DETAILED ACTION
The application of Hunter et al., for an “Incident detection and management” filed on November 14, 2024, which is a continuation of U.S. Application No. 18223322, filed on July 18, 2023, now U.S. Patent No. 12147293, which is a continuation of U.S. Application No. 17592841, filed on February 4, 2022, now U.S. Patent No. 11720432, which is a continuation of U.S. Application No. 17104890, filed on November 25, 2020, now U.S. Patent No.11243830, which is a continuation of U.S. Application No. 16830061, filed on March 25, 2020, now U.S. Patent No.10970150, has been examined. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on November 14, 2024 has been considered.
Claims 21-40 are presented for examination.
Claims 1-20 have been cancelled by a preliminary amendment.
Claims 21-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting.
Claims 28-33 are rejected under 35 USC § 102.
Claim 34 is rejected under 35 USC § 103.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: On page 1, under Related Applications, 1 related application is listed, but no corresponding patent number is supplied. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 21-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 10970150. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 10970150 contain(s) every element of claim(s) 21-40 of the instant application and as such anticipate(s) claim(s) 21-40 of the instant application.
Claims 21-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11243830. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11243830 contain(s) every element of claim(s) 21-40 of the instant application and as such anticipate(s) claim(s) 21-40 of the instant application.
Claims 21-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11720432. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11720432 contain(s) every element of claim(s) 21-40 of the instant application and as such anticipate(s) claim(s) 21-40 of the instant application.
Claims 21-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12147293. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12147293 contain(s) every element of claim(s) 21-40 of the instant application and as such anticipate(s) claim(s) 21-40 of the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 28-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Creel et al. (U.S. PGPUB 20120246623).
As per claim 28, Creel discloses a method for operating an incident detection system, the method comprising:
identifying a first issue report and a second issue report received at the incident detection system within a predetermined threshold time period ([0014], “causing a report to be generated relating to an issue with another of the plurality of functions 112a-n, such as a defect”) and ([0015]-[0020]);
evaluating a first property descriptor extracted from the first issue report and a second property descriptor extracted from the second issue report to obtain an issue report property summary ([0019]-[0020], “The input window 602 features input areas to receive a summary of the issue 604 (as shown in FIG. 7) and a detailed description of the issue 606.”);
causing to be displayed, within a graphical user interface of a first user device communicably coupled to the incident detection system, a graphical summary based in part on the issue report property summary ([0014], “In addition, the function to cause presentation of previously submitted reports may further include retrieving a list of previously generated reports from the issue management system, each characterized by a status, e.g. pending or resolved.”);
in response to a user input received via the graphical user interface of the first user device, causing an alert to be communicated to a second user device communicably coupled to the incident detection system ([0014]-[0020]) and (Figs. 3-11);
subsequent to receiving the user input, causing to be displayed, within the graphical user interface of the first user device, a list of active bugs and a selectable affordance to create a new bug entry based on at least the first property descriptor and the second property descriptor ([0014]-[0020], “The list 502 further provides an additional function 504, represented by the "+" button graphic user interface element, which allows the user to create a new issue report. FIGS. 6 and 7 show the user input window 602 which is displayed when the user chooses to create a new issue report.”) and (Figs. 3-11); and
subsequent to receiving a user selection of the selectable affordance to create the new bug entry, causing creation of a record of the new bug entry at a bug tracking tool ([0020], “The list 502 further provides an additional function 504, represented by the "+" button graphic user interface element, which allows the user to create a new issue report. FIGS. 6 and 7 show the user input window 602 which is displayed when the user chooses to create a new issue report.”).
As per claim 29, Creel discloses subsequent to receiving a user selection of a particular active bug of the list of active bugs, causing display of a list of tickets associated with the particular active bug; and associating at least one of the first issue report and the second issue report with the particular active bug ([0014]-[0020]) and (Figs. 3-11).
As per claim 30, Creel discloses subsequent to causing display of the list of tickets, receiving a user-generated text via an interface field; and storing the user-generated text as a comment for at least one ticket of the list of tickets ([0014]-[0020]) and (Figs. 3-11).
As per claim 31, Creel discloses the first property descriptor indicates at least one of: a location from which the first issue report originated; a time of day that the first issue report was created; or an application service associated with the first issue report ([0014]-[0020]) and (Figs. 8-9).
As per claim 32, Creel discloses the first property descriptor and the second property descriptor each comprise one or more respective keywords; and evaluating the first property descriptor and the second property descriptor includes determining whether a threshold number of the one or more respective keywords have appeared in previous issue reports received during the predetermined threshold time period ([0014]-[0020]) and (Figs. 3-11) and (Fig. 8, “CLAIMS COMPARISON”).
As per claim 33, Creel discloses evaluating one or more additional respective property descriptors of the first issue report and the second issue report to obtain one or more additional issue report property summaries ([0019]-[0020], “The input window 602 features input areas to receive a summary of the issue 604 (as shown in FIG. 7) and a detailed description of the issue 606.”); and causing to be displayed, within the graphical user interface of the first user device, one or more additional graphical summaries corresponding to the one or more additional issue report property summaries ([0014], “In addition, the function to cause presentation of previously submitted reports may further include retrieving a list of previously generated reports from the issue management system, each characterized by a status, e.g. pending or resolved.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Creel et al. (U.S. PGPUB 20120246623) in view of Zeng et al. (U.S. PGPUB 20180004848).
As per claim 34, Creel fails to explicitly disclose identifying a support staff based on a support staff availability schedule.
Zeng of analogous art teaches prior to causing an alert to be communicated to the second user device, identifying a support staff based on a support staff availability schedule ([0021], “The organization may assign dedicated staff members to look after each service desk so that the issues can be processed promptly.”); and determining the second user device is associated with the support staff ([0069]).
All of the claimed elements were known in Creel and Zeng and could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions. It therefore would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing language to combine their issue tracking methods. One would be motivated to make this combination for the purpose of providing an efficient issue tracking system (Zeng, [0022]).
Reasons for allowance
The following is an examiner's statement of reasons for allowance:
Claims 21-27 and 35-40 are rejected under a nonstatutory type double patenting rejection as claiming the same invention as that of claims 1-20 of the parent application No. 18223322, now U.S. Patent No. 12147293, which were allowed in an office action mailed on July 10, 2024. Claims 21-27 and 35-40 would be allowable if a proper terminal disclaimer is filed.
Conclusion
/Elmira Mehrmanesh/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2113