DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed to date have been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eisenberg (US 20160306149) herein after referred to as D1, and further in view of Zhao (US 20230087877) herein after referred to as D2.
With regard to claim 1, D1 teaches an optical imaging system, in at least one of (fig. 1, 2 and 6); comprising: a first lens group (310 and 320), comprising a first lens (310) and a second lens (320) arranged along a first optical axis (figs. 2 and 6, axis from left to right), and having at least two reflective surfaces (310 and 320); a second lens group (Figs. 2 and 6, lenses following 500), comprising a plurality of lenses (figs. 2 and 6, lenses following mirror) arranged along a second optical axis (figs. 2 and 6, lenses following mirror are rotated 90 degrees on a different axis), and spaced apart from the first lens group (310 and 320); and a reflective member (500) disposed between the first lens group (310 and 320) and the second lens group (Figs. 2 and 6, lenses following 500), wherein the at least two reflective surfaces (310 and 320) comprise a first reflective surface (310) disposed on an image-side surface of the second lens (320), and a second reflective surface (320) disposed on an object-side surface of the first lens (310), wherein the object-side surface of the first lens (310) comprises a first refractive surface ([0025]) that extends outwardly of the second reflective surface (320), wherein the image-side surface of the second lens (320) comprises a second refractive surface ([0025]) that is disposed inwardly of the first reflective surface (310), wherein the reflective member (500) comprises a third reflective (500) surface (500),
However, D1 does not expressly disclose, wherein the image-side surface of the second lens comprises a second refractive surface that is disposed inwardly of the first reflective surface, wherein the reflective member comprises a third reflective surface, and wherein a conditional expression f1G/fT < 0.9 is satisfied, where f1G is a focal length of the first lens group, and fT is a total focal length of the optical imaging system.
In a related endeavor, D2 teaches lenses with focal lengths, in at least (tables 1 and 2); wherein the image-side surface of the second lens comprises a second refractive surface that is disposed inwardly of the first reflective surface, wherein the reflective member comprises a third reflective surface, and wherein a conditional expression f1G/fT < 0.9 (table 1, .306 which is less than .9) is satisfied, where f1G is a focal length of the first lens group, and fT is a total focal length of the optical imaging system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the invention of D1 with wherein the image-side surface of the second lens comprises a second refractive surface that is disposed inwardly of the first reflective surface, wherein the reflective member comprises a third reflective surface, and wherein a conditional expression f1G/fT < 0.9 (table 1, .306 which is less than .9) is satisfied, where f1G is a focal length of the first lens group, and fT is a total focal length of the optical imaging system as taught by D2, for the purpose of better aligning the desired focal length form and function of the apparatus.
With regard to claim 2, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches an optical imaging apparatus, in at least one of (fig. 1, 2 and 6); wherein the first lens group (310 and 320) has positive refractive power ([0025]), and the second lens group (Figs. 2 and 6, lenses following 500) has negative refractive power ([0025]).
With regard to claim 3, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, however, D1 fails to expressly disclose, wherein a conditional expression f1G > 0 and Rp < 0 is satisfied, where Rp is a radius of curvature of the first reflective surface of the second lens of the first lens group.
In a related endeavor, D2 teaches lenses with focal lengths, in at least (Fig. 5; tables 1 and 2); wherein a conditional expression f1G > 0 (table 1) and Rp < 0 (table 2) is satisfied, where Rp is a radius of curvature of the first reflective surface (111) of the second lens (111) of the first lens group (S1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the invention of D1 with wherein a conditional expression f1G > 0 and Rp < 0 is satisfied, where Rp is a radius of curvature of the first reflective surface of the second lens of the first lens group as taught by D2, for the purpose of better aligning the desired focal length form and function of the apparatus.
With regard to claim 4, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, however, D1 fails to expressly disclose, wherein a conditional expression 2 mm < d < 3 mm is satisfied, where d is a distance along the first optical axis from the object-side surface of the first lens of the first lens group to the image-side surface of the second lens of the first lens group.
In a related endeavor, D2 teaches lenses with focal lengths, in at least (Fig. 5; tables 1 and 2); wherein a conditional expression 2 mm < d < 3 mm (Table 1) is satisfied, where d is a distance along the first optical axis from the object-side surface of the first lens (114) of the first lens group (S1) to the image-side surface of the second lens (111) of the first lens group (S1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the invention of D1 with wherein a conditional expression 2 mm < d < 3 mm (Table 1) is satisfied, where d is a distance along the first optical axis from the object-side surface of the first lens (114) of the first lens group (S1) to the image-side surface of the second lens (111) of the first lens group (S1). as taught by D2, for the purpose of better aligning the desired focal length form and function of the apparatus.
With regard to claim 5, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, However, D1 fails to expressly disclose wherein a conditional expression 0.2 < |(2×d)/Rp| < 0.6 is satisfied, where d is a distance along the first optical axis from the object-side surface of the first lens of the first lens group to the image-side surface of the second lens of the first lens group, and Rp is a radius of curvature of the first reflective surface of the second lens of the first lens group.
In a related endeavor, D2 teaches lenses with focal lengths, in at least (Fig. 5; tables 1 and 2); wherein a conditional expression 0.2 < |(2×d)/Rp| < 0.6 is satisfied, where d is a distance along the first optical axis from the object-side surface of the first lens (114) of the first lens group (S1) to the image-side surface of the second lens (111) of the first lens group (S1), and Rp is a radius of curvature (table 2) of the first reflective surface of the second lens (111) of the first lens group (S1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the invention of D1 with wherein a conditional expression 0.2 < |(2×d)/Rp| < 0.6 is satisfied, where d is a distance along the first optical axis from the object-side surface of the first lens of the first lens group to the image-side surface of the second lens of the first lens group, and Rp is a radius of curvature of the first reflective surface of the second lens of the first lens group as taught by D2, for the purpose of better aligning the desired focal length form and function of the apparatus.
With regard to claim 6, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, However, D1 fails to expressly disclose wherein a conditional expression 0.4 < Hs/Hp < 0.6 is satisfied, where Hp is an effective diameter of the object-side surface of the first lens of the first lens group, and Hs is an effective diameter of the second reflective surface of the first lens of the first lens group.
In a related endeavor, D2 teaches lenses with focal lengths, in at least (Fig. 5; tables 1 and 2); wherein a conditional expression 0.4 < Hs/Hp < 0.6 (Table 2) is satisfied, where Hp is an effective diameter of the object-side surface of the first lens (114) of the first lens group (S1), and Hs is an effective diameter of the second reflective surface (111) of the first lens (114) of the first lens group (S1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the invention of D1 with wherein a conditional expression 0.4 < Hs/Hp < 0.6 is satisfied, where Hp is an effective diameter of the object-side surface of the first lens of the first lens group, and Hs is an effective diameter of the second reflective surface of the first lens of the first lens group.as taught by D2, for the purpose of better aligning the desired focal length form and function of the apparatus.
With regard to claim 7, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches an optical imaging apparatus, in at least one of (fig. 1, 2 and 6); wherein the reflective member (500) further comprises an incident surface and an exit surface, and the third reflective (500) surface is disposed between the incident surface and the exit surface.
However, D1 does not expressly disclose wherein a conditional expression 0.4 < d/Ph < 0.8 is satisfied, where d is a distance along the first optical axis from the object-side surface of the first lens of the first lens group to the image-side surface of the second lens of the first lens group, and Ph is a sum of a distance along the first optical axis from the incident surface to the third reflective surface and a distance along the second optical axis from the third reflective (surface to the exit surface.
In a related endeavor, D2 teaches lenses with focal lengths, in at least (Fig. 5; tables 1 and 2); wherein a conditional expression 0.4 < d/Ph < 0.8 is satisfied, where d is a distance along the first optical axis (Fig. 5 dashed line) from the object-side surface of the first lens (114) of the first lens group (S1) to the image-side surface of the second lens (111) of the first lens group (S1), and Ph is a sum of a distance along the first optical axis (Fig. 5 dashed line) from the incident surface to the third reflective (12) surface and a distance along the second optical axis (dashed line) from the third reflective (12) surface to the exit surface.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the invention of D1 with wherein a conditional expression 0.4 < Hs/Hp < 0.6 is satisfied, where Hp is an effective diameter of the object-side surface of the first lens of the first lens group, and Hs is an effective diameter of the second reflective surface of the first lens of the first lens group.as taught by D2, for the purpose of better aligning the desired focal length form and function of the apparatus.
With regard to claim 8, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, however D1 fails to expressly disclose wherein a conditional expression L/fT < 0.8 is satisfied, where L is a sum of a distance along the second optical axis (figs. 2 and 6, lenses following mirror are rotated 90 degrees on a different axis) from the third reflective (500) surface to an imaging plane disposed on the second optical axis (figs. 2 and 6, lenses following mirror are rotated 90 degrees on a different axis) and an effective radius of the first lens (310).
In a related endeavor, D2 teaches lenses with focal lengths, in at least (Fig. 5; tables 1 and 2); wherein a conditional expression L/fT < 0.8 (tables 1 and 2) is satisfied, where L is a sum of a distance along the second optical axis (dotted line during S2) from the third reflective (12) surface to an imaging plane disposed on the second optical axis (dotted line during S2) and an effective radius of the first lens (11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the invention of D1 with wherein a conditional expression L/fT < 0.8 (tables 1 and 2) is satisfied, where L is a sum of a distance along the second optical axis (dotted line during S2) from the third reflective (12) surface to an imaging plane disposed on the second optical axis (dotted line during S2) and an effective radius of the first lens (11) as taught by D2, for the purpose of better aligning the desired focal length form and function of the apparatus.
With regard to claim 9, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, however D1 fails to expressly disclose wherein a conditional expression 0.5 < Rs/Rp < 1.3 is satisfied, where Rs is a radius of curvature of the second reflective surface of the first lens of the first lens group, and Rp is a radius of curvature of the first reflective surface of the second lens of the first lens group.
In a related endeavor, D2 teaches lenses with focal lengths, in at least (Fig. 5; tables 1 and 2); wherein a conditional expression 0.5 < Rs/Rp < 1.3 (tables 1 and 2) is satisfied, where Rs is a radius of curvature of the second reflective surface (111) of the first lens (114) of the first lens group (S1), and Rp is a radius of curvature of the first reflective surface (114) of the second lens of the first lens group (S1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the invention of D1 with wherein a conditional expression 0.5 < Rs/Rp < 1.3 is satisfied, where Rs is a radius of curvature of the second reflective surface of the first lens of the first lens group, and Rp is a radius of curvature of the first reflective surface of the second lens of the first lens group as taught by D2, for the purpose of better aligning the desired focal length form and function of the apparatus.
With regard to claim 10, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, however D1 fails to expressly disclose wherein a conditional expression 1 < f1G/Rp < 2.3 is satisfied, where Rp is a radius of curvature of the first reflective surface of the second lens of the first lens group.
In a related endeavor, D2 teaches lenses with focal lengths, in at least (Fig. 5; tables 1 and 2); wherein a conditional expression 1 < f1G/Rp < 2.3 (table 1 and table 2) is satisfied, where Rp is a radius of curvature of the first reflective surface (111) of the second lens of the first lens group (S1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the invention of D1 with wherein a conditional expression 1 < f1G/Rp < 2.3 is satisfied, where Rp is a radius of curvature of the first reflective surface of the second lens of the first lens group.as taught by D2, for the purpose of better aligning the desired focal length form and function of the apparatus.
With regard to claim 11, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, however D1 fails to expressly disclose wherein a conditional expression 0.1 < Lf/fT < 0.7 is satisfied, and Lf is a distance along the first optical axis from the second reflective surface of the first lens of the first lens group to the third reflective surface of the reflective member.
In a related endeavor, D2 teaches lenses with focal lengths, in at least (Fig. 5; tables 1 and 2); wherein a conditional expression 0.1 < Lf/fT < 0.7 (table 1 and 2) is satisfied, and Lf is a distance along the first optical axis (dashed line) from the second reflective surface (111) of the first lens of the first lens group (S1) to the third reflective (12) surface of the reflective member (12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the invention of D1 with wherein a conditional expression 0.1 < Lf/fT < 0.7 is satisfied, and Lf is a distance along the first optical axis from the second reflective surface of the first lens of the first lens group to the third reflective surface of the reflective member as taught by D2, for the purpose of better aligning the desired focal length form and function of the apparatus.
With regard to claim 12, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, however D1 fails to expressly disclose wherein a conditional expression 0.2 < Lf/Lr < 0.5 is satisfied, where Lf is a distance along the first optical axis from the second reflective surface of the first lens of the first lens group to the third reflective surface of the reflective member, and Lr is a distance along the second optical axis from the third reflective surface of the reflective member to an imaging plane.
In a related endeavor, D2 teaches lenses with focal lengths, in at least (Fig. 5; tables 1 and 2); wherein a conditional expression 0.2 < Lf/Lr < 0.5 (table 1 and 2) is satisfied, where Lf is a distance along the first optical axis (dashed line) from the second reflective surface (111) of the first lens (11) of the first lens group (S1) to the third reflective surface of the reflective member (12), and Lr is a distance along the second optical axis (dashed line during S2) from the third reflective surface of the reflective member to an imaging plane ([0057]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the invention of D1 with wherein a conditional expression 0.2 < Lf/Lr < 0.5 is satisfied, where Lf is a distance along the first optical axis from the second reflective surface of the first lens of the first lens group to the third reflective surface of the reflective member, and Lr is a distance along the second optical axis from the third reflective surface of the reflective member to an imaging plane.as taught by D2, for the purpose of better aligning the desired focal length form and function of the apparatus.
With regard to claim 13, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches an optical imaging apparatus, in at least one of (fig. 1, 2 and 6); wherein the first lens (310) has negative refractive power ([0025]), and the second lens (320) has positive refractive power ([0025]).
With regard to claim 14, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches an optical imaging apparatus, in at least one of (fig. 1, 2 and 6); wherein the plurality of lenses of the second lens group (Figs. 2 and 6, lenses following 500) comprise a third lens (one of the three lenses on second axis), a fourth lens (one of the three lenses on second axis), and a fifth lens (one of the three lenses on second axis) arranged along the second optical axis (figs. 2 and 6, lenses following mirror are rotated 90 degrees on a different axis), and wherein the fifth lens has positive refractive power ([0025]).
Conclusion
/GRANT A GAGNON/ Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/BUMSUK WON/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872