DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed to date have been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bohn (US 20190243123, of record) herein after referred to as D1.
With regard to claim 1, D1 teaches an electronic device, in at least (figs. 1, 2A, 2B, 3A, 3B); comprising: a head-mounted support structure (fig. 1); and a lens module (106)coupled to the head-mounted support structure (fig. 1), wherein the lens module (106)comprises: a first lens (200A) with a fixed optical power ([0006]; optical power); a second lens (200B) with an adjustable ([0030]; adjusting the configuration of the optical assembly) optical power ([0006]; optical power) configured to selectively adjust ([0030]; adjusting the configuration of the optical assembly) a gap ([0040]: spacers) between the first and second lenses (200B).
With regard to claim 2, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches an optical system, in at least (figs. 1, 2A, 2B, 3A, 3B); wherein the at least one positioner ([0008]; actuator) is configured to increase a magnitude of the gap ([0040]: spacers) between the first (200A) and second lenses (200B) in response to the adjustable optical power ([0006]; optical power) of the second lens (200B) being increased.
With regard to claim 3, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches an optical system, in at least (figs. 1, 2A, 2B, 3A, 3B); wherein the at least one positioner ([0008]; actuator) is configured to decrease a magnitude of the gap ([0040]: spacers) between the first (200A) and second lenses (200B) in response to the adjustable optical power ([0006]; optical power) of the second lens (200B) being decreased.
With regard to claim 4, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches an optical system, in at least (figs. 1, 2A, 2B, 3A, 3B); wherein the first lens (200A) comprises a material selected from the group consisting of: polymer ([0008]), glass ([0040]; glass plate), and sapphire.
With regard to claim 5, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches an optical system, in at least (figs. 1, 2A, 2B, 3A, 3B); wherein the second lens (200B) is a fluid-filled tunable lens (200A and 200B) with a fluid-filled chamber ([0004]) defined by first (200A) and second lens (200B) elements.
With regard to claim 6, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 5, wherein D1 further teaches an optical system, in at least (figs. 1, 2A, 2B, 3A, 3B); wherein curvature of the first lens (200A) element is changed to adjust the adjustable optical power ([0006]; optical power) of the second lens (200B).
With regard to claim 7, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches an optical system, in at least (figs. 1, 2A, 2B, 3A, 3B); further comprising: control circuitry (118) configured to adjust the adjustable optical power ([0006]; optical power) of the second lens (200B).
With regard to claim 8, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 7, wherein D1 further teaches an optical system, in at least (figs. 1, 2A, 2B, 3A, 3B); wherein the control circuitry (118) is configured to adjust the gap ([0040]: spacers) between the first (200A) and second lenses (200B) based on an adjustment to the adjustable optical power ([0006]; optical power) of the second lens (200B).
With regard to claim 9, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches an optical system, in at least (figs. 1, 2A, 2B, 3A, 3B); wherein the at least one positioner ([0008]; actuator) is configured to change a magnitude of the gap ([0040]: spacers) between the first (200A) and second lenses (200B) in response to the adjustable optical power ([0006]; optical power) of the second lens (200B) being changed.
With regard to claim 10, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 9, wherein D1 further teaches an optical system, in at least (figs. 1, 2A, 2B, 3A, 3B); wherein changing the magnitude of the gap ([0040]: spacers) between the first (200A) and second lenses (200B) mitigates changes in magnification ([0006]: magnification) caused by the change in the adjustable optical power ([0006]; optical power) of the second lens (200B).
With regard to claim 11, D1 teaches an electronic device, in at least (figs. 1, 2A, 2B, 3A, 3B); comprising: a head-mounted support structure (fig. 1); a lens module (106)coupled to the head-mounted support structure (fig. 1), wherein the lens module (106)is configured to focus light towards an eye box (204) and wherein the lens module (106)comprises a first lens (200A) with an adjustable ([0030]; adjusting the configuration of the optical assembly) positive optical power ([0006]; optical power) and a second lens (200B) with an adjustable ([0030]; adjusting the configuration of the optical assembly) negative optical power ([0006]; optical power); and control circuitry (118) configured to change the lens module (106)from a first state with first total optical power ([0006]; optical power) to a second state with a second total optical power ([0006]; optical power) that is greater than the first total optical power ([0006]; optical power) by increasing the adjustable ([0030]; adjusting the configuration of the optical assembly) positive optical power ([0006]; optical power) of the first lens (200A) and decreasing the adjustable ([0030]; adjusting the configuration of the optical assembly) negative optical power ([0006]; optical power) of the second lens (200B), wherein perceived magnification ([0006]: magnification) at the eye box (204) is the same in both the first and second states ([0009]-[0010]).
With regard to claim 12, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 11, wherein D1 further teaches an optical system, in at least (figs. 1, 2A, 2B, 3A, 3B); wherein the first lens (200A) has an adjustable convex lens element ([0007]: convex).
With regard to claim 13, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 12, wherein D1 further teaches an optical system, in at least (figs. 1, 2A, 2B, 3A, 3B); wherein the second lens (200B) has an adjustable concave lens element ([0007]: concave).
With regard to claim 14, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 13, wherein D1 further teaches an optical system, in at least (figs. 1, 2A, 2B, 3A, 3B); wherein the first lens (200A) is a fluid-filled tunable lens (200A and 200B) with a fluid-filled chamber ([0004]) defined by first and second lens (200B) elements, wherein the first lens (200A) element is the adjustable convex lens element ([0007]: convex), wherein the first lens (200A) element is interposed between the second lens (200B) element and the second lens (200B), wherein the lens module (106) further comprises an additional lens element (202), and wherein the second lens (200B) element is interposed between the additional lens element and the fluid-filled chamber ([0004]).
With regard to claim 15, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 11, wherein D1 further teaches an optical system, in at least (figs. 1, 2A, 2B, 3A, 3B); wherein the first (200A) and second lenses (200B) are separated by a fixed gap ([0040]: spacers).
With regard to claim 16, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 15, wherein D1 further teaches an optical system, in at least (figs. 1, 2A, 2B, 3A, 3B); wherein the fixed gap ([0040]: spacers) is greater than 5 millimeters ([0005]).
With regard to claim 17, D1 teaches a method of operating an electronic device, in at least (figs. 1, 2A, 2B, 3A, 3B); with a tunable lens (200A and 200B) and one or more sensors ([0029]), comprising: determining that an optical power ([0006]; optical power) adjustment ([0030]; adjusting the configuration of the optical assembly) for the tunable lens (200A and 200B) is needed using data ([0029] and [0030]) from a first subset of the one or more sensors ([0029]); after determining that the optical power ([0006]; optical power) adjustment ([0030]; adjusting the configuration of the optical assembly) for the tunable lens (200A and 200B) is needed, detecting an eye blink ([0029]: biometric) using a second subset ([0029]) of the one or more sensors ([0029]); and after detecting the eye blink using the second subset ([0029]) of the one or more sensors ([0029]), adjusting ([0030]; adjusting the configuration of the optical assembly)an optical power ([0006]; optical power) of the tunable lens (200A and 200B) according to the optical power ([0006]; optical power) adjustment ([0030]; adjusting the configuration of the optical assembly).
With regard to claim 18, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 17, wherein D1 further teaches an optical system, in at least (figs. 1, 2A, 2B, 3A, 3B); wherein adjusting the optical power ([0006]; optical power) of the tunable lens (200A and 200B) according to the optical power ([0006]; optical power) adjustment comprises adjusting the optical power ([0006]; optical power) of the tunable lens (200A and 200B) during the eye blink.
With regard to claim 19, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 17, wherein D1 further teaches an optical system, in at least (figs. 1, 2A, 2B, 3A, 3B); wherein the second subset ([0029]) of the one or more sensors ([0029]) comprises a gaze-detection sensor ([0029]: biometric).
With regard to claim 20, D1 teaches a method of operating an electronic device, in at least (figs. 1, 2A, 2B, 3A, 3B); with a tunable lens (200A and 200B) and one or more sensors ([0029]), comprising: determining that an optical power ([0006]; optical power) adjustment ([0030]; adjusting the configuration of the optical assembly) for the tunable lens (200A and 200B) is needed using data ([0029]) from a first subset of the one or more sensors ([0029]); and after determining that the optical power ([0006]; optical power) adjustment ([0030]; adjusting the configuration of the optical assembly) for the tunable lens (200A and 200B) is needed, adjusting ([0030]; adjusting the configuration of the optical assembly) an optical power ([0006]; optical power) of the tunable lens (200A and 200B) over a transition period of at least 200 milliseconds ([0002]).
Conclusion
/GRANT A GAGNON/ Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/BUMSUK WON/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872