Continued Examination under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tarsa (US 10422939 B2)
Regarding claim 1, Tarsa teaches a display unit (at least Fig.1 and 83) for lithophanes, the display unit comprising: a light director 54 (waveguide 54) formed of a clear or translucent material of construction, and comprising: a planar frontward-facing surface and a planar backward-facing surface opposite the frontward-facing surface; and one or more planar edges extending between the frontward-facing surface and the backward-facing surface, wherein at least a portion of the frontward-facing surface of the light director includes a roughened surface formed thereon; and at least one light source positioned along , or in contact with, the one or more edges of the light directer, wherein light from the at least one light source (luminaire 50) is directed into and through the clear or translucent material of construction toward the roughened surface ,and wherein the backward-facing surface of the light directer: has a flat and smooth surface; and is unobstructed from light in an ambient environment during operation of the display unit, to thereby enable a lithophane positioned upon, or proximate to, the roughened surface to be viewed by a user both:
See the following in Tarsa:
(27) According to another aspect, a luminaire includes a waveguide having a first surface and a second surface opposite the first surface. The waveguide includes an extraction feature disposed on the first surface. The luminaire further includes a light source associated with the waveguide. Light emitted from the light source is directed by the waveguide into an illumination distribution emitted from the first surface of the waveguide.
(23) In some embodiments, the extraction features 84 may be disposed on the waveguide 54 without a member 108. For example, the extraction features 84 may be fabricated directly on the first surface 56 of the waveguide 54 by means of an intermediate patterning layer as described in U.S. Pat. No. 8,564,004, issued Oct. 22, 2013,
(35) FIGS. 9A and 9B illustrate the body 96 of the extraction features 84 prior to bonding on the first surface 56 of the waveguide 54.
(44) In summary, a number of factors may influence the illumination distribution emitted from the waveguide. The shape of the extraction feature, together with the spacing and pattern of the plurality of the extraction features, affect the extraction efficiency, the amount of light that is emitted from the first surface of the waveguide (directionality), the luminance and the illuminance of the luminaire.
A luminaire includes an optical waveguide having a first surface and a second surface opposite the first surface, and a light source associated with the optical waveguide. At least about 80% of light produced by the light source is directed by the waveguide into an illumination distribution emitted from the first surface of the optical waveguide.
Although Tarsa does not explicitly teach the function of: when the at least one light source is on and an ambient environment of the display unit is dark or darkened; and when the at least one light source is off and the ambient environment of the display unit provides artificial or natural light onto the backward-facing surface; however, Tarsa teaches all the claimed limitations for the structural features and therefore the same elements as claimed will result in the same function or intended use. A recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations.
Claims 2 and 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tarsa further in view of Bandy (US 2347665, cited previously)
Regarding claim 2, Tarsa teaches the light directer is a stand piece having a top and a bottom, and wherein the display unit further comprises a base including: a top surface having an opening formed in a portion thereof; and a receptacle extending downward from the opening and into a portion of the base, wherein the receptacle is shaped and dimensioned to receive the bottom of the stand piece.
Tarsa does not teach:
wherein the at least a portion of the frontward-facing surface of the stand piece including the roughened surface is angled backward from front to back.
Bandy teaches a display wherein the at least a portion of the frontward-facing surface is angled backward from front to back (Fig.18 of Bandy) and it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the shape as disclosed in Bandy, in the device of Tarsa in order to save space.
Regarding claim 4, Tarsa in view of Bandy teaches a display unit, wherein the at least one light source (luminaire 50 in Tarsa in Fig.5) is positioned at or proximal to a bottom of the receptacle.
Regarding claim 5, Tarsa in view of Bandy teaches a display unit, wherein the bottom of the stand piece is configured to be inserted into the receptacle to bring the bottom of the stand piece in contact with or in proximity to the at least one light source (see Fig.5 of Tarsa).
Regarding claim 6, Tarsa in view of Bandy teaches a display unit, but does not teach wherein the means for positioning is disposed in or on at least one of: a portion of the frontward-facing surface of the stand piece; and a portion of the top surface of the base.
Bandy teaches use of transparencies, x-rays or stencils facing the roughened surface. See disclose of Bandy:
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use means for positioning the lithophane upon, or proximate, to the roughened surface, wherein the means for positioning is disposed in or on at least one of: a portion of the frontward-facing surface of the stand piece; and a portion of the top surface of the base, as disclosed in Bandy, in the device of Tarsa in order to achieve uniformly lit displays such as x-rays or transparencies or other such displays.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tarsa and further in view of Awai (US 20070245607 A1, cited previously)
Regarding claim 11, Tarsa the invention set forth in claim 1 above, but is silent regarding the one or more edges comprises two or more edges, and wherein the at least one light source comprises two or more light sources including a first light source positioned along, or in contact with, a first edge of the of the two or more edges, and at least a second light source positioned along, or in contact with, at least a second edge of the two or more edges.
Awai teaches a display unit (Fig.2,3, 1A) the one or more edges comprises two or more edges, and wherein the at least one light source comprises two or more light sources including a first light source positioned along, or in contact with, a first edge of the of the two or more edges, and at least a second light source positioned along, or in contact with, at least a second edge of the two or more edges and it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use differently oriented LEDs, in the device of Tarsa in order to achieve improve the illumination effectiveness.
Claims 12 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tarsa and Zeng (CN 204420822, cited previously)
Regarding claim 12, Tarsa teaches the invention set forth in claim 1 above, but is silent regarding a frame having a frontward-facing opening and configured to contain at least part of the pane such that the at least a portion of the frontward-facing surface of the pane is viewable from an exterior of the frame through the frontward-facing opening of the frame.
Zeng teaches a frame 36 (at least Fig.3) having a frontward-facing opening and configured to contain at least part of the pane 34 such that the at least a portion of the frontward-facing surface of the pane is viewable from an exterior of the frame through the frontward-facing opening of the frame.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of Tarsa, which already has the roughened surface viewable from an exterior, from the teachings of Zeng, in order to achieve a display of images through the window.
Regarding claim 15, Tarsa teaches a display unit for lithophanes, the display unit comprising: a pane formed of a clear or translucent material of construction, and comprising a planar frontward-facing surface and a planar backward-facing surface opposite the frontward-facing surface; one or more planar edges bounding the frontward-facing surface and the backward- facing surface, wherein at least a portion of the frontward-facing surface of the pane includes a roughened surface formed thereon (see rejection in claim 1 above) ;at least one light source 86 positioned, or in contact with, the one or more edges of the pane, light from the at least one light source is directed into and through the clear or translucent material of construction toward the roughened surface, and wherein the backward-facing surface of the pane or of the stand piece: has a flat and smooth surface; and is unobstructed from light in an ambient environment during operation of the display unit ,to thereby enable a lithophane positioned upon, or proximate to, the roughened surface to be viewed by a user both: when the at least one light source is on and an ambient environment of the display unit is dark or darkened; and when the at least one light source is off and the ambient environment of the display unit provides artificial or natural light onto the backward-facing surface.
Tarsa does not teach a frame having a frontward-facing opening and configured to contain at least part of the pane such that the at least a portion of the frontward-facing surface of the pane including the roughened surface is viewable from an exterior of the frame through the frontward-facing opening of the frame.
Zeng teaches a frame 36 (at least Fig.3) having a frontward-facing opening and configured to contain at least part of the pane 34 such that the at least a portion of the frontward-facing surface of the pane is viewable from an exterior of the frame through the frontward-facing opening of the frame.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of Tarsa, which already has the roughened surface viewable from an exterior, from the teachings of Zeng, in order to achieve a display of images through the window.
Claims 13, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tarsa in view of Zeng and further in view of Bandy (US 2347665, cited previously)
Regarding claim 13, Tarsa in view of Zeng and Bandy teaches the means for positioning the lithophane upon, or proximate, to the roughened surface, wherein the means for positioning is disposed in or on at least one of: a portion of the frontward-facing surface of the stand piece; and a portion of the top surface of the base (from the combined teachings of Tarsa in view of Zeng and Bandy).
Regarding claim 16, Tarsa in view of Zeng teaches a display unit, but does not teach means for positioning a lithophane upon, or proximate, to the roughened surface.
Bandy teaches use of transparencies, x-rays or stencils facing the roughened surface. See disclose of Bandy:
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use means for positioning the lithophane upon, or proximate, to the roughened surface, wherein the means for positioning is disposed in or on at least one of: a portion of the frontward-facing surface of the stand piece; and a portion of the top surface of the base, as disclosed in Bandy, in the device of Tarsa in view of Zeng order to achieve uniformly lit displays such as x-rays or transparencies or other such displays.
Regarding claim 17, Tarsa in view of Zeng and Bandy teaches the means for positioning is disposed in or on at least one of: a portion of the frontward-facing surface of the pane; and a portion of the frame (from the teachings of Zeng).
Claims 21-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Tarsa in view of Bandy and further in view of Zeng
Regarding claim 21, Tarsa teaches a display system for lithophanes, the display system (Fig.1-5) comprising: a stand piece formed of a clear or translucent material, and comprising: a square or rectangular planar frontward-facing surface and defining a first portion of a front side of the stand piece, wherein the frontward-facing surface comprises a roughened surface; a square or rectangular planar backward facing surface opposite the frontward- facing surface and defining an entirety of a back side of the stand piece, wherein the backward-facing surface that is flat and smooth; a rectangular planar top edge defining a top of the stand piece and extending between a top side of the frontward-facing surface and a top side of the backward-facing surface (see rejection in claim 1 above); a second portion of the front side of the stand piece extends upward and at right angle from a front side of the bottom edge to a bottom side of the frontward- facing surface; a base comprising: a top surface; a bottom surface positioned opposite the top surface; a sidewall extending between the periphery of the top surface and the periphery of the bottom surface; an opening formed in a portion of a top surface of the base, wherein the opening is shaped and dimensioned to receive the bottom edge of the stand piece and the entirety of the second portion of the front side of the stand piece into an interior cavity of the base (Fig.5 of Tarsa);
one or more one light sources positioned sufficiently beneath the opening such that, when the bottom edge of the stand piece is received into the opening, the one or more light sources are aligned along, or in contact with, a length of the bottom edge of the stand piece; circuitry disposed in the interior cavity of the base and operably couplable to a source of electric power and operably coupled to the one or more light sources to provide and control the electric power to the one or more light sources; and means for controlling the one or more light sources operably coupled to the circuitry and accessible to a user from an exterior of the base to enable the user to alternately turn the one or more light sources on and off,
wherein, when the one or more light sources are turned on, light emitted from the one or more light sources is directed into the bottom edge, and through the clear or translucent material of construction, of the stand piece and toward the roughened surface, wherein the light emitted by the one or more light sources exits the material of construction of the stand piece through the frontward facing surface evenly diffused by the roughened surface, and wherein the backward- facing surface of the stand piece is unobstructed from light in an ambient environment during operation of the display system to thereby enable the lithophane in contact with the frontward- facing surface of the stand piece to be viewed by the user both: when the one or more light sources are on and an ambient environment of the display system is dark or darkened; and when the one or more light sources are off and the ambient environment of the display system provides artificial or natural light onto the backward-facing surface (see in Tarsa, controlling capabilities, such as: (53) Further, any of the embodiments disclosed herein may include one or more communication components forming a part of the light control circuitry, such as an RF antenna that senses RF energy. The communication components may be included, for example, to allow the luminaire to communicate with other luminaires and/or with an external wireless controller).
Tarsa does not teach a rectangular planar bottom edge defining a bottom of the stand piece and having a surface area that is greater than a surface area of the top edge, wherein: the second portion of the front side of the stand piece has a surface area that is less than a surface area of the top edge; and the first portion of the front side of the stand piece extends at an angle from a top side of the second portion of the front side to a front side of the top edge.
Bandy teaches a display wherein the at least a portion of the frontward-facing surface is angled backward from front to back (Fig.18 of Bandy) such that a rectangular planar bottom edge defining a bottom of the stand piece and having a surface area that is greater than a surface area of the top edge, wherein: the second portion of the front side of the stand piece has a surface area that is less than a surface area of the top edge; and the first portion of the front side of the stand piece extends at an angle from a top side of the second portion of the front side to a front side of the top edge and it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the shape as disclosed in Bandy, in the device of Tarsa in order to save space.
Tarsa in view of Bandy does not teach a groove or a ridge formed in or on a portion of the top surface of the base, wherein the groove or the ridge configured and positioned sufficiently in front of and proximate to the opening to hold a lithophane in place with a bottom side of the lithophane at rest and in contact with the top surface of the base and with a back side of the lithophane in contact with the frontward-facing surface.
Zeng teaches a frame 36 (at least Fig.3) a groove or a ridge formed in or on a portion of the top surface of the base, wherein the groove or the ridge configured and positioned sufficiently in front of and proximate to the opening to hold a lithophane in place with a bottom side of the lithophane at rest and in contact with the top surface of the base and with a back side of the lithophane in contact with the frontward-facing surface.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of Tarsa in view of Bandy, which already has the roughened surface viewable from an exterior, from the teachings of Zeng, in order to achieve a display of images through the window.
Regarding claim 22, Tarsa in view of Bandy and Zeng teaches the base further comprises a receptacle extending downward from the opening and into a portion of the base to an extent sufficient to receive the bottom edge of the stand piece and the entirety of the second portion of the front side of the stand piece, wherein the one or more light sources are further positioned at or proximal to a bottom of the receptacle (66 in Fig.1-5 of Tarsa).
Regarding claim 23, Tarsa in view of Bandy and Zeng teaches, when the one or more light sources are turned on, the light emitted by the one or more light sources exits the material of construction of the stand piece through the frontward facing surface at a right angle with respect to the backward- facing surface of the stand piece (from the teachings of Fig.1B and 2 of Zeng).
Regarding claim 24, Tarsa in view of Bandy and Zeng teaches the means for controlling further enables the user to at least one of: adjust a brightness of the light emitted by the one or more light sources; change the color of the light emitted by the one or more light sources; and toggle through various multi-color effects effectuated by the one or more light sources (see in Tarsa: when the color from the sources varies—either by design or due to normal bin-to-bin variation in lighting components AND In some embodiments, a luminaire may include a plurality of groups of LEDs 65, where each group may include LEDs 65 having different colors and/or color temperatures).
Regarding claim 25, Tarsa in view of Bandy and Zeng teaches an entirety of the frontward-facing surface includes the roughened surface (from the teachings of Tarsa).
Regarding claim 26, Tarsa in view of Bandy and Zeng teaches a wedge-shaped light guide but does not teach the angle is up to 5 degrees. However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, was made to use a tapering angle upto 5 degrees, since where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the “optimum range” involves only routine skill in the art in order to optimize the uniformity.
Claims 27-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Tarsa in view of Hinton (US 20190012940 A1)
Regarding claim 27, Tarsa teaches a display system (Fig.1-5) for lithophanes, the display system comprising: a pane formed of a clear or translucent material, and comprising: a square or rectangular planar frontward-facing surface and comprising a roughened surface; a square or rectangular planar backward facing surface opposite the frontward- facing surface, wherein the backward-facing surface that is flat and smooth; and four edges comprising: a rectangular planar top edge defining a top of the pane and extending between a top side of the frontward-facing surface and a top side of the backward- facing surface; a rectangular planar bottom edge defining a bottom of the pane and extending between a bottom side of the frontward-facing surface and a bottom side of the backward-facing surface; and two opposing rectangular planar side edges defining sides of the pane and extending between opposing longitudinal sides of the frontward-facing surface and the backward-facing surface (also see rejection in claim 1 above) ;
and means for controlling the at least one light source operably coupled to the circuitry and accessible to a user from an exterior of the frame to enable the user to alternately turn the one or more light sources on and off, wherein, when the at least one light source is turned on, light emitted from the at least one light source is directed into the at least one edge, and through the clear or translucent material of construction, of the pane and toward the roughened surface, wherein the light emitted by the at least one light source exits the material of construction of the pane through the open front side of the frame and through the frontward-facing surface evenly diffused by the roughened surface, and wherein the backward-facing surface of the pane is unobstructed from light through the open back side of the frame in an ambient environment during operation of the display system to thereby enable the lithophane in contact with the frontward-facing surface of the stand piece to be viewed by the user both: when the at least one light source is on and an ambient environment of the display system is dark or darkened; and when the at least one light source is off and the ambient environment of the display system provides artificial or natural light onto the backward-facing surface (the same elements results in the same function recited in the last 4 lines above).
Tarsa does not teach : a frame having an open front side and an open back side defining a frame opening having four interior-facing surfaces defining a perimeter of the frame opening, wherein the frame is shaped and dimensioned sufficiently to surround and contain the four edges of the pane within the frame opening with the frontward-facing surface of the pane facing in a same direction as the open front side of the frame; a slot opening formed laterally in a top exterior-facing surface of the frame opposite a top interior-facing surface of the four interior-facing surfaces and extending through a material of construction of the frame, wherein a width of the slot opening is greater than a width between two opposing side interior-facing surfaces of the frame;
two grooves comprising: a first groove formed into the material of construction of the frame longitudinally along a first side interior-facing surface of the frame, the first groove extending continuously from a corresponding first side of the opening downward to a bottom interior- facing surface of the four interior-facing surfaces; and a second groove formed into the material of construction of the frame longitudinally along a second side interior-facing surface of the frame, the second groove extending continuously from a corresponding second side of the opening downward to the bottom interior-facing surface of the four interior-facing surfaces, wherein, with the four edges of the pane contained within the frame opening, the opening and the two grooves are positioned to the front of the frontward-facing surface of the pane to enable the lithophane to be positioned in front of the roughened surface with a bottom of the lithophane at rest on the bottom interior-facing surface of the frame;
at least one light source positioned in or on a portion of at least one interior-facing surface of the four interior-facing surfaces of the frame opening, wherein, with the four edges of the pane contained with the frame opening, the at least one light source is further positioned along, or in contact with, a length of at least one edge of the four edges of the pane; circuitry disposed in an interior cavity of the frame and operably couplable to a source of electric power and operably coupled to the at least one light source to provide and control the electric power to the one or more light sources.
Hinton teaches a display having: a frame (Fig.1-7) having an open front side and an open back side defining a frame opening having four interior-facing surfaces defining a perimeter of the frame opening, wherein the frame is shaped and dimensioned sufficiently to surround and contain the four edges of the pane within the frame opening with the frontward-facing surface of the pane facing in a same direction as the open front side of the frame; a slot opening (opening within the frame) formed laterally in a top exterior-facing surface of the frame opposite a top interior-facing surface of the four interior-facing surfaces and extending through a material of construction of the frame, wherein a width of the slot opening is greater than a width between two opposing side interior-facing surfaces of the frame;
two grooves comprising: a first groove formed into the material of construction of the frame longitudinally along a first side interior-facing surface of the frame, the first groove extending continuously from a corresponding first side of the opening downward to a bottom interior- facing surface of the four interior-facing surfaces;
at least one light source positioned in or on a portion of at least one interior-facing surface of the four interior-facing surfaces of the frame opening, wherein, with the four edges of the pane contained with the frame opening, the at least one light source is further positioned along, or in contact with, a length of at least one edge of the four edges of the pane; circuitry disposed in an interior cavity of the frame and operably couplable to a source of electric power and operably coupled to the at least one light source to provide and control the electric power to the one or more light sources.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the frame with the groove as disclosed in Hinton, in the device of Tarsa in order to robustly hold the display object.
Although Hinton does not teach a second groove formed into the material of construction of the frame longitudinally along a second side interior-facing surface of the frame, the second groove extending continuously from a corresponding second side of the opening downward to the bottom interior-facing surface of the four interior-facing surfaces, wherein, with the four edges of the pane contained within the frame opening, the opening and the two grooves are positioned to the front of the frontward-facing surface of the pane to enable the lithophane to be positioned in front of the roughened surface with a bottom of the lithophane at rest on the bottom interior-facing surface of the frame; however, adding additional grooves to more tightly hold the display object is a well known technique in the art and it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the frame with a second groove, in the device of Tarsa in order to more robustly hold the display object.
Regarding claim 28, Tarsa in view of Hinton teaches the display, wherein the at least one light source comprises at least two light sources including a first light source and at least a second light source, and wherein one of: the first light source is positioned as a strip along, or in contact with, a length of the bottom edge of the pane, and the at least a second light source is positioned as a strip along, or in contact with, a length of at least the top edge of the pane; and the first light source is positioned as a strip along, or in contact with, a length of a first side edge of the two opposing side edges, and the at least a second light source is positioned as a strip along, or in contact with, a length of at least a second side edge of the two opposing side edges of the pane (light sources within the edges of the frame throughout Hinton).
Regarding claim 29, Tarsa in view of Hinton teaches the display, wherein the at least one light source comprises four light sources, wherein each light source of the four light sources is positioned as a strip along, or in contact with, a length of each edge of the four edges of the pane (from the light sources light sources within the edges of the frame throughout Hinton).
Claims 30-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Tarsa in view of Hinton and Griesemer (US 20050144821 A1)
Regarding claim 30, Tarsa teaches a display system (see Fig.1-5) for lithophanes, the display system comprising: a pane formed of a clear or translucent material, and comprising: a square or rectangular planar frontward-facing surface and comprising a roughened surface; a square or rectangular planar backward facing surface opposite the frontward- facing surface, wherein the backward-facing surface that is flat and smooth; and four edges comprising: a rectangular planar top edge defining a top of the pane and extending between a top side of the frontward-facing surface and a top side of the backward- facing surface; a rectangular planar bottom edge defining a bottom of the pane and extending between a bottom side of the frontward-facing surface and a bottom side of the backward-facing surface; and two opposing rectangular planar side edges defining sides of the pane and extending between opposing longitudinal sides of the frontward-facing surface and the backward-facing surface.
Tarsa does not teach: a frame having an open front side and an open back side defining a frame opening having four interior-facing surfaces defining a perimeter of the frame opening, wherein the frame is shaped and dimensioned sufficiently to surround and contain the four edges of the pane within the frame opening with the frontward-facing surface of the pane facing in a same direction as the open front side of the frame; and wherein the backward-facing surface of the pane is unobstructed from light through the open back side of the frame in an ambient environment during operation of the display system to thereby enable the lithophane in contact with the frontward-facing surface of the stand piece to be viewed by the user both: when the at least one light source is on and an ambient environment of the display system is dark or darkened; and when the at least one light source is off and the ambient environment of the display system provides artificial or natural light onto the backward-facing surface;
at least one light source positioned in or on a portion of at least one interior-facing surface of the four interior-facing surfaces of the frame opening, wherein, with the four edges of the pane contained with the frame opening, the at least one light source is further positioned along, or in contact with, a length of at least one edge of the four edges of the pane; circuitry disposed in an interior cavity of the frame and operably couplable to a source of electric power and operably coupled to the at least one light source to provide and control the electric power to the one or more light sources; and means for controlling the at least one light source operably coupled to the circuitry and accessible to a user from an exterior of the frame to enable the user to alternately turn the one or more light sources on and off, wherein, when the at least one light source is turned on, light emitted from the at least one light source is directed into the at least one edge, and through the clear or translucent material of construction, of the pane and toward the roughened surface, wherein the light emitted by the at least one light source exits the material of construction of the pane through the open front side of the frame and through the frontward-facing surface evenly diffused by the roughened surface.
Hinton teaches: a frame having an open front side and an open back side defining a frame opening having four interior-facing surfaces defining a perimeter of the frame opening, wherein the frame is shaped and dimensioned sufficiently to surround and contain the four edges of the pane within the frame opening with the frontward-facing surface of the pane facing in a same direction as the open front side of the frame; and wherein the backward-facing surface of the pane is unobstructed from light through the open back side of the frame in an ambient environment during operation of the display system to thereby enable the lithophane in contact with the frontward-facing surface of the stand piece to be viewed by the user both: when the at least one light source is on and an ambient environment of the display system is dark or darkened; and when the at least one light source is off and the ambient environment of the display system provides artificial or natural light onto the backward-facing surface;
at least one light source positioned in or on a portion of at least one interior-facing surface of the four interior-facing surfaces of the frame opening, wherein, with the four edges of the pane contained with the frame opening, the at least one light source is further positioned along, or in contact with, a length of at least one edge of the four edges of the pane; circuitry disposed in an interior cavity of the frame and operably couplable to a source of electric power and operably coupled to the at least one light source to provide and control the electric power to the one or more light sources; and means for controlling the at least one light source operably coupled to the circuitry and accessible to a user from an exterior of the frame to enable the user to alternately turn the one or more light sources on and off, wherein, when the at least one light source is turned on, light emitted from the at least one light source is directed into the at least one edge, and through the clear or translucent material of construction, of the pane and toward the roughened surface, wherein the light emitted by the at least one light source exits the material of construction of the pane through the open front side of the frame and through the frontward-facing surface evenly diffused by the roughened surface.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the frame as disclosed in Hinton, in the device of Tarsa in order to robustly hold the display object.
Tarsa in view of Hinton does not teach: at least one lip-like structure coupled to a portion of the frontward-facing surface of the pane proximate to the bottom side of the pane and extending laterally thereupon, wherein, with the four edges of the pane contained within the frame opening, the at least one lip-like structure is capable of supporting the bottom of the lithophane while the lithophane is positioned proximate to, or in contact with, the roughened surface.
Griesemer teaches a display with at least one lip-like structure (bracket 64 in Fig. 9-13; particularly Figure 12 that has substrate) coupled to a portion of the frontward-facing surface of the pane proximate to the bottom side of the pane and extending laterally thereupon, wherein, with the four edges of the pane contained within the frame opening, the at least one lip-like structure is capable of supporting the bottom of the lithophane while the lithophane is positioned proximate to, or in contact with, the roughened surface and it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the frame as disclosed in Griesemer, in the device of Tarsa in view of Hinton in order to robustly hold the display object.
Regarding claim 31, Tarsa in view of Hinton and Griesemer teaches the display system, wherein one of: a surface area of the top edge of the pane is equal to a surface area of the bottom edge of the pane; and the surface area of the top edge of the pane is less than the surface area of the bottom edge of the pane (from the teachings of Tarsa for the first condition in the claim or Bandy for the second condition in claim 31).
Response to Arguments
The arguments filed by the Applicant on 1/27/26 is acknowledged, however they are moot in light of new grounds of rejection.
Firstly: Examiner respectfully notes Tarsa does not explicitly teach a lithophane, however, lithophane is a broad term, that is also disclosed with the below illustrations in the listed prior art below:
US 20150298497 A1 discloses lithophane as:
[0020] In certain embodiments, such as that depicted in FIGS. 1-3, the back side 114 of the lithophane 100 can have a substantially uniform surface. The back side 114 having a substantially uniform surface means that the back side 114 is substantially smooth, and/or the back side 114 does not include varying thicknesses that depict a portion of a 2-dimensional image.
US 20040170807 A1 discloses lithephane as:
US 6306470 B1 discloses lithophane type as:
Furthermore, Applicant has not considered the response to arguments from the previous office action, wherein prior art Yoder was provided with the front surface being roughened, in [0025] and [0026] of:
Light guide 102 is provided with disruptions along at least one side of the guide that can be formed e.g., by cutting, molding, coating, forming, laser-etching or otherwise causing mechanical, chemical or other deformations in the exterior surface along at least one side.
Furthermore, other prior art are provided below which also teach the front surface that is roughened.
IT 102019000004217 B1
Furthermore, in order to make the image clear, in lithophane the variations in thickness are all shown on the front surface exposed to view, while the rear surface which is hit by the light radiation is smooth. This certainly determines the visibility of the graphics solution, although imprecise, even in the turned off configuration.
JP 2021118146 A teaches:
US 10820727 B2 discloses:
Contact Information
/Fatima N Farokhrooz/
Examiner, Art Unit 2875