DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hirose et al. (US 2003/0185584; “Hirose”).
Regarding claim 1, Hirose discloses an image forming apparatus 1 (Fig. 1) configured to form a toner image on a sheet 3 ([0055]), the image forming apparatus comprising:
an image bearing member 27 configured to rotate (Fig. 2 [0058]);
a developing member 31 configured to form a toner image on the image bearing member 27 by supplying toner to the image bearing member 27 (Fig. 2 [0112]);
a transfer member 30 configured to transfer the toner image formed on the image bearing member 27 onto a sheet 3 (Fig. 2 [0113]);
a cleaning member 51 configured to abut against a surface of the image bearing member 27 and remove toner from the surface of the image bearing member 27 (Fig. 2 [0065-0066]);
a toner collecting container (housing of process cartridge 17; Fig. 2) configured to collect the toner removed from the surface of the image bearing member 27 by the cleaning member 51 ([0065-0066]);
a fixing unit 18 configured to fix the toner image transferred onto the sheet 3 by the transfer member 30 to the sheet 3 (Fig. 2 [0114]); and
a duct 100 disposed between the toner collecting container and the fixing unit 18, the duct forming an air passage through which air flowing toward an exterior of the image forming apparatus flows (Figs. 1-2 [0071]),
wherein the duct includes a first wall portion opposed to the fixing unit 18 and a second wall portion opposed to the toner collecting container (see annotated Fig. 2 below), and
wherein the first wall portion is inclined with respect to the second wall portion (Fig. 2).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Second wall portion)][AltContent: textbox (First wall portion)][AltContent: connector]
Regarding claim 2, Hirose discloses the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the first wall portion is inclined with respect to the second wall portion such that a distance “X” between the second wall portion and a first end portion of the first wall portion closest to a conveyance path through which a sheet 3 passes between the transfer member 30 and the fixing unit 18 is shorter than a distance “Y” between the second wall portion and a second end portion of the first wall portion farthest from the conveyance path (see partial annotated Fig. 2 immediately below).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (X)][AltContent: textbox (Y)][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding claim 3, Hirose discloses the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the first wall portion is formed linearly when viewed in a rotational axis direction of the image bearing member (the first wall portion comprises at least four linear segments when viewed in the rotational axis direction; see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 4, Hirose discloses the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the first wall portion is formed to be curved when viewed in a rotational axis direction of the image bearing member (the overall shape of the first wall portion is curved when viewed in the rotational axis direction; see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 5, Hirose discloses the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the second wall portion extends in a vertical direction (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 6, Hirose discloses the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the fixing unit 18 includes a fixing member 41 configured to heat the toner image on the sheet (Fig. 2 [0070]), and a fixing cover configured to cover the fixing member (Figs. 2-3), and wherein the fixing cover includes an opposing surface that is opposed to the first wall portion and that extends along the first wall portion (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 7, Hirose discloses the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising a fan (117 or 118) that is arranged on one side (left side) of the duct 100 in a rotational axis direction of the image bearing member and that is configured to blow air (Fig. 11 [0054]), wherein the duct is arranged to be overlapped with the fan when viewed in the rotational axis direction (fan 117 overlaps with at least a bottom portion of duct 100, while fan 118 overlaps with an upper portion of the first wall portion of duct 100; see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 8, Hirose discloses the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the second wall portion of the duct extends to a position “P” closer to a conveyance path through which a sheet passes between the transfer member and the fixing unit than the cleaning member when viewed in a rotational axis direction of the image bearing member (see partial annotated Fig. 2 immediately below).
[AltContent: oval]
Regarding claim 9, Hirose discloses the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the duct 100 is arranged on a same side as the toner collecting container with respect to a conveyance path through which a sheet passes between the transfer member and the fixing unit (duct 100 and toner collecting container of cartridge 17 are both above the conveyance path; see Fig 2).
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sato (US 2011/0249982) and Takeuchi (US 2010/0080591) are cited for teaching ducts meeting many of the claimed limitations corresponding to Applicant’s first embodiment.
Conclusion
/CARLA J THERRIEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852