DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
2. The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the
“the adjustment mechanism comprising comprises arms extending away from and cantilevered from the structural frame;
the first display translationally slides along a first arm; and
the second display translationally slides along a second arm.”
(Claim 1; Please see below for detail)
“an adjustment mechanism comprising arms extending away from and cantilevered from the frame;
a display configured to produce light and adjustably mounted to the frame via the adjustment mechanism to translationally slide along arms of the frame.”
(Claim 16; Please see below for detail)
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
3. Claim(s) 1-3, 6-8, and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 1, the limitation
“the adjustment mechanism comprising comprises arms extending away from and cantilevered from the structural frame;
the first display translationally slides along a first arm; and
the second display translationally slides along a second arm”
is NOT clear because:
a. “arms” that are extending away and cantilevered from the frame are the same “arms” that the displays transitionally slide along?
b. If the “arms” that are extending away and cantilevered from the frame are the same “arms” that the displays transitionally slide along then
the displays would transitionally slide away and toward user or the “frame”.
There are NO support for these “arms” (structures) such that the displays can be moved away or toward user in the original specification and drawings that the Examiner can positively identify.
c. To further advance prosecution, the Examiner interprets the “arms extending away from and cantilevered from the structural frame” are DIFFERENT from “the first display translationally slides along a first arm; and the second display translationally slides along a second arm.”
Regarding Claim 16, the limitation
“an adjustment mechanism comprising arms extending away from and cantilevered from the frame;
a display configured to produce light and adjustably mounted to the frame via the adjustment mechanism to translationally slide along arms of the frame” is NOT clear for the same reasons set forth as shown above in Claim 1.
Appropriate correction required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claim(s) 1-3, 6, and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karasawa et al. (US Patent/PGPub. No. 6538624) and RONZANI et al. (US Patent/PGPub. No. 20020163486) in view of Johnson et al. (US Patent/PGPub. No. 5954642).
Regarding Claim 1, (Currently Amended)
Karasawa et al. teach
a display device (Col. 8, Ln. 46-48, FIG. 1, i.e. head-mounted image display apparatus 1), comprising:
a structural frame (Col. 9, Ln. 3-7, FIG. 2-3, i.e. main part of front cover 2);
an optical assembly (Col. 8, Ln. 61-63, FIG. 2(a)-2(b), i.e. optical apparatus 4) coupled to (FIG. 2-3, i.e. as shown by the figure(s)) the structural frame, the optical assembly (i.e. please see above citation(s)) including a first display (Col. 12, Ln. 24-33, FIG. 2-3, i.e. right angular optical unit 40) configured to generate light (Col. 12, Ln. 24-33, FIG. 2-3, i.e. image is displayed in liquid crystal display elements 42) and a second display (Col. 12, Ln. 24-33, FIG. 2-3, i.e. left angular optical unit 40) configured to generate light (Col. 12, Ln. 24-33, FIG. 2-3, i.e. image is displayed in liquid crystal display elements 42);
a spacer (Col. 9, Ln. 9-13, FIG. 2-3, i.e. buffer pad 221) extending from (FIG. 2-3, i.e. as shown by the figure(s)) the structural frame (i.e. please see above citation(s)) around (FIG. 2-3, i.e. near/in vicinity as shown by the figure(s)) the optical assembly, the spacer (i.e. please see above citation(s)) configured to conform to a face (Col. 9, Ln. 9-13, FIG. 2-3, i.e. contacting the frontal region when main apparatus 10 is worn) of a user; and
an adjustment mechanism (Col. 14, Ln. 30-36, FIG. 2-3 & 15, i.e. adjustment knob 483) slidably coupling (Col. 14, Ln. 48-54, FIG. 2-3, 15 & 17, i.e. slide horizontally) the optical assembly to the structural frame (i.e. please see above citation(s)).
However, Karasawa et al. do not explicitly teach
an adjustment mechanism configured to electronically change a distance between the first display and the second display.
In the same field of endeavor, RONZANI et al. teach
an adjustment mechanism ([0108], FIG. 4, i.e. gear assembly 115) configured to electronically change ([0010], FIG. 4, i.e. motorized gears or cams. Motors can also be incorporated…) a distance ([0010], FIG. 4, i.e. inter-pupillary distance) between the first display and the second display ([0010], FIG. 4, i.e. between the two displays).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Karasawa et al. teaching of head-mount display comprising in particular a manual mechanism for changing distance between the left and right displays with Ronzani et al. teaching of head-mount display comprising in particular an electronically motorized mechanism for changing inter-pupillary distance between the displays to effectively improve user’s interface yet accurately set inter-pupillary distance to accommodate a specific user’s physical characteristics.
However, Karasawa et al. and Ronzani et al. do not explicitly teach
the adjustment mechanism comprises arms extending away from and cantilevered from the structural frame;
the first display translationally slides along a first arm; and
the second display translationally slides along a second arm.”
In the same field of endeavor, Johnson et al. teach
the adjustment mechanism (Col. 11, Ln. 18-25, FIG. 4-6 & 10-11, i.e. display 60) comprises arms (Col. 8, Ln. 56-59, FIG. 4-6 & 10-11, i.e. L-shaped slotted member 120 and a substantially straight slotted member 122) extending away from and cantilevered from (FIG. 4-6 & 10-11, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) 120/122 extending away and cantilevered from 70) the structural frame (Col. 9, Ln. 15-16, FIG. 4-6 & 10-11, i.e. head suspension apparatus 70);
the first display (Col. 8, Ln. 19-26, FIG. 4-9, i.e. left display module 102) translationally slides along (Col. 11, Ln. 31-42, FIG. 10-11, i.e. lateral movement of the display modules 102, 104 to increase and decrease the distance therebetween so as to allow for adjustment of interpupillary distance (IPD)) a first arm (Col. 11, Ln. 31-42, FIG. 10-11, i.e. threaded rod 242 (left portion)); and
the second display (Col. 8, Ln. 19-26, FIG. 4-9, i.e. right display module 104) translationally slides along (Col. 11, Ln. 31-42, FIG. 10-11, i.e. lateral movement of the display modules 102, 104 to increase and decrease the distance therebetween so as to allow for adjustment of interpupillary distance (IPD)) a second arm (Col. 11, Ln. 31-42, FIG. 10-11, i.e. threaded rod 242 (right portion)).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Karasawa et al. and Ronzani et al. teaching of head-mount display comprising an adjustment mechanism for changing distance between the left and right displays with Johnson et al. teaching of head-mount display comprising an adjustment mechanism including brackets extending and cantilevered from the frame and adjustment thread allowing displays movement to effectively secure the displays from head suspension and transitionally adjust IPD of the displays utilizing mounting brackets to the frame and displays’ movement on threaded rod (Johnson et al.’s Col. 11, Ln. 31-42).
Regarding Claim 2, (Original)
the display device of claim 1,
Karasawa et al. teach
further comprising an outer frame (Col. 8, Ln. 46-48, FIG. 1-2, i.e. upper case 21) defining an external surface (FIG. 1-2, i.e. surface away from and in front of user as shown by the figure(s)), wherein:
the structural frame (i.e. please see above citation(s)) is coupled to (FIG. 1-2, i.e. as shown by the figure(s)) the outer frame;
the outer frame (i.e. please see above citation(s)) defines an aperture (FIG. 2A-2B, i.e. area between user and head mount as shown by the figure(s)); and
the adjustment mechanism (i.e. please see above citation(s)) comprises a rotatable wheel (Col. 14, Ln. 30-36, FIG. 2-3 & 15, i.e. rotation thereof can move the pair) extending through (FIG. 1-3, i.e. as shown by the figure(s)) the aperture (i.e. please see above citation(s)).
Regarding Claim 3, (Currently Amended)
the display device of claim 1,
Johnson et al. teach
wherein the first arm (i.e. please see above citation(s)) extends in a first direction (FIG. 10-11, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) 242’s left portion extends toward left side) and the second arm (i.e. please see above citation(s)) extends in a second direction (FIG. 10-11, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) 242’s right portion extends toward right side) opposite the first direction (i.e. please see above citation(s)).
Regarding Claim 6, (Original)
the display device of claim 1,
Karasawa et al. teach
further comprising an inner support frame (Col. 9, Ln. 26-29, FIG. 2-3, i.e. lower case 25) coupled to (FIG. 2-3, i.e. as shown by the figure(s)) the structural frame (i.e. please see above citation(s)).
Regarding Claim 16, (Currently Amended)
Karasawa et al. teach
a head mountable display device (Col. 8, Ln. 46-48, FIG. 1, i.e. head-mounted image display apparatus 1), comprising:
a frame (Col. 9, Ln. 3-7, FIG. 2-3, i.e. main part of front cover 2) defining an aperture (FIG. 2B, i.e. space between optical units 40 and front cover 2 as shown by the figure(s));
[an adjustment mechanism comprising arms extending away from and cantilevered from the frame;
a display configured to produce light and mounted to the frame via the adjustment mechanism to translationally slice along arms of the frame; (taught by Johnson et al. please see below)]
a spacer (Col. 9, Ln. 9-13, FIG. 2-3, i.e. buffer pad 221) extending from (FIG. 2-3, i.e. as shown by the figure(s)) structural outer frame (i.e. please see above citation(s)) around (FIG. 2-3, i.e. near/in vicinity as shown by the figure(s)) the display, the spacer (i.e. please see above citation(s)) configured to conform to a face (Col. 9, Ln. 9-13, FIG. 2-3, i.e. contacting the frontal region when main apparatus 10 is worn) of a user; and
an outer cover (Col. 8, Ln. 46-48, FIG. 1-2, i.e. upper case 21) secured to (FIG. 1-2, i.e. as shown by the figure(s)) the frame and occluding (FIG. 1-2, i.e. as shown by the figure(s)) the aperture, the outer cover (i.e. please see above citation(s)) having a curvature approximating a contour of a face (FIG. 1-4, i.e. as shown by the figure(s)).
However, Karasawa et al. do not explicitly teach
the adjustment mechanism is configured to electronically change a position of the display relative to the frame.
In the same field of endeavor, RONZANI et al. teach
the adjustment mechanism ([0108], FIG. 4, i.e. gear assembly 115) is configured to electronically change ([0010], FIG. 4, i.e. motorized gears or cams. Motors can also be incorporated…) a position ([0010], FIG. 4, i.e. inter-pupillary distance) of the display relative to the frame (i.e. please see above citation(s)).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Karasawa et al. teaching of head-mount display comprising in particular a manual mechanism for changing distance between the left and right displays with RONZANI et al. teaching of head-mount display comprising in particular an electronically motorized mechanism for changing inter-pupillary distance between the displays to effectively improve user’s interface yet accurately set inter-pupillary distance to accommodate a specific user’s physical characteristics.
However, Karasawa et al. and RONZANI et al. do not explicitly teach
an adjustment mechanism comprising arms extending away from and cantilevered from the frame;
a display configured to produce light and mounted to the frame via the adjustment mechanism to translationally slice along arms of the frame.
In the same field of endeavor, Johnson et al. teach
an adjustment mechanism (Col. 11, Ln. 18-25, FIG. 4-6 & 10-11, i.e. display 60) comprising arms (Col. 8, Ln. 56-59, FIG. 4-6 & 10-11, i.e. L-shaped slotted member 120 and a substantially straight slotted member 122) extending away from and cantilevered from (FIG. 4-6 & 10-11, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) 120/122 extending away and cantilevered from 70) the frame (Col. 9, Ln. 15-16, FIG. 4-6 & 10-11, i.e. head suspension apparatus 70);
a display (Col. 8, Ln. 19-26, FIG. 4-9, i.e. left and right display modules 102, 104) configured to produce light (Col. 8, Ln. 19-26, FIG. 4-9, i.e. display) and mounted to the frame (Col. 9, Ln. 31-38, FIG. 8-9, i.e. L-shaped slotted member 120 rotatably coupled to the head suspension apparatus 70) via the adjustment mechanism to translationally slide along (Col. 11, Ln. 31-42, FIG. 10-11, i.e. lateral movement of the display modules 102, 104 to increase and decrease the distance therebetween so as to allow for adjustment of interpupillary distance (IPD)) arms (Col. 11, Ln. 31-42, FIG. 10-11, i.e. threaded rod 242 (left and right portions)) of the frame (i.e. please see above citation(s)).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Karasawa et al. and Ronzani et al. teaching of head-mount display comprising an adjustment mechanism for changing distance between the left and right displays with Johnson et al. teaching of head-mount display comprising an adjustment mechanism including brackets extending and cantilevered from the frame and adjustment thread allowing displays movement to effectively secure the displays from head suspension and transitionally adjust IPD of the displays utilizing mounting brackets to the frame and displays’ movement on threaded rod (Johnson et al.’s Col. 11, Ln. 31-42).
Regarding Claim 17, (Original)
the head mountable display device of claim 16, wherein
Karasawa et al. teach
the frame (i.e. please see above citation(s)) includes the curvature approximating the contour (FIG. 1-4, i.e. as shown by the figure(s)).
Regarding Claim 18, (Original)
the head mountable display device of claim 17,
Karasawa et al. teach
further comprising an inner frame (Col. 9, Ln. 57-65, FIG. 2-4, i.e. shade cover 26) coupled to (FIG. 2-4, i.e. as shown by the figure(s)) the frame, the inner frame (i.e. please see above citation(s)) including the curvature approximating the contour (FIG. 2-4, i.e. as shown by the figure(s)).
Regarding Claim 19, (Original)
the head mountable display device of claim 16, wherein:
Karasawa et al. teach
the aperture (i.e. please see above citation(s)) is a first aperture (FIG. 2B, i.e. space between optical units 40 and front cover 2 as shown by the figure(s));
the frame (i.e. please see above citation(s)) defines a second aperture (FIG. 2B, i.e. space between optical units 40’s front surfaces and user’s eyes as shown by the figure(s)); and
the adjustment mechanism (i.e. please see above citation(s)) includes a button (Col. 14, Ln. 30-36, FIG. 2-3 & 15, i.e. adjustment knob 483) disposed in (FIG. 2B, i.e. as shown by the figure(s)) the second aperture (i.e. please see above citation(s)).
Regarding Claim 20, (Previously Presented)
the head mountable display device of claim 19, wherein
Karasawa et al. teach
the button (i.e. please see above citation(s)) is manipulatable to cause an adjustment (Col. 14, Ln. 48-54, FIG. 2-3, 15 & 17, i.e. slide horizontally) of a position (Col. 2, Ln. 45-52, FIG. 4, i.e. inter-pupillary distance) of the display relative to the structural outer structural frame (i.e. please see above citation(s)).
Response to Argument/Amendment
5. Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claim(s) 1 and 16 has/have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the newly added reference(s) being used in the current rejection.
6. All dependent claims are properly rejected or objected as shown above.
7. Applicants’ Response to the Final Office Action, has been entered and made of record. Claim(s) 1, 3, and 16 is/are amended, Claim(s) 4-5 is/are cancelled. Thus, Claim(s) 1-3 and 6-20 is/are pending in this application.
Allowable Subject Matter
8. Claim(s) 9-15 is/are allowed.
9. Claim(s) 7-8 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
10. The reasons for allowance have been set forth in the Final Office Action dated 04/20/2026.
Conclusion
/VINH T LAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2628