This office action is in response to application filed on 11/14/2024.
Claims 1-20 are pending and rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-10, 14, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Potucek et al (US20180240322A1) (hereinafter "Potucek").
Regarding claim 1, Potucek discloses a system for aquatic equipment, comprising:
a plurality of system components of a connected system of the aquatic equipment ([0009] In still further embodiments, the system of the present disclosure provides a modular relay, a wiring hub, and/or a control module that can be conveniently installed near pool/spa equipment, and which provides Internet-enabled remote control and connectivity of pool/spa components without requiring installation of complete (e.g., pad-mounted) pool/spa system controller.);
a subset of the plurality of system components communicatively coupled in a mesh network, and a first system component of the plurality of system components provided in the form of a root node of the mesh network; and ([0073] In this embodiment, network connectivity and remote monitoring/control of pool and spa components is provided by way of a central pool/spa system controller 114f. The pool/spa system controller 114f could be the OMNILOGIC pool/spa system controller manufactured and sold by Hayward Industries Inc. The pool/spa system controller 114f could communicate with one or more valve actuators 114e, a single speed pump 113, a variable speed pump 114a, pool/spa lighting systems 114h, a pool/spa heating or cooling system 114b, and/or a pool/spa chlorination system 114c, such as a salt chlorinator. Additionally, the pool/spa control system 114f could receive input from one or more external sensors 126 and could provide “personality” by way of remotely provisioned logic for the devices. The pool/spa control system 114f communicates with a remote server, such as the server 118, via a Wi-Fi router 122 and the Internet. Connectivity could be provided to the pool/spa equipment additionally using Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, or RF mesh (e.g., ZWave, Zigbee, Thread, Weave, etc.) connectivity.)
a sensing device adapted to capture sensor data associated with at least one system component of the plurality of system components, wherein the root node of the mesh network is adapted to communicate at least a subset of the sensor data to at least one other system component of the plurality of system components ([0171] In one embodiment, the smart valve actuator is capable of receiving from, or giving to, a pool controller, a unique address that enables communication of specific commands and settings between the actuator and its controlling entity. In some embodiments, when controlled by the pool automation system, the smart valve actuator may communicate by communication protocols, including without limitation, RS485, Ethernet, Wi-Fi, Bluetooth™, zwave, ZigBee™, thread, cellular or another communication protocol. [0174] In an embodiment, the smart valve actuator may be used to automatically manage water flow needed for operation of suction and pressure cleaners. When a smart valve actuator is used in conjunction with a variable speed pump, the pump may be able to increase its speed to deliver the flow necessary for proper operation of a suction or pressure cleaner, thereby maximizing energy savings when compared to running the variable speed pump at a higher speed throughout the day. [0175] In one embodiment the smart valve actuator may include sensor capabilities to measure the temperature, flow rates and/or pressure of the input water or output water when the valve is diverted and be able to use the measured parameters to turn the motor to achieve a desired setpoint. The flow sensing or pressure sensing may be built into the smart valve actuator or may be attained by a secondary flow sensor.).
Regarding claim 3, Potucek discloses the system, further comprising:
at least one memory unit adapted to store at least one operating parameter associated with the sensor data in at least one dataset in a database or a lookup table ([0135] For example, pump control logic 84 could present the user with a list of pre-programmed activities from which to choose, the user could search a database of pre-programmed activities, or the user could program custom activities and save the same to memory for later retrieval and use. In step 3940, pump control logic 84 determines an acceptable range of speed setpoints for the pump (e.g., speed/flow for all pump related features). … Optionally, as shown in steps 3946 and 3948, pump control logic 84 could sense and/or advise of a maximum speed/flow beyond which the pump cavitates or reaches an undesirable inflection point in energy consumption/efficiency.).
Regarding claim 4, Potucek discloses the system, further comprising:
a controller in communication with at least a subset of the system components designed to retrieve at least one information element from the at least one data set stored at the at least one memory unit, and output the at least one information element to at least a subset of the plurality of system components ([0135] It is contemplated that pump control logic 84 could include a wizard-based application that is accessible by the user via a human machine interface installed on the pump, centralized pool/spa control system, smartphone/device, web browser, or any other means for communicating with the system, disclosed herein. For example, in step 3936, pump control logic 84 prompts the user to specify installed pool/spa equipment and operational parameters therefore (e.g., minimum skimmer speed/flow, number of skimmers, minimum heater speed/flow, has heater, heat pump, solar, etc.). … For example, pump control logic 84 could present the user with a list of pre-programmed activities from which to choose, the user could search a database of pre-programmed activities, or the user could program custom activities and save the same to memory for later retrieval and use. In step 3940, pump control logic 84 determines an acceptable range of speed setpoints for the pump (e.g., speed/flow for all pump related features).).
Regarding claim 5, Potucek discloses the system, wherein the root node of the mesh network is adapted to communicate at least the subset of sensor data to a cloud network ([0068] For example, a smart telephone could directly connect with pool or spa equipment via a Bluetooth, WiFi, RF mesh (e.g., ZWave, Zigbee, Thread, Weave, etc.), or satellite connection, via the subsystems 12a-12h. [0390] The system 7100 is able to provide the aforementioned benefits utilizing combinations of one or more of hardware (system controllers, smart/connected pool/spa equipment, sensors, etc.), applications (e.g., smartphone applications, servicer systems, etc.), and cloud integration (e.g., central management/control, data storage, machine learning/analytics, etc.).).
Regarding claim 6, Potucek discloses the system, wherein the root node of the mesh network is adapted to aggregate at least one data set from the sensor data and communicate the at least one data set to a backend server ([0076] FIG. 7 is a diagram illustrating another embodiment of the system of the present disclosure, wherein remote connectivity is provided by way of a pool “hub” component 230. … Additionally, the pool hub 230 can control a valve actuator 214e and can receive various sensor inputs 226 and 228, such as temperature sensors, wind speed sensors, runtime sensors, current/voltage usage sensors, flow sensors, heater pressure sensors, water temperature sensors, chlorine sensors, pH/ORP sensors, etc. … The pool hub 230 could communicate with a remote server 218 via a Wi-Fi router 222 and a network connection such as the Internet. The server to 218 could include pool logic 270 which can be used to remotely monitor and control operation of the devices to 213, 214a, 214h, 214b, and 214c. [0441] The pool “hub” disclosed herein, as well as the various embodiments disclosed herein, allows for wired and wireless communication (e.g., wireless methods 802.11 protocols, Zigbee, Zwave), with pool pad components. … The hub could have a communication antenna for RF mesh (e.g., ZWave, Zigbee, Thread, Weave), BlueTooth, etc to connect to pool and non-pool equipment.).
Regarding claim 7, Potucek discloses the system, wherein the at least one sensing device is integrated into a user device or connected to at least one system component of the plurality of system components ([0135] It is contemplated that pump control logic 84 could include a wizard-based application that is accessible by the user via a human machine interface installed on the pump, centralized pool/spa control system, smartphone/device, web browser, or any other means for communicating with the system, disclosed herein. For example, in step 3936, pump control logic 84 prompts the user to specify installed pool/spa equipment and operational parameters therefore (e.g., minimum skimmer speed/flow, number of skimmers, minimum heater speed/flow, has heater, heat pump, solar, etc.). … Optionally, as shown in steps 3946 and 3948, pump control logic 84 could sense and/or advise of a maximum speed/flow beyond which the pump cavitates or reaches an undesirable inflection point in energy consumption/efficiency. For example, pump control logic 84 could determine the maximum speed/flow beyond which the pump cavitates using operational data received from an accelerometer, optical sensor, or other means. In step 3946, pump control logic 84 determines if the user selected setpoints are causing pump cavitation. … Also optionally, pump control logic 84 could suggest to the user alternative modes of operation (e.g., other than that selected by the user) that either improve the reliability of one or more pieces of installed pool/spa equipment, or improve the efficiency of one or more pieces of installed pool/spa equipment, individually, or as a whole system.).
Regarding claim 8, Potucek discloses the system, wherein the plurality of system components includes two or more of at least one of a pool pump, a booster pump, a filter, a solar controller, a solar panel, a heater, a sanitizer, a water quality monitor, a pH regulator, a water feature, a pool cleaner, a pool skimmer, a pool drain, a pool light, and a salt chlorine generator ([0073] The pool/spa system controller 114f could communicate with one or more valve actuators 114e, a single speed pump 113, a variable speed pump 114a, pool/spa lighting systems 114h, a pool/spa heating or cooling system 114b, and/or a pool/spa chlorination system 114c, such as a salt chlorinator.).
Regarding claim 9, a method for monitoring and updating aquatic equipment, comprising:
receiving sensor data from at least one sensing device, wherein the sensor data is associated with a first system component of a plurality of system components, the plurality of system components is communicatively coupled in a mesh network, and at least one operating parameter is based at least in part on the sensor data ([0135] It is contemplated that pump control logic 84 could include a wizard-based application that is accessible by the user via a human machine interface installed on the pump, centralized pool/spa control system, smartphone/device, web browser, or any other means for communicating with the system, disclosed herein. For example, in step 3936, pump control logic 84 prompts the user to specify installed pool/spa equipment and operational parameters therefore (e.g., minimum skimmer speed/flow, number of skimmers, minimum heater speed/flow, has heater, heat pump, solar, etc.). … For example, pump control logic 84 could present the user with a list of pre-programmed activities from which to choose, the user could search a database of pre-programmed activities, or the user could program custom activities and save the same to memory for later retrieval and use. In step 3940, pump control logic 84 determines an acceptable range of speed setpoints for the pump (e.g., speed/flow for all pump related features). … Optionally, as shown in steps 3946 and 3948, pump control logic 84 could sense and/or advise of a maximum speed/flow beyond which the pump cavitates or reaches an undesirable inflection point in energy consumption/efficiency.);
communicating at least one operating parameter to the first system component of the plurality of system components via a second system component of the plurality of system components, wherein the second system component is a root node of the mesh network; and ([0102] The controller 4514a provides connections for various pool and spa equipment, such as a pool/spa chlorination system 4517, a single-speed pump 4513, a smart heater 4514b, a legacy heater 4515, a chlorination system 4514c, a booster pump 4519, and a third-party pump 4521. … Pump control logic 84, discussed in greater detail hereinbelow, could also utilize multiple sensors for parallel plumbing circuits (e.g., branch plumbing). Also, the controller 4514a could communicate with and control a smart valve actuator 4514e, and/or lighting system 4514h.)
outputting the at least one operating parameter to at least one of a network device or at least one memory unit ([0125] In step 3704, the pump control logic 84 received operational data of the pump, including but not limited to, L1-L2, L1-GND, and L2-GND. In step 3706, the pump control logic 84 compares whether the operational data is within the specified operating parameters of the pump.).
Regarding claim 10, the method, further comprising:
aggregating at least one data set from the sensor data; and ([0076] FIG. 7 is a diagram illustrating another embodiment of the system of the present disclosure, wherein remote connectivity is provided by way of a pool “hub” component 230. … Additionally, the pool hub 230 can control a valve actuator 214e and can receive various sensor inputs 226 and 228, such as temperature sensors, wind speed sensors, runtime sensors, current/voltage usage sensors, flow sensors, heater pressure sensors, water temperature sensors, chlorine sensors, pH/ORP sensors, etc. … The pool hub 230 could communicate with a remote server 218 via a Wi-Fi router 222 and a network connection such as the Internet. The server to 218 could include pool logic 270 which can be used to remotely monitor and control operation of the devices to 213, 214a, 214h, 214b, and 214c. [0441] The pool “hub” disclosed herein, as well as the various embodiments disclosed herein, allows for wired and wireless communication (e.g., wireless methods 802.11 protocols, Zigbee, Zwave), with pool pad components. … The hub could have a communication antenna for RF mesh (e.g., ZWave, Zigbee, Thread, Weave), BlueTooth, etc to connect to pool and non-pool equipment.)
outputting the at least one data set to a backend server communicatively coupled with at least the root node of the mesh network ([0093] Each of the pool/spa components discussed above, including the sensors 526, could communicate with a remote server 518. The server 518 could include pool logic 570 for remotely controlling and/or monitoring the pool/spa equipment.).
Regarding claim 14, the method, further comprising:
performing an analytical analysis of the sensor data; and ([0106] In this embodiment, the server 818 is a cloud-based, virtual server, and the pool/spa control logic discussed herein is installed in the server 818. The pool logic could be any of the pool logic discussed herein. Further, the server 818 could communicate with one or more third-party smart devices 824 by a suitable cloud API, and the server 818 could access big data 832 and perform analytics 834 on pool/spa data, if desired.)
outputting an instruction to at least one of the plurality of system components to adjust at least one setting based at least in part on the analytical analysis of the sensor data ([0093] Each of the pool/spa components discussed above, including the sensors 526, could communicate with a remote server 518. The server 518 could include pool logic 570 for remotely controlling and/or monitoring the pool/spa equipment.).
Regarding claim 19, the method, further comprising:
aggregating at least one data set from the sensor data; and ([0076] FIG. 7 is a diagram illustrating another embodiment of the system of the present disclosure, wherein remote connectivity is provided by way of a pool “hub” component 230. … Additionally, the pool hub 230 can control a valve actuator 214e and can receive various sensor inputs 226 and 228, such as temperature sensors, wind speed sensors, runtime sensors, current/voltage usage sensors, flow sensors, heater pressure sensors, water temperature sensors, chlorine sensors, pH/ORP sensors, etc. … The pool hub 230 could communicate with a remote server 218 via a Wi-Fi router 222 and a network connection such as the Internet. The server to 218 could include pool logic 270 which can be used to remotely monitor and control operation of the devices to 213, 214a, 214h, 214b, and 214c. [0441] The pool “hub” disclosed herein, as well as the various embodiments disclosed herein, allows for wired and wireless communication (e.g., wireless methods 802.11 protocols, Zigbee, Zwave), with pool pad components. … The hub could have a communication antenna for RF mesh (e.g., ZWave, Zigbee, Thread, Weave), BlueTooth, etc to connect to pool and non-pool equipment.)
outputting the at least one data set to a backend server communicatively coupled with at least a root node of the mesh network ([0093] Each of the pool/spa components discussed above, including the sensors 526, could communicate with a remote server 518. The server 518 could include pool logic 570 for remotely controlling and/or monitoring the pool/spa equipment.).
Regarding claim 20, the method, further comprising outputting an indication to a first system component of the plurality of system components to update at least one setting at the first system component based at least in part on the sensor data ([0075] In step 156, the pool/spa system controller 114f monitors for updated external data (e.g., web-supplied data, such as weather information and other information from remote data sources). In step 158, the system determines whether updated external data is available. If not, control returns to step 156. Otherwise step 160 occurs, wherein the pool/spa system controller receives the updated external data. [0397] According to still further aspects of the present disclosure, the sensor hub 7122 can include a memory, the memory being used for local storage of acid feeding, chemical dosing, and filtering schedules. The schedules can be manually updated locally, or automatically updated based on algorithms processed by the analytics system 7114.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 11-13, and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Potucek in view of Blaine et al (US20220409481A1) (hereinafter "Blaine") and von Kugelgen et al (US20240414391A1) (hereinafter "von Kugelgen").
Regarding claim 2, Potucek fails to disclose the system, further comprising:
a new system component designed to transmit an introduction packet including at least one data set, and receive a welcome packet comprising information associated with the plurality of system components.
However, Blaine discloses the system, further comprising:
a new system component designed to transmit an introduction packet including at least one data set, and receive a welcome packet comprising information associated with the plurality of system components ([0022] FIG. 4 is a flowchart illustrating processing steps carried out by the system (e.g., the controller 160 and/or gateway 310) for dynamic device discovery and address assignment over a network. The system allows a controlling device (e.g., a master pool/spa controller) to discover all subordinate/slave devices (e.g., pumps, lights, filters, heaters, sanitization equipment, gateways, etc.) present on a network (e.g. a half-duplex RS-485 serial bus). … The responses transmitted by the un-configured device 110-150 are messages that can include device identifiers, At step 404, controller 160 receives a device response including a device identifier from each of the un-configured devices 110-150. [0022] Then, in step 408, controller 160 transmits the device network address assignment in a message to each of the responding devices (e.g, based on the correlation performed in step 406).).
Potucek and Blaine are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of providing network connectivity and remote monitoring, optimization, and control of pool/spa equipment.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Potucek with Blaine to create the system, further comprising: a new system component designed to transmit an introduction packet including at least one data set, and receive a welcome packet comprising information associated with the plurality of system components.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to dynamically discover devices and assign addresses.
Regarding claim 11, Potucek fails to disclose the method, further comprising:
receiving a request from at least a third system component of the plurality of system components for information related to at least one operating parameter associated with the third system component;
receiving at least one data set associated with the at least one operating parameter from at least one of the network devices or the at least one memory unit based at least in part on the request; and
outputting the at least one data set associated with the at least one operating parameters to the third system component.
However, von Kugelgen discloses the method, further comprising:
receiving a request from at least a third system component of the plurality of system components for information related to at least one operating parameter associated with the third system component ([0139] At block 614, once the controller 530 has established the BLE connection 580 with the playback device 510, the controller 530 can control the playback device 510 using the BLE connection 580. … The BLE control messages can include a command or a subscription request for subscribing to various notifications according to the media playback protocol described above.);
receiving at least one data set associated with the at least one operating parameter from at least one of the network devices or the at least one memory unit based at least in part on the request; and ([0169] And based on the subscription request, the controller can receive, via the second network connection using the third communication protocol, information corresponding to the particular operational parameter after the particular operational parameter changes.)
outputting the at least one data set associated with the at least one operating parameters to the third system component ([0139] In this manner, even when one or both of the controller 530 or the playback device 510 are not connected to the local network 560 of the media playback system 500, the controller 530 can still control the playback device 510 using the same media playback protocol that the controller 530 would otherwise use if connected to the playback device 510 over the local network 560.).
Potucek and von Kugelgen are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of requesting data and retrieving data from a device or memory.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Potucek with von Kugelgen to create the system, further comprising: a new system component designed to transmit an introduction packet including at least one data set, and receive a welcome packet comprising information associated with the plurality of system components.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to support maintenance or corrective action on remote devices.
Regarding claim 12, Potucek fails to disclose the method, further comprising:
receiving a request to subscribe a third system component of the plurality of system components to a topic update; and outputting at least one operating parameter associated with the sensor data and related to the topic update to the third system component of the plurality of system components based at least in part on the request to subscribe.
However, von Kugelgen discloses the method, further comprising:
receiving a request to subscribe a third system component of the plurality of system components to a topic update; and ([0140] Additionally or alternatively, the BLE control messages can include requests for subscribing to notifications in connection with various operational parameters of the playback device 510 or the other playback devices 502, such as notifications for identifying changes to current playback statuses, current volume settings, album art of currently playing media content, metadata of currently playing media content, current equalization settings, temperature status, telemetry or diagnostic information, battery status, charger or power adapter compatibility information, information identifying any currently connected controller that is streaming media content to a playback device, or information identifying whether BLUETOOTH content is being streamed to a playback device.)
outputting at least one operating parameter associated with the sensor data and related to the topic update to the third system component of the plurality of system components based at least in part on the request to subscribe ([0139] In this manner, even when one or both of the controller 530 or the playback device 510 are not connected to the local network 560 of the media playback system 500, the controller 530 can still control the playback device 510 using the same media playback protocol that the controller 530 would otherwise use if connected to the playback device 510 over the local network 560.).
Potucek and von Kugelgen are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of requesting data and retrieving data from a device or memory.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Potucek with von Kugelgen to create the method, further comprising: receiving a request to subscribe a third system component of the plurality of system components to a topic update; and outputting at least one operating parameter associated with the sensor data and related to the topic update to the third system component of the plurality of system components based at least in part on the request to subscribe.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to support maintenance or corrective action on remote devices.
Regarding claim 13, Potucek fails to disclose the method, further comprising:
storing the sensor data with at least one identification elements associated with the sensor data in at least one memory unit, wherein each of the at least one identification elements is associated with one system component of the plurality of system components.
However, Blaine discloses the system, further comprising:
storing the sensor data with at least one identification elements associated with the sensor data in at least one memory unit, wherein each of the at least one identification elements is associated with one system component of the plurality of system components ([0006] A pool or spa system for a pool or spa is disclosed that includes components operatively coupled via a communications network supporting dynamic device discovery. The system can include slave devices and a master controller. Each slave device is configured to perform one or more operations with respect to the pool or spa. Each of the slave devices are initially un-configured and have a unique device identifier associated therewith. The master controller is operatively coupled to the slave devices to form a network. … The slave devices could include a pump, a filter, a sensor, a heater, or other equipment.).
Potucek and Blaine are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of providing network connectivity and remote monitoring, optimization, and control of pool/spa equipment.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Potucek with Blaine to create the system, further comprising: storing the sensor data with at least one identification elements associated with the sensor data in at least one memory unit, wherein each of the at least one identification elements is associated with one system component of the plurality of system components.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to dynamically discover devices and assign addresses.
Regarding claim 15, Potucek fails to disclose a method for configuring a new system component for an aquatic application, comprising:
receiving an introduction packet for the new system component at a first system component of a plurality of system components, wherein the introduction packet includes at least one data set associated with the new system component;
outputting a welcome packet defined by information associated with the plurality of system components, wherein the plurality of system components and the new system component comprise a mesh network.
However, Blaine discloses a method for configuring a new system component for an aquatic application, comprising:
receiving an introduction packet for the new system component at a first system component of a plurality of system components, wherein the introduction packet includes at least one data set associated with the new system component ([0022] At step 404, controller 160 receives a device response including a device identifier from each of the un-configured devices 110-150.);
outputting a welcome packet defined by information associated with the plurality of system components, wherein the plurality of system components and the new system component comprise a mesh network ([0022] Then, in step 408, controller 160 transmits the device network address assignment in a message to each of the responding devices (e.g, based on the correlation performed in step 406).)
Potucek and Blaine are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of providing network connectivity and remote monitoring, optimization, and control of pool/spa equipment.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Potucek with Blaine to create a method for configuring a new system component for an aquatic application, comprising: receiving an introduction packet for the new system component at a first system component of a plurality of system components, wherein the introduction packet includes at least one data set associated with the new system component; outputting a welcome packet defined by information associated with the plurality of system components, wherein the plurality of system components and the new system component comprise a mesh network.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to dynamically discover devices and assign addresses.
Potucek fails to disclose a method for configuring a new system component for an aquatic application, comprising: receiving a subscription request from the new system component to subscribe to information related to a topic selection of at least one topic associated with the plurality of system components.
However, von Kugelgen discloses a method for configuring a new system component for an aquatic application, comprising:
receiving a subscription request from the new system component to subscribe to information related to a topic selection of at least one topic associated with the plurality of system components ([0140] Additionally or alternatively, the BLE control messages can include requests for subscribing to notifications in connection with various operational parameters of the playback device 510 or the other playback devices 502, such as notifications for identifying changes to current playback statuses, current volume settings, album art of currently playing media content, metadata of currently playing media content, current equalization settings, temperature status, telemetry or diagnostic information, battery status, charger or power adapter compatibility information, information identifying any currently connected controller that is streaming media content to a playback device, or information identifying whether BLUETOOTH content is being streamed to a playback device.).
Potucek and von Kugelgenare considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of requesting data and retrieving data from a device or memory.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Potucek with von Kugelgen to create a method for configuring a new system component for an aquatic application, comprising: receiving a subscription request from the new system component to subscribe to information related to a topic selection of at least one topic associated with the plurality of system components.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to support maintenance or corrective action on remote devices.
Regarding claim 16, Potucek fails to disclose the method further comprising outputting information related to the at least one topic to the new system component based on the subscription request.
However, von Kugelgen discloses the method further comprising outputting information related to the at least one topic to the new system component based on the subscription request ([0140] Additionally or alternatively, the BLE control messages can include requests for subscribing to notifications in connection with various operational parameters of the playback device 510 or the other playback devices 502, such as notifications for identifying changes to current playback statuses, current volume settings, album art of currently playing media content, metadata of currently playing media content, current equalization settings, temperature status, telemetry or diagnostic information, battery status, charger or power adapter compatibility information, information identifying any currently connected controller that is streaming media content to a playback device, or information identifying whether BLUETOOTH content is being streamed to a playback device. [0139] In this manner, even when one or both of the controller 530 or the playback device 510 are not connected to the local network 560 of the media playback system 500, the controller 530 can still control the playback device 510 using the same media playback protocol that the controller 530 would otherwise use if connected to the playback device 510 over the local network 560.).
Potucek and von Kugelgenare considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of requesting data and retrieving data from a device or memory.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Potucek with von Kugelgen to create the method further comprising outputting information related to the at least one topic to the new system component based on the subscription request.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to support maintenance or corrective action on remote devices.
Regarding claim 17, Potucek fails to disclose the method further comprising storing subscription information associated with the subscription request and the topic selection in a database stored in at least one memory unit.
However, von Kugelgen discloses the method further comprising storing subscription information associated with the subscription request and the topic selection in a database stored in at least one memory unit ([0053] The MPS 100 can scan identifiable media items in some or all folders and/or directories accessible to the various playback devices and generate or update a media content database comprising metadata (e.g., title, artist, album, track length) and other associated information (e.g., URIs, URLs) for each identifiable media item found. In some embodiments, for example, the media content database is stored on one or more of the various playback devices, network microphone devices, and/or control devices of MPS 100. [0070] The memory 112b can also include data associated with a state of one or more of the other devices (e.g., the playback devices 110, NMDs 120, control devices 130) of the MPS 100.).
Potucek and von Kugelgenare considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of requesting data and retrieving data from a device or memory.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Potucek with von Kugelgen to create the method further comprising storing subscription information associated with the subscription request and the topic selection in a database stored in at least one memory unit.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to support maintenance or corrective action on remote devices.
Regarding claim 18, Potucek fails to disclose the method further comprising receiving sensor data from at least one sensing device associated with one of the plurality of system components, wherein the information related to the topic selection is based at least in part on the sensor data.
However, von Kugelgen discloses the method further comprising receiving sensor data from at least one sensing device associated with one of the plurality of system components, wherein the information related to the topic selection is based at least in part on the sensor data ([0067] In some embodiments, the electronics 112 optionally include one or more other components 112j (e.g., one or more sensors, video displays, touchscreens, battery charging bases). In some embodiments, the playback device 110a and electronics 112 may further include one or more voice processing components that are operable coupled to one or more microphones, and other components as described below with reference to FIGS. 1F and 1G.).
Potucek and von Kugelgenare considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of requesting data and retrieving data from a device or memory.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Potucek with von Kugelgen to create the method further comprising receiving sensor data from at least one sensing device associated with one of the plurality of system components, wherein the information related to the topic selection is based at least in part on the sensor data.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to support maintenance or corrective action on remote devices.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Loebs et al (US20140314062A1) discloses using a mesh network in an environment that incorporates aquatic vessels such as pools, spas and fountains for the improved maintenance, monitoring and operation of home-based systems with aquatic vessels.
Chemel et al (US9860961B2) discloses a method for commissioning improved intelligent, LED-based lighting systems. The LED based lighting systems may include fixtures with one or more LED light bars, integrated sensors, onboard intelligence to send and receive signals and control the LED light bars, and network connectivity to other fixtures.
Tinnakornsrisuphap et al (US9143402B2) discloses embodiments for sensor based configuration and control of network devices.
/D LITTLE/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/PAO SINKANTARAKORN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409