formulated as spray or drops, a second composition formulated as a gel, a third composition formulated as a rinse, and at least one container, wherein each composition contains a variety of attenuations of plant/botanical materials at X dilutions.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because 49 recites nature-based product limitations (Arnica montana, Calendula officinalis, Chamomilla, Ignatia amar, Ledum palustre, Silicea, Echinacea purpurea, Echinacea angustifolia … etc.). Arnica montana, Calendula officinalis, Chamomilla, Ignatia amar, Ledum palustre, Silicea, Echinacea purpurea, Echinacea angustifolia, and many others recited in claim 49 are plants/herbs/botanicals, thereby are all natural elements. The closest natural counterpart is naturally occurring Arnica montana, Calendula officinalis, Chamomilla, Ignatia amar, Ledum palustre, Silicea, Echinacea purpurea, Echinacea angustifolia … etc. When the claimed Arnica montana, Calendula officinalis, Chamomilla, Ignatia amar, Ledum palustre, Silicea, Echinacea purpurea, Echinacea angustifolia, … etc., are compared to these counterparts, the comparison indicates that there are no difference in structure, function or other characteristics. Therefore, the claimed Arnica montana, Calendula officinalis, Chamomilla, Ignatia amar, Ledum palustre, Silicea, Echinacea purpurea, Echinacea angustifolia, … etc., are product of nature exception. Association for Molecular Pathology v. Myriad Genetics Inc., 569 U.S. 576, 589-90 (2013) (naturally occurring things are “products of nature” which cannot be patented).
The composition is not markedly different from their closest naturally occurring counterpart because there is no indication the attenuation/dilution has caused the Arnica montana, Calendula officinalis, Chamomilla, Ignatia amar, Ledum palustre, Silicea, Echinacea purpurea, Echinacea angustifolia, … etc., to have any characteristics that are different from the naturally occurring Arnica montana, Calendula officinalis, Chamomilla, Ignatia amar, Ledum palustre, Silicea, Echinacea purpurea, Echinacea angustifolia, … etc.
Claim(s) 49 does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the kit is not markedly different from its closest naturally occurring counterpart because there is no indication that providing a kit comprising Arnica montana, Calendula officinalis, Chamomilla, Ignatia amar, Ledum palustre, Silicea, Echinacea purpurea, Echinacea angustifolia, … etc., has any characteristics that are different from the naturally occurring Arnica montana, Calendula officinalis, Chamomilla, Ignatia amar, Ledum palustre, Silicea, Echinacea purpurea, Echinacea angustifolia, … etc., because placing the natural ingredients in a container and adding instructions will not change the properties or structure or function of the individual components in the composition. Combining these ingredients together does not provide anything markedly different, since the individual components have the same activity that they have naturally. Furthermore, the specification does not provide data or any indication that the combination of these naturally occurring counterparts when combined and place in a kit would display markedly different characteristics compared to their naturally occurring counterpart.
For the reasons described above, claim 49 is not markedly different from their closest naturally occurring counterparts and thus are product of nature judicial exceptions.
As such, claim 49 as a whole do not amounts to significantly more than the recited exception, and thereby not eligible.
As a result, claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 7, 11, 13, 14, 19, 23-31, 33, 35, 36, and 49 are not patentable based on the judicial exception under 35 U.S.C. 101. See MPEP 2104, 2105 and 2106. Also see, The 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance (2019 PEG).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 7, 11, 13, 14, 19, 23-31, 33, 35, 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dreyer (US 2004/0180101 A1) in view of Luria et al (US 2008/0279902 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Dreyer teaches a homeopathic formulation comprising diluted/attenuated extracts of Calendula Officinalis, Arnica Montana, and Ledum Palustre, wherein the homeopathic formulation is used for treating or relieving pain and inflammation (Abstract; [0011]-[0052]; claims 1-49).
However, Dreyer does not teach the attenuation of Chamomilla, attenuation of Ignatia amara, attenuation of Silicea, and at least one of an attenuation of Echinacea purpurea or an attenuation of Echinacea angustifolia of claim 1.
Regarding the attenuation of Chamomilla, attenuation of Ignatia amara, attenuation of Silicea, and at least one of an attenuation of Echinacea purpurea or an attenuation of Echinacea angustifolia of claim 1, Luria teaches a homeopathic formulation comprising homeopathic agents such as Chamomilla, Ignatia amara, Silicea, and Echinacea purpurea or Echinacea angustifolia, wherein the homeopathic agents were attenuated/diluted (Abstract; [0013]-[0035], [0058]-[0083], [0094]-[0122]; claims 1-51). Luria teaches the homeopathic formulation is useful in treating pain and inflammation ([0100]).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art to include attenuations of Chamomilla, Ignatia amara, Silicea, and Echinacea purpurea or Echinacea angustifolia in the homeopathic formulation of Dreyer, and produce the claimed invention. One ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Luria provided the guidance to do so by teaching that attenuations of Chamomilla, Ignatia amara, Silicea, and Echinacea purpurea or Echinacea angustifolia can be included in a homeopathic formulation for treating pain and inflammation, which are also the objectives of the homeopathic formulation of Dreyer. One of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonable expectation of success because “[i]t is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (citations omitted) (Claims to a process of preparing a spray-dried detergent by mixing together two conventional spray-dried detergents were held to be prima facie obvious.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at to combine the instant ingredients for their known benefit since each is well known in the art for treating pain and inflammation. This rejection is based on the well-established proposition of patent law that no invention resides in combining old ingredients of known properties where the results obtained thereby are no more than the additive effect of the ingredients, In re Sussman, 136 F.2d 715, 718, 58 USPQ 262, 264 (CCPA 1943).
Regarding claims 2, 4, 5, and 7, Luria teaches the homeopathic formulation can further contain additional homeopathic agents including Azadirachta indica, Hepar sulphuris calcareum, Hypericum, Ruta graveolens, Berberis vulgaris, and Melia Azadirachta ([0014], Table 1).
Regarding claim 11, Luria teaches the homeopathic formulation can further contains vitamins and minerals ([0014]-[0015], [0046] and [0082]).
Regarding claim 13, Luria teaches the homeopathic formulation can further contain minerals including zinc and iron ([0014]-[0015], [0046] and [0082]).
Regarding claim 14, Dreyer teaches the homeopathic formulation further contains excipients such as thickeners, preservatives and humectants ([0021], [0032], [0037], Tables 2-3).
Regarding claim 19, Dreyer teaches the homeopathic formulation is in the form of a gel, spray, tablets, pills, or drops ([0051])
Regarding claims 23-31, 33, and 35, Dreyer teaches herbal extracts are diluted and prepared according to the Homeopathic Pharmacopoeia of the United States (HPUS), with accepted methods of dilution and succession to potentize Such ingredients per HPUS instructions and requirements (Dreyer: [0023]-[0044]). Dreyer teaches dilution factors of the herbal extracts are produced according to known potentization procedures in homeopathy ([0023]-[0044]). Luria teaches HPUS is known to those skilled in the art and contains the precise directions and proportions for preparing attenuations and triturations of known homeopathic agents, including specifically methods for liquid attenuations of soluble Substances, tinctures of biological Substances, tinctures of Zoological Substances, triturations of Solid Substances, triturations of insoluble liquid Substances, conversion of triturations of insoluble basic Substances into liquid attenuations, attenuations of pathological organs or tissues, causative agents, excretions and secretions, attenuations of antigens, attenuations of botanical, Zoological or chemical substances which have been ingested or absorbed by the body, attenuations of organs, tissues and metabolic factors and tinctures of botanical Substances (Luria: [0026]-[0035], [0094]-[0112]). Thus, it would have been reasonably obvious to those of ordinary skilled in the art to perform routinely known procedures of attenuation per HPUS instructions and requirements as guided by Dreyer and Luria to arrive at the claimed dilution factors for each of the ingredients as recited in claims 23-31, 33, and 35 with reasonable expectation of success of achieving desired homeopathic formulation that effective in treating pain and inflammation. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 220 F2d 454,456,105 USPQ 233; 235 (CCPA 1955). see MPEP § 2144.05 (II).
Regarding claim 36, Dreyer teaches the homeopathic formulation further contains glycerin and purified water ([0021], [0032], [0037], Tables 2-3).
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s invention, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Claim(s) 49 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farrington et al (US 2010/0316737 A1) in view of Oswal et al (US 2011/0038949 A1), and Florence et al (US 2016/0074313 A1).
Regarding claim 39, Farrington teaches a homeopathic formulation comprising dilutions of Hepar sulphuris calcereum, Calendula officianalis, Chamomilla, Ledum palustre, Echinacea angustifolia, Ruta graveolens, Arnica montana, Mercurius vivus, hypericum, Silicea, and Echinacea purpurea (Abstract; [0004]-[0321]). Farrington teaches the homeopathic formulation is useful in treating stroke ([0101], [0210], [0291], [0333]).
Although Farrington presents these homeopathic remedies in large lists- it is clear that each individual remedy was slated as an active ingredient. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill to pick any combination of these homeopathic ingredients to use in a pain and inflammation relieving formula because each individual ingredient would have been expected to treat pain and inflammation: [If]... there are [a] finite number of identified, predictable solutions, [a] person of ordinary skill in art has good reason to pursue known options within his or her technical grasp, and if this leads to anticipated success, it is likely product of ordinary skill and common sense, not innovation, KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 U.S. 2007.
However, Farrington does not teach the Ignatia amara, Plantago major, and Azadirachta indica of claim 49.
Regarding the Ignatia amara, Plantago major, and Azadirachta indica of claim 39, Oswal teaches a homeopathic formulation comprising dilutions of Ignatia amara, Plantago major, and Azadirachta indica (Abstract; [0021]-[0191]). Oswal teaches the homeopathic formulation is useful in treating stroke ([0022], [0088], [0093], [0104]; claim 32).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art to include attenuations/dilutions of Ignatia amara, Plantago major, and Azadirachta indica in the homeopathic formulation of Farrington, and produce the claimed invention. One ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Oswal provided the guidance to do so by teaching that dilutions of Ignatia amara, Plantago major, and Azadirachta indica can be included in a homeopathic formulation for stroke, which is also the objectives of the homeopathic formulation of Farrington. One of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonable expectation of success because “[i]t is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (citations omitted) (Claims to a process of preparing a spray-dried detergent by mixing together two conventional spray-dried detergents were held to be prima facie obvious.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at to combine the instant ingredients for their known benefit since each is well known in the art for stroke. This rejection is based on the well-established proposition of patent law that no invention resides in combining old ingredients of known properties where the results obtained thereby are no more than the additive effect of the ingredients, In re Sussman, 136 F.2d 715, 718, 58 USPQ 262, 264 (CCPA 1943).
With respect to the dilution factors of each ingredient in claim 49, Farrington and Oswal teach that the extracts are diluted and prepared according to the Homeopathic Pharmacopoeia of the United States (HPUS) (Farrington: [0006]-[0024], [0095]-[0303]; Oswal: [0094]-[0103]). Thus, it would have been reasonably obvious to those of ordinary skilled in the art to perform routinely known procedures of attenuation per HPUS instructions and requirements as guided by Farrington and Oswal to arrive at the claimed dilution factors for each of the ingredients as recited in claim 49 with reasonable expectation of success of achieving desired homeopathic formulation that effective in treating stroke. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 220 F2d 454,456,105 USPQ 233; 235 (CCPA 1955). see MPEP § 2144.05 (II).
With respect to incorporating the compositions of claim 49 into a kit, Florence teaches that dilutions of extract can be stored in kit ([0007]-[0008], [0019], [0052], [0083]-[0084]; Examples 1-2). Florence teaches the kit include a container and the composition(s) stored in the kit can be dispensed as a spray, fluid or gel ([0019], [0052], [0083]-[0084]). Florence teaches the kit includes instructions for using the kit and/or compositions and instructions can include an explanation of how to apply, use, and maintain the compositions ([0019], [0052], [0083]-[0084]). Provided the guidance from Florence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Farrington and Oswal and utilize a kit for storing and packing compositions of the homeopathic formulations of Farrington in view of Oswal. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to utilize a kit in order to package and ship the formulation as well as to provide instructions for a consumer/provider on how to utilize the product. “Where the printed matter is not functionally related to the substrate, the printed matter will not distinguish the invention from the prior art in terms of patentability.” In re Ngai, 367 F.3d 1336, 70 USPQ2d 1862 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s invention, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/DOAN T PHAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613