DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Upon consideration, the previous rejection of record was withdrawn in light of new amendments. However new rejection is applied to the amended claims. All changes made in the rejection are necessitated by the amendment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-25 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 1-5, 9-11, and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2014/0212772 hereinafter Nakamoto.
Regarding Claims 1 and 25, Nakamoto teaches an electrolyte comprising: a solvent and a lithium salt (paragraphs 37-40, 43), wherein the solvent includes trifluoromethanesulfonyl containing compound as the first solvent (paragraph 37) and the lithium salt is LiPF6 (paragraphs 38-39).
With regards to the electrochemical stability coefficient of the electrolyte solution, MPEP § 2112.01 teaches that where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Therefore, the prima facie case can be rebutted by evidence showing that the prior art products do not necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed product. In re Best, 562 F.2d at 1255, 195 USPQ at 433. See also Titanium Metals Corp. v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985)
Because the electrolyte solution recited in the cited prior art is substantially identical to that of the claims (i.e., an electrolyte that comprises trifluoromethanesulfonyl containing compound as the first solvent and LiPF6 as the lithium salt), claimed properties or functions (i.e., electrochemical stability coefficient of the electrolyte solution) are presumed to be inherent.
Alternatively, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form such electrolyte comprising trifluoromethanesulfonyl containing compound as the first solvent and LiPF6 as the lithium salt before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because Nakamoto discloses that such configuration can provide an electrolyte for a lithium battery with improved charge/discharge characteristics (paragraph 69).
Regarding Claims 2-5 and 9-11, Nakamoto teaches an electrolyte that comprises trifluoromethanesulfonyl containing compound as the first solvent (paragraph 37) and propylene carbonate as the second solvent (paragraph 43). Nakamoto further teaches that the electrolyte includes only the first solvent and lithium hexafluorophosphate [LiPF6] in a concentration of 1 mol/L (paragraphs 40, 43).
Claim(s) 6-8 and 12-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2014/0212772 hereinafter Nakamoto in view of U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2020/0203768 hereinafter Fujiyama.
Regarding Claims 6-8 and 20, the combination teaches that the electrolyte comprises a cyclic sulfuric acid ester (paragraphs 85-101) in an amount of 10% by mass or less (paragraph 132 of Fujiyama).
The Supreme Court decided that a claim can be proved obvious merely by showing that the combination of known elements was obvious to try. In this regard, the Supreme Court explained that, " [w]hen there is a design need or market pressure to solve a problem and there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, a person of ordinary skill in the art has a good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp." An obviousness determination is not the result of a rigid formula disassociated from the consideration of the facts of the case. Indeed, the common sense of those skilled in the art demonstrates why some combinations would have been obvious where others would not. Therefore, choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation for success, is likely to be obvious to a person if ordinary skill in the art. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. _,_, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 -97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, E.).
Regarding Claims 12-19, the combination teaches an electrical device comprising a battery pack that comprises a secondary battery having a positive electrode as claimed (paragraph 2 of Fujiyama).
Regarding Claims 21-24, the combination teaches an electrolyte that comprises a first solvent and second solvent as claimed (see Nakamoto and Fujiyama as described).
In addition, the selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP § 2144.07).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OSEI K AMPONSAH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752