DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-11, 13-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20140228041 A1 (Takahashi et al.) (hereinafter Takahashi) in view of US 20230319658 A1 (Lu et al.) (hereinafter Lu).
In re claims 1, 8 and 15, Takahashi discloses a cell registration method, applied to a terminal (Fig. 7, [0017], “An object of the present invention is to provide a mobile station and a mobile communication method by which the SIB 5 can notify of an EARFCN of an equivalent band while minimizing the increase in the overhead”), a terminal, comprising a processor ([0070], “the operation of the radio base station eNB and the mobile station UE described above may be implemented by hardware, a software module executed by a processor, or a combination of the both”) and a memory ([0071], “The software module may be provided in a storage medium of an arbitrary format such as a RAM (Random Access Memory), a flash memory, a ROM (Read Only Memory”), wherein the memory stores a program or instructions capable of being run on the processor and a non-transitory readable storage medium ([0072], “The storage medium is connected to the processor so that the processor can read/write information from/to the storage medium”), wherein the program or instructions are stored in the non-transitory readable storage medium, when executed by the processor, cause the terminal to perform:
acquiring a first frequency band range of a first cell (Fig. 7: S101, [0046], “Here, the reception unit 21 is configured to acquire information related to the band #19 and the equivalent bands #5/#26 that are supported in the cell #1, from the SIB 1”. [0018], “the mobile communication method including: a step in which a radio base station in a first cell notifies, by means of broadcast information, of a radio frequency channel number within a band supported in a second cell adjacent to the first cell as well as an equivalent band of the band”. [0040], “For example, the broadcast information transmission unit 12 is configured to refer to the band configuration managed by the management unit 11 to notify of the band #5 supported in the cell #1 by means of an information element "freqBandIndicator" included in the SIB 1...”. [0041], “...to notify of carrier frequency information pertaining to the equivalent bands #5/#26 supported in the cell #1, by means of an information element "addiFreqInfoList" included in the SIB 2 as illustrated in FIG. 4”); and
prohibiting registration of the terminal in the first cell in a case that the first frequency band range is not within a second frequency band range supported by the terminal (Fig. 7: S102, [0003], “a mobile station UE is configured to be able to perform connection processing only in a cell that supports a band supported by the mobile station itself (or a band that has passed an authentication test)”. [0004], “That is, the mobile station UE is configured to not be able to perform the connection processing in a cell that does not support the band supported by the mobile station itself” (forbidden to register in a band not supported). [0018], “and a step in which a mobile station assumes that access in the second cell is prohibited when having determined that the mobile station does not support the band and the equivalent band”. [0033], “The band #5 and the bands #19/#26 are configured to overlap one another while the band #2 and the band #21 are configured to overlap each other, but the bands #5/#19/#26 are not configured to overlap with the bands #2/#21”. [0042], “notify of a target EARFCN for the inter-frequency measurement provided to perform a cell reselection process within the band #2 supported in the cell #2, by means of an information element "dl-CarrierFreq" within an information element "InterFreqCarrierFreqInfo" included in the SIB 5 as illustrated in FIG. 5” (overlap means within the second band range and no overlap means not within the second frequency band range). [0052], “the determination unit 22 is configured to assume that access in the cell #2 is prohibited when having determined that the mobile station UE does not support the band #2 and the equivalent band #21 supported in the cell #2” (Access is prohibited is interpreted as prohibiting registration in the band range not supported by the terminal)).
Takahashi does not explicitly disclose that the first frequency band range is not within a second frequency band range.
Lu discloses program or instructions are stored in the non-transitory readable storage medium, that the first frequency band range is not within a second frequency band range supported by the terminal (Fig. 2: 208-212, Fig. 5, [0058], “The UE 160 may include one or more processors 502...The data storage 506 may include a computer readable media 508 in the form of memory and/or cache. This computer-readable media may include a non-transitory computer-readable media. The processor(s) 502 may be configured to execute instructions, which can be stored in the computer readable media 508 and/or in other computer readable media accessible to the processor(s) 502”. Abstract, “If the mobile device is unable to recognize an information element identifying a different subset of the advertised frequency band than that supported by the mobile device, the mobile device will store a record of the tracking area and the advertised frequency band and compare future cell information broadcasts to the entry, avoiding attempts to operate within cells in the same tracking area advertising the same frequency. In this way the mobile device conserves resources by avoiding actions in incompatible cells and avoids storing information about many cells by only storing the tracking area information”. [0032], “A UE 160 may be operating in the general vicinity of the tracking area 110”. [0033], “The base station 130 may be configured to transmit (e.g., broadcast) a SIB 170 in the area of one or more of its cells. For example, the base station 170 may broadcast the SIB 170 with IEs that indicate information or data associated with the cell 134. This information may include a PLMN identifier or list of PLMN identities 172, a TAC 174, a cell ID 176, a frequency band 178, and a frequency sub-band 180” (discloses frequency bands broadcasted as information element IE by network). [0009], “One or more bands of frequencies advertised by a base station may include frequencies that some UEs cannot support...For instance, a first subset of the frequencies within a particular band (e.g., “band X” for example purposes) may be generally supported by legacy and current UEs. At some time after such legacy UEs may have been put into operation, a second, different subset of the frequencies within band X may be made available...However, these base stations may provide service in band X using the second subset of frequencies that may not be supported by all legacy UEs”. [0010], “Because the UE cannot communicate using the second subset of the frequencies within band X, the same result will occur (e.g., the UE determines gain that the cell is barred based on not recognizing the new IE indicating the newer second subset of frequencies)”. [0011], “However, there remain many legacy network devices and UEs that support only the C-band portion of the n77 band and not the DoD band portion” (first frequency band is not within a second frequency band supported by the terminal).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Takahashi with Lu to provide a cell selection method where a terminal is restricted from registering in the forbidden frequency band. The advantage of doing so is reducing power consumption of the terminal.
In re claims 2, 9 and 16, the combination discloses the method according to claim 1, the terminal according to claim 8 and the non-transitory readable storage medium according to claim 15, wherein Takahashi discloses wherein the acquiring a first frequency band range of a first cell comprises: acquiring a first message sent by a network device, wherein the first message comprises a frequency band parameter of the first cell (Fig. 7:S101, [0007], “Furthermore, a radio base station eNB in the LTE scheme is configured to notify of a target EARFCN (E-UTRA Absolute Radio Frequency Channel Number) for inter-frequency measurement to perform a cell reselection process, by means of an information element "InterFreqCarrierFreqInfo" included in an SIB (System Information Block) 5” (sending frequency band parameter through IE by the network device)); and determining the first frequency band range based on the frequency band parameter ([0059], “In step S103, the mobile station UE determines whether or not the band corresponding to the EARFCN specified by the information element "dl-CarrierFreq" included in the SIB 5 received in the cell #1 as well as the band specified by the information element "addiFreqBandIndicatorList" are supported by the mobile station UE”). Lu also discloses [0021], “The one or more frequency sub-band identifiers included in the SIB may indicate one or more operating frequency sub-bands of the cell indicated in the SIB. This may be an IE as described above that distinguishes between two or more subsets of frequencies supported within a particular band of frequencies. This IE may indicate a frequency sub-band in which the cell may operate by indicating, for example, a center frequency (e.g., an ARFCN or a NR-ARFCN) and a number of PRBs that, used together, may indicate a frequency range within the frequency band indicated by the frequency band identifier...”. [0023], “The UE may determine whether the UE is compatible (e.g., capable of operating in) the frequency bands indicated in the SIB. If so, the UE may attempt to communicate with the cell's base station”).
In re claims 3, 10 and 17, the combination discloses the method according to claim 2, the terminal according to claim 9 and the non-transitory readable storage medium according to claim 16, wherein Takahashi discloses wherein the first message further comprises a frequency range indication parameter for indicating a target frequency range ([0017], “An object of the present invention is to provide a mobile station and a mobile communication method by which the SIB 5 can notify of an EARFCN of an equivalent band while minimizing the increase in the overhead”); and wherein Lu discloses determining the first frequency band range based on the frequency band parameter comprises: acquiring a preset reference frequency range; and determining the first frequency band range based on the frequency band parameter in a case that the frequency range indication parameter matches the reference frequency range, wherein the first frequency band range is within the target frequency range ([0010], “However, the UE will continue to receive broadcast messages from the base station for that cell, and, after a brief timeout period associated with the barred cell determination, the UE will again attempt to “camp” on that cell by establishing a communications session with the base station. Because the UE cannot communicate using the second subset of the frequencies within band X, the same result will occur (e.g., the UE determines gain that the cell is barred based on not recognizing the new IE indicating the newer second subset of frequencies). This process may be repeated as long as the UE is receiving broadcast messages from the base station indicating that the base station supports band X which the UE also believes it supports, even though the particular frequencies within band X supported by the base station and the UE do not match up”.
In re claims 4, 11 and 18, the combination discloses the method according to claim 2, the terminal according to claim 9 and the non-transitory readable storage medium according to claim 16, wherein Takahashi discloses wherein the determining the first frequency band range based on the frequency band parameter comprises: calculating an upper boundary frequency and a lower boundary frequency of the first cell based on the frequency band parameter; and determining the first frequency band range based on the upper boundary frequency and the lower boundary frequency; and the prohibiting registration of the terminal in the first cell in a case that the first frequency band range is not within a second frequency band range supported by the terminal comprises: prohibiting registration of the terminal in the first cell in a case that at least one of the upper boundary frequency or the lower boundary frequency is not within the second frequency band range (the use of a upper boundary and a lower boundary is a straightforward means for identifying matching of numerical ranges such as the case here)).
In re claims 6, 13 and 20, the combination discloses the method according to claim 5, the terminal according to claim 12 and the non-transitory readable storage medium according to claim 19, wherein Lu discloses wherein after the prohibiting registration of the terminal in the first cell, the method further comprises: acquiring a second cell parameter of a second cell; acquiring a third frequency band range of the second cell in a case that the plurality of groups of cell parameters do not comprise the second cell parameter; and registering in the second cell in a case that the third frequency band range is within the second frequency band range ([0034], “The PLMN identifier 172 may indicate the network or network operator with which the base station 130 and/or the cell 134 is associated (e.g., a numeric code indicating an MNC and an MCC). The TAC 174 may be an identifier for the tracking area 110. The cell ID 176 may be an identifier for the cell 134 (e.g., an ECI). The frequency band 178 may be an identifier for the operational frequency band for the cell 134. The frequency sub-band 180 may indicate a frequency sub-band in which the cell 134 may operate. In various examples, the frequency sub-band IE 180 may indicate a center frequency (e.g., an ARFCN or a NR-ARFCN) and a number of PRBs that, used together, may indicate a frequency range, for example, within the frequency band indicated by the frequency band 178” (it is implicit from prior art that UE rejects non compatible cells as a part of overall procedure to select suitable cell. Therefore it is implicit it will continue searching suitable cell)).
In re claims 7 and 14, the combination discloses the method according to claim 5 and the terminal according to claim 12, wherein Lu discloses wherein each group of cell parameters comprises at least one of the following: a physical cell identity; or a cell frequency point number, a subcarrier spacing, and a carrier bandwidth ([0016], “A SIB broadcast by a base station may include, but is not limited to, one or more of a Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN) identifier or a list of PLMN identities, a tracking area code (TAC), a tracking area identifier (TAI), a cell identifier, one or more frequency band identifiers, and one or more frequency sub-band identifiers”).
Claims 5, 12 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20140228041 A1 (Takahashi et al.) (hereinafter Takahashi) in view of US 20230319658 A1 (Lu et al.) (hereinafter Lu) in view of US 20140113614 A1 (Liu et al.) (hereinafter Liu) and in further view of US 20210368568 A1 (Jangid et al.) (hereinafter Jangid).
In re claims 5, 12 and 19, the combination discloses the method according to claim 1, the terminal according to claim 8 and the non-transitory readable storage medium according to claim 15, wherein Lu discloses wherein after the prohibiting registration of the terminal in the first cell, the method further comprises: acquiring historical information and a first cell parameter of the first cell, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the historical information comprises a plurality of groups of cell parameters; and adding the first cell parameter to the historical information in a case that the plurality of groups of cell parameters do not comprise the first cell parameter (Fig. 2:204, [0040], “The SIB 192 may include information about the cell 154, including the information described herein in regard to the SIB 170 (note only the TAC and frequency band for the SIB 192 shown in the figure for brevity). The UE 160 may determine that the SIB 192 indicates the TAC 174 and the frequency band 178. The UE 160 may evaluate this data against the entries stored in the UE barred list 162 and determine that the TAC and band combination indicated in the SIB 192 corresponds to an entry in the UE barred list 162. In response to this determination, the UE 160 may not try to camp on the cell 154 and/or perform other actions associated with efforts to establish communications with the cell 154”).
Jangid discloses wherein the historical information comprises a plurality of groups of cell parameters; and adding the first cell parameter to the historical information in a case that the plurality of groups of cell parameters do not comprise the first cell parameter (Table 13, [0053], “For example, if the UE 200 camps on an LTE cell at an E-UTRAN frequency 8473 of an LTE band L-2, the UE 200 may check the system information broadcasted by the LTE cell to determine NR bands supported by the LTE cell at the LTE band L-2. If the LTE cell does not support any NR band at the LTE band L-2 or if at least one NR band supported by the LTE cell at the LTE band L-2 does not match the ENDC capability of the UE 200, then the UE 200 will not be able to utilize the ENDC capability...”. [0108], “The neighbor list database maintained by UE 200 includes NR support provided by the neighboring LTE cells...The neighbor list database is dynamically updated during measurement evaluation of the neighbor cells for measurement events configured by the wireless network. In an embodiment, old entries in the Table 13 may be discarded after a predefined configured time period has elapsed” (historical information dynamically maintained)).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Takahashi with Lu and Jangid to provide a cell selection method where a terminal is restricted from registering in the forbidden frequency band. The advantage of doing so is reducing power consumption of the terminal.
Contact
/SWATI JAIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2649