DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 1-23 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 is suggested to be amended as “the first array data” (in the last paragraph) for addressing informalities.
Claims 2-23 are also objected for being dependent of the base claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“flaw extraction unit” in claim(s) 1, 8-11 and 21.
“array generation unit” in claim(s) 1 and 6.
“correction unit” in claim(s) 1, 13 and 16.
“calculation unit” in claim(s) 1, 14, 18 and 20.
“gain adjustment unit” in claim(s) 12.
“nonlinear correction unit” in claim(s) 13.
“demosaicing unit” in claim(s) 16.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 of U.S. Patent No. 12219278 (hereinafter “Pat’278”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Instance Application
Pat’278
1. A processing apparatus comprising:
a first storage unit for storing first array data that is based on output values of a plurality of pixels arranged in an array;
a second storage unit having second array data stored therein to be used for correction of the output values from of the plurality of pixels; and
a flaw extraction unit configured to extract an output value and a position of a flaw pixel from the first array data;
an array generation unit configured to generate third array data based on the second array data and the output value and the position of the flaw pixel, the third array data being estimated flaw array data; and
a correction unit having a calculation unit configured to correct an output value of at least one pixel of the plurality of pixels based on the first array date and the third array data.
1. A processing apparatus comprising:
a first storage unit for storing first array data that is based on output values of a plurality of pixels arranged in an array;
a second storage unit having second array data stored therein to be used for correction of the output values from the plurality of pixels;
a correction unit including a calculation unit configured to correct an output value of at least one pixel of the plurality of pixels based on the first array data and the second array data;
a flaw extraction unit configured to extract an output value and a position of a flaw pixel from the first array data; and
an array generation unit configured to generate third array data based on the second array data and the output value and the position of the flaw pixel, wherein the second array data is generated based on a pattern of a flaw pixel in an optical black (OB) region of the plurality of pixels.
2. The processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the calculation unit is configured to correct an output value of at least one surrounding pixel positioned around the flaw pixel, based on the first array data and the third array data.
20. The processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein, after
an output value of a surrounding pixel provided in a neighborhood of the flaw pixel has been corrected by the calculation unit, an output value of the flaw pixel is corrected based on the corrected output value of the surrounding pixel.
3. The processing apparatus according to claim 2, wherein, after an output value of the surrounding pixel has been corrected by the calculation unit, an output value of the flaw pixel is corrected based on the corrected output value of the surrounding pixel.
Claims 1-23 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3 and 6-24 of U.S. Patent No. 12219278 (hereinafter “Pat’278”) in view of Kishima (US 20140016005 A1) or Aldrich et al (US 8310570 B1).
Instance Application
Pat’278
1. A processing apparatus comprising:
a first storage unit for storing first array data that is based on output values of a plurality of pixels arranged in an array;
a second storage unit having second array data stored therein to be used for correction of the output values from of the plurality of pixels; and
a flaw extraction unit configured to extract an output value and a position of a flaw pixel from the first array data;
an array generation unit configured to generate third array data based on the second array data and the output value and the position of the flaw pixel,
1. A processing apparatus comprising:
a first storage unit for storing first array data that is based on output values of a plurality of pixels arranged in an array;
a second storage unit having second array data stored therein to be used for correction of the output values from the plurality of pixels;
a correction unit including a calculation unit configured to correct an output value of at least one pixel of the plurality of pixels based on the first array data and the second array data;
a flaw extraction unit configured to extract an output value and a position of a flaw pixel from the first array data; and
an array generation unit configured to generate third array data based on the second array data and the output value and the position of the flaw pixel, wherein the second array data is generated based on a pattern of a flaw pixel in an optical black (OB) region of the plurality of pixels.
but fails to teach the strike-out features.
However, in the same field of endeavor Kishima/Aldrich teaches the strike-out features as presented in the claim rejections below.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use the teachings as taught by Kishima/Aldrich in claim 1 of Pat’278 to have the features for utilizing optimized correction data to correct defective image data so that better image quality can be obtained yielding a predicted result.
Claims 2-5
Claims 6-9
Claim 6
In the same field of endeavor, Kishima teaches claim 6’s feature as presented below in the 102 rejections. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use the teachings as taught by Kishima in claim 1 of Pat’278 to have the feature of claim 6 for utilizing optimized correction data type to correct defective image data so that better image quality can be obtained yielding a predicted result.
Claims 7-18
Claims 10-21
Claim 19
Claim 1: wherein the second array data is generated based on a pattern of a flaw pixel in an optical black (OB) region of the plurality of pixels
Claim 20
Claim 3
Claims 21-23
Claims 22-24
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9, 11, 13, 16, 17, 20 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kishima (US 20140016005 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kishima teaches A processing apparatus (Figs. 19, 27, 28) comprising:
a first storage unit (43) for storing first array data (S0) that is based on output values of a plurality of pixels arranged in an array (Fig. 19);
a second storage unit (45) having second array data (DM) stored therein to be used for correction of the output values from of the plurality of pixels (Figs. 19, 28; paras. 0115-0117, 0178-0180); and
a flaw extraction unit configured to extract an output value (S0 x 4) and a position (DM) of a flaw pixel from the first array data (Figs. 19, 28; paras. 0115-0117, 0178-0180);
an array generation unit configured to generate third array data (NM*S0 x 4) based on the second array data (DM) and the output value (S0) and the position (DM) of the flaw pixel, the third array data being estimated flaw array data (Fig. 19; para. 0117; the logical inversion matrix NM is obtained by logically inverting "0" and "1" of the defective position matrix DM); and
a correction unit having a calculation unit configured to correct an output value of at least one pixel of the plurality of pixels based on the first array date and the third array data (Fig. 19; paras. 0127-0135).
Regarding claim 2, Kishima teaches the processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the second array data includes at least three pieces of data, and wherein one-dimensional data corresponding to at least one row or one column of the second array data has a peak value or a bottom value at a center (Figs. 19, 21).
Regarding claim 3, Kishima teaches the processing apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the one-dimensional data has a distribution monotonously changing from the peak value or the bottom value toward data ends (Figs. 19, 21).
Regarding claim 4, Kishima teaches the processing apparatus according to claim 2, wherein different one-dimensional data that shares the peak value or the bottom value of the one-dimensional data, and is arrayed in a direction intersecting with the one-dimensional data has a distribution monotonously changing from a peak value or a bottom value of the different one-dimensional data toward data ends (Figs. 19, 21).
Regarding claim 5, Kishima teaches the processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the first array data includes data of N rows and M columns, where one of the N and the M is an integer larger than or equal to 2, and the other one of the N and the M is an integer larger than or equal to 1 (Figs. 19, 21).
Regarding claim 6, Kishima teaches the processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the second storage unit has a plurality of types of the second array data stored therein, and wherein the array generation unit is configured to select a type of the second array data to be used in accordance with an environment in which image capturing is performed (Figs. 19, 21, 28; paras. 0114-0117).
Regarding claim 7, Kishima teaches the processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the third array data is generated by multiplication of the second array data and array data generated based on the output value of the flaw pixel (Fig. 19).
Regarding claim 8, Kishima teaches the processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the flaw extraction unit extracts the flaw pixel based on address data of the flaw pixel that has been acquired in advance (Figs. 19, 21, 28; paras. 0114-0117).
Regarding claim 9, Kishima teaches the processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein, in a case where a difference between an output value of a first pixel and an output value of a second pixel adjacent to the first pixel is larger than or equal to a fixed threshold value, the flaw extraction unit determines the first pixel or the second pixel to be the flaw pixel (paras. 0082-0085, 0091).
Regarding claim 11, Kishima teaches the processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the flaw extraction unit determines a pixel having the output value that is larger than or equal to a fixed threshold value, to be the flaw pixel (paras. 0062, 0082-0085, 0091).
Regarding claim 13, Kishima teaches the processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the correction unit includes a nonlinear correction unit configured to perform nonlinear correction of the first array data (Fig. 28; para. 0173; gamma correction).
Regarding claim 16, Kishima teaches the processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the correction unit includes a demosaicing unit (as a subsequent unit of the calculation unit (Fig. 28; para. 0181).
Regarding claim 17, Kishima teaches the processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein, based on address data of the flaw pixel or an output value of the flaw pixel that has been extracted from the output values of the plurality of pixels in a first frame, correction of output values of the plurality of pixels in a second frame acquired later than the first frame is performed (Figs. 19, 28).
Regarding claim 20, Kishima teaches the processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein, after an output value of a surrounding pixel provided in a neighborhood of the flaw pixel has been corrected by the calculation unit, an output value of the flaw pixel is corrected based on the corrected output value of the surrounding pixel (Figs. 19, 28).
Regarding claim 22, Kishima teaches A photoelectric conversion system comprising:
the processing apparatus according to claim 1; and the plurality of pixels configured to output the first array data (Figs. 19, 28).
Claim(s) 1 and 20-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Aldrich et al (US 8310570 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Aldrich teaches A processing apparatus (Figs. 1-5) comprising:
a first storage unit (delay line 300) for storing first array data (A-I) that is based on output values of a plurality of pixels arranged in an array (Fig. 3);
a second storage unit (memory 150) having second array data (pixel repair information 115) stored therein to be used for correction of the output values from of the plurality of pixels (Fig. 1; col. 5); and
a flaw extraction unit configured to extract an output value (C, D, E, F, or G) and a position (dead pixel LUT 110) of a flaw pixel from the first array data (Fig. 3);
an array generation unit configured to generate third array data (repair equations or instructions from TABLE 2) based on the second array data (pixel repair information 115) and the output value and the position of the flaw pixel, the third array data being estimated flaw array data (Fig. 3; cols. 5-6); and
a correction unit having a calculation unit configured to correct an output value of at least one pixel of the plurality of pixels based on the first array date and the third array data (Fig. 3; cols. 5-6).
Regarding claim 20, Aldrich teaches the processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein, after an output value of a surrounding pixel provided in a neighborhood of the flaw pixel has been corrected by the calculation unit, an output value of the flaw pixel is corrected based on the corrected output value of the surrounding pixel (Figs. 1-5).
Regarding claim 21, Aldrich teaches the processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the flaw extraction unit is configured to extract the flaw pixel by pattern matching (Fig. 3; cols. 5-6; patterns as shown in TABLE 2).
Regarding claim 22, Aldrich teaches A photoelectric conversion system comprising:
the processing apparatus according to claim 1; and the plurality of pixels configured to output the first array data (Figs. 1-5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kishima (US 20140016005 A1) or Aldrich et al (US 8310570 B1) in view of Silverstein et al (US 20180007241 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Kishima/Aldrich teaches everything as claimed in claim 1, but fails to teach
wherein, in a case where a ratio between an output value of a first pixel and an output value of a second pixel adjacent to the first pixel is larger than or equal to a fixed threshold value, the flaw extraction unit determines the first pixel or the second pixel to be the flaw pixel.
However, in the same field of endeavor Silverstein teaches
wherein, in a case where a ratio between an output value of a first pixel and an output value of a second pixel adjacent to the first pixel is larger than or equal to a fixed threshold value, the flaw extraction unit determines the first pixel or the second pixel to be the flaw pixel (paras. 0068-0069; evaluating the criteria involves computing a ratio that quantifies how the pixel value is different from neighboring pixel values, comparing the computed ratio to a corresponding threshold value, and determining if the pixel is defective if the computed ratio is larger than the corresponding threshold value).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use the teachings as taught by Silverstein in Kishima/Aldrich to have wherein, in a case where a ratio between an output value of a first pixel and an output value of a second pixel adjacent to the first pixel is larger than or equal to a fixed threshold value, the flaw extraction unit determines the first pixel or the second pixel to be the flaw pixel for utilizing different detection criteria for detecting multiple defective pixel so that better image quality can be obtained by correcting all possible detectable defective values yielding a predicted result.
Claim(s) 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aldrich et al (US 8310570 B1) in view of Yanof et al (US 20060221214 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Aldrich teaches everything as claimed in claim 1, but fails to teach
further comprising, as a preceding unit of the first storage unit, a gain adjustment unit configured to apply a digital gain to the output values of the plurality of pixels.
However, in the same field of endeavor Yanof teaches
further comprising, as a preceding unit of the first storage unit, a gain adjustment unit configured to apply a digital gain to the output values of the plurality of pixels (Fig. 2; para. 0029; gain stage 202 before bad pixel replacement 206).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use the teachings as taught by Yanof in Aldrich to have further comprising, as a preceding unit of the first storage unit, a gain adjustment unit configured to apply a digital gain to the output values of the plurality of pixels for automatic exposure control and white balancing improving image quality yielding a predicted result.
Regarding claim 13, Aldrich teaches everything as claimed in claim 1, but fails to teach
wherein the correction unit includes a nonlinear correction unit configured to perform nonlinear correction of the first array data.
However, in the same field of endeavor Yanof teaches
wherein the correction unit includes a nonlinear correction unit configured to perform nonlinear correction of the first array data (Fig. 2; para. 0029; gamma correction).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use the teachings as taught by Yanof in Aldrich to have wherein the correction unit includes a nonlinear correction unit configured to perform nonlinear correction of the first array data for improving the contrast of the image yielding a predicted result.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aldrich et al (US 8310570 B1) in view of Takayama et al (US 6683643 B1).
Regarding claim 18, Aldrich teaches everything as claimed in claim 1, but fails to teach
wherein, whether to execute the correction in the calculation unit is selected in accordance with a signal level of a subject or a temperature of the plurality of pixels.
However, in the same field of endeavor Takayama teach
wherein, whether to execute the correction in the calculation unit is selected in accordance with a signal level of a subject or a temperature of the plurality of pixels (col. 9, lines 18-48).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use the teachings as taught by Takayama in Aldrich to have wherein, whether to execute the correction in the calculation unit is selected in accordance with a signal level of a subject or a temperature of the plurality of pixels for controlling the number of defective pixel determining and correction based on image sensor temperature and image signal level so that image quality can be improved yielding a predicted result.
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aldrich et al (US 8310570 B1) in view of Sasaki et al (US 20190327424 A1).
Regarding claim 23, Aldrich teaches everything as claimed in claim 22, but fails to teach
wherein each of the plurality of pixels includes an avalanche photodiode.
However, in the same field of endeavor Sasaki teaches
wherein each of the plurality of pixels includes an avalanche photodiode (paras. 0002, 0030, 0037, 0039).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use the teachings as taught by Sasaki in Aldrich to have wherein each of the plurality of pixels includes an avalanche photodiode for utilizing a highly sensitive sensor for superior sensitivity and signal to noise ratio yielding a predicted result.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14, 15 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and if overcame the nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
/Quan Pham/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2637