Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/08/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Rearranging parts of a system does not involve any type of novelty nor inventive step. Further applicant has not articulated a criticality by placing all these elements within a single house. Further, the examiner suggest that a clear articulation be given regarding the housing.
All other comments are acknowledged yet not found persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11, 13-16, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sadler (US 8,800,701) in view of Takami (2007/0284159).
Regarding claim 1, Sadler teaches an apparatus (see Fig. 1; Sadler), comprising:
a battery pack configured to provide power for an electrical vehicle (EV) (see 118, Fig. 1; Sadler); and a motor powered by a fuel supplied by a fuel tank (see 36, Fig. 1; Sadler) and configured to provide mechanical power for one or more electrical machines (see 46 Fig. 1; Sadler),
wherein: the one or more electrical machines are configured to generate a direct current (DC) voltage for keeping the battery pack fully charged (see col 7 line 22-47; Fig. 1; Sadler).
Yet, Takami in the same filed teaches the battery pack, the motor and the one or more electrical machines (see Fig. 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sadler with the teachings of Takami by having the battery pack, the motor and the one or more electrical machines in order to provide protection, improve efficiency, and simplifies maintenance by shielding components from environmental factors and ensuring optimal thermal and electrical management.
The combination does not disclose are enclosed in a battery-system enclosure however, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to since it has been held that rearranging parts to fit within a signal enclosure involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70
Regarding claim 2, the combination teaches wherein the motor comprises a single-stroke internal combustion engine (ICE) (see 36, Fig. 1; Sadler).
Regarding claim 3, the combination teaches wherein the one or more electric machines comprise one or more alternators, and wherein the DC voltage is regulated to match a nominal voltage of the battery pack (see 86, Fig. 1; Sadler).
Regarding claim 4, the combination teaches wherein the fuel comprises a liquid fuel including one of, among others not named here, compressed natural gas (CNG), petrol, diesel, propane or hydrogen (see Col 5 line43-59; Sadler).
Regarding claim 5, the combination teaches wherein the fully charged battery pack comprises a level within a range of about 98 to 100 percent of a maximum allowable charge level associated with the battery pack (see 66, Fig. 1; Sadler).
Regarding claim 6, wherein the fuel tank is carried by the EV in a compartment inside the EV (see Col 5 line 43-59; Sadler).
Regarding claim 7, the combination teaches wherein the battery-system enclosure further includes an internal heat shield arranged to shield a battery compartment including the battery pack from other components in the battery-system enclosure (see 33, Fig. 5; Takami).
Regarding claim 8, the combination teaches wherein the battery-system enclosure further includes a battery-management system configured to control an operation of the motor to keep the battery pack fully charged (see 26, para 0124-0126; Fig. 5; Takami).
Regarding claim 9, the combination teaches wherein the EV comprises one of a car, a truck, a boat, a ship, or an airplane (see Fig. 1; Sadler).
Regarding claim 10, the combination teaches wherein the battery-system enclosure further includes cooling fins made of a heat conductive material (see Fig. 5; Takami).
Regarding claim 11, the combination teaches wherein the battery-system enclosure further includes a plurality of exhaust fans configured to remove hot air from compartments of the battery-system enclosure (see para 0052; Takami).
Regarding claim 13, Sadler teaches an EV (see Fig. 1; Sadler), comprising: a battery system (see 118, Fig. 1; Sadler) including: a battery pack configured to provide power for a first electric motor (see 38, Fig. 1; Sadler); a second motor configured to be powered by a fuel supplied by a fuel tank and to provide mechanical power for one or more electrical machines (see 46, Fig. 1; Sadler), wherein the one or more electrical machines are configured to generate a DC voltage for keeping the battery pack fully charged (see col 7 line 22-47; Fig. 1; Sadler); and a battery-management system configured to manage an operation of the second motor (see 66, Fig. 1; Sadler),
However Sadler does not disclose wherein the battery system is enclosed in a battery-system enclosure.
Yet, Takami (20070284159) in the same filed teaches wherein in a battery-system enclosure (see Fig. 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sadler with the teachings of Takami by having wherein the battery system is enclosed in a battery-system enclosure in order to provide protection, improve efficiency, and simplifies maintenance by shielding components from environmental factors and ensuring optimal thermal and electrical management.
The combination does not disclose the battery system is enclosed.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to since it has been held that rearranging parts to fit within a signal enclosure involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70
Regarding claim 14, wherein the battery-management system is configured to manage an operation of the second motor to keep the battery pack fully charged (see 66, Fig. 1; Sadler).
Regarding claim 15, wherein the first electric motor comprises a traction motor, and the second motor comprises a single-stroke ICE (see 36, Fig. 1; Sadler).
Regarding claim 16, wherein the fuel tank contains a liquid fuel comprising one of CNG, petrol, diesel, propane or hydrogen (see Col 5 line43-59).
Regarding claim 18, the combination teaches a method, comprising: providing a battery pack for supplying a first DC voltage to a traction motor of an EV; electrically coupling the battery pack to an output of one or more electrical machines to generate a second DC voltage for keeping the battery pack fully charged; mechanically coupling an ICE to the one or more electrical machines; and coupling a fuel tank including a liquid fuel and positioned inside the EV to the ICE (Please see the rejection of claim 1 and 13 above).
Regarding claim 20. The method of claim 19, further comprising providing a battery-management system within the battery-system enclosure to manage an operation of the ICE to keep the battery pack fully charged (see 66, Fig. 1; Sadler).
Claims 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sadler and Takami as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kikuchi (US 2005/0138941).
Regarding claim 12, the combination teaches the apparatus of claim 1
Yet does not disclose wherein the battery-system enclosure further includes a plurality of cooling fans configured to blow fresh air into compartments of the battery-system enclosure.
However Kikuchi in the same filed teaches wherein the battery-system enclosure further includes a plurality of cooling fans configured to blow fresh air into compartments of the battery-system enclosure (see 402 and 404, Fig. 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sadler and Takami with the teachings of Kikuchi by having the battery-system enclosure further includes a plurality of cooling fans configured to blow fresh air into compartments of the battery-system enclosure in order to extended lifespan of the battery, and enhanced safety by regulating temperature, preventing overheating, and dissipating explosive gases.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ELIM ORTIZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836