DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the second item" in line 1 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sinha (US 20150003433).
Regarding claim 1, An apparatus for generating a virtual collective, the apparatus comprising: a) a processor; (“Those skilled in the art will recognize that FIG. 1 and FIG. 2 do not depict all of the equipment necessary for system to operate but only those system components and logical entities particularly relevant to the description of embodiments herein. Each of the devices shown in the figures are known to also comprise basic interconnected components such as, but not limited to, radios, transceivers, antennas, keypads, speakers, microphones, displays, memories, interfaces and processors, such as microprocessors, microcontrollers, digital signal processors, application-specific integrated circuits, field programmable gate arrays, and/or logic circuitry. Such components are typically adapted to implement algorithms and/or protocols that have been expressed using high-level design languages or descriptions, expressed using computer instructions, expressed using messaging logic flow diagrams. Thus, given an algorithm, a logic flow, a messaging/signaling flow, and/or a protocol specification, those skilled in the art are aware of the many design and development techniques available to implement a processor that performs the given logic.” Sinha: paragraph 15)
b) a near field transceiver configured to communicate digital; (“FIG. 2 shows a generalized locationing area, such as a store, that has shelves 206 carrying products. Radio frequency identification (RFID) or Bluetooth.TM. Low Energy (BLE) tags 208, as are used in this example” Sinha: paragraph 23)
c) a network communication device operative to wirelessly communicate via a data communications network; (“WWAN” Sinha: figure 1)
d) a memory storing executable software executable upon command to cause the apparatus to: (“Moreover, an embodiment can be implemented as a computer-readable storage medium having computer readable code stored thereon for programming a computer (e.g., comprising a processor) to perform a method as described and claimed herein. Examples of such computer-readable storage mediums include, but are not limited to, a hard disk, a CD-ROM, an optical storage device, a magnetic storage device, a ROM (Read Only Memory), a PROM (Programmable Read Only Memory), an EPROM (Erasable Programmable Read Only Memory), an EEPROM (Electrically Erasable Programmable Read Only Memory) and a Flash memory. Further, it is expected that one of ordinary skill, notwithstanding possibly significant effort and many design choices motivated by, for example, available time, current technology, and economic considerations, when guided by the concepts and principles disclosed herein will be readily capable of generating such software instructions and programs and ICs with minimal experimentation.” Sinha: paragraph 52)
i) receive, via the near field transceiver, metadata comprising a unique identifier stored in a memory on a first label affixed to a first item; (“Referring to FIGS. 2 and 3, a confined area is defined, for example a retail store. The store has a plurality of identification devices, being radio frequency based tags 208 in this example, configured to be disposed at predefined mapped locations within the confined premises and operable to periodically broadcast or respond to interrogation requests with unique identity information, i.e. a BLE tag will broadcast a beacon containing its unique identity. A mobile device enters the premises, and an installed application, provided as a download by the retail store, is started 300, either manually by the user or automatically when detecting entry into the store.” Sinha: paragraph 28)
ii) operate the network communication device to wirelessly transmit the unique identifier via the data communications network to an authentication server; (“The mobile device can then send the identity information extracted from the relevant beacon, in a location update message (LUM) to the server” Sinha: paragraph 24)
iii) operate the network communication device to wirelessly transmit a location of the apparatus via the data communications network to the authentication server; and (“A client device, e.g. a smartphone running a locationing application, moving within the premises, and having the ability to receive the beacon and read the identity of any one (i.e. the strongest signaled) of such tags, can then be associated with that tag's location. The client device or other network device can provide this identity information to a server in a location update message, such that the server will then have known the location of the client device by referring the known location of the identified tag” Sinha: paragraph 1 & “The mobile device can then send the identity information extracted from the relevant beacon, in a location update message (LUM) to the server, which is aware of the position of each identified BLE-tag based on the predefined floor-map of the tags on the premises. Based on the tag identity in the received LUM and the BLE-tag position on the floor map, the server can determine the customer's location data (coordinates in the premises) by association” Sinha paragraph 24)
iv) operate the network communication device to wirelessly receive data indicating whether the apparatus was within a spatial domain associated with the unique identifier. (“A next step 324 includes validating whether the mobile device is present within the confined area by the server using a WLAN, whereafter taking an action by the serving in response to the validating step. This action can include one or more of providing feedback 332 to the device about a validation or invalidation, allowing 346, 348 communication access to the server over the WWAN using both the first and second keys if the mobile device is validated as being present within the confined area, and disallowing 340 communication access to the server over the WWAN if the mobile device is not validated as being present within the confined area.” Sinha: paragraph 46)
Regarding claim 2, The apparatus of Claim 1 wherein the memory storing executable software additionally causes the apparatus to repeat i) to iv) for a second label affixed to a second item; and form the virtual collective comprising the first label and the second label. (Sinha: figures 1 & 2)
Regarding claim 3, The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to authenticate users before allowing access to the virtual collective. (“Therefore, referring back to FIG. 1, a client device 106 within the store may initiate communication with the server 108 using the downloaded application and using their device packet cellular service network (WWAN or second network). In accordance with the present invention, the application will generate a first key, n1, which is sent by the client device 106 in a first handshake message 1 over a secure connection of the cellular network to the server 108. In response the server will generate a second key, n2, which is sent in a second handshake message 2 over the cellular network back to the client device 106. The client device 106 then sends a WLAN probe request 3 that has been modified by the application to include the second key, n2, back to the server via the access point 110. The access point recognizes that WLAN probe is in the modified format and extracts the second key, n2, from the probe requests and sends 4 the second key, n2, to the server for validation. The server 108 responds to the access point 110 with an indication 5 that the validation was a success or a failure, and optionally provides feedback.” Sinha: paragraph 20)
Regarding claim 4, The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the network communication device is configured to wirelessly communicate using secure communication protocols. (“Therefore, referring back to FIG. 1, a client device 106 within the store may initiate communication with the server 108 using the downloaded application and using their device packet cellular service network (WWAN or second network). In accordance with the present invention, the application will generate a first key, n1, which is sent by the client device 106 in a first handshake message 1 over a secure connection of the cellular network to the server 108. In response the server will generate a second key, n2, which is sent in a second handshake message 2 over the cellular network back to the client device 106. The client device 106 then sends a WLAN probe request 3 that has been modified by the application to include the second key, n2, back to the server via the access point 110. The access point recognizes that WLAN probe is in the modified format and extracts the second key, n2, from the probe requests and sends 4 the second key, n2, to the server for validation. The server 108 responds to the access point 110 with an indication 5 that the validation was a success or a failure, and optionally provides feedback.” Sinha: paragraph 20)
Regarding claim 5, The apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a module configured to encrypt the metadata. (“The keys n1 and n2 can be generated using various different methods. For example, the keys can be generated using pseudo random number generators. By configuration, the bit-size of the key n2 should be large enough to accommodate the highest number of peak-customer visits by a significant margin. The key generation method for key, n1 should ensure that the generated key is never same as that generated by another client. This can be achieved by using various methods. For example, a client identifier (e.g. MAC address) is appended to a generated pseudo random number and encrypted by the mobile device to ensure that the key is not open to a security attack.” Sinha: paragraph 40)
Regarding claim 6, The apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a module configured to verify integrity of the metadata. (“Multiple approaches can be employed in conjugation to secure valid usage of the identifier and key-pair {n1, n2, BLE tag ID}. For instance, based on a floor-map, the server would know the BLE-tags on the perimeter of the premises. However, few such tags would qualify for entry/exit to the premises. The site-planner should configure those BLE-tags on a perimeter of an entry/exit path as edge-BLE-tags. If an application does not send a location update message after exiting from an area of an edge BLE-tag, the server will erase the key-pair {n1, n2}. As well, if a location update message is not received from an application within a configured multiple of expected time intervals, the server will erase the key-pair {n1, n2}.” Sinha: paragraph 41)
Regarding claim 7, The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first item and the second item comprise an Asset Collective that may interact and share information for proper completion of a logical function. (“This modified-format WLAN probe request is received 314 by all APs in the range of the mobile device. The AP(s) are configured to recognize that the probe request has been modified, and proceed to extract the BLE tag ID from the header or payload. Each AP maintains a location table which contains a map of the location of all BLE tag identities which are in the AP's coverage area. Some BLE tags can be under the coverage area of multiple APs due to overlapped coverage. Factors influencing coverage area are transmit power, AP model, etc. and a site-planning-tool will limit overlapping to two or three AP(s), which falls under the purview of site-planning.” Sinha: paragraph 32)
Regarding claim 8, The apparatus of claim 3, wherein the memory storing executable software additionally causes the apparatus to communicate with a server comprising a module configured to log user interactions with the virtual collective. (“The application restores the WLAN interface to previous state, and can start sending 352 location update messages to LS 108 over the cellular network (WWAN) so that the server can track the location of the mobile device within the premises.” Sinha: paragraph 37)
Regarding claim 9, The apparatus of claim 3, wherein the memory storing executable software additionally causes the apparatus to communicate with a server configured to generate reports based on the metadata. (“The application restores the WLAN interface to previous state, and can start sending 352 location update messages to LS 108 over the cellular network (WWAN) so that the server can track the location of the mobile device within the premises.” Sinha: paragraph 37 & “Therefore, referring back to FIG. 1, a client device 106 within the store may initiate communication with the server 108 using the downloaded application and using their device packet cellular service network (WWAN or second network). In accordance with the present invention, the application will generate a first key, n1, which is sent by the client device 106 in a first handshake message 1 over a secure connection of the cellular network to the server 108. In response the server will generate a second key, n2, which is sent in a second handshake message 2 over the cellular network back to the client device 106. The client device 106 then sends a WLAN probe request 3 that has been modified by the application to include the second key, n2, back to the server via the access point 110. The access point recognizes that WLAN probe is in the modified format and extracts the second key, n2, from the probe requests and sends 4 the second key, n2, to the server for validation. The server 108 responds to the access point 110 with an indication 5 that the validation was a success or a failure, and optionally provides feedback.” Sinha: paragraph 20)
Regarding claim 10, The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the memory storing executable software additionally causes the apparatus to communicate with a server configured to integrate with third-party systems. (“If the criteria evaluation 324 finds any discrepancy, then the server erases 326 the key-pair {n1, n2} and sends an alarm to an administrator on a graphical user interface or display.” Sinha: paragraph 36)
Regarding claim 11, The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the memory storing executable software additionally causes the apparatus to communicate with a server configured to provide alerts based on predefined conditions related to the metadata. (“If the criteria evaluation 324 finds any discrepancy, then the server erases 326 the key-pair {n1, n2} and sends an alarm to an administrator on a graphical user interface or display.” Sinha: paragraph 36)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12-16, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 20140115021).
Regarding claim 12, The apparatus of claim 3, additionally comprising a sensor that generates data comprising a measure of an ambient condition is not specifically disclosed by Sinha. Chen discloses a mobile phone device that teaches uses a number of sensors for sensing ambient conditions (“The mobile phone 500 may further include at least one sensor 550, such as a light sensor, a motion sensor, or another sensor. Specifically, the light sensor may include an ambient light sensor and a proximity sensor. The ambient light sensor may adjust brightness of the display panel 541 according to brightness or darkness of an ambient light. The proximity sensor may switch off the display panel 541 and/or a backlight when the mobile phone 500 moves to an ear. As a kind of a motion sensor, an accelerometer sensor can detect an acceleration in each direction (generally three axes), and can detect a size and a direction of gravity in a standstill, which can be used for an application (such as switching between a horizontal screen and a vertical screen, a relevant game, or magnetometer pose calibration) for identifying a mobile phone pose, a function (such as a pedometer or a knock) related to vibration identification, or the like. For other sensors, such as a gyroscope, a barometer, a humidity meter, a thermometer, or an infrared sensor, that may be configured for the mobile phone 500, no further details are provided herein.” Chen: paragraph 77). Modifying Sinha to include additional sensors in the client’s smartphone would increase the overall utility of the device by providing the user with additional means to measure the area surrounding the device. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Sinha according to Chen.
Regarding claim 13, The apparatus of claim 12, wherein the measure of an ambient condition comprises an ambient temperature. (“The mobile phone 500 may further include at least one sensor 550, such as a light sensor, a motion sensor, or another sensor. Specifically, the light sensor may include an ambient light sensor and a proximity sensor. The ambient light sensor may adjust brightness of the display panel 541 according to brightness or darkness of an ambient light. The proximity sensor may switch off the display panel 541 and/or a backlight when the mobile phone 500 moves to an ear. As a kind of a motion sensor, an accelerometer sensor can detect an acceleration in each direction (generally three axes), and can detect a size and a direction of gravity in a standstill, which can be used for an application (such as switching between a horizontal screen and a vertical screen, a relevant game, or magnetometer pose calibration) for identifying a mobile phone pose, a function (such as a pedometer or a knock) related to vibration identification, or the like. For other sensors, such as a gyroscope, a barometer, a humidity meter, a thermometer, or an infrared sensor, that may be configured for the mobile phone 500, no further details are provided herein.” Chen: paragraph 77).
Regarding claim 14, The apparatus of claim 12, wherein the measure of an ambient condition comprises an ambient humidity. (“The mobile phone 500 may further include at least one sensor 550, such as a light sensor, a motion sensor, or another sensor. Specifically, the light sensor may include an ambient light sensor and a proximity sensor. The ambient light sensor may adjust brightness of the display panel 541 according to brightness or darkness of an ambient light. The proximity sensor may switch off the display panel 541 and/or a backlight when the mobile phone 500 moves to an ear. As a kind of a motion sensor, an accelerometer sensor can detect an acceleration in each direction (generally three axes), and can detect a size and a direction of gravity in a standstill, which can be used for an application (such as switching between a horizontal screen and a vertical screen, a relevant game, or magnetometer pose calibration) for identifying a mobile phone pose, a function (such as a pedometer or a knock) related to vibration identification, or the like. For other sensors, such as a gyroscope, a barometer, a humidity meter, a thermometer, or an infrared sensor, that may be configured for the mobile phone 500, no further details are provided herein.” Chen: paragraph 77).
Regarding claim 15, The apparatus of claim 12, wherein the measure of an ambient condition comprises motion. (“The mobile phone 500 may further include at least one sensor 550, such as a light sensor, a motion sensor, or another sensor. Specifically, the light sensor may include an ambient light sensor and a proximity sensor. The ambient light sensor may adjust brightness of the display panel 541 according to brightness or darkness of an ambient light. The proximity sensor may switch off the display panel 541 and/or a backlight when the mobile phone 500 moves to an ear. As a kind of a motion sensor, an accelerometer sensor can detect an acceleration in each direction (generally three axes), and can detect a size and a direction of gravity in a standstill, which can be used for an application (such as switching between a horizontal screen and a vertical screen, a relevant game, or magnetometer pose calibration) for identifying a mobile phone pose, a function (such as a pedometer or a knock) related to vibration identification, or the like. For other sensors, such as a gyroscope, a barometer, a humidity meter, a thermometer, or an infrared sensor, that may be configured for the mobile phone 500, no further details are provided herein.” Chen: paragraph 77).
Regarding claim 16, The apparatus of claim 12, wherein the measure of an ambient condition comprises vibration. (“The mobile phone 500 may further include at least one sensor 550, such as a light sensor, a motion sensor, or another sensor. Specifically, the light sensor may include an ambient light sensor and a proximity sensor. The ambient light sensor may adjust brightness of the display panel 541 according to brightness or darkness of an ambient light. The proximity sensor may switch off the display panel 541 and/or a backlight when the mobile phone 500 moves to an ear. As a kind of a motion sensor, an accelerometer sensor can detect an acceleration in each direction (generally three axes), and can detect a size and a direction of gravity in a standstill, which can be used for an application (such as switching between a horizontal screen and a vertical screen, a relevant game, or magnetometer pose calibration) for identifying a mobile phone pose, a function (such as a pedometer or a knock) related to vibration identification, or the like. For other sensors, such as a gyroscope, a barometer, a humidity meter, a thermometer, or an infrared sensor, that may be configured for the mobile phone 500, no further details are provided herein.” Chen: paragraph 77).
Regarding claim 20, The apparatus of claim 12, wherein the measure of an ambient condition comprises acceleration. (“The mobile phone 500 may further include at least one sensor 550, such as a light sensor, a motion sensor, or another sensor. Specifically, the light sensor may include an ambient light sensor and a proximity sensor. The ambient light sensor may adjust brightness of the display panel 541 according to brightness or darkness of an ambient light. The proximity sensor may switch off the display panel 541 and/or a backlight when the mobile phone 500 moves to an ear. As a kind of a motion sensor, an accelerometer sensor can detect an acceleration in each direction (generally three axes), and can detect a size and a direction of gravity in a standstill, which can be used for an application (such as switching between a horizontal screen and a vertical screen, a relevant game, or magnetometer pose calibration) for identifying a mobile phone pose, a function (such as a pedometer or a knock) related to vibration identification, or the like. For other sensors, such as a gyroscope, a barometer, a humidity meter, a thermometer, or an infrared sensor, that may be configured for the mobile phone 500, no further details are provided herein.” Chen: paragraph 77).
Claim(s) 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sinha in view of Chen further in view of Breed (US 20090058593).
Regarding claim 17, The apparatus of claim 12, wherein the measure of an ambient condition comprises radiation is not specifically disclosed by Sinha. Breed discloses a cell phone that teaches sensing ambient conditions surrounding the phone including radiation, electromagnetic signals, and chemicals (“Applying this embodiment of the invention, the cell phone or PDA can be used as an environment monitoring system for monitoring the environment in the vehicle, e.g., in the passenger compartment or interior space of a container. It could check for chemicals in the air in the passenger compartment or container. An energy harvesting system may be arranged in connection with the cell phone or PDA to generate energy to power the cell phone or PDA, or various sensors associated therewith, during movement of the vehicle. The information provided by the cell phone or PDA may be information about a person carrying the cell phone or PDA, derived from contact or proximity of the person to the sensor of the cell phone or PDA. Sensors arranged in association with the cell phone or PDA may be one or more of a temperature sensor, radiation sensor, optical sensor, flow sensor, current sensor, voltage sensor, magnetic field sensor, electric field sensor, force sensor, charge sensor, viscosity sensor, density sensor, electrical resistance sensor, electrical impedance sensor, electrical capacitance sensor, electrical inductance sensor, humidity sensor, chemical sensor, biochemical sensor, biological sensor, acceleration sensor, velocity sensors, displacement sensor, location sensor, vibration sensor, acoustic sensor and pressure sensor.” Breed: paragraph 448). Modifying Sinha and Chen to include an additional radiation sensor would increase the overall utility of the device by providing additional ways to sense for ambient conditions. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Sinha and Chen according to Breed.
Regarding claim 18, The apparatus of claim 12, wherein the measure of an ambient condition comprises an electromagnetic signal is not specifically disclosed by Sinha. Breed discloses a cell phone that teaches sensing ambient conditions surrounding the phone including radiation, electromagnetic signals, and chemicals (“Applying this embodiment of the invention, the cell phone or PDA can be used as an environment monitoring system for monitoring the environment in the vehicle, e.g., in the passenger compartment or interior space of a container. It could check for chemicals in the air in the passenger compartment or container. An energy harvesting system may be arranged in connection with the cell phone or PDA to generate energy to power the cell phone or PDA, or various sensors associated therewith, during movement of the vehicle. The information provided by the cell phone or PDA may be information about a person carrying the cell phone or PDA, derived from contact or proximity of the person to the sensor of the cell phone or PDA. Sensors arranged in association with the cell phone or PDA may be one or more of a temperature sensor, radiation sensor, optical sensor, flow sensor, current sensor, voltage sensor, magnetic field sensor, electric field sensor, force sensor, charge sensor, viscosity sensor, density sensor, electrical resistance sensor, electrical impedance sensor, electrical capacitance sensor, electrical inductance sensor, humidity sensor, chemical sensor, biochemical sensor, biological sensor, acceleration sensor, velocity sensors, displacement sensor, location sensor, vibration sensor, acoustic sensor and pressure sensor.” Breed: paragraph 448). Modifying Sinha and Chen to include an additional electromagnetic signal sensor would increase the overall utility of the device by providing additional ways to sense for ambient conditions. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Sinha and Chen according to Breed.
Regarding claim 19, The apparatus of claim 12, wherein the measure of an ambient condition comprises chemical presence is not specifically disclosed by Sinha. Breed discloses a cell phone that teaches sensing ambient conditions surrounding the phone including radiation, electromagnetic signals, and chemicals (“Applying this embodiment of the invention, the cell phone or PDA can be used as an environment monitoring system for monitoring the environment in the vehicle, e.g., in the passenger compartment or interior space of a container. It could check for chemicals in the air in the passenger compartment or container. An energy harvesting system may be arranged in connection with the cell phone or PDA to generate energy to power the cell phone or PDA, or various sensors associated therewith, during movement of the vehicle. The information provided by the cell phone or PDA may be information about a person carrying the cell phone or PDA, derived from contact or proximity of the person to the sensor of the cell phone or PDA. Sensors arranged in association with the cell phone or PDA may be one or more of a temperature sensor, radiation sensor, optical sensor, flow sensor, current sensor, voltage sensor, magnetic field sensor, electric field sensor, force sensor, charge sensor, viscosity sensor, density sensor, electrical resistance sensor, electrical impedance sensor, electrical capacitance sensor, electrical inductance sensor, humidity sensor, chemical sensor, biochemical sensor, biological sensor, acceleration sensor, velocity sensors, displacement sensor, location sensor, vibration sensor, acoustic sensor and pressure sensor.” Breed: paragraph 448). Modifying Sinha and Chen to include an additional chemical sensor would increase the overall utility of the device by providing additional ways to sense for ambient conditions. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Sinha and Chen according to Breed.
Conclusion
Related Art:
US 10242372 B2 – RFID item tracking
US 20090303003 A1 – RFID tracking
US 20070032225 A1 – cell phone sensors
/TRAVIS R HUNNINGS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2689