DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claim(s) 1-6 and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karasawa et al. (US Patent/PGPub. No. 6538624) and RONZANI et al. (US Patent/PGPub. No. 20020163486) in view of BAUDOU et al. (WO 9414349).
Regarding Claim 1, (Currently Amended)
Karasawa et al. teach
a display device (Col. 8, Ln. 46-48, FIG. 1, i.e. head-mounted image display apparatus 1), comprising:
a structural frame (Col. 9, Ln. 3-7, FIG. 2-3, i.e. main part of front cover 2);
an optical assembly (Col. 8, Ln. 61-63, FIG. 2(a)-2(b), i.e. optical apparatus 4) coupled to (FIG. 2-3, i.e. as shown by the figure(s)) the structural frame, the optical assembly (i.e. please see above citation(s)) including a first display (Col. 12, Ln. 24-33, FIG. 2-3, i.e. right angular optical unit 40) configured to generate light (Col. 12, Ln. 24-33, FIG. 2-3, i.e. image is displayed in liquid crystal display elements 42) and a second display (Col. 12, Ln. 24-33, FIG. 2-3, i.e. left angular optical unit 40) configured to generate light (Col. 12, Ln. 24-33, FIG. 2-3, i.e. image is displayed in liquid crystal display elements 42);
a spacer (Col. 9, Ln. 9-13, FIG. 2-3, i.e. buffer pad 221) extending from (FIG. 2-3, i.e. as shown by the figure(s)) the structural frame (i.e. please see above citation(s)) around (FIG. 2-3, i.e. near/in vicinity as shown by the figure(s)) the optical assembly, the spacer (i.e. please see above citation(s)) configured to conform to a face (Col. 9, Ln. 9-13, FIG. 2-3, i.e. contacting the frontal region when main apparatus 10 is worn) of a user; and
an adjustment mechanism (Col. 14, Ln. 30-36, FIG. 2-3 & 15, i.e. adjustment knob 483) slidably coupling (Col. 14, Ln. 48-54, FIG. 2-3, 15 & 17, i.e. slide horizontally) the optical assembly to the structural frame (i.e. please see above citation(s)).
However, Karasawa et al. do not explicitly teach
an adjustment mechanism configured to electronically change a distance between the first display and the second display.
In the same field of endeavor, RONZANI et al. teach
an adjustment mechanism ([0108], FIG. 4, i.e. gear assembly 115) configured to electronically change ([0010], FIG. 4, i.e. motorized gears or cams. Motors can also be incorporated…) a distance ([0010], FIG. 4, i.e. inter-pupillary distance) between the first display and the second display ([0010], FIG. 4, i.e. between the two displays).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Karasawa et al. teaching of head-mount display comprising in particular a manual mechanism for changing distance between the left and right displays with Ronzani et al. teaching of head-mount display comprising in particular an electronically motorized mechanism for changing inter-pupillary distance between the displays to effectively improve user’s interface yet accurately set inter-pupillary distance to accommodate a specific user’s physical characteristics.
However, Karasawa et al. and Ronzani et al. do not explicitly teach
the adjustment mechanism comprising arms extending away from and cantilevered from the structural frame.
In the same field of endeavor, BAUDOU et al. teach
the adjustment mechanism ([0068], FIG. 11-13, i.e. knurled screw 92) comprising arms ([0068], FIG. 11-13, i.e. yoke 97 (please note that FIG. 11-12 show yoke 97 as supporting arms of two threaded rods 94 and 95 which couple to knurled screw 92)) extending away from and cantilevered from (FIG. 11-12, i.e. as shown from the figure(s) that yokes 97 extending away from and cantilevered from self-supporting structure 41/branches 44) the structural frame ([0046], FIG. 11-13, i.e. self-supporting structure 41/branches 44).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Karasawa et al. and Ronzani et al. teaching of head-mount display comprising an adjustment mechanism for changing distance between the left and right displays with BAUDOU et al. teaching of head-mount display comprising an adjustment mechanism including cantilevered arms to effectively secure and greatly improve structural integrity of the adjustment mechanism utilizing cantilevered supporting arms (BAUDOU et al.’s [0070]-[0074]).
Regarding Claim 2, (Original)
the display device of claim 1,
Karasawa et al. teach
further comprising an outer frame (Col. 8, Ln. 46-48, FIG. 1-2, i.e. upper case 21) defining an external surface (FIG. 1-2, i.e. surface away from and in front of user as shown by the figure(s)), wherein:
the structural frame (i.e. please see above citation(s)) is coupled to (FIG. 1-2, i.e. as shown by the figure(s)) the outer frame;
the outer frame (i.e. please see above citation(s)) defines an aperture (FIG. 2A-2B, i.e. area between user and head mount as shown by the figure(s)); and
the adjustment mechanism (i.e. please see above citation(s)) comprises a rotatable wheel (Col. 14, Ln. 30-36, FIG. 2-3 & 15, i.e. rotation thereof can move the pair) extending through (FIG. 1-3, i.e. as shown by the figure(s)) the aperture (i.e. please see above citation(s)).
Regarding Claim 3, (Previously Presented)
the display device of claim 1,
Karasawa et al. teach
wherein the adjustment mechanism (i.e. please see above citation(s)) includes a first arm (Col. 14, Ln. 30-36, FIG. 15 & 19, i.e. racks 481 (left)) extending in a first direction (Col. 14, Ln. 30-36, FIG. 15 & 19, i.e. project … in mutually opposing directions (right direction)) and a second arm (Col. 14, Ln. 30-36, FIG. 15 & 19, i.e. racks 481 (right)) extending in a second direction (Col. 14, Ln. 30-36, FIG. 15 & 19, i.e. project … in mutually opposing directions (left direction)) opposite (Col. 14, Ln. 30-36, FIG. 15 & 19, i.e. mutually opposing directions) the first direction (i.e. please see above citation(s)).
Regarding Claim 4, (Original)
the display device of claim 3,
Karasawa et al. teach
wherein:
the first arm (i.e. please see above citation(s)) is cantilevered from (FIG. 3, 15, 17, and 19, i.e. as shown by the figure(s)) the structural frame (i.e. please see above citation(s)); and
the second arm (i.e. please see above citation(s)) is cantilevered from (FIG. 3, 15, 17, and 19, i.e. as shown by the figure(s)) the structural frame (i.e. please see above citation(s)).
Regarding Claim 5, (Previously Presented)
the display device of claim 3,
Karasawa et al. teach
wherein:
the first display (i.e. please see above citation(s)) is slidably coupled to (Col. 14, Ln. 48-54, FIG. 2-3, 15 & 17, i.e. slide horizontally; Col. 14, Ln. 30-36, FIG. 2-3 & 15, i.e. rotation thereof can move the pair) the first arm (i.e. please see above citation(s)); and
the second display (i.e. please see above citation(s)) is slidably coupled to (Col. 14, Ln. 48-54, FIG. 2-3, 15 & 17, i.e. slide horizontally; Col. 14, Ln. 30-36, FIG. 2-3 & 15, i.e. rotation thereof can move the pair) the second arm (i.e. please see above citation(s)).
Regarding Claim 6, (Original)
the display device of claim 1,
Karasawa et al. teach
further comprising an inner support frame (Col. 9, Ln. 26-29, FIG. 2-3, i.e. lower case 25) coupled to (FIG. 2-3, i.e. as shown by the figure(s)) the structural frame (i.e. please see above citation(s)).
Regarding Claim 16, (Currently Amended)
Karasawa et al. teach
a head mountable display device (Col. 8, Ln. 46-48, FIG. 1, i.e. head-mounted image display apparatus 1), comprising:
a frame (Col. 9, Ln. 3-7, FIG. 2-3, i.e. main part of front cover 2) defining an aperture (FIG. 2B, i.e. space between optical units 40 and front cover 2 as shown by the figure(s));
[an adjustment mechanism comprising arms extending away from and cantilevered from the frame; (taught by BAUDOU et al. see below)]
a display (Col. 12, Ln. 13-19, FIG. 2-3 & 11, i.e. optical apparatus 4) configured to produce light (Col. 12, Ln. 13-19, FIG. 2-3 & 11, i.e. backlights 43 (lighting means)) and adjustably mounted (Col. 14, Ln. 48-54, FIG. 2-3, 15 & 17, i.e. slide horizontally) to the frame via the adjustment mechanism (i.e. please see above citation(s));
a spacer (Col. 9, Ln. 9-13, FIG. 2-3, i.e. buffer pad 221) extending from (FIG. 2-3, i.e. as shown by the figure(s)) structural outer frame (i.e. please see above citation(s)) around (FIG. 2-3, i.e. near/in vicinity as shown by the figure(s)) the display, the spacer (i.e. please see above citation(s)) configured to conform to a face (Col. 9, Ln. 9-13, FIG. 2-3, i.e. contacting the frontal region when main apparatus 10 is worn) of a user; and
an outer cover (Col. 8, Ln. 46-48, FIG. 1-2, i.e. upper case 21) secured to (FIG. 1-2, i.e. as shown by the figure(s)) the frame and occluding (FIG. 1-2, i.e. as shown by the figure(s)) the aperture, the outer cover (i.e. please see above citation(s)) having a curvature approximating a contour of a face (FIG. 1-4, i.e. as shown by the figure(s)).
However, Karasawa et al. do not explicitly teach
the adjustment mechanism is configured to electronically change a position of the display relative to the frame.
In the same field of endeavor, RONZANI et al. teach
the adjustment mechanism ([0108], FIG. 4, i.e. gear assembly 115) is configured to electronically change ([0010], FIG. 4, i.e. motorized gears or cams. Motors can also be incorporated…) a position ([0010], FIG. 4, i.e. inter-pupillary distance) of the display relative to the frame (i.e. please see above citation(s)).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Karasawa et al. teaching of head-mount display comprising in particular a manual mechanism for changing distance between the left and right displays with RONZANI et al. teaching of head-mount display comprising in particular an electronically motorized mechanism for changing inter-pupillary distance between the displays to effectively improve user’s interface yet accurately set inter-pupillary distance to accommodate a specific user’s physical characteristics.
However, Karasawa et al. and RONZANI et al. do not explicitly teach
an adjustment mechanism comprising arms extending away from and cantilevered from the frame.
an adjustment mechanism ([0068], FIG. 11-13, i.e. knurled screw 92) comprising arms ([0068], FIG. 11-13, i.e. yoke 97 (please note that FIG. 11-12 show yoke 97 as supporting arms of two threaded rods 94 and 95 which couple to knurled screw 92)) extending away from and cantilevered from (FIG. 11-12, i.e. as shown from the figure(s) that yokes 97 extending away from and cantilevered from self-supporting structure 41/branches 44) the frame ([0046], FIG. 11-13, i.e. self-supporting structure 41/branches 44).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Karasawa et al. and Ronzani et al. teaching of head-mount display comprising an adjustment mechanism for changing distance between the left and right displays with BAUDOU et al. teaching of head-mount display comprising an adjustment mechanism including cantilevered arms to effectively secure and greatly improve structural integrity of the adjustment mechanism utilizing cantilevered supporting arms (BAUDOU et al.’s [0070]-[0074]).
Regarding Claim 17, (Original)
the head mountable display device of claim 16, wherein
Karasawa et al. teach
the frame (i.e. please see above citation(s)) includes the curvature approximating the contour (FIG. 1-4, i.e. as shown by the figure(s)).
Regarding Claim 18, (Original)
the head mountable display device of claim 17,
Karasawa et al. teach
further comprising an inner frame (Col. 9, Ln. 57-65, FIG. 2-4, i.e. shade cover 26) coupled to (FIG. 2-4, i.e. as shown by the figure(s)) the frame, the inner frame (i.e. please see above citation(s)) including the curvature approximating the contour (FIG. 2-4, i.e. as shown by the figure(s)).
Regarding Claim 19, (Original)
the head mountable display device of claim 16, wherein:
Karasawa et al. teach
the aperture (i.e. please see above citation(s)) is a first aperture (FIG. 2B, i.e. space between optical units 40 and front cover 2 as shown by the figure(s));
the frame (i.e. please see above citation(s)) defines a second aperture (FIG. 2B, i.e. space between optical units 40’s front surfaces and user’s eyes as shown by the figure(s)); and
the adjustment mechanism (i.e. please see above citation(s)) includes a button (Col. 14, Ln. 30-36, FIG. 2-3 & 15, i.e. adjustment knob 483) disposed in (FIG. 2B, i.e. as shown by the figure(s)) the second aperture (i.e. please see above citation(s)).
Regarding Claim 20, (Previously Presented)
the head mountable display device of claim 19, wherein
Karasawa et al. teach
the button (i.e. please see above citation(s)) is manipulatable to cause an adjustment (Col. 14, Ln. 48-54, FIG. 2-3, 15 & 17, i.e. slide horizontally) of a position (Col. 2, Ln. 45-52, FIG. 4, i.e. inter-pupillary distance) of the display relative to the structural outer structural frame (i.e. please see above citation(s)).
Response to Argument/Amendment
3. Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claim(s) 1 and 16 has/have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
4. Applicants’ Response to the Non-Final Office Action, 01/02/2026, has been entered and made of record. Claim(s) 1and 16 is/are amended, Claim(s) 9-15 is/are allowed, and Claim(s) 7-8 is/are objected.
Allowable Subject Matter
5. Claim(s) 9-15 is/are allowed.
6. Claim(s) 7-8 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
7. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Karasawa et al. (US Patent/PGPub. No. 6538624) teach a head-mounted image display apparatus (1) for viewing images on a liquid crystal display means virtually enlarged by an enlarging lens while worn on the head, main apparatus (10) comprises a front case (2), which is positioned at the frontal region side when said main apparatus is worn on the head, and a back case (3), which is positioned at the occipital region. In addition, an air bag (8), which inflates to cause the frontal region to contact a buffer pad affixed to the inside surface of the front case (2), is provided on the inside of the back case (3). The back case (3) is able to rotate on connecting member 5 to the front case (2). Adjustment mechanisms for moving the optical system in the pupil distance direction and in the direction of the optical axes is disposed inside main apparatus (10), and the knobs therefor are centrally disposed on the front of main apparatus (10).
Ronzani et al. (US Patent/PGPub. No. 20020163486) teach a head-mounted display system displays information via a matrix display element mounted within a housing that is positioned relative to at least eye of a user. The display is connected to a video or information source such that the user can view information or images shown on the display. The display can be mounted to a frame so that the user can move the display in and out of the user's field of view without adjusting the supporting harness that holds the display on the user's head.
The subject matter of the independent claims could either not be found or was not suggested in the prior art of record. The subject matter not found was a head mount display device including
“…an adjustment mechanism slidably coupling the optical assembly to the structural frame; and
an electronic adjustment dial disposed in the aperture and connected to the adjustment mechanism, the electronic adjustment dial configured to move the optical assembly relative to the structural frame via the adjustment mechanism.” (Claim 9),
“…an outer support frame comprises a first material; and
the inner support frame comprises a second material different than the first material.” (Claim 7),
in combination with the other elements (or steps) of the device or apparatus and method recited in the claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VINH T LAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2628