Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morrison (KR 20130121097, submitted by applicant) and in view of Shengran (CN 202001187, submitted by applicant).
As to claim 1, Morrison discloses an integrated generator/converter and turbine (Fig. 3), comprising: a turbine wheel having a plurality of turbine blades connected to an annular rim (Fig. 3); a rotor mounted to the annular rim and including dual rows of permanent magnets circumferentially surrounding the annular rim and each row spaced axially from one another (Fig. 3); and a stator mounted to a housing and including a plurality of coils (Fig. 3).
Morrison fails to disclose a plurality of coils aligned between the dual row of permanent magnets of the rotor.
Shengran discloses a plurality of coils aligned between the dual row of permanent magnets of the rotor (Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide the generator of Morrison with a plurality of coils aligned between the dual row of permanent magnets of the rotor, to optimize magnetic forces.
Claims 2 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morrison and in view of Wang (CN 114204724, submitted by applicant).
As to claim 2, Morrison discloses the integrated generator/converter and turbine according to claim 1.
Morrison fails to disclose wherein the stator includes a flexible printed circuit board strip including the plurality of coils soldered to the flexible printed circuit board strip.
Wang discloses wherein the stator includes a flexible printed circuit board strip including the plurality of coils soldered to the flexible printed circuit board strip (Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide the generator of Morrison with wherein the stator includes a flexible printed circuit board strip including the plurality of coils soldered to the flexible printed circuit board strip, to allow for more compact and space efficient designs.
As to claim 10, Morrison discloses an integrated generator/converter and turbine (Fig. 3) comprising: a turbine wheel having a plurality of turbine blades connected to an annular rim (Fig. 3); a rotor mounted to the annular rim and including permanent magnets circumferentially surrounding the annular rim and each row spaced axially from one another (Fig. 3); and a stator including a plurality of coils that surrounds the annular rim (Fig. 3).
Morrison fails to disclose a plurality of coils mounted to a flexible printed circuit board.
Wang discloses a plurality of coils mounted to a flexible printed circuit (Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide the generator of Morrison with a plurality of coils mounted to a flexible printed circuit, to allow for more compact and space efficient designs.
As to claim 11, the combination of Morrison and Wang discloses the integrated generator/converter and turbine according to claim 10, wherein the plurality of coils are soldered to the flexible printed circuit board strip (Fig. 1).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morrison and in view of Stiesdal (KR 20120001690, submitted by applicant).
As to claim 3, Morrison discloses the integrated generator/converter and turbine according to claim 1.
Morrison fails to disclose wherein each of the plurality of coils is connected with an AC/DC converter.
Stiesdal discloses wherein each of the plurality of coils is connected with an AC/DC converter (Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide the generator of Morrison with wherein each of the plurality of coils is connected with an AC/DC converter, to better regulate output voltage and stabilize voltage.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morrison, Stiesdal, and in view of Shioda (JP 2004248391, submitted by applicant).
As to claim 4, the combination of Morrison and Stiesdal discloses the integrated generator/converter and turbine according to claim 3.
Morrison fails to disclose wherein each AC/DC converter includes a pair of diodes and a capacitor.
Shioda discloses wherein each AC/DC converter includes a pair of diodes and a capacitor (Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide the generator of Morrison with wherein each AC/DC converter includes a pair of diodes and a capacitor, to properly transform and smooth output from AC to DC.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morrison, Stiesdal, Shioda and in view of Oota (US 20110013365).
As to claim 5, the combination of Morrison, Stiesdal, and Shioda discloses the integrated generator/converter and turbine according to claim 4.
Morrison fails to disclose wherein the diodes and the capacitors are mounted to the flexible printed circuit board strip.
Oota discloses wherein the diodes and the capacitors are mounted to the flexible printed circuit board strip (Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide the generator of Morrison with the diodes and the capacitors are mounted to the flexible printed circuit board strip, to promote a more compact design and simplify manufacturing processes.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morrison and in view of Ibrahim (US 20230361637).
As to claim 7, Morrison discloses the integrated generator/converter and turbine according to claim 1.
Morrison fails to disclose wherein the dual row of permanent magnets are ferrite permanent magnets.
Ibrahim discloses wherein the dual row of permanent magnets are ferrite permanent magnets (Para 0065).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide the generator of Morrison with wherein the dual row of permanent magnets are ferrite permanent magnets, to reduce cost of manufacturing while offer temperature and corrosion resistance.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morrison and in view of Henderson (US 11742122).
As to claim 8, Morrison discloses the integrated generator/converter and turbine according to claim 1.
Morrison fails to disclose wherein the dual rows of permanent magnets each include at least 36 permanent magnets.
Henderson discloses wherein the dual rows of permanent magnets each include at least 36 permanent magnets (Col 2, lines 41-42).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide the generator of Morrison with wherein the dual rows of permanent magnets each include at least 36 permanent magnets, to increase torque density and efficiency.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morrison and in view of Banerjee (US 20230299659).
As to claim 9, Morrison discloses the integrated generator/converter and turbine according to claim 1.
Morrison fails to disclose wherein the plurality of coils include at least 36 coils.
Banerjee discloses wherein the plurality of coils include at least 36 coils (Para 0010).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide the generator of Morrison with wherein the plurality of coils include at least 36 coils, for better control over output voltage and frequency.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morrison, Wang, and in view of Stiesdal.
As to claim 12, the combination of Morrison and Wang discloses the integrated generator/converter and turbine according to claim 10.
Morrison fails to disclose wherein each of the plurality of coils is connected with a AC/DC converter.
Stiesdal discloses wherein each of the plurality of coils is connected with a AC/DC converter (Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide the generator of Morrison with wherein each of the plurality of coils is connected with a AC/DC converter, to better regulate output voltage and stabilize voltage.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morrison, Wang, Stiesdal, and in view of Shioda.
As to claim 13, the combination of Morrison, Wang, and Stiesdal discloses the integrated generator/converter and turbine according to claim 12.
Morrison fails to disclose wherein each AC/DC converter includes a pair of diodes and a capacitor.
Shioda discloses wherein each AC/DC converter includes a pair of diodes and a capacitor (Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide the generator of Morrison with wherein each AC/DC converter includes a pair of diodes and a capacitor, to properly transform and smooth output from AC to DC.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morrison, Wang, Stiesdal, Shioda, and in view of Oota.
As to claim 14, the combination of Morrison, Wang, Stiesdal, and Shioda discloses the integrated generator/converter and turbine according to claim 13.
Morrison fails to disclose wherein the diodes and the capacitors are mounted to the flexible printed circuit board strip.
Oota discloses wherein the diodes and the capacitors are mounted to the flexible printed circuit board strip (Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide the generator of Morrison with wherein the diodes and the capacitors are mounted to the flexible printed circuit board strip, to promote a more compact design and simplify manufacturing processes.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morrison, Wang, and in view of Ibrahim.
As to claim 16, the combination of Morrison and Wang discloses the integrated generator/converter and turbine according to claim 10.
Morrison fails to disclose wherein the plurality of permanent magnets are ferrite permanent magnets.
Ibrahim discloses wherein the plurality of permanent magnets are ferrite permanent magnets (Para 0065).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide the generator of Morrison with wherein the plurality of permanent magnets are ferrite permanent magnets, to reduce cost of manufacturing while offer temperature and corrosion resistance.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morrison, Wang, and in view of Shengran.
As to claim 17, the combination of Morrison and Wang discloses the integrated generator/converter and turbine according to claim 10.
Morrison fails to disclose wherein the plurality of permanent magnets include dual rows of permanent magnets.
Shengran discloses wherein the plurality of permanent magnets include dual rows of permanent magnets (Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide the generator of Morrison with wherein the plurality of permanent magnets include dual rows of permanent magnets, to optimize magnetic forces.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morrison, Wang, and in view of Henderson.
As to claim 18, the combination of Morrison and Wang discloses the integrated generator/converter and turbine according to claim 10.
Morrison fails to disclose wherein the dual rows of permanent magnets each include at least 36 permanent magnets.
Henderson discloses wherein the dual rows of permanent magnets each include at least 36 permanent magnets (Col 2, lines 41-42).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide the generator of Morrison with wherein the dual rows of permanent magnets each include at least 36 permanent magnets, to increase torque density and efficiency.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 15 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be
allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any
intervening claims.
As to claim 6, the combination of Morrison and Shioda discloses the integrated generator/converter and turbine according to claim 5.
Morrison fails to disclose wherein each converter includes a fusible link in series with the diodes and capacitor.
As to claim 15, the combination of Morrison, Wang, and Shioda discloses the integrated generator/converter and turbine according to claim 14.
Morrison fails to disclose wherein each converter includes a fusible link in series with the diodes and capacitor.
Conclusion
should be directed to ETHAN N VO whose telephone number is (571)270-7593. The examiner can
normally be reached Mon-Fri 8:30am - 5pm.
USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use
the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
Christopher M Koehler can be reached on 571 272 3560. The fax phone number for the organization
where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To
file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional
questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199
(IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/ETHAN NGUYEN VO/
Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/CHRISTOPHER M KOEHLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834