DETAILED ACTION
Response to Application
This office action is in response to the Application filed on 11/14/2024.
Claims 1-2, 5, 8-10, 26-37 are presented for examination.
Drawings
The drawings submitted on 11/14/2024 are accepted.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5, 8-10, 26-28, and 32-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon (US 2017/0357600) in view of Zulauf (US 2008/0052466).
Regarding independent claims 1, 26 and 32, taking claim 1 as exemplary analysis, Moon teaches A graphics processor, comprising: processing resources to perform graphics operations (Fig. 1 & [0036], The IP 1220 may include, for example, a graphics processing unit (GPU); [0037], the IP 1220 may include cache memory; [0008], a method for caching graphic processing unit (GPU) data in a multimedia processing system; Note that it is a known technique to implement a method, such as the method taught by Moon in view of Zulauf, as a software stored in a computer readable medium for the benefit of increased flexibility by allowing the method to be changed easily);
Moon teaches a cache policy setting circuit of a cache coupled to the processing resources ([0005], memory device including a cell array storing a plurality of cache lines and a plurality of tags corresponding to the plurality of cache lines, a cache policy setting circuit selecting from a plurality of managing policies at least one managing policy and setting a cache policy based on the at least one selected managing policy, and cache logic managing the plurality of cache lines based on the cache policy), however, Moon does not expressly teach a cache controller.
In an analogous art of cache configuration, Zulauf teaches a cache controller of a cache ([0020], the cache controller 108 includes a cache line allocation controller 136 to determine the cache line allocation polices for the cache 110 and to configure the cache controller 108 to comply with the selected cache line allocation policies).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made, with the teachings of Moon and Zulauf before them, to incorporate Zulauf’s cache controller to implement a certain cache line allocation policy with Moon’s a cache policy setting circuit for the motivation that cache controller is well known in the field that implements cache line allocation policies.
The combination of Moon and Zulauf further teaches wherein the cache controller is configured to control cache priority by determining whether default cache settings or an instruction to control cache operations for the cache (
Moon, [0082], The cache policy selector 132 may select at least one of the plurality of managing policies 131. When the cache policy setting command CMD_CP is received from the memory controller 200, the cache policy selector 132 may select a managing policy in response to the cache policy setting command CMD_CP; [0118]-[0119], Referring to FIG. 12, the memory device 100 may set a default cache policy in operation S410 …The memory device 100 may transmit the set cache policy or the information about the cache policy to the memory controller 200 in operation S430 in response to the request of the memory controller 200. When the cache policy is requested to be changed, the memory controller 200 may transmit a cache policy setting command to the memory device 100 in operation S440;
Zulauf, [0021], the cache line allocation controller 136 initially configures the cache controller 108 to implement default (or instruction independent) cache line allocation polices for corresponding memory addresses or memory regions (or to implement a default global cache line allocation policy). As the execution of instructions commences, the cache allocation controller 136 is notified of an instruction to be executed and, based on the instruction and other information, the cache allocation controller 136 configures the cache controller 108 to implement an alternate cache line allocation policy (other than the default cache line allocation policy) for the instruction if so warranted by the instruction and by a policy arbitration process).
Regarding claim(s) 2, 27 and 33, the combination of Moon and Zulauf further teaches wherein the cache controller is configured to determine the default cache settings and further to determine whether the instruction has been received, wherein the cache controller is configured to apply the instruction if the instruction has been received, and wherein the cache controller to apply the default cache settings if the instruction has not been received (Moon, Fig. 12, wherein the default cache setting is overridden in response to cache policy request has been received).
Regarding claim(s) 5, 28 and 34, the combination of Moon and Zulauf further teaches wherein the cache comprises a first level cache of the processing resources (Moon, [0034], a cache (for example, an L1 cache), wherein the default cache settings comprise one or more of caching, write-through, write-back, write-streaming for store or atomics operations, load caching, or load streaming for load or prefetch operations (Zulauf, [0016], Examples of caching actions can include, for example, “no caching” … one cache line allocation policy can designate a certain write action as a write-through action).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 5-10, 26-37 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being anticipated by claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,210,477).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are anticipated as shown below.
Current application
PAT 12,210,477
1,
26,
32
A graphics processor, comprising:
processing resources to perform graphics operations; and
a cache controller of a cache coupled to the processing resources, wherein the cache controller is configured to
control cache priority by determining whether default cache settings
or an instruction to control cache operations for the cache.
1
A graphics processor, comprising:
processing resources to perform graphics operations; and
a cache controller of a cache of the graphics processor coupled to the processing resources, wherein the cache controller is configured to
control cache priority by determining a default setting having a default cache attribute to be applied if no received instruction,
determining whether an instruction from an application with an associated cache attribute has been received, and applying the instruction and the associated cache attribute when the instruction is received by the cache controller, …
2,
27,
33
the cache controller is configured to determine the default cache settings and
further to determine whether the instruction has been received,
wherein the cache controller is configured to apply the instruction if the instruction has been received,
and wherein the cache controller to apply the default cache settings if the instruction has not been received.
1
3
4
the cache controller is configured to … determining a default setting having a default cache attribute to be applied if no received instruction,
determining whether an instruction from an application with an associated cache attribute has been received
the cache controller is configured to apply the instruction and associated cache attribute if the instruction has been received.
the cache controller applies the default cache attribute if an instruction has not been received.
5,
28,
34
the cache comprises a first level cache of the processing resources,
wherein the default cache settings comprise one or more of caching, write-through, write-back, write-streaming for store or atomics operations,
load caching, or load streaming for load or prefetch operations.
5
6
7
the cache comprises a first level cache of the processing resources.
the associated cache attribute comprises no caching, write-through, write-back, or write-streaming for store or atomics operations.
the associated cache attribute comprises no caching, load caching, or load streaming for load or prefetch operations.
8,
29,
35
the cache controller is configured to receive a store message having a write-streaming attribute to stream data for a streaming store that is cached at low priority in the cache,
wherein a least recently used (LRU) position of the cache is used
to merge partial writes in the cache until a full cache line is generated based on a plurality of partial writes.
1
8
11
the cache controller is configured to receive the instruction including a store instruction having a write-streaming attribute to stream data for a streaming store that is cached with a low priority cache attribute in the cache
wherein the data being streamed for a streaming store that is cached at low priority in the cache is evicted using a least recently used (LRU) position of the cache
wherein a least recently used (LRU) position of the cache is used to merge partial writes in the cache until a full cache line is generated based on a plurality of partial writes
9,
30,
36
the cache controller is configured to receive a load message having an invalid after read attribute to invalidate data for a cache hit in the cache after a read operation if the data is from a private memory.
9
the cache controller is configured to receive a load message having an invalid after read attribute to invalidate data for a cache hit in the cache after a read operation if the data is from a private memory
10,
31,
37
the cache controller is configured to receive a prefetch message having a load streaming attribute with data being streamed that is prefetched into the cache and given low priority, wherein the data being streamed is then evicted using a LRU position in the cache.
10
the cache controller is configured to receive a prefetch message having a load streaming attribute with data being streamed that is prefetched into the cache and given low priority, wherein the data being streamed is then evicted using a LRU position in the cache
Conclusion
/TRACY C CHAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2138