DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 2, 6 – 11, 13 – 15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee.
Regarding Claim 1, Lee discloses “A display panel” (Figure 5, Page 4, Column 6, Lines 46 – 48 (Notice that a display device of panel form is shown in Figure 5.)), “comprising an array substrate, wherein the array substrate comprises: scan lines and data lines intersecting each other in an insulated manner to define sub-pixel regions” (Figures 5 and 6 (Notice that an array substrate with scan lines GL1 – GL4 and data lines DL1 – DL10 intersecting each other while being insulated to define sub-pixel regions at electrodes P11 – P49.)), “sub-pixels arranged in an array, wherein at least one of the sub-pixels is provided within a respective one of the sub-pixel regions” (Figure 6 (Notice that sub-pixels at electrodes P11 – P49 are arranged in an array and at least one of the sub-pixels at electrodes P11 – P49 occupy a respective one of the sub-pixel electrode regions.)), “each of the sub-pixels comprises a first electrode” (Figure 7 (Notice that each sub-pixel electrode P11 – P49 provides an electrode for each sub-pixel.)), “one of the first electrodes comprises two domain portions having different domain orientations along an extending direction of one of the scan lines” (Figure 7 (Notice that each first electrode of P11 – P49 (although only P21 is shown) comprises upper domain portion with top swept to the left and a lower domain portion under GL2 that is swept to the left, where each of the upper and lower domain portion have different doming orientations along the left to right extending direction of gate line GL2.)), “and domain boundaries of a column of first electrodes are arranged at a same straight line” (Figures 6 and 7 (Notice the rightmost domain boundaries of a column of first electrodes (i.e. column including sub-pixels P11, P21, P31, and P41) are arranged at a same straight line of data line DL2.)), “and the two domain portions of the one of the first electrodes are located at two sides of the straight line where the domain boundaries of the column of first electrodes are arranged” (Figure 7 (Notice the that the upper and lower domain portions as described above are located at two sides of the of the straight line (i.e. side to the top above GL2 and side to the bottom below GL2) where the domain boundaries of the column of first electrodes P11, P21, P31, and P41 are arranged.)), “touch lines, wherein an extending direction of one of the touch lines is the same as an extending direction of the domain boundaries of a column of first electrodes” (Figures 6 and 7 (Notice plural touch lines TW11 and TW12, where and extending direction of touch line TW11 is that same as the top to bottom extending direction of the rightmost domain boundaries of the described one column.)), “and a vertical projection of the one of the touch lines onto the array substrate at least partially overlaps with a vertical projection of the domain boundaries of the column of first electrodes onto the array substrate” (Figure 7 (Notice that vertical projection of touch line TW11 onto the array substrate overlaps a vertical projection of the right most domain boundaries along data line DL2.)), “and touch electrodes, wherein one of the touch electrodes is electrically connected to at least one of the touch lines via a first through-hole” (Figures 6 and 7 (Notice plural touch electrodes Tx11 and Tx12, where Tx11 is electrically connected to touch line TW11 at a first through-hole CH2.)), “a vertical projection of the first through-hole onto the array substrate at least partially overlaps with a vertical projection of the touch line onto the array substrate” (Figure 7 (Notice that a vertical projection first through-hole CH2 on the array substrate at least partially overlaps with a vertical projection of the touch line TW11 on the array substrate.)), “and the first through-hole is arranged adjacent to the scan line” (Figure 7 (Notice that the first through-hole CH2 is arranged adjacent to the scan line GL2.)).
Regarding Claim 2, Lee discloses everything claimed as applied above (see Claim 1). In addition, Lee discloses “wherein the array substrate further comprises a first base substrate, an array layer, a first electrode layer, and a second electrode layer” (Figure 8 (Notice the array substrate comprises a first base substrate SUB, an array layer at least from the bottom of gate insulation layer G1 to the top of PAS2, a first electrode layer on top of PAS2, a second electrode layer on top of PAS2.)), “the scan lines, the data lines and the touch lines are arranged in the array layer” (Figure 8 (Notice the scan lines (note the only GL1 is shown in Figure 8 although the other scan lines are in the same array layer), the data lines (note that only DL2 is shown in Figure 8 although the other data lines are in the same array layer), and the touch lines (note that only TW11 is shown in Figure 8 although the other touch lines are in the same array layer) are arranged in the array layer.)), “the touch electrodes are arranged in the first electrode layer” (Figure 8 (Notice that the touch electrodes (note that only Tx11 is shown in Figure 8 although the other touch electrodes are in the first electrode layer) are in the first electrode layer at the top of PAS2.)), “the first electrodes are arranged in the second electrode layer” (Figure 8 (Notice that the first electrodes (note that only P21 is shown in Figure 8 although the other first electrodes P11 through P49) are arranged in the second layer at the top of PAS1.)), “and one of the sub-pixels comprises a pixel electrode, the first electrode is the pixel electrode” (Figure 6 (Notice the at least on the sub-pixel comprises one of pixel electrodes P11 – P49 which is a first electrode as described.)), “the pixel electrode comprises electrode branches connected to each other” (Figure 7 (Notice that each of pixel electrodes comprises electrode branches separated by slits SL.)), “and the electrode branches of same pixel electrode are arranged along an extending direction of one of the date lines” (Figure 7 (Notice that the branches of pixel electrode P21 (and the other pixel electrodes P11 – P49) are arranged to extend in direction of at least one date line DL2.)).
Regarding Claim 6, Lee discloses everything claimed as applied above (see Claim 2). In addition, Lee discloses “wherein the touch electrodes are insulated from each other, and a first gap is formed between two adjacent touch electrodes arranged in a column direction” (Figure 7 (Notice that touch electrodes Tx11 and Tx12 are insulated from each other and first gap (i.e. where P15 is located) if formed between adjacent touch electrodes Tx11 and Tx12 in the up and down column direction.)), “and a vertical projection of the first gap onto the first base substrate extends through the sub-pixel region” (Figure 6 (Notice that vertical projection of the first described gap on the base substrate falls on the sub-pixel region of sub-pixel electrode P15 serving as the sub-pixel region.)), “and the vertical projection of the first gap onto the first base substrate does not overlap with the vertical projection of the scan line onto the first base substrate” (Figure 6 (Notice that the vertical projection of the first gap onto the bases substrate at and under sub-pixel electrode P15 does not overlap with the vertical projection of scan line GL2.)).
Regarding Claim 7, Lee discloses everything claimed as applied above (see Claim 6). In addition, Lee discloses “wherein the vertical projection of the first gap onto the first base substrate at least partially overlaps the vertical projection of the electrode branch onto the first base substrate” (Figure 6 (Notice the vertical projection of the first gap onto the first base substrate overlaps the vertical project of the electrode branch of P15 (same as P21 of Figure 7) on the first base substrate.)).
Regarding Claim 8, Lee discloses everything claimed as applied above (see Claim 7). In addition, Lee discloses “wherein the pixel electrodes comprise a first pixel electrode and a second pixel electrode” (Figure 7 (Notice the pixel electrodes P11 – P49 include a first pixel electrode portion to the top of GL2 and a second pixel electrode portion to the bottom of GL2.)), “the vertical projection of the first gap onto the first base substrate at least partially overlaps with a vertical projection of the electrode branch of the first pixel electrode onto the first base substrate” (Figure 7 (Notice that the described first gap (where the first gap is above GL2, no portion below GL2) has a vertical projection on the base substrate that at least partially overlap with a vertical projection of the electrode branch of the first pixel electrode that is above GL2.)), “the vertical projection of the first gap onto the first base substrate does not overlap with a vertical projection of the electrode branch of the second pixel electrode onto the first base substrate” (Figure 7 (Notice that the described first gap (where the first gap is above GL2, no portion below GL2) has a vertical projection of the base substrate that does not overlap with the vertical projection of the electrode branch in the second pixel electrode portion to the bottom of GL2.)), “and a width of at least part of the electrode branches of the first pixel electrode is greater than a width of the electrode branches of the second pixel electrode along the extending direction of one of the touch lines” (Figure 7 (Notice that the width of the branches in the first pixel electrode (i.e. section with slits between) vary in width while going up from GL2 along the bottom to top direction of touch line TW11, such that there is portion of the width of the branches of the first pixel electrode that is wider than another portion of branches in the second pixel electrode (notice the branches in the second pixel electrode also vary in width along the top to bottom direction of TW11).)).
Regarding Claim 9, Lee discloses everything claimed as applied above (see Claim 6). In addition, Lee discloses “wherein in a same pixel electrode, a first slit is formed between two adjacent electrode branches; and a vertical projection of the first gap onto the first base substrate at least partially overlaps with a vertical projection of the first slit onto the first base substrate” (Figures 6 and 7 (Notice the for sub-pixel electrode P15, that a first slit SL formed between adjacent electrode branches and that a vertical projection of the above described first gap at least partially overlaps with the vertical projection of SL onto the first base substrate.)).
Regarding Claim 10, Lee discloses everything claimed as applied above (see Claim 1). In addition, Lee discloses “wherein the array substrate further comprises a first base substrate, an array layer, a first electrode layer, and a second electrode layer” (Figure 8 (Notice the array substrate comprises a first base substrate SUB, an array layer at least from the bottom of gate insulation layer G1 to the top of PAS2, a first electrode layer on top of PAS2, a second electrode layer on top of PAS2.)), “the scan lines, the data lines and the touch lines are arranged in the array layer” (Figure 8 (Notice the scan lines (note the only GL1 is shown in Figure 8 although the other scan lines are in the same array layer), the data lines (note that only DL2 is shown in Figure 8 although the other data lines are in the same array layer), and the touch lines (note that only TW11 is shown in Figure 8 although the other touch lines are in the same array layer) are arranged in the array layer.)), “and one of the sub-pixels comprises a pixel electrode arranged in the first electrode layer” (Figure 6 (Notice the at least on the sub-pixel comprises one of pixel electrodes P11 – P49 which is a first electrode layer as described.)), “the first electrode is arranged in the second electrode layer, the first electrode is the touch electrode” (Figure 8 (Notice that the first electrode Tx11, which is a touch electrode, is arranged in the second electrode layer on top of PAS1.)), “the touch electrode comprises electrode strips connected to each other” (Figure 7 (Notice that Tx11 is formed of strips (sides) running from top to bottom with other sides to form a rectangle.)), “and the electrode strips of a same touch electrode are arranged along the extending direction of one of the data lines” (Figure 7 (Notice that the strips (sides) running from top to bottom are arranged along the top to bottom extending direction of data line DL2.)).
Regarding Claim 11, Lee discloses everything claimed as applied above (see Claim 10). In addition, Lee discloses “wherein a vertical projection of the electrode strip onto the first base substrate at least partially overlaps with the vertical projection of the first through-hole onto the first base substrate” (Figure 7 (Notice that a vertical projection of one of the top to bottom electrode strips (as described above) on the first base substrates overlap with the vertical projection of first through hole CH2 on the first base substrate.)).
Regarding Claim 13, Lee discloses everything claimed as applied above (see Claim 10). In addition, Lee discloses “wherein the touch electrodes are insulated from each other, and a first gap is formed between two adjacent touch electrodes arranged in a column direction” (Figure 7 (Notice that touch electrodes Tx11 and Tx12 are insulated from each other and first gap (i.e. where P15 is located) if formed between adjacent touch electrodes Tx11 and Tx12 in the up and down column direction.)), “and the first gap is arranged between adjacent electrode strips” (Figures 6 and 7 (Notice the first gap as described on top of P15, provides for the first gap being arranged between adjacent electrodes strips of the structure shown in Figure 7. In other words, the structure of strips is part of P15 and the first gap has at least a portion that fall between adjacent strips.)), “and a vertical projection of the first gap onto the first base substrate extends through the sub-pixel region” (Figure 6 (Notice that vertical projection of the first described gap on the base substrate falls on the sub-pixel region of sub-pixel electrode P15 serving as the sub-pixel region.)), “and the vertical projection of the first gap onto the first base substrate does not overlap with the vertical projection of the scan line onto the first base substrate” (Figure 6 (Notice that the vertical projection of the first gap onto the bases substrate at and under sub-pixel electrode P15 does not overlap with the vertical projection of scan line GL2.)).
Regarding Claim 14, Lee discloses everything claimed as applied above (see Claim 2). In addition, Lee discloses “wherein the touch electrodes are insulated from each other, and a second gap is formed between two adjacent columns of the touch electrodes arranged in a row direction” (Figures 5 and 6 (Notice that touch electrodes Tx11 and Tx21 are insulated from each other and a second gap along the row direction from left to right is formed between Tx11 and Tx21.), “and a vertical projection of the second gap onto the first base substrate at least partially overlaps with the vertical projection of one of the data lines onto the first base substrate” (Figures 5 and 6 (Notice a vertical projection of the second gap as described above, at least partially overlaps with the vertical projection of data line DL2 on the first base substrate (i.e. DL2 and the gap intersect each other perpendicular fashion.)).
Regarding Claim 15, Lee discloses everything claimed as applied above (see Claim 10). In addition, Lee discloses “wherein the touch electrodes are insulated from each other, and a second gap is formed between two adjacent columns of the touch electrodes arranged in a row direction” (Figures 5 and 6 (Notice that touch electrodes Tx11 and Tx21 are insulated from each other and a second gap along the row direction from left to right is formed between Tx11 and Tx21.), “and a vertical projection of the second gap onto the first base substrate at least partially overlaps with the vertical projection of one of the data lines onto the first base substrate” (Figures 5 and 6 (Notice a vertical projection of the second gap as described above, at least partially overlaps with the vertical projection of data line DL2 on the first base substrate (i.e. DL2 and the gap intersect each other perpendicular fashion.)).
Regarding Claim 20, Lee discloses “A display device, comprising a display panel” (Figure 5, Page 4, Column 6, Lines 46 – 48 (Notice that a display device of panel form is shown in Figure 5.)), “comprising an array substrate, wherein the array substrate comprises: scan lines and data lines intersecting each other in an insulated manner to define sub-pixel regions” (Figures 5 and 6 (Notice that an array substrate with scan lines GL1 – GL4 and data lines DL1 – DL10 intersecting each other while being insulated to define sub-pixel regions at electrodes P11 – P49.)), “sub-pixels arranged in an array, wherein at least one of the sub-pixels is provided within a respective one of the sub-pixel regions” (Figure 6 (Notice that sub-pixels at electrodes P11 – P49 are arranged in an array and at least one of the sub-pixels at electrodes P11 – P49 occupy a respective one of the sub-pixel electrode regions.)), “each of the sub-pixels comprises a first electrode” (Figure 7 (Notice that each sub-pixel electrode P11 – P49 provides an electrode for each sub-pixel.)), “one of the first electrodes comprises two domain portions having different domain orientations along an extending direction of one of the scan lines” (Figure 7 (Notice that each first electrode of P11 – P49 (although only P21 is shown) comprises upper domain portion with top swept to the left and a lower domain portion under GL2 that is swept to the left, where each of the upper and lower domain portion have different doming orientations along the left to right extending direction of gate line GL2.)), “and domain boundaries of a column of first electrodes are arranged at a same straight line” (Figures 6 and 7 (Notice the rightmost domain boundaries of a column of first electrodes (i.e. column including sub-pixels P11, P21, P31, and P41) are arranged at a same straight line of data line DL2.)), “and the two domain portions of the one of the first electrodes are located at two sides of the straight line where the domain boundaries of the column of first electrodes are arranged” (Figure 7 (Notice the that the upper and lower domain portions as described above are located at two sides of the of the straight line (i.e. side to the top above GL2 and side to the bottom below GL2) where the domain boundaries of the column of first electrodes P11, P21, P31, and P41 are arranged.)), “touch lines, wherein an extending direction of one of the touch lines is the same as an extending direction of the domain boundaries of a column of first electrodes” (Figures 6 and 7 (Notice plural touch lines TW11 and TW12, where and extending direction of touch line TW11 is that same as the top to bottom extending direction of the rightmost domain boundaries of the described one column.)), “and a vertical projection of the one of the touch lines onto the array substrate at least partially overlaps with a vertical projection of the domain boundaries of the column of first electrodes onto the array substrate” (Figure 7 (Notice that vertical projection of touch line TW11 onto the array substrate overlaps a vertical projection of the right most domain boundaries along data line DL2.)), “and touch electrodes, wherein one of the touch electrodes is electrically connected to at least one of the touch lines via a first through-hole” (Figures 6 and 7 (Notice plural touch electrodes Tx11 and Tx12, where Tx11 is electrically connected to touch line TW11 at a first through-hole CH2.)), “a vertical projection of the first through-hole onto the array substrate at least partially overlaps with a vertical projection of the touch line onto the array substrate” (Figure 7 (Notice that a vertical projection first through-hole CH2 on the array substrate at least partially overlaps with a vertical projection of the touch line TW11 on the array substrate.)), “and the first through-hole is arranged adjacent to the scan line” (Figure 7 (Notice that the first through-hole CH2 is arranged adjacent to the scan line GL2.)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee.
Regarding Claim 19, Lee discloses everything claimed as applied above (see Claim 1). In addition, Lee fails to explicitly disclose for the embodiment of Figure 5 to provide “further comprising a color filter substrate arranged opposite to the array substrate, wherein the color filter substrate comprises a light shielding portion and color resists, the light shielding portion comprises openings, the openings one-to-one correspond to the sub-pixel regions, the color resists one-to-one correspond to the openings, and the color resists are at least partially arranged in the openings corresponding thereto; and wherein the color resists comprise a blue color resist, the sub-pixel regions comprise a first sub-pixel region arranged corresponding to the blue color resist; and the vertical projection of the first through-hole onto the array substrate is arranged in the first sub-pixel region; or wherein the vertical projection of the first through-hole onto the array substrate at least partially overlaps with a vertical projection of the light shielding portion onto the array substrate”. However, a similar embodiment teaches a color filter array (Figure 4, Item ‘CFA’) that is arranged opposite to an array substrate, where the CFA comprises light shielding portions of BM (black matrix) and color resists (R, G, and B), where the BM has openings that correspond one to one with sub-pixel regions P, the color resists correspond to the openings, the color resists comprise a blue resist (B), and a least a first sub-pixel region comprises blue. In addition, Lee does not disclose where the vertical projection of the first through hole CH2 is arranged in the first sub-pixel region of Blue, but in the alternative does teach where the vertical projection of the first through hole CH2 in the area around the sub-pixel region would overlap with a vertical projection of the grid of the black matrix (also around the sub-pixel region as shown in Figure 4.)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “or wherein the vertical projection of the first through-hole onto the array substrate at least partially overlaps with a vertical projection of the light shielding portion onto the array substrate” because one having ordinary skill in the art would want the black matrix to block visibility of the material in the through hole.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 – 5, 12, and 16 - 18 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims for reasoning set forth in the Office Action filed November 03, 0225.
Response to Applicants Arguments and Amendments
Applicants arguments and amendments filed January 09, 2026 have been fully considered.
Primarily, the Examiner disagrees that - - Lee dose not disclose, teach or suggest the above-mentioned distinguishing technical features of amended claim 1 - - (REMARKS, Page 13, Lines 1 – 2 (line reference made by all written lines excluding blank lines and page headers)). The Examiner disagrees because of the reasoning set forth the rejections of Claims 1 and 20 made of record above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRIAN M BUTCHER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2627 March 11, 2026