Double Patenting
3. Claims 2-26 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 and 8-26 of U.S. Patent No. (12,178,582). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application are anticipated by the claims of U.S. Patent No. (12,178,582) as shown below.
INSTANT APPLICATION (18/948611)
U.S. Patent No. (12,178,582)
Claim 2: A method for processing patient information, comprising:
recording electric potentials at a recording assembly via a first set of recording electrodes located at a first set of recording locations on and/or within a patient to create a first set of recorded signals;
calculating patient information at a processing unit for a set of target locations within the patient by applying a transfer matrix to the first set of recorded signals, wherein the transfer matrix comprises a characterization of electrical properties of tissue between the first set of recording locations and the set of target locations, wherein the recording assembly is further configured to record voltages of the patient at a second set of recording locations and the processing unit is further configured to determine electrical information at the first set of recording locations, wherein calculated patient information is based on an output of an inverse solution, and the transfer matrix is applied to improve the quality of the calculated patient information, and wherein the method is configured to apply the transfer matrix to the first set of recorded signals by applying a nonlinear geometric function of the transfer matrix to the first set of recorded signals.
Claim 1: A patient information processing system, comprising:
a recording assembly configured to record electric potentials via a first set of recording electrodes located at a first set of recording locations on and/or within a patient to create a first set of recorded signals;
a processing unit configured to calculate patient information for a set of target locations within the patient by applying a transfer matrix to the first set of recorded signals, wherein the transfer matrix comprises a characterization of electrical properties of tissue between the first set of recording locations and the set of target locations, wherein the recording assembly is further configured to record voltages of the patient at a second set of recording locations and the processing unit is further configured to determine electrical information at the first set of recording locations, wherein the calculated patient information is based on the output of an inverse solution, and the transfer matrix is applied to improve the quality of the
calculated patient information, and wherein the system is configured to apply the transfer
matrix to the first set of recorded signals by applying
a nonlinear geometric function of the transfer matrix
to the first set of recorded signals.
Claim 3: The method according to claim 2, wherein the transfer matrix accounts for spatial anisotropy and/or temporal anisotropy.
Claim 2: The system according to claim 1, wherein the transfer matrix accounts for spatial anisotropy and/or temporal anisotropy.
Claim 4: The method according to claim 2, wherein the calculated patient information comprises information selected from the group consisting of: electrical information; voltage information; surface charge information; tissue charge information; dipole density information; tissue density information; electrographic flow information; impedance information; phase information; and combinations thereof.
Claim 3: The system according to claim 1, wherein the calculated patient information comprises information selected from the group consisting of: electrical information; voltage information; surface charge information; tissue charge information;
dipole density information; tissue density information;
electrographic flow information; impedance information; phase information; and combinations thereof.
Claim 5: The method according to claim 2, wherein the calculated patient information comprises tissue density information.
Claim 4: The system according to claim 1, wherein the calculated patient information comprises tissue density information.
Claim 6: The method according to claim 5, wherein the tissue density information comprises information related to changes in tissue density over time.
Claim 5: The system according to claim 4, wherein the tissue density information comprises information related to changes in tissue density over time.
Claim 7: The method according to claim 6, wherein the change in tissue density over time comprises changes caused by ablation of the tissue.
Claim 6: The system according to claim 5, wherein the change in tissue density over time comprises changes caused by ablation of the tissue.
Claim 8: The method of claim 2, further
comprising: emitting a set of drive signals via a set of drive electrodes located at a set of drive locations, recording emitted drive signals at the recording assembly via a second set of recording electrodes located at a second set of recording locations to create a second set of recorded signals, and determining the transfer matrix at the processing unit by comparing the second set of recorded signals to an emitted set of drive signals.
Claim 15: The system according to claim 1, further comprising: a signal generator configured to emit a set of drive signals via a set of drive electrodes located at a set of drive locations, wherein the recording assembly is configured to record the emitted drive signals via a second set of recording
electrodes located at a second set of recording locations to create a second set of recorded signals, and wherein the processing unit is configured to determine the transfer matrix by comparing the second set of recorded signals to the emitted set of drive signals.
Claim 9: The method according to claim 2, wherein the transfer matrix is modified based on at least one condition selected from the group consisting of: passage of time; at least one varying patient parameter; respiration of the patient; and cardiac motion of the patient.
Claim 8: The system according to claim 1, wherein:
the transfer matrix is modified over time; and/or
the transfer matrix is modified based on at least one
varying patient parameter, and/or the transfer matrix is modified to compensate for respiration of the patient, and/or the transfer matrix is modified to compensate for cardiac motion of the patient.
Claim 10: The method according to claim 9, further comprising monitoring the at least one varying patient parameter.
Claim 9: The system according to claim 8, wherein the system is further configured to monitor the at least one varying patient parameter.
Claim 11: The method according to claim 10 wherein: monitoring comprises continuous monitoring of the at least one varying patient parameter; and/or transfer matrix is modified continuously.
Claim 10: The system according to claim 9, wherein:
the monitoring comprises continuous monitoring of the at least one varying patient parameter; and/or
the transfer matrix is modified continuously.
Claim 12: The method according to claim 11, wherein: monitoring comprises intermittent monitoring of the at least one varying patient parameter; and/or transfer matrix is modified intermittently.
Claim 11: The system according to claim 9, wherein:
the monitoring comprises intermittent monitoring of the at least one varying patient parameter; and/or
the transfer matrix is modified intermittently.
Claim 13: The method according to claim 2, wherein applying of the transfer matrix to the first set of recorded signals comprises applying a linear geometric function of the transfer matrix to the first set of recorded signals.
Claim 12: The system according to claim 1, wherein the applying of the transfer matrix to the first set of recorded signals comprises the processing unit applying a linear geometric function of the transfer matrix to the first set of recorded signals.
Claim 14: The method according to claim 2, further comprising gathering patient physiologic data, wherein the patient physiologic data comprises data selected from the group consisting of: physiologic cycle data; cardiac data; respiration data; patient medication data; skin impedance data; perspiration data; thoracic and/or abdominal cavity dimensional data; water weight data; hematocrit level data; wall thickness data; cardiac wall thickness data; and combinations thereof.
Claim 13: The system according to claim 1, wherein the system is configured to gather patient physiologic data, and wherein the patient physiologic data comprises data selected from the group consisting of: physiologic cycle data; cardiac data; respiration data; patient medication data; skin impedance data; perspiration data; thoracic and/or abdominal cavity dimensional data; water weight data; hematocrit level data; wall thickness data; cardiac wall thickness data; and combinations thereof.
Claim 15: The method according to claim 2, further comprising performing a device localization procedure to determine device location
information.
Claim 14: The system according to claim 1, wherein the system is further configured to perform a device localization procedure to determine device location information.
Claim 16: A method for processing patient information, comprising:
recording electric potentials at a recording assembly via a first set of recording electrodes located at a first set of recording locations on and/or within a patient to create a first set of recorded signals;
calculating patient information at a processing unit for a set of target locations within the patient by applying a transfer matrix to the first set of recorded signals, wherein the transfer matrix comprises a characterization of electrical properties of tissue between the first set of recording locations and the set of target locations,
wherein the recording assembly is further configured to record voltages of the patient at a second set of recording locations and the processing unit is further configured to determine electrical information at the first set of recording locations,
wherein calculated patient information is based on an output of an inverse solution, and the transfer matrix is applied to improve the quality of the calculated patient information, and emitting a set of drive signals via a set of drive electrodes located at a set of drive locations using a signal generator;
wherein the recording assembly is configured to record the emitted drive signals via a second set of recording electrodes located at a second set of recording locations to create a second set of recorded signals, and wherein the processing unit is configured to determine the transfer matrix by comparing the second set of recorded signals to the emitted set of drive signals, and wherein the drive signals comprise:
a first drive signal from a first drive electrode at a first frequency; and a second drive signal from a second drive electrode at a second frequency, wherein the first frequency and the second frequency are different.
Claim 22: A patient information processing system, comprising:
a recording assembly configured to record electric potentials via a first set of recording electrodes located at a first set of recording locations on and/or within a patient to create a first set of recorded signals;
a processing unit configured to calculate patient information for a set of target locations within the patient by applying a transfer matrix to the first set of recorded signals, wherein the transfer matrix comprises a characterization of electrical properties of tissue between the first set of recording locations and the set of target locations, wherein the recording assembly is further configured to record voltages of the patient at a second set of recording locations and the processing unit is further configured to determine electrical information at the first set of recording locations, and wherein the calculated patient information is based on the output of an inverse solution, and the transfer matrix is applied to improve the quality of the calculated patient information; and
a signal generator configured to emit a set of drive signals via a set of drive electrodes located at a set of drive locations, wherein the recording assembly is configured to record the emitted drive signals via a second set of recording electrodes located at a second set of recording locations to create a second set of recorded signals, and wherein the processing unit is configured to determine the transfer matrix by comparing the second set of recorded signals to the emitted set of drive signals, and wherein the drive signals comprise:
a first drive signal from a first drive electrode at a first frequency; and a second drive signal from a second drive electrode at a second frequency, wherein the first frequency and the second frequency are different.
Claim 17: The method according to claim 16, wherein the first drive signal and the second drive signal are delivered simultaneously.
Claim 23: The system according to claim 22, wherein the first drive signal and the second drive signal are delivered simultaneously.
Claim 18: A method for processing patient information, comprising:
recording electric potentials at a recording assembly via a first set of recording electrodes located at a first set of recording locations on and/or within a patient to create a first set of recorded signals;
calculating patient information at a processing unit for a set of target locations within the patient by applying a transfer matrix to the first set of recorded signals, wherein the transfer matrix comprises a characterization of electrical properties of tissue between the first set of recording locations and the set of target locations, wherein the recording assembly is further configured to record voltages of the patient at a second set of recording locations and the processing unit is further configured to determine electrical information at the first set of recording locations, wherein calculated patient information is based on an output of an inverse solution, and the transfer matrix is applied to improve the quality of the calculated patient information, and emitting a set of drive signals via a set of drive electrodes located at a set of drive locations using a signal generator;
wherein the recording assembly is configured to record the emitted drive signals via a second set of recording electrodes located at a second set of recording locations to create a second set of recorded signals, wherein the processing unit is configured to determine the transfer matrix by comparing the second set of recorded signals to the emitted set of drive signals, and wherein the drive signals comprise:
a first drive signal from a first drive electrode at a first frequency; and a second drive signal from a second drive electrode at a second frequency, wherein the first frequency and the second frequency are delivered sequentially.
Claim 24: A patient information processing system, comprising:
a recording assembly configured to record electric potentials via a first set of recording electrodes located at a first set of recording locations on and/or within a patient to create a first set of recorded signals; a processing unit configured to calculate patient information for a set of target locations within the patient by applying a transfer matrix to the first set of recorded signals, wherein the transfer matrix comprises a characterization of electrical properties of tissue between the first set of recording locations and the set of target locations, wherein the recording assembly is further configured to record voltages of the patient at a second set of recording locations and the processing unit is further configured to determine electrical information at the first set of recording locations, and wherein the calculated patient information is based on the output of an inverse solution, and the transfer matrix is applied to improve the quality of the calculated patient information; and
a signal generator configured to emit a set of drive signals via a set of drive electrodes located at a set of drive locations, wherein the recording assembly is configured to record the emitted drive signals via a second set of recording electrodes located at a second set of recording locations to create a second set of recorded signals, wherein the processing unit is configured to determine the transfer matrix by comparing the second set of recorded signals to the emitted set of drive signals, and wherein the drive signals comprise:
a first drive signal from a first drive electrode at a first
frequency; and a second drive signal from a second drive electrode at a second frequency,
wherein the first frequency and the second frequency
are delivered sequentially.
Claim 19: The method according to claim 18, wherein the first frequency and the second frequency are the same frequency.
Claim 25: The system according to claim 24, wherein the first frequency and the second frequency are the same frequency.
Claim 20: The method according to claim 8, wherein the transfer matrix is determined using a magnitude and/or phase of the second set of recorded signals.
Claim 16: The system according to claim 15, wherein the transfer matrix is determined using the magnitude and/or phase of the second set of recorded signals.
Claim 21: The method according to claim 20, wherein the transfer matrix comprises a numerical scale factor based on a comparison of the magnitude and/or phase of the second set of recorded signals to the magnitude and/or phase of the set of drive signals.
Claim 17: The system according to claim 16, wherein the transfer matrix comprises a numerical scale factor based on a comparison of the magnitude and/or phase of the second set of recorded signals to the magnitude and/or phase of the set of drive signals.
Claim 22: The method according to claim 20, wherein the emitting of the set of drive signals and the recording of emitted drive signals occur over at least one physiologic cycle of the patient.
Claim 18: The system according to claim 15, wherein the emitting of the set of drive signals and the recording of the emitted drive signals occur over at least one physiologic cycle of the patient.
Claim 23: The method according to claim 22, wherein the physiologic cycle comprises a cycle selected from the group consisting of: a cardiac cycle; a respiratory cycle; a pressure cycle; and combinations thereof.
Claim 19: The system according to claim 18, wherein the physiologic cycle comprises a cycle selected from the group consisting of: a cardiac cycle; a respiratory cycle; a pressure cycle; and combinations thereof.
Claim 24: The method according to claim 20, wherein the determining of the transfer matrix comprises calculating and/or selecting a standardized transfer matrix.
Claim 20: The system according to claim 15, wherein the determining of the transfer matrix comprises calculating and/or selecting a standardized transfer matrix.
Claim 25: The method according to claim 24, wherein the standardized transfer matrix is selected based on a patient parameter.
Claim 21: The system according to claim 20, wherein the standardized transfer matrix is selected based on a patient parameter.
Claim 26: A method for processing patient information, comprising:
recording electric potentials at a recording assembly via a first set of recording electrodes located at a first set of recording locations on and/or within a patient to create a first set of recorded signals;
calculating patient information at a processing unit for a set of target locations within the patient by applying a transfer matrix to the first set of recorded signals, wherein the transfer matrix comprises a characterization of electrical properties of tissue between the first set of recording locations and the set of target locations, wherein the recording assembly is further configured to record voltages of the patient at a second set of recording locations and the processing unit is further configured to determine electrical information at the first set of recording locations, wherein calculated patient information is based on an output of an inverse solution, and the transfer matrix is applied to improve the quality of the calculated patient information, and emitting a set of drive signals via a set of drive electrodes located at a set of drive locations using a signal generator; wherein the recording assembly is further configured to record the emitted drive signals via a second set of recording electrodes located at a second set of recording locations to create a second set of recorded signals, wherein the processing unit is configured to determine the transfer matrix by comparing the second set of recorded signals to the emitted set of drive signals, wherein the determining of the transfer matrix comprises calculating and/or selecting a standardized transfer matrix based on a patient parameter, and wherein the patient parameter comprises a parameter selected from the group consisting of: gender; weight; height; body or body portion size; body mass index (BMI); thoracic cavity circumference; location of the esophagus; size of an atrium; filling of an atrial volume; atrial pressure; fat to water ratio; air to water to fat ratio; bone location; medications being taken; level of medication; electrolyte level; pH; pO2; pCO2; water weight; and combinations thereof.
Claim 26: A patient information processing system, comprising:
a recording assembly configured to record electric potentials via a first set of recording electrodes located at a first set of recording locations on and/or within a patient to create a first set of recorded signals; a processing unit configured to calculate patient information for a set of target locations within the patient by applying a transfer matrix to the first set of recorded signals, wherein the transfer matrix comprises a characterization of electrical properties of tissue between the first set of recording locations and the set of target locations, wherein the recording assembly is further configured to record voltages of the patient at a second set of recording locations and the processing unit is further configured to determine electrical information at the first set of recording locations, and wherein the calculated patient information is based on the output of an inverse solution, and the transfer matrix is applied to improve the quality of the calculated patient information; and
a signal generator configured to emit a set of drive signals via a set of drive electrodes located at a set of drive locations, wherein the recording assembly is further configured to record the emitted drive signals via a second set of recording electrodes located at a second set of recording locations to create a second set of recorded signals, wherein the processing unit is configured to determine the transfer matrix by comparing the second set of recorded signals to the emitted set of drive signals, wherein the determining of the transfer matrix comprises calculating and/or selecting a standardized transfer matrix based on a patient parameter, and wherein the patient parameter comprises a parameter selected from the group consisting of: gender; weight; height; body or body portion size; body mass index (BMI); thoracic cavity circumference; location of the esophagus; size of an atrium; filling of an atrial volume; atrial pressure; fat to water ratio; air to water to fat ratio; bone location; medications being taken; level of medication; electrolyte level; pH; pO2; pCO2; water weight; and combinations thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 2-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Voth et al. (US Pub.: 2014/0278129 A1, – Applicant Cited).
Regarding claim 2, Voth discloses a method for processing patient
Information (e.g. abstract), comprising:
recording electric potentials at a recording assembly (e.g. Fig. 3 – mapping catheter 24)
via a first set of recording electrodes (e.g. Fig. 3 – electrodes 32 and 34)
located at a first set of recording locations on and/or within a patient to create a first set of recorded signals (e.g. paragraph 0023);
calculating patient information at a processing unit (e.g. Fig. 1 – processor 42) for a set of target locations within the patient by applying a transfer matrix to the first set of recorded signals (e.g. paragraph 0046),
wherein the transfer matrix comprises a characterization of electrical properties of tissue between the first set of recording locations and the set of target locations (e.g. paragraphs 0024, 0046),
wherein the recording assembly (24) is further configured to record voltages of the patient at a second set of recording locations and the processing unit (42) is further configured to determine electrical information at the first set of recording locations (e.g. paragraphs 0009, 0023, and 0062),
wherein calculated patient information is based on an output of an inverse solution (e.g. paragraphs 0023, 0062),
and the transfer matrix is applied to improve the quality of the calculated patient information (e.g. paragraphs 0073-0074), and wherein the method is configured to apply the transfer matrix to the first set of recorded signals by applying a nonlinear geometric function of the transfer matrix to the first set of recorded signals (e.g. paragraph 0082).
Regarding claim 3, Voth discloses the method according to claim 2 as discussed above, and Voth further teaches wherein the transfer matrix accounts for spatial anisotropy and/or temporal anisotropy (e.g. paragraph 0026).
Regarding claim 4, Voth discloses the method according to claim 2 as discussed above, and Voth further teaches wherein the calculated patient information comprises information selected from the group consisting of: electrical information; voltage information; surface charge information; tissue charge information; dipole density information; tissue density information; electrographic flow information; impedance information; phase information; and combinations thereof (e.g. paragraphs 0026, 0036, – electrical information and voltage information).
Regarding claim 5, Voth discloses the method according to claim 2 as discussed above, and Voth further teaches wherein the calculated patient information comprises tissue density information (e.g. paragraph 0026).
Regarding claim 6, Voth discloses the method according to claim 5 as
discussed above, and Voth further teaches wherein the tissue density information comprises information related to changes in tissue density over time (e.g. paragraph 0029).
Regarding claim 7, Voth discloses the method according to claim 6 as discussed above, and Voth further teaches wherein the change in tissue density over time comprises changes caused by ablation of the tissue (e.g. paragraph 0023).
Regarding claim 8, Voth discloses the method according to claim 2 as discussed above, and Voth further teaches further comprising: emitting a set of drive signals via a set of drive electrodes (e.g. Fig. 1 – electrodes 22) located at a set of drive locations, recording emitted drive signals at the recording assembly (24) via a second set of recording electrodes (22) located at a second set of recording locations to create a second set of recorded signals, and determining the transfer matrix at the processing unit (42) by comparing the second set of recorded signals to an emitted set of drive signals (e.g. paragraphs 0026, 0046).
Regarding claim 9, Voth discloses the method according to claim 2 as discussed above, and Voth further teaches wherein the transfer matrix is modified based on at least one condition selected from the group consisting of: passage of time; at least one varying patient parameter; respiration of the patient; and cardiac motion of the patient (e.g. paragraph 0026).
Regarding claim 10, Voth discloses the method according to claim 9 as discussed above, and Voth further teaches further comprising monitoring the at least one varying patient parameter (e.g. paragraph 0026, – monitoring respiration).
Regarding claim 11, Voth discloses the method according to claim 10 as discussed above, and Voth further teaches wherein: monitoring comprises continuous monitoring of the at least one varying patient parameter; and/or transfer matrix is modified continuously (e.g. paragraph 0026).
Regarding claim 12, Voth discloses the method according to claim 11 as discussed above, and Voth further teaches wherein: monitoring comprises intermittent monitoring of the at least one varying patient parameter; and/or transfer matrix is modified intermittently (e.g. paragraph 0026).
Regarding claim 13, Voth discloses the method according to claim 2 as discussed above, and Voth further teaches wherein applying of the transfer matrix to the first set of recorded signals comprises applying a linear geometric function of the transfer matrix to the first set of recorded signals (e.g. paragraph 0082).
Regarding claim 14, Voth discloses the method according to claim 2 as discussed above, and Voth further teaches further comprising gathering patient physiologic data, wherein the patient physiologic data comprises data selected from the group consisting of: physiologic cycle data; cardiac data; respiration data; patient medication data; skin impedance data; perspiration data; thoracic and/or abdominal cavity dimensional data; water weight data; hematocrit level data; wall thickness data; cardiac wall thickness data; and combinations thereof (e.g. paragraph 0082 – cardiac data).
Regarding claim 15, Voth discloses the method according to claim 2 as discussed above, and Voth further teaches further comprising performing a device localization procedure to determine device location information (e.g. paragraphs 0026, 0029).
Regarding claim 16, Voth discloses a method for processing patient information (e.g. abstract), comprising:
recording electric potentials at a recording assembly (e.g. Fig. 3 – mapping catheter 24)
via a first set of recording electrodes (e.g. Fig. 3 – electrodes 32 and 34) located at a first set of recording locations on and/or within a patient to create a first set of recorded signals (e.g. paragraph 0023);
calculating patient information at a processing unit (e.g. Fig. 1 – processor 42) for a set of target locations within the patient by applying a transfer matrix to the first set of recorded signals (e.g. paragraph 0046),
wherein the transfer matrix comprises a characterization of electrical properties of tissue between the first set of recording locations and the set of target locations (e.g. paragraphs 0024, 0046),
wherein the recording assembly (24) is further configured to record voltages of the patient at a second set of recording locations and the processing unit (42) is further configured to determine electrical information at the first set of recording locations (e.g. paragraphs 0009, 0023, and 0062),
wherein calculated patient information is based on an output of an inverse solution (e.g. paragraphs 0023, 0062), and the transfer matrix is applied to improve the quality of the calculated patient information (e.g. paragraphs 0073-0074), and emitting a set of drive signals via a set of drive electrodes (e.g. Fig. 1 – electrodes 22) located at a set of drive locations using a signal generator (e.g. Fig. 1 – signal generator 20);
wherein the recording assembly (24) is configured to record the emitted drive signals via a second set of recording electrodes located at a second set of recording locations to create a second set of recorded signals (e.g. paragraphs 0026, 0046), and wherein the processing unit (42) is configured to determine the transfer matrix by comparing the second set of recorded signals to the emitted set of drive signals (e.g. paragraphs 0026, 0046), and wherein the drive signals comprise:
a first drive signal from a first drive electrode at a first frequency (e.g. paragraphs 0026, 0028); and a second drive signal from a second drive electrode at a second frequency (e.g. paragraph 0028), wherein the first frequency and the second frequency are different (e.g. paragraph 0028).
Regarding claim 17, Voth discloses the method according to claim 16 as discussed above, and Voth further teaches wherein the first drive signal and the second drive signal are delivered simultaneously (e.g. paragraph 0028).
Regarding claim 18, Voth discloses a method for processing patient information (e.g. abstract), comprising:
recording electric potentials at a recording assembly (e.g. Fig. 3 – mapping catheter 24)
via a first set of recording electrodes (e.g. Fig. 3 – electrodes 32 and 34) located at a first set of recording locations on and/or within a patient to create a first set of recorded signals (e.g. paragraph 0023);
calculating patient information at a processing unit (e.g. Fig. 1 – processor 42) for a set of target locations within the patient by applying a transfer matrix to the first set of recorded signals (e.g. paragraph 0046), wherein the transfer matrix comprises a characterization of electrical properties of tissue between the first set of recording locations and the set of target locations (e.g. paragraphs 0024, 0046),
wherein the recording assembly (24) is further configured to record voltages of the patient at a second set of recording locations and the processing unit (42) is further configured to determine electrical information at the first set of recording locations (e.g. paragraphs 0009, 0023, and 0062),
wherein calculated patient information is based on an output of an inverse solution (e.g. paragraphs 0023, 0062), and the transfer matrix is applied to improve the quality of the calculated patient information (e.g. paragraphs 0073-0074), and emitting a set of drive signals via a set of drive electrodes (e.g. Fig. 1 – electrodes 22) located at a set of drive locations using a signal generator (e.g. Fig. 1 – signal generator 20);
wherein the recording assembly (24) is configured to record the emitted drive signals via a second set of recording electrodes located at a second set of recording locations to create a second set of recorded signals (e.g. paragraphs 0026, 0046), wherein the processing unit (42) is configured to determine the transfer matrix by comparing the second set of recorded signals to the emitted set of drive signals (e.g. paragraphs 0026, 0046), and wherein the drive signals comprise:
a first drive signal from a first drive electrode at a first frequency (e.g. paragraphs 0026, 0028); and a second drive signal from a second drive electrode at a second frequency (e.g. paragraph 0028), wherein the first frequency and the second frequency are delivered sequentially (e.g. paragraph 0028).
Regarding claim 19, Voth discloses the method according to claim 18 as
discussed above, and Voth further teaches wherein the first frequency and the second frequency are the same frequency (e.g. paragraph 0028).
Regarding claim 20, Voth discloses the method according to claim 8 as discussed above, and Voth further teaches wherein the transfer matrix is determined using a magnitude and/or phase of the second set of recorded signals (e.g. paragraphs 0046, 0070).
Regarding claim 21, Voth discloses the method according to claim 20 as discussed above, and Voth further teaches wherein the transfer matrix comprises a numerical scale factor based on a comparison of the magnitude and/or phase of the second set of recorded signals to the magnitude and/or phase of the set of drive signals (e.g. paragraph 0070).
Regarding claim 22, Voth discloses the method according to claim 20 as discussed above, and Voth further teaches wherein the emitting of the set of drive signals and the recording of emitted drive signals occur over at least one physiologic cycle of the patient (e.g. paragraph 0042).
Regarding claim 23, Voth discloses the method according to claim 22 as discussed above, and Voth further teaches wherein the physiologic cycle comprises a cycle selected from the group consisting of: a cardiac cycle; a respiratory cycle; a pressure cycle; and combinations thereof (e.g. paragraph 0042 – cardiac cycle).
Regarding claim 24, Voth discloses the method according to claim 20 as discussed above, and Voth further teaches wherein the determining of the transfer matrix comprises calculating and/or selecting a standardized transfer matrix (e.g. paragraphs 0024, 0038).
Regarding claim 25, Voth discloses the method according to claim 24 as discussed above, and Voth further teaches wherein the standardized transfer matrix is selected based on a patient parameter (e.g. paragraph 0038 – measured voltage).
Regarding claim 26, Voth discloses a method for processing patient information (e.g. abstract), comprising:
recording electric potentials at a recording assembly (e.g. Fig. 3 – mapping catheter 24)
via a first set of recording electrodes (e.g. Fig. 3 – electrodes 32 and 34) located at a first set of recording locations on and/or within a patient to create a first set of recorded signals (e.g. paragraph 0023);
calculating patient information at a processing unit (e.g. Fig. 1 – processor 42) for a set of target locations within the patient by applying a transfer matrix to the first set of recorded signals (e.g. paragraph 0046),
wherein the transfer matrix comprises a characterization of electrical properties of tissue between the first set of recording locations and the set of target locations (e.g. paragraphs 0024, 0046),
wherein the recording assembly (24) is further configured to record voltages of the patient at a second set of recording locations and the processing unit (42) is further configured to determine electrical information at the first set of recording locations (e.g. paragraphs 0009, 0023, and 0062),
wherein calculated patient information is based on an output of an inverse solution, and the transfer matrix is applied to improve the quality of the calculated patient information (e.g. paragraphs 0073-0074), and emitting a set of drive signals (e.g. Fig. 1 – electrodes 22) via a set of drive electrodes located at a set of drive locations using a signal generator (e.g. Fig. 1 – signal generator 20);
wherein the recording assembly is further configured to record the emitted drive signals via a second set of recording electrodes located at a second set of recording locations to create a second set of recorded signals (e.g. paragraphs 0026, 0046), wherein the processing unit (42) is configured to determine the transfer matrix by comparing the second set of recorded signals to the emitted set of drive signals (e.g. paragraphs 0026, 0046), wherein the determining of the transfer matrix comprises calculating and/or selecting a standardized transfer matrix based on a patient parameter (e.g. paragraphs 0024, 0038), and wherein the patient parameter comprises a parameter selected from the group consisting of: gender; weight; height; body or body portion size; body mass index (BMI); thoracic cavity circumference; location of the esophagus; size of an atrium; filling of an atrial volume; atrial pressure; fat to water ratio; air to water to fat ratio; bone location; medications being taken; level of medication; electrolyte level; pH; pO2; pCO2; water weight; and combinations thereof (e.g. paragraph 0037 – size of an atrium).
Conclusion
/D.T./Examiner, Art Unit 3792
/Benjamin J Klein/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3792