CTFR 18/948,341 CTFR 89572 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Hirose et al. (US 2003/0185584; “Hirose”) . Regarding claim 1, Hirose discloses an image forming apparatus 1 (Fig. 1) configured to form a toner image on a sheet 3 ([0055]), the image forming apparatus comprising: an image bearing member 27 configured to rotate (Fig. 2 [0058]); a developing member 31 configured to form a toner image on the image bearing member 27 by supplying toner to the image bearing member 27 (Fig. 2 [0112]); a transfer member 30 configured to transfer the toner image formed on the image bearing member 27 onto a sheet 3 (Fig. 2 [0113]); a cleaning member 51 configured to abut against a surface of the image bearing member 27 and remove toner from the surface of the image bearing member 27 (Fig. 2 [0065-0066]); a waste toner container ( housing of process cartridge 17 ; Fig. 2) configured to store waste toner that is removed from the surface of the image bearing member 27 by the cleaning member 51 ( as the waste toner container is the housing of process cartridge 17 and the removed waste toner is not disclosed to be removed from the housing, the removed waste toner is stored within the waste toner container ; [0065-0066]); a fixing unit 18 configured to fix the toner image transferred onto the sheet 3 by the transfer member 30 to the sheet 3 (Fig. 2 [0114]); and a duct 100 disposed between the waste toner container and the fixing unit 18, the duct forming an air passage through which air flowing toward an exterior of the image forming apparatus flows (Figs. 1-2 [0071]), wherein the duct includes a first wall portion opposed to the fixing unit 18 and a second wall portion opposed to the waste toner container ( see annotated Fig. 2 below ), and PNG media_image1.png 563 720 media_image1.png Greyscale [AltContent: arrow] [AltContent: textbox (Second wall portion)] [AltContent: textbox (First wall portion)] [AltContent: connector] wherein the first wall portion is inclined with respect to the second wall portion (Fig. 2). Regarding claim 2, Hirose discloses the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the first wall portion is inclined with respect to the second wall portion such that a distance “X” between the second wall portion and a first end portion of the first wall portion closest to a conveyance path through which a sheet 3 passes between the transfer member 30 and the fixing unit 18 is shorter than a distance “Y” between the second wall portion and a second end portion of the first wall portion farthest from the conveyance path ( see partial annotated Fig. 2 immediately below ). PNG media_image3.png 144 166 media_image3.png Greyscale [AltContent: arrow] [AltContent: textbox (X)] [AltContent: textbox (Y)] [AltContent: arrow] Regarding claim 3, Hirose discloses the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the first wall portion is formed linearly when viewed in a rotational axis direction of the image bearing member ( the first wall portion comprises at least four linear segments when viewed in the rotational axis direction ; see Fig. 2). Regarding claim 4, Hirose discloses the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the first wall portion is formed to be curved when viewed in a rotational axis direction of the image bearing member ( the overall shape of the first wall portion is curved when viewed in the rotational axis direction ; see Fig. 2). Regarding claim 5, Hirose discloses the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the second wall portion extends in a vertical direction (Fig. 2). Regarding claim 6, Hirose discloses the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the fixing unit 18 includes a fixing member 41 configured to heat the toner image on the sheet (Fig. 2 [0070]), and a fixing cover configured to cover the fixing member (Figs. 2-3), and wherein the fixing cover includes an opposing surface that is opposed to the first wall portion and that extends along the first wall portion (see Fig. 2). Regarding claim 7, Hirose discloses the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising a fan (117 or 118) that is arranged on one side ( left side ) of the duct 100 in a rotational axis direction of the image bearing member and that is configured to blow air (Fig. 11 [0054]), wherein the duct is arranged to be overlapped with the fan when viewed in the rotational axis direction ( fan 117 overlaps with at least a bottom portion of duct 100, while fan 118 overlaps with an upper portion of the first wall portion of duct 100 ; see Fig. 1). Regarding claim 8, Hirose discloses the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the second wall portion of the duct extends to a position “P” closer to a conveyance path through which a sheet passes between the transfer member and the fixing unit than the cleaning member when viewed in a rotational axis direction of the image bearing member ( see partial annotated Fig. 2 immediately below ). [AltContent: oval] Regarding claim 9, Hirose discloses the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the duct 100 is arranged on a same side as the waste toner container with respect to a conveyance path through which a sheet passes between the transfer member and the fixing unit ( duct 100 and toner collecting container of cartridge 17 are both above the conveyance path ; see Fig 2) . Response to Arguments 07-37 AIA Applicant's arguments filed 4/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The crux of Applicant’s argument is that Hirose does not disclose a waste toner container configured to store waste toner that is removed from the surface of the image bearing member by the cleaning member (see pages 5-6 of the Remarks). The Office respectfully disagrees. As described in the rejection of claim 1 above, the waste toner container of Hirose is being interpreted as the housing of process cartridge 17. Additionally, the removed waste toner is not disclosed to be removed from the housing. As such, the removed waste toner is stored within the waste toner container. Assuming arguendo that the waste toner container of Hirose is only the portion of the housing immediately surrounding elements 51-53, the claims would still remain unpatentable. Hirose discusses the image bearing member being cleaned using a cleanerless system in paragraph [0066]. The toner is collected by cleaning member 51, and then “only the paper powder is electrically attracted by the secondary roller 52 from the cleaning roller 51, and the paper powder attracted by the secondary roller 52 is caught by the slide contact member 53.” Thus, the waste toner is stored at least temporarily while being carried on cleaning member 51. Additionally, it is known that waste toner on an image bearing member can be both positively and negatively charged, as evidenced by paragraph [0059] of Furukawa (US 2005/0074265). In this instance, some of the waste toner would also be collected by secondary roller 52 and slide contact member 53 of Hirose, thereby being stored in the waste toner container. Conclusion 07-40 AIA Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to CARLA J THERRIEN whose telephone number is (571)272-2677. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 8 am - 4 pm EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Stephanie Bloss can be reached at (571)272-3555. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /CARLA J THERRIEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852 Application/Control Number: 18/948,341 Page 2 Art Unit: 2852 Application/Control Number: 18/948,341 Page 3 Art Unit: 2852 Application/Control Number: 18/948,341 Page 5 Art Unit: 2852 Application/Control Number: 18/948,341 Page 7 Art Unit: 2852 Application/Control Number: 18/948,341 Page 8 Art Unit: 2852