DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Each of Claims 1-5 has been analyzed to determine whether it is directed to any judicial exceptions.
Step 2A, Prong 1
Each of Claims 1-5 recites at least one step or instruction for correcting at least one of a sensor value and a threshold value, which is grouped as a mental process under the 2019 PEG or a certain method of organizing human activity under the 2019 PEG. Accordingly, each of Claims 1-5 recites an abstract idea.
Further, dependent Claims 2-5 merely include limitations that either further define the abstract idea (and thus don’t make the abstract idea any less abstract) or amount to no more than generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use because they’re merely incidental or token additions to the claims that do not alter or affect how the process steps are performed.
Step 2A, Prong 2
The above-identified abstract idea in each of independent Claims 1 and 5 (and their respective dependent Claims 2-5) is not integrated into a practical application under 2019 PEG because the additional elements (identified above in independent Claims 1 and 5), either alone or in combination, generally link the use of the above-identified abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use. More specifically, the additional elements of: a processor, a memory, travelling state determination unit, operation state determination unit, estimation unit, and a correction unit are generically recited computer elements in independent Claims 1 and 5 (and their respective dependent claims) which do not improve the functioning of a computer, or any other technology or technical field. Nor do these above-identified additional elements serve to apply the above-identified abstract idea with, or by use of, a particular machine, effect a transformation or apply or use the above-identified abstract idea in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use thereof to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception. Furthermore, the above-identified additional elements do not add a meaningful limitation to the abstract idea because they amount to simply implementing the abstract idea on a computer. For at least these reasons, the abstract idea identified above in independent Claims 1 and 5 (and their respective dependent claims) is not integrated into a practical application under 2019 PEG.
Moreover, the above-identified abstract idea is not integrated into a practical application under 2019 PEG because the claimed method and system merely implements the above-identified abstract idea (e.g., mental process and certain method of organizing human activity) using rules (e.g., computer instructions) executed by a computer (e.g., a processor as claimed). In other words, these claims are merely directed to an abstract idea with additional generic computer elements which do not add a meaningful limitation to the abstract idea because they amount to simply implementing the abstract idea on a computer. Additionally, Applicant’s specification does not include any discussion of how the claimed invention provides a technical improvement realized by these claims over the prior art or any explanation of a technical problem having an unconventional technical solution that is expressed in these claims. That is, like Affinity Labs of Tex. v. DirecTV, LLC, the specification fails to provide sufficient details regarding the manner in which the claimed invention accomplishes any technical improvement or solution. Thus, for these additional reasons, the abstract idea identified above in independent Claims 1 and 5 (and their respective dependent claims) is not integrated into a practical application under the 2019 PEG.
Accordingly, independent Claims 1 and 5 (and their respective dependent claims) are each directed to an abstract idea under 2019 PEG.
Step 2B
None of Claims 1-5 include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea for at least the following reasons.
These claims require the additional elements of: a processor, a memory, travelling state determination unit, operation state determination unit, estimation unit, and a correction unit.
The above-identified additional elements are generically claimed computer components which enable the above-identified abstract idea(s) to be conducted by performing the basic functions of automating mental tasks. The courts have recognized such computer functions as well understood, routine, and conventional functions when claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity. See, Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc. , 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015); and OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1363, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93.
Furthermore, Applicant’s specification does not describe any special programming or algorithms required for the processor. This lack of disclosure is acceptable under 35 U.S.C. §112(a) since this hardware performs non-specialized functions known by those of ordinary skill in the computer arts. By omitting any specialized programming or algorithms, Applicant's specification essentially admits that this hardware is conventional and performs well understood, routine and conventional activities in the computer industry or arts. In other words, Applicant’s specification demonstrates the well-understood, routine, conventional nature of the above-identified additional elements because it describes these additional elements in a manner that indicates that the additional elements are sufficiently well-known that the specification does not need to describe the particulars of such additional elements to satisfy 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) (see Berkheimer memo from April 19, 2018, (III)(A)(1) on page 3). Adding hardware that performs “‘well understood, routine, conventional activit[ies]’ previously known to the industry” will not make claims patent-eligible (TLI Communications).
The recitation of the above-identified additional limitations in Claims 1-5 amounts to mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer. Simply using a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a fundamental economic practice or mathematical equation) does not provide significantly more. See Affinity Labs v. DirecTV, 838 F.3d 1253, 1262, 120 USPQ2d 1201, 1207 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (cellular telephone); and TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto, LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 613, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1748 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (computer server and telephone unit). Moreover, implementing an abstract idea on a generic computer, does not add significantly more, similar to how the recitation of the computer in the claim in Alice amounted to mere instructions to apply the abstract idea of intermediated settlement on a generic computer.
A claim that purports to improve computer capabilities or to improve an existing technology may provide significantly more. McRO, Inc. v. Bandai Namco Games Am. Inc., 837 F.3d 1299, 1314-15, 120 USPQ2d 1091, 1101-02 (Fed. Cir. 2016); and Enfish, LLC v. Microsoft Corp., 822 F.3d 1327, 1335-36, 118 USPQ2d 1684, 1688-89 (Fed. Cir. 2016). However, a technical explanation as to how to implement the invention should be present in the specification for any assertion that the invention improves upon conventional functioning of a computer, or upon conventional technology or technological processes. That is, the disclosure must provide sufficient details such that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the claimed invention as providing an improvement. Here, Applicant’s specification does not include any discussion of how the claimed invention provides a technical improvement realized by these claims over the prior art or any explanation of a technical problem having an unconventional technical solution that is expressed in these claims. Instead, as in Affinity Labs of Tex. v. DirecTV, LLC 838 F.3d 1253, 1263-64, 120 USPQ2d 1201, 1207-08 (Fed. Cir. 2016), the specification fails to provide sufficient details regarding the manner in which the claimed invention accomplishes any technical improvement or solution.
For at least the above reasons, the devices and methods of Claims 1-5 are directed to applying an abstract idea (e.g., mental process or certain method of organizing human activity) on a general purpose computer without (i) improving the performance of the computer itself (as in McRO, Bascom and Enfish), or (ii) providing a technical solution to a problem in a technical field (as in DDR). In other words, none of Claims 1-5 provide meaningful limitations to transform the abstract idea into a patent eligible application of the abstract idea such that these claims amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Taking the additional elements individually and in combination, the additional elements do not provide significantly more. Specifically, when viewed individually, the above-identified additional elements in independent Claims 1 and 5 (and their dependent claims) do not add significantly more because they are simply an attempt to limit the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. That is, neither the general computer elements nor any other additional element adds meaningful limitations to the abstract idea because these additional elements represent insignificant extra-solution activity. When viewed as a combination, these above-identified additional elements simply instruct the practitioner to implement the claimed functions with well-understood, routine and conventional activity specified at a high level of generality in a particular technological environment. As such, there is no inventive concept sufficient to transform the claimed subject matter into a patent-eligible application. As such, the above-identified additional elements, when viewed as whole, do not provide meaningful limitations to transform the abstract idea into a patent eligible application of the abstract idea such that the claims amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Thus, Claims 1-5 merely apply an abstract idea to a computer and do not (i) improve the performance of the computer itself (as in Bascom and Enfish), or (ii) provide a technical solution to a problem in a technical field (as in DDR).
Therefore, none of the Claims 1-5 amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Accordingly, Claims 1-5 are not patent eligible and rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to abstract ideas implemented on a generic computer in view of the Supreme Court Decision in Alice Corporation Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank International, et al. and 2019 PEG.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uemura et al US 2025/0136107 in view of Herman US 2024/0375664 and Watanabe US 2017/0355397.
Regarding claims 1 and 5, Uemura et al discloses a correction device for a steering torque sensor, comprising: a traveling state determination unit configured to determine whether or not, during activation of a lane trace assist control for maintaining a vehicle in a traveling lane in which the vehicle is traveling, the vehicle is in a specific traveling state in which the lateral position of the vehicle is maintained near a predetermined target lateral position set in the traveling lane by the lane trace assist control and the vehicle is traveling along a road in the traveling lane (see paragraphs [0029]-[0048]), and
a correction unit configured to correct at least one of the sensor value and a threshold value used in the predetermined determination process using the sensor value based on the deviation amount estimated by the estimation unit. See FIG. 1, 3, and 8-10 and paragraphs [0054]-[0072].
Uemura et al fails to explicitly disclose, but Herman discloses an operation state determination unit configured to determine whether or not a driver of the vehicle is in a specific operation state in which the driver is releasing his or her hand from the steering wheel or is touching the steering wheel with his or her hand during activation of the lane trace assist control. See paragraphs [0032] and [0055].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the operation state determining of Herman in the system of Uemura et al to have higher torque confidence regarding actuation of the steering wheel for safety purposes.
Uemura et al fails to explicitly disclose, but Watanabe discloses an estimation unit configured to estimate a zero-point positional deviation amount of a sensor value of the steering torque sensor provided in the vehicle based on a center of an amplitude of the sensor value, when the traveling state determination unit determines that the vehicle is in the specific traveling state and the operation state determination unit determines that the driver is in the specific operation state. See claim 1 and paragraphs [0044]-[0049].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the zero-point determination of Watanabe in the system of Uemura et al because braking/driving forces of the wheels may be controlled unnecessarily, and a driver may feel annoyance. Conversely, it is determined that the vehicle is not in an understeer state despite the vehicle being in an understeer state, and required control of braking/driving forces of the wheels may not be executed.
Regarding claim 2, Uemura et al fails to explicitly disclose, but Watanabe discloses wherein the correction unit does not execute the correction of the sensor value or the threshold value based on the deviation amount when the deviation amount estimated by the estimation unit exceeds a predetermined upper threshold value. See claim 1 and paragraphs [0044]-[0049].
Regarding claim 3, Uemura et al discloses wherein the traveling state determination unit configured to determines that the vehicle is in the specific traveling state when the lateral position of the vehicle is maintained near the center position of the traveling lane set as a target lateral position and the vehicle is traveling along the road in the travelling lane in an abbreviated straight line state. See FIG. 3 and paragraphs [0029]-[0048].
Regarding claim 4, Uemura et al fails to explicitly disclose, but Herman discloses a steering wheel releasing state determination unit configured to determine that the driver of the vehicle is in a steering wheel releasing state in which the driver is releasing his or her hands from the steering wheel when the sensor value is within a predetermined lower to upper determination threshold value range, wherein the steering wheel releasing state determination unit is configured to determines that the driver is in the steering wheel releasing state when the correction unit corrects the sensor value based on the deviation amount and the corrected sensor value is within the range of the lower determination threshold value to the upper determination threshold value (see paragraphs [0040]-[0052]); and wherein the steering wheel releasing state determination unit is configured to determines that the driver is in the steering wheel releasing state when the correction unit corrects both the lower determination threshold value and the upper determination threshold value based on the deviation amount and the sensor value is within the range of the corrected lower threshold value to the upper threshold value. See FIG. 3A, 3B, and 4 and paragraphs [0040]-[0065].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/JOSEPH J DALLO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747