DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01-12-2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2016/0344063 hereinafter Chang.
Regarding Claim 1, Chang teaches an electrolyte comprising: a solvent and a lithium salt (paragraphs 38, 64, 72), wherein the solvent includes 1,1,2,2-tetrafluoroethyl 2,2,3,3-tetrafluoropropyl ether (TTE) and the lithium salt is LiPF6 (see Example 9, preparation of electrolyte).
With regards to the electrochemical stability coefficient of the electrolyte solution, MPEP § 2112.01 teaches that where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Therefore, the prima facie case can be rebutted by evidence showing that the prior art products do not necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed product. In re Best, 562 F.2d at 1255, 195 USPQ at 433. See also Titanium Metals Corp. v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985)
Because the electrolyte solution recited in the cited prior art is substantially identical to that of the claims (i.e., an electrolyte that comprises 1,1,2,2-tetrafluoroethyl 2,2,3,3-tetrafluoropropyl ether (TTE), DMC, and the lithium salt is LiPF6 [see Example 9, preparation of electrolyte]), claimed properties or functions (i.e., electrochemical stability coefficient of the electrolyte solution) are presumed to be inherent.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form such electrolyte comprising 1,1,2,2-tetrafluoroethyl 2,2,3,3-tetrafluoropropyl ether (TTE), DMC, and LiPF6 before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because Chang discloses that such configuration can provide an electrolyte for a lithium metal battery, which provides improved flame retardancy and stability (paragraph 7).
Claim(s) 2-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2016/0344063 hereinafter Chang in view of U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2020/0203768 hereinafter Fujiyama.
Regarding Claims 2-5 and 11, the combination teaches that the electrolyte comprises 1,1,2,2-tetrafluoroethyl 2,2,3,3-tetrafluoropropyl ether (TTE) and DMC in the claimed ratio (see Example 9, preparation of electrolyte of Chang).
Regarding Claims 6-8 and 20, the combination teaches that the electrolyte comprises a cyclic sulfuric acid ester (paragraphs 85-101) in an amount of 10% by mass or less (paragraph 132 of Fujiyama).
Regarding Claims 9-10, the combination teaches that the electrolyte comprises lithium hexafluorophosphate [LiPF6] in a concentration of 1.5 mol/L (paragraph 137 of Chang).
Regarding Claims 12-19, the combination teaches an electrical device comprising a battery pack that comprises a secondary battery having a positive electrode as claimed (paragraphs 5, 86 of Chang).
Conclusion
/OSEI K AMPONSAH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752