DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 7, 8, 10-12, 14, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Westgate et al., U.S. Patent Application No. 2021/0379451, in view of Nesbitt, U.S. Patent Application No. 2005/0026725. As to Claims 1 and 2, Westgate teaches a golf ball comprising a core, paragraph 0196. The core (2) comprising a first spherical cap portion (8), a second spherical cap portion (6), and a central segment (10), formed at a great circle of the core and arranged between the first and second spherical cap portions, paragraph 0048 and see Figure 1. A cover (cover layer) may encase the core, paragraph 0172. Westgate does not specify that the central segment may be spherical and Westgate does not disclose color characteristics for the ball components. Nesbitt teaches a golf ball comprising a cover disposed on a core, paragraph 0058. The core may comprise a high density central spherical segment (38) between first and second spherical caps (36), paragraphs 0075, 0076, and see Figure 4, noting that the central spherical segment compliments the hemispheres to produce a spherical core. The high density central spherical segment may have a color characteristic differing from a color characteristic of the spherical caps, paragraph 0073. An at least partially transparent (transparent or clear) cover (12) may encase the core such that the central spherical segment may be visible from an exterior of the ball, paragraph 0078. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to configure the central segment as a spherical feature and to provide an at least partially transparent (clear) cover to facilitate viewing of the central spherical segment from the exterior of the ball, as taught by Nesbitt, to provide Westgate with a central spherical segment visible from the exterior of the ball to yield the predictable result of a central spherical segment defining an alignment aid. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide Westgate, as modified, with a central spherical segment having a first color characteristic (differentially colored) different from a second color of the first and second spherical portions, as taught by Nesbitt, to provide Westgate, as modified, with a color contrast between the central spherical segment and the spherical cap portions to yield the predictable result of an improved alignment aid. As to Claim 4, Nesbitt teaches that the central spherical segment may comprise a continuous band about the ball’s spin axis so as to provide a gyroscopic center plane, paragraph 0021, suggesting that central spherical segment defines a continuous strip across a great circle. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to configure the central spherical segment as taught by Nesbitt, to provide Westgate, as modified, with the central spherical segment defining a great circle, to facilitate the use of the feature as an alignment aid. As to Claims 5, 10, 14, and 15, Nesbitt teaches that the central spherical segment may be formed from a second material (high density material) paragraph 0021. The first and second spherical caps may be formed of a first material that is different, paragraph 0063, noting that other ball components may be formed of a polymer matrix material that is the same or different from that of the high density material without the density increasing component. It follows that the same polymer material provided with added high density material would provide a central spherical segment composition having different specific gravity. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide Westgate, as modified, with first and second materials employed as taught by Nesbitt, to provide Westgate, as modified, with central spherical segment formed from a material composition different from that of the spherical caps, to yield the predictable result of facilitating the process of customizing the spin performance of the ball. As to Claim 7, Westgate teaches that the central segment may have a thickness of 2.0 to 4.0 mm, paragraph 0016. As to Claim 8, Westgate teaches that the central segment may define a physical demarcation (barrier) between the first and second spherical cap portions, see Figure 1. As to Claim 11, Nesbitt teaches that the spherical cap portions and the central spherical segment may be cured simultaneously with each other, paragraph 0108. It follows that the components may fuse to form the core. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide Westgate, as modified, with simultaneously cured spherical caps and central spherical segment, as taught by Nesbitt, to provide Westgate, as modified, with a known substitute core configuration. As to Claim 12, Westgate, as modified by Nesbitt, is applied as in Claims 1, 8, and 11, with the same obviousness rationales being found appliable.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Westgate, in view of Nesbitt, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kajikawa et al., U.S. Patent Application No. 2022/0193503. Westgate, as modified, substantially shows the claimed limitations, as discussed above. As to Claim 3, Westgate, as modified, teaches that the central spherical segment may be differently colored from the spherical caps, as discussed above, but Westgate, as modified, does not specify particular colors. Kajikawa teaches that regions on a golf ball surface may have different colors selected to provide contrast, paragraph 0023, noting a range for an absolute difference in hue values. Color choices include black and white, paragraph 0031, suggesting that a region may be colored black and a region of contrasting color may be colored white. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to select a black central spherical segment and white first and second spherical caps, as taught and suggested by Kajikawa, to provide Westgate, as modified, with a known substitute selection for contrasting colors.
Claim(s) 9 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Westgate, in view of Nesbitt, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Takubo et al., U.S. Patent Application No. 2022/0143471. Westgate, as modified, substantially shows the claimed limitations, as discussed above. As to Claims 9 and 13, Westgate, as modified, does not specify that first and second spherical caps may have second and third color characteristics respectively, which differ. Takubo teaches a golf ball (2) comprising first and second hemispheres having differing color characteristics, paragraphs 0045 and 0189. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide Westgate, as modified, with differently colored first and second hemispheres, as taught by Takubo, to provide Westgate, as modified, with a highlighted contrast between hemispheres to yield the predictable result of facilitating observation of ball spin.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 4-7, and 11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 8, and 9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,151,1142. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Claim 1 of the patent discloses the limitations of Claims 1 and 5. Claim 2 of the patent discloses the limitations of Claim 2. Claim 3 of the patent discloses the limitations of Claim 4. Claim 9 of the patent discloses the limitations of Claim 6. Claim 4 of the patent discloses the limitations of Claim 7. Claim 8 of the patent discloses the limitations of Claim 11.
Claims 8 and 12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,151,142, in view of Westgate et al., U.S. Patent Application No. 2021/0379451. Claims 1 and 8 of the patent disclose the limitations of Claims 8 and 12 except for providing that the central spherical segment may include an interior portion defining a physical demarcation between first and second spherical caps. Westgate teaches that the central segment may define a physical demarcation (barrier) between the first and second spherical cap portions, see Figure 1. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to configure the central spherical segment to define a physical demarcation/barrier, as taught by Westgate as a known substitute configuration of the ball core.
Conclusion
/JOHN E SIMMS JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711 18 September 2026