DETAILED ACTION
This is the First Action on the Merits for U.S. Patent Application No. 18/948,251, filed 14 November 2024, which is a continuation of U.S. Patent Application No. 17/537,282, now U.S. Patent No. 12,177,587, filed 29 November 2021, which claims foreign priority to Japanese Application No. JP2020-201214, filed 3 December 2020.
Claims 1–6 are pending.
Claim Interpretation
As explained in M.P.E.P. § 2181, subsection I, claim limitations that meet the following three-prong test will be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. § 112(f):
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means”, but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. § 112(f), because the claim limitation uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: the “signal processing unit” in claim 5 and the “control unit” in claim 6.
Because this claim limitation is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. § 112(f), it is being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof, namely: for the claim 5 signal processing unit, a column signal processing circuit including a memory as described in the specification at ¶ 0034, and for the claim 6 control unit, the ECU 330 as described in the specification at ¶ 0148.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to for want of conformity to 37 C.F.R. § 1.75(i), which requires every element or step in a claim to be separated by a line indentation. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claims 1–6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over European Patent Application Publication No. EP 3,588,941 B1 (“Moriyama”).
Moriyama, directed to a light sensor, teaches with respect to claim 1 an apparatus comprising:
a plurality of lines (Figs. 5, 9, each pixel column can output to four column lines 24A, 24B, 24C, 24D; Fig. 11, each pixel column can output to two column lines 24A and 24B),
a plurality of pixels each connected to one of the plurality of lines (id., pixels PX1, PX2, PX3, PX4 in Figs. 5, 11; multiple pixels PXG in column in Fig. 9),
a plurality of sources each connected to one of the plurality of lines (Fig. 6, each column line connected to a current source 31 in constant current source circuit unit 15),
a plurality of comparators each connected to one of the plurality of lines (id., comparison circuits 32 in comparison circuit unit 16),
wherein the plurality of sources includes a first source and a second source (id., at least two sources 31),
wherein the plurality of comparators includes a first comparator and a second comparator (id., at least two comparison circuits 32).
The claimed invention differs from Moriyama in that the claimed invention specifies relative physical locations of the two sources and two comparators. See Specification at Fig. 11. However, the claimed arrangement of the four components as linear in the order first source, second source, first comparator, second comparator is considered but a design variant or optimization of a more conventional arrangement of the sources and comparators being in two parallel rows, or other arrangements, not sufficient to establish patentability. M.P.E.P. § 2144.04(VI)(C) (exact physical position of various components including electronic components not patentable).
Regarding claim 2, Moriyama teaches the apparatus according to claim 1,
wherein the plurality of pixels includes a first pixel and a second pixel included in a same pixel column (Figs. 5, 11, pixels PX1 and PX2 in left column and pixels PX3 and PX4 in right column; Fig. 9, upper and lower pixels PXG in same column),
wherein the plurality [of] lines includes a first line connected to the first pixel and a second line connected to the second pixel (e.g. Fig. 5, column lines 24A and 24B connected to pixel PX1 and output lines 24C and 24D connected to pixel PX2),
wherein the first source is connected to the first line (Fig. 6, one instance of source circuit 31 connected to each column line 24n),
wherein the second source is connected to the second line (id.),
wherein the first comparator is connected to the first line (id., one instance of comparison circuit 32 connected to each column line 24n), and
wherein the second comparator is connected to the second line (id.).
Regarding claim 3, Moriyama teaches the apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the apparatus includes a first readout mode in which a first pixel signal output from the first pixel and a second pixel signal output from the second pixel are read out in parallel (¶ 0021, simultaneous readout mode), and
a second readout mode in which the first pixel signal output from the first pixel and the second pixel signal output from the second pixel are read out sequentially (id. per row readout mode).
Regarding claim 4, Moriyama teaches the apparatus according to claim 1,
wherein the plurality of pixels is formed on a first substrate (Fig. 2, ¶ 0039; signal extraction units in semiconductor substrate 61),
wherein the first source and the second source are formed on a second substrate (Fig. 2, ¶¶ 0051–52, predetermined voltages applied to regions in interconnection layer 91), and
wherein a plurality of substrates including the first substrate and the second substrate is laminated (Fig. 2, ¶ 0049; film 75).
Regarding claim 5, Moriyama teaches a system comprising:
the apparatus according to claim 1 (claim 1 rejection supra); and
a signal processing unit configured to generate an image by using a signal output from the apparatus (Fig. 1, signal processing unit 21 and data storage unit 22).
Regarding claim 6, Moriyama teaches a system comprises a moving body (Fig. 16, vehicle) comprising:
the apparatus according to claim 1 (claim 1 rejection supra); and
a control unit configured to control a movement of the moving body using a signal output from the apparatus (Fig. 15, driving system control unit 12010).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2023/0362513 A1
US 2021/0360182 A1
US 2018/0316846 A1
US 2018/0152653 A1
US 2016/0156860 A1
US 2014/0340154 A1
US 2011/0050967 A1
US 2008/0062295 A1
The following prior art was found using an Artificial Intelligence assisted search using an internal AI tool that uses the classification of the application under the Cooperative Patent Classification (CPC) system, as well as from the specification, including the claims and abstract, of the application as contextual information. Where possible, English-language equivalents are given, and redundant results within the same patent families are eliminated. See “New Artificial Intelligence Functionality in PE2E Search”, 1504 OG 359 (15 November 2022), “Automated Search Pilot Program”, 90 F.R. 48,161 (8 October 2025).
EP 3002658 A1
FR 3002049 A1
US 2015/0195472 A1
US 2012/0025795 A1
US 2010/0097047 A1
US 2008/0197926 A1
US 2006/0255841 A1
US 2004/0061485 A1
AT 398865 B
US 4835417 A
/David N Werner/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487